MW / Home / Reviews / MONKEY3: Beyond The Black Sky
BAND/AUTHOR:

MONKEY3

(SWITZERLAND)

TITLE:
BEYOND THE BLACK SKY
RELEASE DATE:
2011
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
STONER
"Neither Rock stoner nor progressive, but a little bit both at the same time, Monkey3 does not disappoint and makes Beyond The Black Sky one of the major releases of recent months."
CHILDERIC THOR - 21.07.2011 -
This is due to its median and isolated geographical location within Europe, but Switzerland has often been a provider in resolutely original groups. This was the case with Celtic Frost or Coroner, to name but two. This singularity is still true today with Monkey3. 

Fast consumers, those who lend to listening little more than a distracted ear, will argue that this lazy formation - on a strictly quantitative level (three opus in ten years of career) - does not innovate at all, contenting itself with grinding an instrumental Stoner Rock which could surprise at the time of the eponymous trial run in 2001.... Easy shortcut because Monkey3 actually has very few links with this movement. If the band can't hide its reverence for the 70s, it's more towards the progressive scene and especially Space Rock that it goes. The permanent use of keyboards, which not only highlight the work done by the other instruments but are one of the main buttresses supporting the building, testifies to this obvious anchoring. 

If the never-satisfied will regret that the Swiss didn't stretch its duration a little more (42 minutes, it's a little short, especially after almost five years of absence, only interrupted by an EP based on covers), Beyond The Black Sky continues the work started by its two predecessors. One guesses that the compositions are the result of a long elaboration. Despite their cosmic jam accents, they betray the permanent concern of their authors to always produce real tracks, whose different parts fit together smoothly. The gigantic "Black Maiden", scattered with melancholic zebra stripes, is a good example of the meticulous construction science that Monkey3 has achieved. 

Just as comfortable in the heavy and nervous tracks (the short "K.I" and "Camhell") as in the more atmospheric cavalcades (mention for "Motorcycle Broer" to which he prints a kind of hypnotic groove that takes everything with it and the slow final exploration, "Through The Desert"), the band signs an album both homogeneous and varied, solid and imparable. It confirms that the all instrumental can be exciting when it is exploited by talented musicians, as is the case here. Each has its own well-defined place at the service of a group that never gets its feet caught in its own trap, the tempting one of nebulous demonstration. 

Neither Rock stoner nor progressive, but a little bit both at the same time, Monkey3 does not disappoint and makes Beyond The Black Sky one of the major releases of recent months.

More informations on http://www.monkeythree.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

ISIS, TOOL

TRACK LISTING

01. Camhell - 06:19
02. One Zero Zero One - 04:04
03. Black Maiden - 08:51
04. Tuco The Ugly - 02:13
05. K.i. - 02:31
06. Motorcycle Broer - 05:33
07. Gate 57 - 03:49
08. Through The Desert - 08:53


LINEUP

Boris: Guitares
Mister M: Claviers / Programmation
Picasso: Basse
Walter: Batterie


TAGS:
Instrumental, Space
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS MONKEY3
 
RATING
 
4/5 (3 view(s))
4/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS MONKEY3
 
MONKEY3_SPHERE Sphere (2019)
NAPALM RECORDS / STONER
MONKEY3_Beyond-The-Black-Sky Beyond The Black Sky (2011)
AUTRE LABEL / STONER
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / MONKEY3: Beyond The Black Sky

MONKEY3: BEYOND THE BLACK SKY (2011)


ALBUM - AUTRE LABEL - STONER - CHILDERIC THOR - 21.07.2011
""

4/5
GROUPES PROCHES :
ISIS, TOOL

TRACKS :

01. Camhell - 06:19, 02. One Zero Zero One - 04:04, 03. Black Maiden - 08:51, 04. Tuco The Ugly - 02:13, 05. K.i. - 02:31, 06. Motorcycle Broer - 05:33, 07. Gate 57 - 03:49, 08. Through The Desert - 08:53

FORMATION :
Boris (Guitares), Mister M (Claviers / Programmation), Picasso (Basse), Walter (Batterie)

TAGs :
Instrumental, Space
Est-ce dû à sa situation géographique à la fois médiane et isolée au sein de l’Europe mais la Suisse a souvent été pourvoyeur en groupes résolumement à part. Ce fut le cas avec Celtic Frost ou Coroner pour n’en citer que deux. Cette singularité se vérifie encore actuellement avec Monkey3.

