MW / Home / Reviews / THE FAIM: State Of Mind
BAND/AUTHOR:

THE FAIM

(AUSTRALIA)

TITLE:
STATE OF MIND
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
BMG
GENRE:
ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
"Despite a certain lack of personality and originality, "State Of Mind" is an album that fulfils its purpose to spend a pleasant moment."
CALGEPO - 26.09.2019 -
The Faim is a band founded in 2014 in Perth, Australia, a country that has offered us and still offers us famous and varied bands such as AC/DC of course, but also Midnight Oil or Unitopia. This time, the music of Australians is close to American bands such as Fall Out Boy or Panic! At The Disco. After having taken its time to compose and find its style, the combo released its first EP "Summer Is A Curse" in the summer of 2018, produced by John Feldmann who worked precisely with Panic!.... and whose some of the tracks can be found on this first album "State Of Mind".

This filiation with the American cousins is immediately evident in a warm, energetic and addictive "Tongue Tied" with choruses which will certainly be a hit live. The drums let loose at the very end of the track as it can get angry on the track "Amélie" in the pre-refrain while offering to a certain extent some melodic breaks between semi acoustic verses, an electric chorus and an air bridge (we are not far from an alternative rock almost progressive...). 

The Faim shows off its talent to offer also more compact, simpler and even classic tracks in their construction, while not losing sight of the fact that they must be easily memorable. In this perspective, "Word Apart" fulfils its role with a more synthetic aspect that is not unpleasant, bringing a beautiful modernity to the subject without falling into the electronic overkill that often phagocytes some contemporary pieces. 'Summer Is A Curse' is based on this effective modernity built around an attractive chorus repeated over and over again, which will not take long to remain in memory. But sometimes, some tracks lack consistency, especially in the muffled and somewhat too melodic 'Where The River Runs' with its melody frankly lacking in relief, a 'Humans' that would have required a little madness to totally win the support, or a 'Beautiful Dreams' with the content of a first hit made for a lambda band from 'American Got Talent'. 

With this first album, the Australian band offers a beautiful variety of styles to brighten up the autumn that is coming up. Despite a certain lack of personality and originality, "State Of Mind" is an album that fulfils its purpose to spend a pleasant moment with energetic tracks and others softer, well produced. The try is therefore transformed for The Faim, but let's hope in the future that the band emancipates itself a little and ventures towards some more personal compositions.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/thefaim/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

FALL OUT BOY, ALLUSINLOVE

TRACK LISTING

01. Tongue Tied
02. Humans
03. Summer Is a Curse
04. Beautiful Drama
05. Buying Time
06. Infamous
07. Amelie
08. Words Apart
09. Where the River Runs
10. State of Mind
11. Broken Places
12. Invisible Hearts


LINEUP

Josh Raven: Chant
Linden Marissen: Batterie
Sam Tye: Guitares
Stephen Beerkens: Basse / Claviers


TAGS:
90's, Easy Listening / FM, Happy / Delirious
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS THE FAIM
LAST NEWS
THE FAIM: State Of Mind
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about THE FAIM
 
RATING
 
3.5/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS THE FAIM
 
THE-FAIM_State-of-Mind State Of Mind (2019)
BMG / ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / THE FAIM: State Of Mind
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

THE FAIM

(AUSTRALIE)

TITRE:
STATE OF MIND
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
BMG
GENRE:
ROCK ALTERNATIF
"Malgré un manque certain de personnalité et d'originalité, "State Of Mind" est un album qui remplit son office pour passer un moment agréable avec des titres énergiques et d'autres plus doux."
CALGEPO - 26.09.2019 -
The Faim est un groupe fondé en 2014 à Perth en Australie, pays qui nous a offert et nous offre encore des groupes fameux et variés tels que AC/DC bien sûr, mais aussi Midnight Oil ou bien Unitopia et ses divers enfants issus du split du groupe originel pour ne citer qu'eux. Si le proverbe dit « loin des yeux loin du cœur », la musique des Australiens prouve le contraire, se rapprochant de groupes américains tels que Fall Out Boy ou Panic ! At The Disco. Après avoir pris son temps pour composer et trouver son style, le combo a sorti un premier EP "Summer Is A Curse" à l'été 2018, produit par John Feldmann qui a travaillé justement avec Panic !... et dont une partie des titres se retrouvent sur ce premier album "State Of Mind".

Cette filiation avec les cousins américains s'imprime d'emblée avec un 'Tongue Tied' chaloupé, énergique et addictif avec des "houhou" repris en cœur qui feront certainement un tabac en live. La batterie se lâche en toute fin de titre comme elle peut s'énerver sur le morceau 'Amélie' dans le pré-refrain tout en offrant dans une certaine mesure quelques brisures mélodiques entre des couplets semi acoustiques, un refrain électrique et un pont aérien (on n'est pas loin d'un rock alternatif presque progressif...).

The Faim fait étalage de son talent pour proposer aussi des titres plus ramassés, plus simples voire classiques dans leur construction, en ne perdant surtout pas de vue qu'il faut qu'ils soient facilement mémorisables. Dans cette optique, 'Word Apart' remplit formidablement son rôle avec un aspect plus synthétique pas désagréable, apportant une belle modernité au propos sans tomber dans l'outrance électronique qui phagocyte souvent certains morceaux contemporains. 'Summer Is A Curse' se calque sur cette modernité efficace construite autour d'un refrain attractif répété en boucle qui ne mettra pas longtemps à rester en mémoire. Mais parfois, certains titres manquent de consistance, notamment dans le feutré et quelque peu trop mélo 'Where The River Runs' à la mélodie manquant franchement de relief, un 'Humans' qui aurait nécessité d'un peu de folie pour emporter totalement l'adhésion, ou un 'Beautiful Dreams' à la teneur d'un premier tube fabriqué pour un groupe lambda issu de 'American Got Talent' un peu passe-partout.

Avec ce premier album qui ne laissera pas l'auditeur sur sa faim (oui, il fallait le placer à un moment donné, ce jeu de mots), le groupe australien propose un belle variété de styles pour égayer l'automne qui pointe le bout de son nez. Malgré un manque certain de personnalité et d'originalité, "State Of Mind" dans son ensemble est un album qui remplit son office pour passer un moment agréable avec des titres énergiques et d'autres plus doux, bien produits. L'essai est donc transformé pour The Faim, mais espérons à l'avenir que le groupe s'émancipe un peu et s'aventure vers quelques compositions plus personnelles.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/thefaim/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
FALL OUT BOY, ALLUSINLOVE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Tongue Tied
02. Humans
03. Summer Is a Curse
04. Beautiful Drama
05. Buying Time
06. Infamous
07. Amelie
08. Words Apart
09. Where the River Runs
10. State of Mind
11. Broken Places
12. Invisible Hearts


FORMATION:
Josh Raven: Chant
Linden Marissen: Batterie
Sam Tye: Guitares
Stephen Beerkens: Basse / Claviers


TAGS:
90's, Accessible / FM, Happy / Délirant
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC THE FAIM
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
THE FAIM: Les détails sur le nouvel album
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant THE FAIM
 
NOTES
 
3.5/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT THE FAIM
 
THE-FAIM_State-of-Mind State Of Mind (2019)
BMG / ROCK ALTERNATIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019