MW / Home / Reviews / LEPROUS: Bilateral
BAND/AUTHOR:

LEPROUS

(NORWAY)

TITLE:
BILATERAL
RELEASE DATE:
2011
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL
"Without denying his first loves, Bilateral offers a less ambitious and more consensual music, more likely to reach a wide audience."
NUNO777 - 12.08.2011 -
With a first record like Tall Poppy Syndrome, Leprous could not remain unknown for very long. One of the signs of recognition is this signature on the prestigious Inside Out label which aroused the fans' appetite as soon as the release of Bilateral was announced 18 months after the Norwegians' first shock. With such rich and creative music, the Scandinavians immediately settled into a position less and less shared by progressive metal bands, with the result that they had to innovate to survive.

The first track, "Bilateral", takes over from Tall Poppy Syndrome in the very place where it had been left a year and a half earlier. Raw power, well-controlled choirs, strange sounds and a bewitching rhythm section. Without really creating a similar shock when listening to the first track of Tall Poppy Syndrome, we enter Bilateral with high expectations. And it's not the nugget that follows that will make us waver. Indeed, "Forced Entry" is nothing less than the best track on the album and certainly from the Norwegians' young career. Everything is there: the characteristic length of epic compositions without excessive complexity, an extremely melodious two-step chorus, rhythmic breaks and well-balanced instrumental passages. We find in this title a little less madness than usual but some sounds are to be found on the side of Haken or Tool and bring a real plus to the music so personal of the "lepers".

If these two songs have for them to be appreciated very quickly, the rest of the album gives more trouble. It will take a lot of listening not to judge too quickly the other eight tracks, like "Mb. Indifferentia" which starts slowly like a ballad to progress towards something more powerful. The temptation to cry out for simplicity is great but less obvious once the listening follows one another. We would still prefer the emotion conveyed during the brilliant "Acquired Taste" which demonstrates the importance of Einar Solberg's polymorphous singing.

In the middle of titles that have real qualities, a dissonant, strident and disturbing "Waste Of Air" emerges, hypnotizing by its loud rhythms and loud keyboards. There is no real coherence in this title, which remains atypical of this Bilateral. Leprous seems to be marking the step in a frantic race towards ever more originality, and the recommended solution is to act with small touches like this saxophone well felt on the excellent "Thorn" (which follows a few well-tortured sentences from Ihsahn) or the arabic riffs from "Cryptogenic Desires".

Condemned to innovate  because it is the essence of this niche at the edge of the avant-garde, Leprous is also and above all progressive metal without supersonic guitars, with a voice capable of sweeping an extremely wide musical spectrum. To be able to give himself a margin of progress, Leprous acts sparingly and picks up less thundering madness in his pieces, and this is probably what troubles the first listeners the most. Without denying his first loves, Bilateral offers a less ambitious and more consensual music, more likely to reach a wide audience.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/leprousband/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

HAKEN, THE MARS VOLTA, IHSAHN, TOOL, NINE INCH NAILS, ERESIS, HAUCHARD

TRACK LISTING

01. Bilateral-04:00
02. Forced Entry-10:20
03. Restless-03:30
04. Thorn-05:47
05. Mb. Indifferentia-06:33
06. Waste Of Air-05:32
07. Mediocrity Wins-06:07
08. Cryptogenic Desires-02:45
09. Acquired Taste-05:13
10. Painful Detour-08:18


LINEUP

Einar Solberg: Chant / Claviers
Oystein Landsverk: Guitares / Chant
Rein Blomquist : Basse
Tobias Ornes Andersen: Batterie
Tor Oddmund Suhrke: Guitares / Chant


TAGS:
Grunt/Growl voice, Guttural voice, Yelled sing, Cutting Edge, Chaotic, Happy / Delirious, Discordant
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS LEPROUS
LAST NEWS
Leprous: New video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about LEPROUS
 
RATING
 
4/5 (5 view(s))
4.8/5 (4 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS LEPROUS
 
LEPROUS_Pitfalls Pitfalls (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / ROCK
LEPROUS_Malina Malina (2017)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
LEPROUS_The-Congregation The Congregation (2015)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
LEPROUS_Coal Coal (2013)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
LEPROUS_Bilateral Bilateral (2011)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
LEPROUS_Tall-Poppy-Syndrome Tall Poppy Syndrome (2009)
LASER'S EDGE / PROGRESSIVE METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / LEPROUS: Bilateral

LEPROUS: BILATERAL (2011)


ALBUM - INSIDEOUT - METAL PROGRESSIF - NUNO777 - 12.08.2011
"Sans renier ses premières amours pour le metal progressif innovant, Bilateral propose une musique moins ambitieuse et plus consensuelle, plus à même de toucher un large public."

4/5
GROUPES PROCHES :
HAKEN, THE MARS VOLTA, IHSAHN, TOOL, NINE INCH NAILS, ERESIS, HAUCHARD

TRACKS :

01. Bilateral-04:00, 02. Forced Entry-10:20, 03. Restless-03:30, 04. Thorn-05:47, 05. Mb. Indifferentia-06:33, 06. Waste Of Air-05:32, 07. Mediocrity Wins-06:07, 08. Cryptogenic Desires-02:45, 09. Acquired Taste-05:13, 10. Painful Detour-08:18

FORMATION :
Einar Solberg (Chant / Claviers), Oystein Landsverk (Guitares / Chant), Rein Blomquist (Basse), Tobias Ornes Andersen (Batterie), Tor Oddmund Suhrke (Guitares / Chant)

TAGs :
Chant grunt/growl, Chant guttural, Chant hurlé, Avant-gardiste, Chaotique, Happy / Délirant, Dissonant
Avec un premier disque de la trempe de Tall Poppy Syndrome, Leprous ne pouvait pas rester inconnu très longtemps. Un des signes de la reconnaissance est cette signature sur le prestigieux label Inside Out qui éveilla les appétits des fans dès l’annonce de la sortie de Bilateral 18 mois après le premier choc des Norvégiens. Avec une musique aussi riche et créative les Scandinaves se sont installés d’emblée dans une position de moins en moins partagée par les groupes de métal progressif, avec pour conséquence la nécessité d’innover pour survivre.

