BAND/AUTHOR:

MAGIC KINGDOM

(BELGIUM)

TITLE:
SAVAGE REQUIEM (2015)
LABEL:
AFM RECORDS
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL

"With Savage Requiem, Magic Kingdom signs a nice heavy melodic record that reminds us of the good old days of the genre when Freedom Call or Rhapsody were at the top of their shape."
NOISE - 18.05.2015 - (0) minds from our readers - (1) comment(s)
4/5
Although Magic Kingdom had already been in existence for over 16 years, "Savage Requiem" is only his fourth studio album. It must be said that its leader, Dushan Petrossi, is also busy with his other band Iron Mask, very popular and which tends to take precedence over Magic Kingdom.

Petrossi has evolved his line-up by recruiting on vocals Christian Palin, known to have worked with Adagio. Musically we find here a melodic power tinged with heroïc fantasy close to Rhapsody and Freedom Call. The whole differs from the neo-classical music dear to Iron Mask even if Petrossi's guitar remains very powerful.

Although everything was largely done in this genre "Savage Requiem" remains a good surprise. Of course, the record doesn't bring anything new but its freshness, its efficiency and its perfect interpretation make it a highly recommendable release. The arrival of Palin is a very good point, his lower but also epic and removed timbre magnifies the songs. At his side Petrossi always does prowess but doesn't overdo it in the demonstrative, his technique remaining at the service of the music, which leads to a convincing result.

Thus 'Guardian Angels' and 'Rivals Forever' open the record in a thunderous way and are undoubtedly the best thing that has happened to fantasy melodic power metal for a long time. Rhythmic, powerful and melodic, these tracks are nuggets of the genre with strong choruses. The continuation of the disc is also interesting and contains its batch of good titles like 'Full Moon Sacrifice', slower and darker. Then in the epic and catchy speed metal, we find 'Ships Of Ghosts', with its classic passage, or 'Four Demon Kings Of Shadowlands' which has a very well calibrated chorus, tinged with folk. At the end of the record, from the very fast 'With Fire And Sword' to the pretty power ballad 'Dragon Princess' and a very neo-classical 'Battlefield Magic', Magic Kingdom recites its scales with efficiency.

"Savage Requiem" is a very nice record that takes us back to the glorious era of the genre in the 90s. Of course Magic Kingdom is a little late but the quality of its music deserves that the fans should take a look at it. We also hope that Petrossi won't take so long to work with what deserves to be more than a simple project.

More informations on http://www.magic-kingdom.be/



SIMILAR BANDS:
FREEDOM CALL, ADAGIO, RHAPSODY OF FIRE, IRON MASK, LUCA TURILLI'S RHAPSODY

TRACK LISTING:
01. In Umbra Mea
02. Guardian Angels
03. Rivals Forever
04. Full Moon Sacrifice
05. Ship Of Ghosts
06. Savage Requiem
07. Four Demon Kings Of Shadowlands
08. With Fire And Sword
09. Dragon Princess
10. Battlefield Magic
11. Dragon Princess (acoustic)


LINEUP:
Christian Palin: Chant
Dushan Petrossi: Guitares / Claviers
Michael Brush: Batterie
Vassili Moltchanov: Basse


TAGS:
Epic, Technical, Acute voice
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(1) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
MARIE SPENCER - 26/02/2015 12:52:01
0
Tout à fait mon style!Un seul bémol:le prix du CD
32 euros frais de port inclus on croit rêver...
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH MAGIC KINGDOM
LAST NEWS
MAGIC KINGDOM: Metalmighty
All news about MAGIC KINGDOM
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 4/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
APOCALYPTICA: Shadowmaker (2015)
MELODIC METAL With a singer, Apocalyptica give new life to his art without intrinsically modifying its identity.
 
NEXT REVIEW
MAGNUM: Vigilante (1986)
A.O.R. "Vigilante" is a change of direction for Magnum, who is now trying to get into the US market and into the charts...
STREAMING
 
The album may not have been released or the spotify ID has not yet been entered
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT MAGIC KINGDOM
MAGIC-KINGDOM_METALMIGHTY
Metalmighty (2019)
3/5
-/5
AFM RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

.
.
ARTISTE:

MAGIC KINGDOM

(BELGIQUE)
TITRE:

SAVAGE REQUIEM

(2015)
LABEL:

AFM RECORDS

GENRE:

METAL MELODIQUE

TAGS:
Chant aigu, Epique, Technique
"Avec Savage Requiem les belges de Magic Kingdom signent un disque de heavy mélodique sympathique qui nous rappelle la belle époque du genre quand Freedom Call ou Rhapsody étaient au top de leur forme."
NOISE (18.05.2015)  
4/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (1) commentaire(s)

Si Magic Kingdom affiche déjà plus de 16 ans d'existence, il ne propose avec "Savage Requiem" que son 4ème album studio. Il faut dire que son leader, Dushan Petrossi, est également occupé avec son autre groupe Iron Mask, très populaire et qui a tendance à prendre le pas sur Magic Kingdom.