Les consommateurs rapides, ceux qui ne prêtent aux écoutes guère plus qu’une oreille distraite, argueront que cette formation paresseuse - sur un plan strictement quantitatif s’entend (trois explorations en dix ans de carrière) – n’innove en rien, se contentant de mouliner un Stoner Rock instrumental lequel, s’il a pu surprendre à l’époque du galop d’essai éponyme en 2001, n’étonne en revanche plus personne aujourd’hui... Raccourci facile s’il en est car Monkey3 ne noue en réalité que bien peu de liens avec cette mouvance portée sur la fumette et le Black Sabbath séminal. Si le groupe ne saurait cacher sa révérence pour les années 70, c’est davantage vers la scène progressive et surtout Space Rock, qu’il s’abreuve. Le recours permanent à des nappes de claviers qui ne se contentent pas seulement de souligner le travail abattu par les autres instruments mais sont un des principaux arc-boutants soutenant l’édifice, témoigne de cet ancrage évident.

Si les jamais contents regretteront que les Suisses n'aient pas étiré un peu plus sa durée (42 minutes, c'est un peu court, surtout après quasiment cinq ans d'absence, seulement interrompus par un EP basé sur des reprises), Beyond The Black Sky, s'il ne surprend pas, poursuit le travail entamé par ses deux prédécesseurs. Bien que l'on imagine sans peine quelle rampe de lancement vers les improvisations les plus folles, elles peuvent devenir sur scène, on devine néanmoins que ces compositions sont le fruit d'une longue élaboration. Malgré leur accents de jam cosmique, elles trahissent le souci permanent chez leurs auteurs de pondre toujours de vrais titres, dont les différentes parties s'emboitent avec fluidité. Le gigantesque "Black Maiden", montée en puissance tavelée de zébrures mélancoliques, illustre bien cette science de la construction minutieuse à laquelle Monkey3 est parvenu.

Aussi à l'aise dans l'accroche lourde et nerveuse (le court "K.I" et "Camhell") que dans les cavalcades plus atmosphériques (mention pour "Motorcycle Broer" auquel il imprime une espèce de groove hypnotique qui emporte tout avec lui et la lente exploration finale, "Through The Desert" que déchirent de sombres coups de boutoir), le groupe signe un album à la fois homogène et varié, solide et imparable. Il confirme que le parti pris instrumental peut être passionnant lorsqu'il est exploité par des musiciens talentueux, comme c'est le cas ici. Chacun y a sa place bien définie au service d'un ensemble qui ne se prend jamais les pieds dans son propre piège, celui, tentant, de la démonstration nébuleuse.

Ni Rock stoner ni progressif, mais un peu les deux à la fois, Monkey3 ne deçoit pas et fait de Beyond The Black Sky une de sorties majeures de ces derniers mois. Indispensable.


Plus d'informations sur http://www.monkeythree.com/
Soyez le premier à donner votre avis...
EN RELATION AVEC MONKEY3
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
La programmation du Paris Rock Festival
CONCERT

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant MONKEY3
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
4
Beyond The Black Sky (2011)

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant MONKEY3
ALBUMS CONSEILLES
  • ISIS_Oceanic ISIS
    Oceanic (2002)
    IPECAC - HARDCORE

    4
  • ISIS_Panopticon ISIS
    Panopticon (2004)
    IPECAC - HARDCORE

    5
  • ISIS_In-The-Absence-Of-Truth ISIS
    In The Absence Of Truth (2006)
    IPECAC - HARDCORE

    4
  • ISIS_Celestial ISIS
    Celestial (2000)
    ESCAPE ARTIST - HARDCORE

    4
  • TOOL_10-000-Days TOOL
    10,000 Days (2006)
    SONY BMG - METAL ATMOSPHERIQUE

    5
    
 
VIDEO
 
RATING
STAFF : 4/5 (3 avis)
LECTEURS : 4/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT MONKEY3
 
MONKEY3_Beyond-The-Black-Sky Beyond The Black Sky (2011)
AUTRE LABEL - STONER

4
MONKEY3_39-Laps 39 Laps (2006)
LONGFELLOW DEEDS - STONER

4
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner, Metal Mind, Mascot, Spv, Afm, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn, Prophecy, F2, Frontiers, Karisma, Insideout, Nightmare, K-scope, Ear Music, Klonosphere, Progressive Promotion, Gentle Art Of Music

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2017