MW / Home / Articles / GHOST + CANDLEMASS - LE ZENITH (PARIS) - FEBRUARY 2019

GHOST + CANDLEMASS - LE ZENITH (PARIS) - FEBRUARY 2019


Type:
LIVE REPORT
Genre:
DOOM
THE Swedish show that you shouldn't miss....
PHILX - 25.02.2019
But how far will Ghost go?

This is the question we can ask ourselves since their appearance on our PAF at a prime time, the nomination of "Prequelle" for the best rock album at the Grammy and their presence in the first part of Metallica on the extension of the Worldwired Tour Europe 2019 tour (which will pass through Paris on May 12). If the first two events did not end in their favour (let's face it, Barthes knows nothing about music and made a total flop by receiving Tobias Forge on his set, and a Grammy given to the contested Greta Van Fleet) Cardinal Copia and his Nameless Ghouls did not struggle to fill the Zenith in Paris for if not THE show, one of the most outstanding this year, certainly. Many of the faithful were waiting for the great mass, they were not disappointed...


Candlemass

It was their great (who said "old"?) brothers of Candlemass, true pioneers of the genre, whom they invited for this great communion of the Swedish Doom for the greatest pleasure of the purists. The room was therefore not long in filling up despite the slight delay announced late. Speaking of purists, the latter jubilant at the idea of applauding Johan Längqvist, the band's original vocalist in 1984, who worked on the illustrious "Epicus Doomicus Metallicus", but whose notoriety, in serious competition with his replacement, Messiah Marcolin may disappoint some.


Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Anyway, benefiting from a large stage and a small central advance in the audience, the band starts its set on a very successful "Funebre March", bringing the whole audience up to speed. Längqvist is quite mobile and makes sure to see his audience as closely as possible, carefully sweeping his assembly with his hooked hand. As generous with his audience as he is respectful with his friends, he takes care to withdraw from the stage on the instrumental parts, and despite the years on the counter, they are perfectly trained musicians, capable of handling the wild instrumental parts, while allowing themselves to make faces or teasing gestures in the middle of one of them solo. Leif Edling on bass is the most scenic, almost poseur at times, while Lars Johansson remains in retreat, focused on his instrument. 

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

The large stage allows them not to walk on their feet, but the crowdedness does not allow them to plant a universe other than by a small back at the back of the stage. The lights and a more meticulous universe would have made it possible to plunge more quickly into the atmosphere, but as long as the monsters of'A Sorcerer's Pledge' and'Solitude' are played, it is the assurance of a conquered public, even if they have come in greater numbers to applaud Ghost's younger generation, a tribute will be paid to the pioneers, as if they had come to transmit the torch to the'flavor of the moment'.

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019


Setlist :
Marche Funebre
The Well of Souls
Dark Reflections
Astorolus - The Great Octopus
Mirror Mirror
A Sorcerer's Pledge
Solitude


Ghost

Many cosplayers have made the pilgrimage to the Zenith to receive the Cardinal's blessing in person and you can feel the excitement rising as the little hands are busy preparing the scene behind an opaque curtain... The hour of communion is approaching, the Mass is ready to be said....

They came to defend their last release "Prequelle" (awarded a 4/5 on Music Waves) which saw in particular the replacement of the illustrious and much appreciated Papa Emeritus III by Cardinal Copia, a young apprentice of Papa Emeritus Zero. Simple' cardinal, he therefore applies for the rank of Pope, in this tour "Prequelle"... let's see what he has to offer and whether or not he deserves his make-up "Emeritus"...

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

The veil falls, the masks remain and we discover the sumptuous scene where the drum set sits in the centre, elevated and surrounded by safety chains. On the right, the multiple keyboards are spread out in this urban landscape made of stairs, bricks and low barriers. The background is as usual, imposing and solemn with its three sumptuous stained glass windows. The musicians, surprisingly numerous on this stage, saw their costumes improve, in a respect for tradition, but still leaving them with their mouth open, thus allowing them to accompany the Cardinal on his singing lines. 

If the show starts in a less energetic atmosphere than on previous tours, we will see a rapid increase in power once the first 3 tracks are played. The Cardinal needs to warm up because it is not a classical concert that he is offering us tonight, but a real 2:30 am show. Yes yes, you read well (for those who didn't have the chance to attend), no less than 25 tracks played, covering their discography to a large extent, all interspersed with 20 minutes of intermission, we're not animals either!

