MW / Home / Reviews / ALTER BRIDGE: AB III
BAND/AUTHOR:

ALTER BRIDGE

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
AB III
RELEASE DATE:
2010
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
GRUNGE
"Without really changing direction, Alter Bridge arrives with a major album. The band unchecks what it knows how to do best, for the umpteenth time certainly, but without any false notes."
HYPERUNKNOWN - 10.12.2010 -
Between the participation of its musicians in the revival of the Creed epic and the competition of its singer in Slash's solo project, Alter Bridge has never been so much in the spotlight. A busy schedule, scattered members but also a change of label (now owned by the Roadrunner team), things have a somewhat different taste since for the same reasons, writing and recording took place in conditions of relative urgency. The Americans are therefore coming back with "AB III", a logical but inertial follow-up to their first two post-grunge records.

So to speak, purists may note as a notable change that the morale of the four Floridians has darkened, as have the lyrics of Myles Kennedy. The positive messages preached so far have given way to serious metaphysical questions, presented for the occasion in the form of a concept album. The music is slightly obscured in turn, sometimes more direct too. A guiding principle that, therefore, does not stand in stark contrast to the combo's previous misdeeds, but marks a transformation in the ideas conveyed.

The tracks, which stays in the same lineage, on their side, show an obvious talent for composition, an enviable ease of creating riffs, atmospheres already crossed between electric and authoritarian compositions ("Slip To The Void", "Still Remains"), emotionally inflated songs ("Wonderful Life") or more unifying ("Life Must Go On"). At the top, Mark Tremonti, always incisive, makes his strings glow as usual, handles the notes with the brilliance we know him and even tries to sing on a duet on the epilogue track ("Words Darker Than Their Wings") letting the very pleasant timbre of the man appreciate.

Without really changing direction, Alter Bridge arrives with a major album. The band unchecks what it knows how to do best, for the umpteenth time certainly, but without any false notes, quite the contrary. As its title implies, "AB III" was conceived as a continuity to the other two opuses, this is indeed the case, no more, no less.

More informations on http://www.alterbridge.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

HEAVEN'S BASEMENT, STONEDRIVE, HOTEL DIABLO

TRACK LISTING

01. Slip to the Void - 04:55
02. Isolation - 04:15
03. Ghost of Days Gone By - 04:28
04. All Hope Is Gone - 04:51
05. Still Remains - 04:47
06. Make It Right - 04:18
07. Wonderful Life - 05:22
08. I Know It Hurts - 03:57
09. Show Me a Sign - 05:58
10. Fallout - 04:24
11. Breathe Again - 04:24
12. Coeur d'Alene - 04:33
13. Life Must Go On - 04:34
14. Words Darker Than Their Wings - 05:21


LINEUP

Brian Marshall : Basse
Mark Tremonti : Guitares / Backing vocals
Myles Kennedy: Guitares / Lead vocals
Scott Phillips: Batterie / Percussions


TAGS:
Concept-album, Heavy, Opera Rock
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS ALTER BRIDGE
LAST NEWS
ALTER BRIDGE: Walk The Sky
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about ALTER BRIDGE
 
RATING
 
3.2/5 (4 view(s))
4/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS ALTER BRIDGE
 
ALTER-BRIDGE_Walk-The-Sky Walk The Sky (2019)
NAPALM RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE METAL
ALTER-BRIDGE_The-Last-Hero The Last Hero (2016)
NAPALM RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE METAL
ALTER-BRIDGE_Fortress Fortress (2013)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
ALTER-BRIDGE_AB-III AB III (2010)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_BlackBird BlackBird (2007)
UNIVERSAL / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_One-Day-Remains One Day Remains (2004)
WIND-UP RECORDS / GRUNGE
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / ALTER BRIDGE: AB III
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

ALTER BRIDGE

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
AB III
ANNEE PARUTION:
2010
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
GRUNGE
"Sans véritablement changer d’orientation, Alter Bridge débarque avec un album d’envergure dans lequel il nous offre ce qu’il sait faire de mieux, pour la énième fois certes, mais sans fausse note,"
HYPERUNKNOWN - 10.12.2010 -
Entre la participation de ses musiciens au renouveau de l’épopée Creed et le concours de son chanteur au projet solo de Slash, Alter Bridge n’a finalement jamais été autant sous les feux de la rampe. Planning chargé, membres éparpillés mais aussi un changement de label (désormais propriété de l’écurie Roadrunner), les choses ont quelque peu un goût de différent puisque pour ces mêmes raisons, écritures et enregistrements se sont déroulés dans des conditions de relative urgence. Les Américains reviennent donc avec "AB III", suite logique mais inertique à leur deux premiers volets post-grunge.

