MW / Home / Reviews / RAY ALDER: What The Water Wants
BAND/AUTHOR:

RAY ALDER

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
WHAT THE WATER WANTS
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
MELODIC HARD ROCK
"For his first solo album, Ray Alder takes liberties with the style he has honored for three decades. Filled with half of the heavy tracks and superb mid-tempi with high emotional intensity "What The Water Wants" is a success that calls for others."
NUNO777 - 05.11.2019 -
Praising Ray Alder's qualities could be the subject of an article on its own. Rather discreet, the singer with Mexican origins is not always mentioned among the best singers of progressive metal yet his performances within Fates Warning, Engine and Redemption have always noticed the minds. The collective sense having always prevailed in the American, he waited until his fifties to launch his first solo project entitled "What The Water Wants".

The work was initiated with guitarist Tony Hernando (Lords Of Black) before he abandoned the current project for external professional reasons. Ray then turned to his colleague Mike Abdow, guitarist of Fates Warning on tour to finish the album. The result is a more song-oriented album and therefore less progressive than the compositions on which Ray has been working for thirty years. The album alternates heavy tracks on one side and mid-tempi and power-ballads on the other in a very egalitarian distribution. It is in these latter formats that the most interest is concentrated with more accomplished melodic finishes and better developed ideas. From these compositions there emerges a pleasant "Flow" period Conception side with notably 'Lost', 'Under Dark Skies' and 'The Road', three gems with magnificent choruses that phagocyte neurons, and 'Crown Of Thorns' with hypnotic bass riff.

The other tracks balance the whole work rather well, but the melodies have neither the rendering nor the charm of the songs mentioned in the previous paragraph. 'Shine' would not have been dissimilar on a Fates Warning album and is limited to a rather classic heavy style just like 'A Beautiful Lie' and less striking. The end of the album spices up the flavours with more dynamism (the metal 'What The Water Wanted'), good riffs ('Wait') and a more audacious and progressive exercise with a good 'The Killing Floor' which unfortunately ends in fade-out. The whole album, with an obvious element in the calmer tracks, is thought and written mainly as a setting ready to welcome Adler's vocal honey which makes the superb demonstration of his great sensitivity (whose summit is the irresistible 'The Road'). This is undoubtedly its most remarkable characteristic and its first quality.

"What The Water Wants" has two facets that are well intertwined between in-between and emotionally more intense mid-tempi tracks. It is to the latter that we prefer, although the first one has some good moments. It turns out that Tony Hernando composed with Ray three of the heaviest tracks on the disc and this break reaches overall cohesion and reduces its impact. Ray Alder would be well advised to repeat the experience by relying on the exclusivity of a collaboration with Mike Abdow, a loyal musician who knows Ray and knows how to compose melodies that highlight all his vocalist talents.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/rayalderofficial/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

CONCEPTION, FATES WARNING

TRACK LISTING

01. Lost - 3:45
02. Crown Of Thorns - 4:53
03. Some Days - 4:34
04. Shine - 4:53
05. Under Dark Skies - 3:58
06. A Beautiful Lie - 4:10
07. The Road - 5:38
08. Wait - 4:36
09. What The Water Wanted - 3:46
10. The Killing Floor - 5:47
11. The Road - Acoustic Version) - 4:51


LINEUP

Craig Anderson: Batterie
Mike Abdow: Guitares
Ray Alder: Chant
Tony Hernando: Guitares


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS RAY ALDER
LAST NEWS
RAY ALDER: What The Water Wants
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about RAY ALDER
 
RATING
 
4/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS RAY ALDER
 
RAY-ALDER_What-The-Water-Wants What The Water Wants (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / MELODIC HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / RAY ALDER: What The Water Wants
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

RAY ALDER

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
WHAT THE WATER WANTS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
"Pour son premier album solo, Ray Alder prend des libertés avec le style qu’il honore depuis trois décennies. Garnis de morceaux heavy pour moitié et de superbes mid-tempi aux grandes intensités émotionnelles, "What The Water Wants" est une réussite qui en appelle d’autres."
NUNO777 - 05.11.2019 -
Louer les qualités de Ray Alder pourrait faire l’objet d’un article à lui seul. Plutôt discret, le chanteur aux origines mexicaines n’est pas toujours cité parmi les meilleurs chanteurs du metal progressif, pourtant ses prestations au sein de Fates Warning, Engine et Redemption ont à chaque fois marqué les esprits. Le sens du collectif ayant toujours prévalu chez l’Américain, il aura attendu la cinquantaine bien entamée pour se lancer dans son premier projet solo intitulé "What The Water Wants".