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019 Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

It is therefore quite quickly that the atmosphere settles in, and that the Cardinal sings in turn the hits marking the last holy opus with the powerful and unifying "Cirice", or "Devil Church" on which the Ghouls will face each other on a duel with guitars. We will also be served with a "Miasma" on which the master of ceremonies will play the saxophone part personally, and a sumptuous "Jigolo Har Megiddo" played in acoustic.

The second part of the evening features the new classics "Spirit" and "From the Pinnacle to the Pit" as well as the oldest timeless "Year Zero", "He Is", "Mummy Dust", Roky Erickson's unmissable cover "If You Have Ghosts", all created in a scenography specific to the group, where the Cardinal slowly walks the stage, going to see his followers, like his servants to highlight them when they start a solo. The Ghuls, on the other hand, are doing their part and this new round of interchangeable musicians seems to be taking a lot of pleasure judging by the few expressions we can see under their masks, as they encourage the audience to sing. The choreography set up on "Year Zero" is worth the detour, where music, visual effects with smoke, and exceptional light are all one, magnifying an already impeccable sound (although sometimes very metallic on the singer's voice) of a clean, neat, and perfectly in tune show.

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019 Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

We note the presence of several Ghoulettes, with more feminine masks, behind the keyboards in particular, shakers and choirs. 
The Swedish group, which continues to experience a dazzling and uninterrupted rise in France, provides a show that further anchors their presence in the world's heavy landscape. This first Zénith de Paris is a real success, both for the quality and professionalism of the performance, while the changes in atmosphere, the costumes of the frontman, the musicians according to the pieces and the length could represent as many risks, as for the festive atmosphere that reigns in the audience, who constantly sing, scream and chant the choruses without weakening.

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

No ambiguity, no flaws or weaknesses, a show as solid as possible until the last minute on a Dantean "Monstrance Clock" with an audience that, feeling the end coming, gives its last resources without counting. The mass is said, ladies and gentlemen, you have delivered to us if not THE best, one of the shows of the year in France... 

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019



Setlist :
1er acte
---
Ashes
Rats
Absolution
Ritual
Con Clavi Con Dio
Per Aspera ad Inferi
Devil Church (incl. Guitar duel)
Cirice
Miasma (Papa Nihil on saxophone)
Jigolo Har Megiddo (acoustic)
Pro Memoria
Witch Image
Life Eternal
2e acte
---
Masked Ball
Spirit
From the Pinnacle to the Pit
Majesty
Satan Prayer
Faith
Year Zero
Spöksonat
He Is
Mummy Dust
If You Have Ghosts
(Roky Erickson cover)
Dance Macabre
Square Hammer
---
Monstrance Clock



More informations on http://ghost-official.com/
Main Image

Item 1 of 0
 
LINKED
DERNIER ARTICLE
THE Swedish show that you shouldn't miss....

Read the article
Read all articles regarding GHOST
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
Prequelle (2018)
Marked by the unique signature and spirit of renewal at work in each of its three predecessors, "Prequelle" dedicates Ghost's most successful period in terms of melodic success and accessibility.

Read the review
Read all reviews regarding GHOST

F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Articles / GHOST + CANDLEMASS - LE ZENITH (PARIS) - 7 FEVRIER 2019

GHOST + CANDLEMASS - LE ZENITH (PARIS) - 7 FEVRIER 2019


TYPE:
LIVE REPORT
GENRE:
DOOM
LE show des Suédois qu'il ne fallait pas manquer...
PHILX - 25.02.2019
Mais jusqu'où ira Ghost ?

C'est bien la question qu'on peut se poser depuis leur apparition sur notre PAF à une heure de grande écoute, la nomination de "Prequelle" pour le meilleur album rock aux Grammy et leur présence en première partie de Metallica sur l'extention de la tournée Worldwired Tour Europe 2019 (qui passera par Paris le 12 mai). Si les deux premiers événements n'ont pas connu un dénouement en leur faveur (qu'on se le dise, Barthes n'y connait rien en musique et a fait un flop total en recevant Tobias Forge sur son plateau, et un Grammy remis aux contestés Greta Van Fleet) le Cardinal Copia et ses Nameless Ghouls n'ont pas peiné à remplir le Zénith de Paris pour sinon LE show, l'un des plus marquants cette année, assurément. Les fidèles étaient nombreux à attendre la grand messe, ils n'ont pas été déçus...


