MW / Home / Reviews / THE STRANGLERS: Rattus Norvegicus
BAND/AUTHOR:

THE STRANGLERS

(DEFAULT)

TITLE:
RATTUS NORVEGICUS
RELEASE DATE:
1977
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
ROCK
"First attempt transformed for a band that the history of music has long underestimated but which is still present...."
ADRIANSTORK - 02.12.2013 -
Tied in 1974, The Stranglers released their first album ´´Rattus Norvegicus´´ (the Latin name of the rat, which will be one of their symbols) in 1977, a symbolic date for the punk movement in which they will play a strong part. Nevertheless, the Stranglers distinguished themselves from their punk colleagues: they were much older (the keyboardist had a pretty moustache), some had studied (Hugh Cornwell, the singer prepared a thesis on biochemistry at Lund University) and most knew how to play their instruments correctly (Dave Greenfield, a self-taught musician, had a long career on the road in his early days).  

In terms of ideas, the provocative spirit of punk was well anchored in their texts to the point of making them look like a sexist group. Only 27 seconds after the listener had put his vinyl on the turntable, these words resounded: ''Someday, I'm gonna smack your face'', a declaration of punk love to a muse you wish to beat until she faints (''Sometimes''). Submissive object (the ´Choosey Suzie´ bonus), even good meat to devour ('Peaches','London Lady') or even to strangle ('Ugly'), the woman has the Baudelaireian ambivalence. It can also be Beauty on the sidewalk, a formidable bewitch ('Princess of the Streets').  Nevertheless, the group is already going beyond this provocation for a pronounced taste for occultism (''Goodbye Toulouse'' which speaks of the destruction of the pink city as Nostradamus had announced), or even philosophical and social songs ('Ugly').  

The composition of the songs is often based on the same principle: one of the four instruments introduces and is gradually joined by the others who play at full speed. Burnel's bass rumbles, fulminates, while Cornwell's guitar has a bluesy hint and Jet Black's drums seem to be very much influenced by jazz. But it is Dave Greenfield's keyboards, influenced by Ray Manzarek, that will give this unique sound, inviting the band to some sound explorations beyond punk, like when they break the loop structure of this porn rap loop song''Peaches''. 

Because this album is almost progressive: one of the jewels of Down in the Sewer, which counts the sexual misadventures of a Londoner in the sewers dreaming of creating a rat empire, counts more than 7 minutes and is articulated around many soli.  The alternation of the choice of singing is also welcome. It is not difficult to imagine Hugh Cornwell singing, his mouth full of morgue and his cold eye Get a grip on yourself, freezing his listener with unjustified hatred. Jean-Jacques Burnel's voice is more violent and frontal, capable of evolving between hatred ('London Lady') and a semblance of blues tenderness ('Princess of the Streets') but sometimes has difficulty marrying these words in connivance with the music (the overwritten but jubilant''Ugly'). 

First attempt transformed for a band that the history of music has long underestimated but which is still present today.... Without Hugh Cornwell, however.

More informations on http://www.thestranglers.net

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

ULTRAVOX, THE DOORS, SIMPLE MINDS, THE MUGSHOTS, THE DAMNED, PUBLIC IMAGE LIMITED

TRACK LISTING

01. Sometimes
02. Goodbye Toulouse
03. London Lady
04. Princess Of The Streets
05. Hanging Around
06. Peaches
07. (get A) Grip (on Yourself)
08. Ugly
09. Down In The Sewer
10. Choosey Susie (bonus)
11. Go Buddy Go (bonus)
12. Peasant In The Big Shitty (bonus)


LINEUP

Dave Greenfield: Claviers / Chant Sur Peasant In A Big Shitty
Hugh Cornwell: Chant / Guitares
Jean-Jacques Burnel: Chant / Basse
Jet Black: Batterie


TAGS:
70's, Punk, Dark, Ballads, Rasping voice, Deep voice, Yelled sing
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS THE STRANGLERS
 
RATING
 
4/5 (4 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS THE STRANGLERS
 
THE-STRANGLERS_Rattus-Norvegicus Rattus Norvegicus (1977)
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

ARTISTE:

THE STRANGLERS

(ROYAUME UNI)
TITRE:

RATTUS NORVEGICUS

(1977)
LABEL:

AUTRE LABEL

GENRE:

ROCK

TAGS:
Chant éraillé, Chant grave, Chant screamo, Old School, Punk
"Premier essai transformé pour un groupe que l’histoire de la musique a longtemps sous-estimé mais qui est toujours présent..."
ADRIANSTORK (02.12.2013)  
4/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

Formé en 1974, les Stranglers sortirent leur premier album Rattus Norvegicus (le nom latin du rat, qui sera l’un de leurs symboles) en 1977, date ô combien symbolique pour le mouvement punk auquel ils participeront. Néanmoins, les Stranglers se distinguaient de leurs collègues punks : ils étaient beaucoup plus vieux (le claviériste arbore une jolie moustache), certains avaient fait des études (Hugh Cornwell, le chanteur a préparé une thèse de biochimie à l’université de Lund) et la plupart savaient jouer correctement de leurs instruments (Dave Greenfield, musicien autodidacte, a à ses débuts, a derrière lui une longue carrière sur la route). 