Le travail a été initié avec le guitariste Tony Hernando (Lords Of Black) avant que celui-ci n’abandonne le projet en cours pour raison professionnelle extérieure. Ray s’est alors tourné vers son collègue Mike Abdow, guitariste de Fates Warning sur les tournées, pour finir l’album. Il en résulte un disque plus orienté chansons et donc moins nettement progressif que les compositions sur lesquelles intervient Ray depuis trente ans. L’album alterne les morceaux heavy d’un côté et de l’autre les mid-tempi et power-ballads dans une répartition très égalitaire. C’est dans ces derniers formats que se concentre le plus d’intérêt avec des finitions mélodiques plus abouties et des idées mieux développées. De ces compositions se dégage un agréable côté Conception période "Flow" avec notamment ‘Lost’, ‘Under Dark Skies’ et ‘The Road’, trois pépites aux magnifiques refrains qui phagocytent les neurones, et ‘Crown Of Thorns’ au riff de basse hypnotique.

Les autres pièces équilibrent plutôt bien l’ensemble de l’œuvre mais les mélodies n’ont ni le rendu ni le charme des chansons mentionnées dans le paragraphe précédent. ‘Shine’ n’aurait pas dépareillé sur un album de Fates Warning et se cantonne à un style heavy assez classique tout comme ‘A Beautiful Lie’ en moins percutant. La fin du disque vient pimenter les saveurs avec plus de dynamisme (le metal ‘What The Water Wanted’), de bons riffs (‘Wait’) et un exercice plus audacieux et progressif avec un bon ‘The Killing Floor’ qui se termine malheureusement en fade out. L’ensemble de l’album, avec une évidence dans les morceaux plus calmes, est pensé et écrit principalement comme un écrin prêt à accueillir le miel vocal d’Adler qui fait la superbe démonstration de sa grande sensibilité (dont le sommet est l’irrésistible ‘The Road’). C’est sans doute sa caractéristique la plus remarquable et sa qualité première.

"What The Water Wants" possède deux facettes bien entrecroisées entre morceaux rentre-dedans et mid-tempi émotionnellement plus intenses. C’est à cette dernière que va notre préférence, bien que la première recèle quelques bons moments. Il s’avère que Tony Hernando a composé avec Ray trois des morceaux les plus heavy du disque et cette césure atteint la cohésion globale et amoindrit son impact. Ray Alder serait bien inspiré de rééditer l’expérience en misant sur l’exclusivité d’une collaboration avec Mike Abdow, un musicien fidèle qui connaît Ray et sait composer des mélodies qui mettent en valeur tous ses talents de chanteur.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/rayalderofficial/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
CONCEPTION, FATES WARNING

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Lost - 3:45
02. Crown Of Thorns - 4:53
03. Some Days - 4:34
04. Shine - 4:53
05. Under Dark Skies - 3:58
06. A Beautiful Lie - 4:10
07. The Road - 5:38
08. Wait - 4:36
09. What The Water Wanted - 3:46
10. The Killing Floor - 5:47
11. The Road - Acoustic Version) - 4:51


FORMATION:
Craig Anderson: Batterie
Mike Abdow: Guitares
Ray Alder: Chant
Tony Hernando: Guitares


TAGS:
Accessible / FM
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC RAY ALDER
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
RAY ALDER: Sortie d'un nouvel album solo
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant RAY ALDER
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT RAY ALDER
 
RAY-ALDER_What-The-Water-Wants What The Water Wants (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019