Candlemass

Ce sont leur grands (qui a dit 'vieux'?) frères de Candlemass, véritables pionniers du genre, qu'ils ont convié pour cette grande communion du Doom Suédois pour le plus grand plaisir des puristes. La salle ne tarde donc pas à se remplir malgré le léger retard annoncé tardivement. En parlant de puristes, ces derniers jubilent à l'idée d'applaudir Johan Längqvist, vocaliste original de la formation en 1984, qui a notamment œuvré sur l'illustre 'Epicus Doomicus Metallicus', mais dont la notoriété, en sérieuse concurrence avec son remplaçant, le Messiah Marcolin peut en décevoir certains.

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Quoi qu'il en soit, bénéficiant d'une large scène et d'une petite avancée centrale dans le public, la formation entame son set sur une 'Marche Funebre' des plus réussies, mettant tout le public au diapason. Längqvist est assez mobile et s'assure de voir son public au plus près, balayant avec attention son assemblée de sa main crochue. Aussi généreux avec son public que respectueux avec ses comparses, il prend soin de se retirer de la scène sur les parties instrumentales, et malgré les années au compteur, ce sont bien des musiciens parfaitement rodés, capables d'assurer les parties instrumentales endiablés, tout en se permettant de venir faire des grimaces ou des gestes taquins en plein solo de l'un deux. Leif Edling à la basse est le plus scénique, presque poseur par moment, alors que Lars Johansson reste en retrait, concentré sur son instrument.

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

La large scène leur permet de ne pas se marcher sur les pieds, mais l'encombrement ne leur permet pas de planter un univers autrement que par un petit back en fond de scène. Les lumières ainsi qu'un univers plus soignés auraient permis de plonger plus rapidement dans l'ambiance, mais tant que les monstres de 'A Sorcerer's Pledge' et 'Solitude' sont joués, c'est l'assurance d'un public conquis, même s'il est venu plus nombreux applaudir la jeune génération de Ghost, un hommage sera fait aux pionniers, comme s'ils étaient venus transmettre le flambeau au 'flavor of the moment'.

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Candlemass @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019


Retrouvez toutes les photos de Candlemass en HD en cliquant ici.

Setlist :

Marche Funebre
The Well of Souls
Dark Reflections
Astorolus - The Great Octopus
Mirror Mirror
A Sorcerer's Pledge
Solitude


Ghost

Les cosplayers sont nombreux à avoir fait le pèlerinage jusqu'au Zénith pour recevoir la bénédiction du Cardinal en personne et on sent l'excitation monter alors que les petites mains s'affairent à préparer la scène derrière un rideau opaque... L'heure de la communion approche, la messe est prête à être dite...

Venus défendre leur dernière sortie "Prequelle" (gratifié d'un 4/5 sur Music Waves) qui a vu notamment le remplacement de l'illustre et très apprécié Papa Emeritus III par le Cardinal Copia, jeune apprenti de Papa Emeritus Zero. 'Simple' cardinal, il postule donc pour le rang de Pape, dans cette tournée "Prequelle"... voyons ce qu'il a à proposer et s'il mérite ou non son maquillage 'Emeritus'...

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Le voile tombe, les masques restent et on découvre la somptueuse scène où la batterie trône au centre, surélevée et entourée de chaines de sécurité. A droite, les multiples claviers s'étalent dans ce paysage urbain fait d'escaliers, de briques et barrières basses. Le fond de scène est conforme à l'accoutumée, imposant et solennel avec ses trois vitraux somptueux. Les musiciens, étonnamment nombreux sur cette scène ont vu leur costumes s'améliorer, dans un respect de la tradition, mais leur laissant tout de même la bouche ajourée, leur permettant ainsi d'accompagner le Cardinal sur ses lignes de chant.

Si le show commence dans une ambiance moins énergique que sur les tournées précédentes, on observera une rapide montée en puissance une fois les 3 premiers titres passés. Le Cardinal a besoin de se chauffer car ce n'est pas un concert classique qu'il nous offre ce soir, mais un véritable show de 2h30. Oui oui, vous lisez bien (pour ceux qui n'ont pas eu la chance d'y assister), pas moins de 25 titres joués, couvrant donc largement leur discographie, le tout entrecoupé de 20 minutes d'entracte, on n'est pas des bêtes non plus!