Les belges sont de retour au bout de 5 ans et Petrossi a fait évoluer son line-up en recrutant au chant Christian Palin, connu pour avoir travaillé avec Adagio. Cela ne change pas le groupe tant Petrossi reste le seul maître à bord. Musicalement on retrouve ici un power mélodique teinté d'héroïc fantasy proche de Rhapsody et de Freedom Call. Le tout s'écarte du néo-classique cher à Iron Mask même si la guitare de Petrossi reste très prégnante.

Bien que tout ait été largement fait dans ce genre "Savage Requiem" reste une bonne surprise. Certes le disque n'apporte rien de neuf mais sa fraicheur, son efficacité et son interprétation parfaite en font une sortie fort recommandable. L'arrivée de Palin est un très bon point, son timbre plus grave mais aussi épique et enlevé magnifie les chansons. A ses côtés Petrossi fait toujours des prouesses mais n'en fait pas trop dans le démonstratif, sa technique restant au service de la musique, ce qui aboutit à un résultat convaincant.

Ainsi 'Guardian Angels' et 'Rivals Forever' ouvrent le disque de manière tonitruante et sont sans doute ce qui est arrivé de meilleur au power mélodique fantasy depuis bien longtemps. Rythmées, puissantes et mélodiques ces titres sont des pépites du genre avec des refrains forts. La suite du disque est aussi intéressante et comporte son lot de bons titres comme 'Full Moon Sacrifice', plus lent et sombre et surtout épique à souhait. Ensuite dans le speed épique et entrainant 'Ships Of Ghosts, avec son passage classique ou encore 'Four Demon Kings Of Shadowlands' tirent bien leur épingle du jeu. Ce dernier, doté d'un refrain très bien calibré, teinté de folk est une belle réussite. En fin de disque du très speed 'With Fire And Sword' en passant par la jolie power ballade 'Dragon Princess' et un 'Battlefield Magic' fortement néo-classique, Magic Kingdom récite ses gammes avec efficacité.

"Savage Requiem" est un disque très sympathique qui nous replonge tout droit dans la glorieuse époque de succès du genre dans les années 90. Certes Magic Kingdom arrive un peu après la bataille mais la qualité de sa musique mérite que les amateurs se penchent dessus. On espère aussi que Petrossi ne mettra plus aussi longtermps à travailler avec ce qui mérite d'être plus qu'un simple projet.


Plus d'information sur http://www.magic-kingdom.be/





LISTE DES PISTES:
01. In Umbra Mea
02. Guardian Angels
03. Rivals Forever
04. Full Moon Sacrifice
05. Ship Of Ghosts
06. Savage Requiem
07. Four Demon Kings Of Shadowlands
08. With Fire And Sword
09. Dragon Princess
10. Battlefield Magic
11. Dragon Princess (acoustic)

FORMATION:
Christian Palin: Chant
Dushan Petrossi: Guitares / Claviers
Michael Brush: Batterie
Vassili Moltchanov: Basse
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(1) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
MARIE SPENCER
26/02/2015
 
7
0
Tout à fait mon style!Un seul bémol:le prix du CD
32 euros frais de port inclus on croit rêver...
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
-/5 (0 avis)
STAFF:
4/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
MAGIC KINGDOM: Nouvelle vidéo
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
MAGIC KINGDOM (09 MARS 2015)
Presque un an plus tard, Music Waves a de nouveau rencontré Dushan Petrossi pour évoquer non plus Iron Mask mais son premier groupe, Magic Kingdom, qui revient en force avec l'excellent "Savage Requiem".
 

"Découvrez le groove de Rock de Sterpi!"
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
!DISTAIN: Rainbow Skies At Night (2015)
POP - !distain maîtrise son sujet, livre un album sans erreur du début à la fin mais n’invente rien, restant fidèle à un carcan qu'il s'est lui même défini.
SYLVIUM: Waiting For The Noise (2015)
ROCK PROGRESSIF - Pour son troisième album, Sylvium abandonne son space-prog répétitif pour venir se repaître sur les prairies arpentées par Riverside et autres Sylvan. Avec bonheur !
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT MAGIC KINGDOM
MAGIC-KINGDOM_METALMIGHTY
Metalmighty (2019)
3/5
4/5
AFM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
 
.
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2022