Le premier titre, "Bilateral", vient prendre le relai de Tall Poppy Syndrome à l’endroit même où on l’avait laissé un an et demi auparavant. Une puissance brute, des chœurs bien maîtrisés, des sonorités étranges et une section rythmique envoutante. Sans vraiment créer un choc similaire à l’écoute du premier titre de Tall Poppy Syndrome, on entre dans Bilateral avec de belles espérances. Et ce n’est pas la pépite qui suit qui nous fera vaciller. En effet, "Forced Entry" n’est rien de moins que le meilleur morceau de l’album et certainement de la jeune carrière des Norvégiens. Tout y est : longueur caractéristique des compositions épiques sans complexité excessive, refrain en deux temps extrêmement mélodieux, cassures rythmiques et passages instrumentaux bien équilibrés. On retrouve dans ce titre un peu moins de folie que d’accoutumée mais quelques sonorités sont à chercher du côté de Haken ou Tool et apportent un vrai plus à la musique si personnelle des 'lépreux'.

Si ces deux morceaux ont pour eux d’être très rapidement appréciés, le reste de l’album donne plus de fil à retordre. Il faudra beaucoup d’écoutes pour ne pas juger trop rapidement les huit autres titres, à l’instar de "Mb.Indifferentia" qui démarre lentement comme une ballade pour progresser vers quelque chose de plus puissant. La tentation de crier à la simplicité est grande mais moins évidente une fois que les écoutes s’enchaînent. On préférera tout de même l’émotion véhiculée lors du génial "Acquired Taste" qui démontre l’importance du chant polymorphe d’Einar Solberg.

Au milieu de titres qui ont pourtant de réelles qualités, surgit un "Waste Of Air" dissonant, strident et dérangeant, qui hypnotise par ses rythmes tapageurs et ses claviers criards. Pas vraiment de cohérence dans ce titre qui reste atypique de ce Bilateral. Leprous semble marquer le pas dans une course effrénée vers toujours plus d’originalité, et la solution préconisée est d’agir par petites touches comme ce saxophone bien senti sur l’excellent "Thorn" (qui fait suite à quelques phrases bien torturées de Ihsahn) ou les riffs arabisants de "Cryptogenic Desires".

Condamné à innover certes, car c’est l’essence de ce créneau à la frange de l’avant-garde, mais Leprous, c’est aussi et surtout du métal progressif sans guitares supersoniques, avec un chant capable de balayer un spectre musical extrêmement large. Pour pouvoir se donner une marge de progression, Leprous agit avec parcimonie et ramasse dans ses morceaux moins de folie tonitruante, et c’est surement ce qui trouble le plus aux premières écoutes. Sans renier ses premières amours, Bilateral propose une musique moins ambitieuse et plus consensuelle, plus à même de toucher un large public.


Plus d'informations sur http://www.myspace.com/leprousband
Soyez le premier à donner votre avis...
EN RELATION AVEC LEPROUS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
LEPROUS: Nouvel extrait de "Malina"
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant LEPROUS
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Les Norvégiens de Leprous reviennent à Bordeaux pour la deuxième fois de l'année pour promouvoir leur nouvel album "Malina".

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant LEPROUS
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
2
Malina (2017)
"Coal", The Congregation", "Malina" : même recette, mêmes ficelles, même déception. Einar Solberg vampirise les créations du groupe et ferait bien de revenir à une écriture collégiale salvatrice. Peut (beaucoup) mieux faire...

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant LEPROUS
ALBUMS CONSEILLES
  • THE-MARS-VOLTA_Noctourniquet THE MARS VOLTA
    Noctourniquet (2012)
    ROADRUNNER - ROCK PROGRESSIF

    4
  • HAKEN_Aquarius HAKEN
    Aquarius (2010)
    SENSORY - METAL PROGRESSIF

    4
  • IHSAHN_Eremita IHSAHN
    Eremita (2012)
    CANDLELIGHT - METAL PROGRESSIF

    4
  • NINE-INCH-NAILS_Hesitation-Marks NINE INCH NAILS
    Hesitation Marks (2013)
    AUTRE LABEL - ROCK ALTERNATIF

    4
  • NINE-INCH-NAILS_Broken NINE INCH NAILS
    Broken (1992)
    AUTRE LABEL - METAL INDUSTRIEL

    3
    
 
VIDEO
 
RATING
STAFF : 4/5 (4 avis)
LECTEURS : 4.7/5 (3 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT LEPROUS
 
LEPROUS_Malina Malina (2017)
INSIDEOUT - METAL PROGRESSIF

2
LEPROUS_The-Congregation The Congregation (2015)
INSIDEOUT - METAL PROGRESSIF

3
LEPROUS_Coal Coal (2013)
INSIDEOUT - METAL PROGRESSIF

2
LEPROUS_Bilateral Bilateral (2011)
INSIDEOUT - METAL PROGRESSIF

4
LEPROUS_Tall-Poppy-Syndrome Tall Poppy Syndrome (2009)
LASER'S EDGE - METAL PROGRESSIF

4
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner, Metal Mind, Mascot, Spv, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn, Prophecy, F2, Frontiers, Karisma, Insideout, Nightmare, Kscope, Ear Music, Klonosphere, Progressive Promotion, Gentle Art Of Music

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2017