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019 Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

C'est donc assez rapidement que l'ambiance s'installe, et que le Cardinal entonne tour à tour les tubes marquant le dernier opus saint avec le puissant et fédérant 'Cirice', ou 'Devil Church' sur lequel les Ghouls s'affronteront sur un duel aux guitares. Nous serons également servis de 'Miasma' sur lequel le maitre de cérémonie assurera la partie saxophone personnellement, et un somptueux 'Jigolo Har Megiddo' joué en acoustique.

La seconde partie de la soirée met à l'honneur les nouveaux classiques 'Spirit' et 'From the Pinnacle to the Pit' ainsi que les plus anciens indémodables 'Year Zero', 'He Is', 'Mummy Dust', la cover incontournable de Roky Erickson 'If You Have Ghosts', tous réalisés dans une scénographie propre au groupe, où le Cardinal arpente lentement la scène, allant voir ses fidèles, comme ses serviteurs pour les mettre en valeur lorsqu'ils entament un solo. Les Ghouls, eux, assurent leur part du contrat et cette nouvelle salve de musiciens interchangeables semble même prendre beaucoup de plaisir à en juger par les quelques expressions que l'on entrevoit sous leur masque, alors qu'ils encouragent le public à chanter. La chorégraphie mise en place sur 'Year Zéro' vaut le détour, où musique, effets visuels avec les fumigènes, et la lumière exceptionnelle ne font qu'un tout, magnifiant un son déjà impeccable (bien que parfois très métallique sur la voix du chanteur) d'un show propre, soigné, et parfaitement au diapason.

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019 Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

On note la présence de plusieurs Ghoulettes, aux masques plus féminins, derrière les claviers notamment, shakers et aux chœurs.
Le groupe suédois, qui n'en finit pas de connaitre une ascension fulgurante et sans faille dans l'hexagone, assure un spectacle qui ancre encore davantage leur présence dans le paysage heavy mondial. Ce premier Zénith de Paris est un réel succès, tant par la qualité et le professionnalisme de la prestation, alors que les changements d'ambiance, de costumes du frontman, de musiciens selon les morceaux et la longueur pouvaient représenter autant de risques, que par l'ambiance festive qui règne dans le public, qui chante sans cesse, hurle et scande les refrains sans faiblir.

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Aucune équivoque, aucune faille ni faiblesse, un show aussi solide que possible jusqu'à la dernière minute sur un 'Monstrance Clock' dantesque avec un public qui, sentant venir la fin, donne ses dernières ressources sans compter. La messe est dite, Mesdames, Messieurs, vous nous avez livré sinon LE meilleur, l'un des shows de l'année en France...

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019

Ghost @ Le Zénith de Paris, Paris | 07/02/2019



Retrouvez toutes les photos de Ghost en HD en cliquant ici.

Setlist :
1er acte
---
Ashes
Rats
Absolution
Ritual
Con Clavi Con Dio
Per Aspera ad Inferi
Devil Church (incl. Guitar duel)
Cirice
Miasma (Papa Nihil on saxophone)
Jigolo Har Megiddo (acoustic)
Pro Memoria
Witch Image
Life Eternal
2e acte
---
Masked Ball
Spirit
From the Pinnacle to the Pit
Majesty
Satan Prayer
Faith
Year Zero
Spöksonat
He Is
Mummy Dust
If You Have Ghosts
(Roky Erickson cover)
Dance Macabre
Square Hammer
---
Monstrance Clock



Plus d'informations sur http://ghost-official.com/
Main Image
Item 1 of 0
 
  • 16206
  • 16207
  • 16208
  • 16209
  • 16210
  • 16211
  • 16212
  • 16213
  • 16214
  • 16215
  • 16216
  • 16217
  • 16218
  • 16219
  • 16220
  • 16221
  • 16222
  • 16223
  • 16224
  • 16225
  • 16226
  • 16227
EN RELATION AVEC GHOST
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
GHOST: Nouveau titre
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant GHOST
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
LE show des Suédois qu'il ne fallait pas manquer...

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant GHOST
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
Prequelle (2018)
Marqué par la signature unique et l'esprit de renouvellement à l'œuvre dans chacun de ses trois prédécesseurs, "Prequelle" consacre la période la plus faste de Ghost en termes de réussite mélodique et d'accessibilité.

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant GHOST

F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019