Sur le plan des idées, l’esprit de provocation propre au punk était bien ancré au sein de leurs textes au point de les faire passer pour un groupe sexiste. 27 secondes seulement après que l’auditeur ait posé son vinyle sur la platine, retentissent ces mots  ‘’Someday, I’m gonna smack your face’’, déclaration d’amour punk à une égérie qu’on souhaite battre jusqu’à l’évanouissement (‘’Sometimes’’). Objet soumis (le bonus Choosey Suzie), voire bonne viande à consommer (’’Peaches‘’, ''London Lady'') ou même à étrangler (’’Ugly’’), la femme possède l’ambivalence baudelairienne. Elle peut également être la Beauté sur le trottoir, redoutable ensorceleuse (‘’Princess of the Streets’’).  Néanmoins, le groupe dépasse déjà cette provocation pour un goût prononcé pour l’occultisme (‘’Goodbye Toulouse’’ qui parle de la destruction de la ville rose comme l’avait annoncé Nostradamus), voire des chansons philosophico-sociales (‘’Ugly’’). 

La composition des chansons repose souvent sur le même principe : un des quatre instruments introduit est rejoint progressivement par les autres qui jouent à toute allure. La basse de Burnel gronde, fulmine, tandis que la guitare de Cornwell a des relents de blues et que la batterie de Jet Black semble être très influencée par le jazz. Mais ce sont les claviers de Dave Greenfield, influencés par Ray Manzarek, qui vont donner ce son unique, invitant la formation à quelques explorations sonores au-delà du punk, comme lorsqu’ils brisent la structure en boucle de cette porn rap loop song ‘’Peaches’’.

Car cet album est presque progressif : un des joyaux ‘’Down in the Sewer’’, qui compte les mésaventures sexuelles d’un londonien dans les égouts rêvant de créer un empire de rats, comptabilise plus de 7 minutes et s‘articule autour de nombreux soli.  L’alternance du choix du chant est également heureux. Il faut voir Hugh Cornwell chanter, la bouche pleine de morgue et l'oeil froid ‘’Get a grip on yourself’’, glaçant son auditeur d’une haine injustifiée. La voix de Jean-Jacques Burnel est plus violente et plus frontale, capable d’évoluer entre la haine (‘’London Lady’’) et un semblant de tendresse blues (‘’Princess of the Streets’’) mais a parfois du mal à marier ces mots en connivence avec la musique (le surécrit mais jubilant‘’Ugly’’).

Premier essai transformé pour un groupe que l’histoire de la musique a longtemps sous-estimé mais qui est toujours actuellement présent... Sans Hugh Cornwell toutefois.


Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/thestranglers





LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Sometimes
02. Goodbye Toulouse
03. London Lady
04. Princess Of The Streets
05. Hanging Around
06. Peaches
07. (get A) Grip (on Yourself)
08. Ugly
09. Down In The Sewer
10. Choosey Susie (bonus)
11. Go Buddy Go (bonus)
12. Peasant In The Big Shitty (bonus)

FORMATION:
Dave Greenfield: Claviers / Chant Sur Peasant In A Big Shitty
Hugh Cornwell: Chant / Guitares
Jean-Jacques Burnel: Chant / Basse
Jet Black: Batterie
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
-/5 (0 avis)
STAFF:
4/5 (4 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
THE STRANGLERS S'INTERROGE SUR MUSIC WAVES!
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
THE STRANGLERS (05 JUILLET 2021)
Music Waves a rencontré Jean-Jacques Burnel, bassiste et chanteur des Stranglers, mais depuis peu unique membre fondateur en activité au sein du groupe anglais.
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
YODELICE: Square Eyes (2013)
POP - Maxim Nucci est un caméléon ! Dès lors la surprise n’est pas l’évolution électro-rock constatée sur "Square Eyes" mais plutôt le prolongement folk sur "Tree of Life" et "Cardioïd"
DIVERS ARTISTES: Thriller : A Metal Tribute To Michael Jackson (2013)
HEAVY METAL - Son médecin était innocent ! Les véritables coupables du (second) décès de Michael Jackson sont ici !
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
L'album n'est peut être pas sorti ou l'ID spotify n'a pas encore été renseigné ou il n'y a pas d'ID spotify disponible
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT THE STRANGLERS
THE-STRANGLERS_Dark-Matters
Dark Matters (2021)
4/5
-/5
VERYCORDS / ROCK
THE-STRANGLERS_Giants
Giants (2012)
4/5
-/5
EDEL / ROCK
THE-STRANGLERS_Black-And-White
Black And White (1978)
5/5
-/5
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK
THE-STRANGLERS_No-More-Heroes
No More Heroes (1977)
4/5
-/5
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2022