Pour ainsi dire, les puristes pourront noter comme changement notable que le moral des quatre Floridiens s’est assombri, tout comme les propos de Myles Kennedy. Les messages positifs prêchés jusque-là font place à de sérieux questionnements métaphysiques, présentés pour l’occasion sous la forme d’un album-concept. La musique s’en trouve légèrement obscurcie à son tour, parfois plus directe aussi. Un fil directeur qui, par conséquent, ne tranche pas franchement avec les précédents méfaits du combo, mais qui marque une transformation dans les idées véhiculées, alors même que leur succès grandissant devrait éclaircir plutôt leur.

Succès d’ailleurs tout autant légitime à l’appréciation des titres qui, une dernière fois s’ils ne font pas changer de cap le vaisseau, font état d’un talent évident de composition, d’une facilité enviable à créer des riffs, des ambiances déjà traversées entre brulots électriques et autoritaires ("Slip To The Void", "Still Remains"), morceaux gonflés à l’émotion ("Wonderful Life") ou plus fédérateurs ("Life Must Go On"). En tête, Mark Tremonti, toujours incisif, fait rutiler ses cordes comme à sa belle habitude, manie les notes avec le brio qu’on lui connait et tire même la couverture au niveau des vocaux, jusqu’à tenter un duo sur le titre épilogue ("Words Darker Than Their Wings") laissant apprécier le timbre très avenant du bonhomme.

Sans véritablement changer d’orientation, Alter Bridge débarque en grande pompe avec un album d’envergure. Le groupe décoche ce qu’il sait faire de mieux, pour la énième fois certes, mais sans fausse note, bien au contraire. Comme le sous-entend son titre, "AB III" a été conçu comme une continuité aux deux autres opus , c’est effectivement le cas, pas plus, ni moins.

Plus d'information sur http://www.alterbridge.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
HEAVEN'S BASEMENT, STONEDRIVE, HOTEL DIABLO

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Slip to the Void - 04:55
02. Isolation - 04:15
03. Ghost of Days Gone By - 04:28
04. All Hope Is Gone - 04:51
05. Still Remains - 04:47
06. Make It Right - 04:18
07. Wonderful Life - 05:22
08. I Know It Hurts - 03:57
09. Show Me a Sign - 05:58
10. Fallout - 04:24
11. Breathe Again - 04:24
12. Coeur d'Alene - 04:33
13. Life Must Go On - 04:34
14. Words Darker Than Their Wings - 05:21


FORMATION:
Brian Marshall : Basse
Mark Tremonti : Guitares / Backing vocals
Myles Kennedy: Guitares / Lead vocals
Scott Phillips: Batterie / Percussions


TAGS:
Concept-album, Lourde
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
productionuser_idproduction_comment_idproduction_review_id

LYNOTT - 10/12/2010 17:01:11
Un tantinet moins d'accroches mélodiques dans cet opus comparaison faite avec les essais précédants, mais du bel ouvrage tout de même.
1607 9038
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC ALTER BRIDGE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
ALTER BRIDGE: Les détails sur "Walk The Sky"
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant ALTER BRIDGE
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
C'est dans un Elysée Montmartre toujours aussi beau, qu'Alter Bridge nous a donné rendez vous ce soir !

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant ALTER BRIDGE
 
NOTES
 
3.2/5 (4 avis)
4/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT ALTER BRIDGE
 
ALTER-BRIDGE_Walk-The-Sky Walk The Sky (2019)
NAPALM RECORDS / METAL ALTERNATIF
ALTER-BRIDGE_The-Last-Hero The Last Hero (2016)
NAPALM RECORDS / METAL ALTERNATIF
ALTER-BRIDGE_Fortress Fortress (2013)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ROCK ALTERNATIF
ALTER-BRIDGE_Live-From-Amsterdam Live From Amsterdam (2011)
UNIVERSAL / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_AB-III AB III (2010)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_BlackBird BlackBird (2007)
UNIVERSAL / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_One-Day-Remains One Day Remains (2004)
WIND-UP RECORDS / GRUNGE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019