MW / Home / Reviews / BLACK STONE CHERRY: Magic Mountain
BAND/AUTHOR:

BLACK STONE CHERRY

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
MAGIC MOUNTAIN
RELEASE DATE:
2014
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
ROCK
"Without comparison with its pale predecessor, "Magic Mountain" brings the band back to its first loves, more Classic and Southern Rock."
MR.BLUE - 27.05.2014 -
By their own admission, under pressure from some members of their record company, the Black Stone Cherry had modified their trademark to be played on radio with "Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea". If Music Waves had been saddened by this in 2011, it would seem that on this "Magic Mountain" the band heard our pleas and tried to get away from the pre-established formulas and recipes.

"Holding On...To Letting Go" puts things right from the start: riffs, guts, a heavy sound and above all, no concessions! It's simple, the first three tracks alone are worth much more than the entire last album. With his guitars and his versatile and warm vocals, Black Stone Cherry is here to kick ass!

Because it is definitely on the side of harder bands that we will have to look here for comparisons with the Hendrix riff of "Bad Luck & Hard Love", the twin solos of the heavy Thin Lizzy of the heavy "Peace Pipe", the single "Me And Mary Jane" with its heady chorus or even "Never Surender" with its monstrous electro opening riff that sees Robertson shout out on the chorus very convincing.

'Runaway' and to a lesser extent 'Blow My Mind' are back with the "radio" formats previously criticized but, surrounded by resolutely Rock titles, the pill is much better to swallow. And if you want pure Black Stone Cherry Juice, the eponymous title will give you value for your money. Incomparable and endowed with a strong personality, this contagious Rock with its obvious chorus will quickly remind you of it. 

Is it the effect of surprise that gradually passes by or the eternal desire to overfill, but the second part of the album will probably seem more docile to you even if the tempi vary and the riffs are still as heady as ever. "Fiesta Del Fuego", "Dance Girl" or the Skynyrd ballad (more real than life) "Hollywood In Kentucky" plunge us into this more classic but always pleasant bath. 'Remember Me', too far from the lightning speed of the first bullets, was not the most appropriate choice to conclude this "Magic Mountain". 

Without comparison with its pale predecessor, "Magic Mountain", if it hardens the tone and returns to its first love more Classic and Southern Rock, maintains in its formula a certain evidence and a solid effectiveness. Knowing that all the choruses on this album are memorable and that the band plays hard and without frills, the whole thing could satisfy everyone. A nice comeback in strength!

More informations on http://blackstonecherry.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

LED ZEPPELIN, LYNYRD SKYNYRD, TRACER, MOLLY HATCHET, ELDORADO, BLACKWATER JAMES, DOG N STYLE

TRACK LISTING

01. Holding On...To Letting Go
02. Peace Pipe
03. Bad Luck & Hard Love
04. Me And Mary Jane
05. Runaway
06. Magic Mountain
07. Never Surrender
08. Blow My Mind
09. Sometimes
10. Fiesta Del Fuego
11. Dance Girl
12. Hollywood In Kentucky
13. Remember Me


LINEUP

Ben Wells: Guitares
Chris Robertson: Chant / Guitares
John Fred Young: Batterie
Jon Lawhon: Basse / Choeurs


TAGS:
Groovy, Old School, Raw, Southern, Rasping voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS BLACK STONE CHERRY
LAST NEWS
BLACK STONE CHERRY: New video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about BLACK STONE CHERRY
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS BLACK STONE CHERRY
 
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Black-To-Blues-Vol-2 Black To Blues, Vol. 2 (2019)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_FAMILY-TREE Family Tree (2018)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Black-To-Blues Black To Blues (2017)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Kentucky Kentucky (2016)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Magic-Mountain Magic Mountain (2014)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Between-The-Devil-And-The- Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea (2011)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / HARD ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Folklore-And-Superstition Folklore And Superstition (2008)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Black-Stone-Cherry Black Stone Cherry (2006)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / MELODIC HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / BLACK STONE CHERRY: Magic Mountain
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

BLACK STONE CHERRY

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
MAGIC MOUNTAIN
ANNEE PARUTION:
2014
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
ROCK
"Sans comparaison avec son pâle prédécesseur, "Magic Mountain", s'il durcit le ton et revient à ses premiers amour plus Classic et Southern Rock, maintient dans sa formule une certaine évidence et une solide efficacité."
MR.BLUE - 27.05.2014 -
Du propre aveu de leur batteur, sous la pression de certains membres de leur maison de disque, les Black Stone Cherry avait basculé avec Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea dans le radiophonique. Si Music Waves s'en était attristé en 2011, il semblerait que sur ce "Magic Mountain" le groupe ait entendu nos suppliques et cherché à s'éloigner des formules et recettes préétablies.

