BAND/AUTHOR:

ALTERNATIVE 4

(DEFAULT)

TITLE:
THE OBSCURANTS (2014)
LABEL:
PROPHECY
GENRE:
ATMOSPHERIC ROCK

"This album is aimed at fans of Anathema, Antimatter as well as fans of intimate and inspired atmospheres."
PROGRACER - 04.11.2014 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
5/5
Three years have passed since 'The Brink', the first album of Alternative 4, the band led by Duncan Patterson (ex-Anathema). This previous opus had caught the attention of Music Waves' editorial staff for the black simplicity of its music. For 'The Obscurants', patterson has surrounded himself with Simon Flatley (singer/guitar) and Mauro Frison (drums) and the same technical team for a similar production that reinforces Alternative 4's musical identity. 

Like an Antimatter or some Anathema productions, Alternative 4 once again builds its music on strong atmospheric bases. Focused on the dark melancholy of minimalist arrangements, Patterson's compositions do not breathe cheerfulness, but they remain very expressive because they convey a flood of immediate emotions thanks to their accurate writing and sober interpretation. The melancholy of the melodies and the simplicity of the phrasing further strengthen the atmospheric aspect of the ensemble, as does Simon Flatley's sensual and sad voice.  

From an intoxicatingly melancholic "Dina" to an intimate and personal "Lifeline", via a "Mr Black" with a hypnotic piano, Patterson paints a sad and cold picture of the current world. The bass, very present, also contributes to the languor that emerges from each note, rocking our ears in a sweet melancholy, the key word of this album. The themes addressed, between a distorted vision of reality and the darkness of feelings, perfectly match the musical atmosphere conducive to reflection and introspection. 

This ability to convey emotions, even if they are not the most joyful, is one of the great qualities of the band. The album can be listened to in one go, leaving the listener to be tossed around as the melancholic ramblings go on and on throughout its 50 minutes. Two titles, however, may attract attention. "Paracosm" first of all, with its introduction in acoustic arpeggios like Antimatter, its long progressive developments (in every sense of the word) and its soaring passages and rhythm guitar seeming to come from Animals, the most atmospheric album of the Pink Floyd. Then, "Closure" which bears its name admirably since it brilliantly concludes the opus, offering a saving respite, a note of hope with electro arrangements strangely reminiscent of Anathema's latest album. The finale is also at odds with the rest of the album as the guitars become clearer, bringing a little clarity to all this darkness. 

Patterson is writing a new page in the history of atmospheric rock with this latest album, whose communicative melancholy breathes life into it. Less experimental than its predecessor,'The Obscurants' is not an album to listen to when you are in a moody at the risk of falling into deep depression. On the other hand, it will appeal to those who like to let themselves be lulled by autumnal reveries guided by simple and haunting melodies. This album is aimed at fans of Anathema, Antimatter as well as fans of intimate and inspired atmospheres.

More informations on http://www.alternative4.co.uk/



SIMILAR BANDS:
CARPTREE, AGUENAOU, CATHERINE GRAINDORGE, MEMORIES OF MACHINES, ION, ANTIMATTER

TRACK LISTING:
01. Theme For The Obscurantist
02. Paracosm
03. Returning The Screw
04. Dina
05. Lifeline
06. The Tragedy Shield
07. Mr Black
08. Closure


LINEUP:
Duncan Patterson: Guitares / Basse / Claviers
Mauro Frison: Batterie
Simon Flatley: Chant / Guitares
Gina Rios: Invité / Choeurs


TAGS:
?, Intimist, Melancholic, Smoothing, Dark
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH ALTERNATIVE 4
RATING
4.5/5 (2 view(s)) 4/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
DEVIN TOWNSEND: (2014)
ALTERNATIVE METAL All of Devin Townsend's creative madness is concentrated in this formidable double album. With "Z²" he offers us a journey between power and softness of an impressive homogeneity.
 
NEXT REVIEW
KNIGHT AREA: Hyperdrive (2014)
PROGRESSIVE ROCK For his fifth studio album, Knight Area offers us the best he can do: a supercharged, neo-progressive rock of good quality.
STREAMING
 
The album may not have been released or the spotify ID has not yet been entered or there is no spotify ID available
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT ALTERNATIVE 4
ALTERNATIVE-4_The-Brink
The Brink (2011)
5/5
3.2/5
AVANTGARDE MUSIC / ATMOSPHERIC ROCK
 
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

ALTERNATIVE 4

(DEFAULT)

TITRE:
THE OBSCURANTS (2014)
LABEL:
PROPHECY PRODUCTIONS
GENRE:
ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE

"Avec 'The Obscurants', Duncan Patterson fait mouche une nouvelle fois avec une musique intimiste et mélancolique déclenchant des émotions profondes et immédiates."
PROGRACER - 04.11.2014 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
5/5
Trois ans ont passé depuis 'The Brink', premier album d'Alternative 4, le groupe conduit par Duncan Patterson (ex-Anathema). Ce précédent opus avait retenu l'attention de la rédaction de Music Waves pour la noire simplicité de sa musique à fleur de peau. Pour 'The Obscurants', patterson s'est entouré de Simon Flatley (chant/guitare) et Mauro Frison (batterie) et de la même équipe technique pour une production similaire qui assoie l'identité musicale d'Alternative 4.