"Holding On...To Letting Go" met les choses au point d'entrée de jeu : du riff, des tripes, une mise en son aux petits oignons et surtout, aucune concession ! C'est simple, les trois premiers titres à eux seuls valent bien plus que l'ensemble du dernier album. Avec ses guitares et ce chant versatile et chaleureux, Black Stone Cherry est là pour botter des culs ! Et comme si cela ne suffisait pas, la barre des deux minutes trente voit le groupe balancer une lourde rythmique crunchy pour enfoncer le clou. 

Car c'est définitivement du côté de groupes plus Hard qu'il faudra chercher ici les comparaisons avec notamment le riff à la Hendrix de 'Bad Luck & Hard Love', les soli en twin à la Thin Lizzy du bien lourd 'Peace Pipe', le single 'Me And Mary Jane' au refrain entêtant ou encore 'Never Surender' au monstrueux riff d'ouverture faussement electro qui voit Robertson pousser sur le refrain des cris très convaincants.

'Runaway' et dans une moindre mesure 'Blow My Mind' renouent avec les formats "radio" décriés précédemment mais, entourés de  titres résolument Rock, la pilule passe bien mieux. Et si vous voulez du Black Stone Cherry pur Jus, le titre éponyme vous en donnera pour votre argent. Incomparable et doté d'une forte personnalité, ce Rock contagieux au refrain évident vous rappellera bien vite à son souvenir.

Est-ce l'effet de surprise qui passe petit à petit ou la volonté éternelle de trop remplir mais la seconde partie de l'album vous paraîtra sans doute plus docile même si les tempi varient et les riffs entêtent toujours autant. 'Fiesta Del Fuego', 'Dance Girl' ou encore la ballade à la Skynyrd (plus vraie que nature) 'Hollywood In Kentucky' nous replongent dans ce bain plus classique mais toujours agréable. 'Remember Me', trop loin de la fulgurance des premières cartouches, n'était par contre pas le choix le plus pertinent pour conclure ce "Magic Mountain".

Sans comparaison avec son pâle prédécesseur, "Magic Mountain", s'il durcit le ton et revient à ses premières amour plus Classic et Southern Rock, maintient dans sa formule une certaine évidence et une solide efficacité. Sachant que tous les refrains de cet album sont mémorables et que le groupe joue sévère et sans fioritures, l'ensemble pourrait bien contenter tout un chacun. Un joli retour en force !

Plus d'information sur http://blackstonecherry.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
LED ZEPPELIN, LYNYRD SKYNYRD, TRACER, MOLLY HATCHET, ELDORADO, BLACKWATER JAMES, DOG N STYLE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Holding On...To Letting Go
02. Peace Pipe
03. Bad Luck & Hard Love
04. Me And Mary Jane
05. Runaway
06. Magic Mountain
07. Never Surrender
08. Blow My Mind
09. Sometimes
10. Fiesta Del Fuego
11. Dance Girl
12. Hollywood In Kentucky
13. Remember Me


FORMATION:
Ben Wells: Guitares
Chris Robertson: Chant / Guitares
John Fred Young: Batterie
Jon Lawhon: Basse / Choeurs


TAGS:
Groovy, Old School, Raw, Sudiste, Chant éraillé
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC BLACK STONE CHERRY
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
BLACK STONE CHERRY : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant BLACK STONE CHERRY
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Le temps de la maturité

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant BLACK STONE CHERRY
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT BLACK STONE CHERRY
 
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Black-To-Blues-Vol-2 Black To Blues, Vol. 2 (2019)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_FAMILY-TREE Family Tree (2018)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Black-To-Blues Black To Blues (2017)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Kentucky Kentucky (2016)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Magic-Mountain Magic Mountain (2014)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Between-The-Devil-And-The- Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea (2011)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / HARD ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Folklore-And-Superstition Folklore And Superstition (2008)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ROCK
BLACK-STONE-CHERRY_Black-Stone-Cherry Black Stone Cherry (2006)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020