A l'instar d'un Antimatter ou de certaines productions d'Anathema (les chiens ne font pas des chats !), Alternative 4 construit une fois encore sa musique sur des bases atmosphériques fortes. Axées sur la sombre mélancolie d'arrangements minimalistes, les compositions de Patterson ne respirent pas la gaieté ni la joie de vivre mais elles restent très expressives puisqu'elles transmettent un flot d'émotions immédiates grâce à une justesse d'écriture et une sobriété dans l'interprétation. La sensibilité à fleur de peau, la mélancolie des mélodies et la simplicité des phrasés renforce encore l'aspect atmosphérique de l'ensemble tout comme la voix sensuelle et empreinte de tristesse de Simon Flatley

D'un "Dina" enivrant de mélancolie à un "Lifeline" intimiste et personnel, en passant par un "Mr Black" au piano hypnotique, Patterson dresse un tableau triste et froid du monde actuel que l'auditeur ressent à chaque note. La basse, très présente, contribue elle aussi à la langueur qui se dégage de chaque note, berçant nos oreilles dans une douce mélancolie, maître mot de cet album. Les thèmes abordés, entre vision déformée de la réalité et noirceur des sentiments, collent parfaitement à l'ambiance musicale propice à la réflexion et l'introspection.

Cette capacité à transmettre des émotions, même si ce ne sont pas les plus joyeuses, est une des grandes qualités du groupe. L'album s'écoute d'une traite, laissant l'auditeur être balloté au gré des divagations mélancoliques tout au long de ses 50 minutes. Deux titres pourtant peuvent retenir l'attention. "Paracosm" tout d'abord, avec son intro en arpèges acoustiques à la Antimatter, ses longs développements progressifs (dans tous les sens du terme) et ses passages planants et sa guitare rythmique qu'on croirait tirée d'Animals, l'album le plus atmosphérique des Pink Floyd. Ensuite, "Closure" qui porte admirablement son nom puisqu'elle conclut brillamment l'opus, offrant un répit salvateur, une note d'espoir avec des arrangements electro rappelant étrangement le dernier album d'Anathema. Le final est lui aussi en rupture avec le reste de l'album puisque les guitares se font plus claires, apportant ainsi un peu de clarté dans toute cette noirceur.

Patterson écrit une nouvelle page de l'histoire du rock atmosphérique avec ce dernier album dont la mélancolie communicative respire le vécu. Moins expérimental que son prédécesseur, 'The Obscurants' n'est pas un album à écouter lorsque l'on est d'humeur maussade ou suicidaire au risque de basculer dans la dépression profonde. Par contre, il plaira à ceux qui aiment à se laisser bercer par des rêveries automnales guidées par des mélodies simples et lancinantes. Ce disque s'adresse aux fans d'Anathema, d'Antimatter ainsi qu'aux amateurs d'atmosphérique intimiste et inspiré.

Plus d'information sur http://www.alternative4.co.uk/



GROUPES PROCHES:
CATHERINE GRAINDORGE, ION, CARPTREE, MEMORIES OF MACHINES, AGUENAOU, ANTIMATTER

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Theme For The Obscurantist
02. Paracosm
03. Returning The Screw
04. Dina
05. Lifeline
06. The Tragedy Shield
07. Mr Black
08. Closure


FORMATION:
Duncan Patterson: Guitares / Basse / Claviers
Mauro Frison: Batterie
Simon Flatley: Chant / Guitares
Gina Rios: Invité / Choeurs


TAGS:
Dépaysant, Intimiste, Mélancolique, Planant, Sombre
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC ALTERNATIVE 4
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
ALTERNATIVE 4: The Obscurants
Toutes les actualités sur ALTERNATIVE 4
NOTES
4.5/5 (2 avis) 4/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
RED TIDE RISING: The Rising (2013)
HARD ROCK Un métal moderne très bien mené par un groupe prometteur mais encore un peu trop timide...
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
KISSIN' DYNAMITE: Steel Of Swabia (2008)
METAL MELODIQUE Dès son premier album, Kissin' Dynamite frappe fort et propose avec Steel Of Swabia un excellent moment de heavy rock mélodique.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT ALTERNATIVE 4
ALTERNATIVE-4_The-Brink
The Brink (2011)
5/5
3.2/5
AVANTGARDE MUSIC / ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020