MW / Home / Reviews / GENTLE GIANT: Free Hand
BAND/AUTHOR:

GENTLE GIANT

(UNITED KINGDOM)

TITLE:
FREE HAND
RELEASE DATE:
1975
LABEL:
CHRYSALIS
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE ROCK
"Gentle Giant turns his back on the sound experiments of the two previous albums to give us a sumptuous album featuring medieval and modern sounds."
ADRIANSTORK - 20.03.2015 -
One year after the recording of the very ambitious''The Power and The Glory'', Gentle Giant, recently welcomed by his new label Chrysalis (which included in his barn Jethro Tull, with whom Gentle Giant toured), is back in the studio. Will the move from Vertigo to a more deemed label have an impact on the recording of his seventh album ''Free Hand''?

Listening to the first track, one may think that the group, which aimed to''expand the frontiers of contemporary popular music at the risk of becoming very unpopular'', seems to have made some concessions to what they had previously slayed. Thus 'Just The Same' starts with a keyboard sound so particular that we could accuse the band of coming out in favour of.... Stevie Wonder. This dancing track, falsely simplistic, proves that the band was able to aerate its about without distorting itself ('Time To Kill' is another success of the album with its introduction Pong and its mesmerizing choruses).

However, the group did not abandon the medieval sounds that had helped to forge its musical identity. The eponymous title, which begins with a fugue (on which Claudio Simonetti will be inspired for ´Phenomena´), gives way to a raw rock energy, carried by acid lyrics against the music industry. Little by little, the tormented torrent will change its rhythmic course until it reaches a musing, in which bass, percussion and keyboards offer a short rest. The top of the album is reached with 'On Reflection', which continues on the same basis as 'Knots' with a polyphonic singing for four voices first a cappella (which Spock's Beard will try in vain to copy on'Thoughts'), new instrumentation ideas (a different instrument is used to introduce each voice in the next part), a skin deep emotion magnified by the velvet voice of Kerry Minnear, the violin of Ray Shulman, the vibraphone and flute of Gary Green on the second part, and lyrics dedicated to their former record company Vertigo.

However, the end of the album is less intense. The Welsh instrumental ´Talybont´ with its twirling flute and ´Mobile´ (with its text reminiscent of ´Ladies Of The Roads´ of King Crimson in a less sexual way) seem to have been placed late at the end of the disc and do not constitute a good conclusion for an album of this kind. His Last Voyage', by its title and by the outdated emotion emanating from Kerry Minnear's voice and Gary Green's guitar solo could have been a more credible candidate to close this opus.  It is not a question of quality but of a skillful dosage that hinders the complete listening of the album.

"Free Hand" will mark a satisfactory compromise between heritage and modern concessions. The album is a complete break with the two previous more experimental ones. It will be the only record of the gentle giant to be placed in the American Billboard for the best album (with a derisory 48th place).

More informations on http://www.blazemonger.com/gg/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

SPOCK'S BEARD, THE TANGENT, BEARDFISH, ECHOLYN, DRUCKFARBEN, HIGH WHEEL, DAYMOON, HALF PAST FOUR, CARDIACS, MOTH VELLUM

TRACK LISTING

01. Just The Same
02. On Reflection
03. Free Hand
04. Time To Kill
05. His Last Voyage
06. Talybont
07. Mobile


LINEUP

Derek Shulman: Chant / Saxophone
Gary Green: Chant / Guitares
John Weathers: Batterie
Kerry Minnear: Chant / Claviers
Ray Shulman: Chant / Basse / Violon


TAGS:
70's, Chaotic, ?, Discordant, Experimental, Fusion, Groovy, Instrumental, Medieval, Melancholic, Old School, Dark, Symphonic, Technical, Ballads, Guitar-Hero, Acute voice, Deep voice, Chorus
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS GENTLE GIANT
 
RATING
 
5/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS GENTLE GIANT
 
GENTLE-GIANT_Free-Hand Free Hand (1975)
CHRYSALIS / PROGRESSIVE ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

GENTLE GIANT

(ROYAUME UNI)

TITRE:
FREE HAND (1975)
LABEL:
CHRYSALIS
GENRE:
ROCK PROGRESSIF

"Gentle Giant tourne le dos aux expérimentations sonores des deux albums précédents pour nous livrer un album somptueux faisant la part belle aux sonorités médiévales et modernes."
ADRIANSTORK - 20.03.2015 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
5/5
Un an après l'enregistrement du très ambitieux ''The Power and The Glory'', Gentle Giant​, tout fraîchement accueilli par son nouveau label Chrysalis (qui comptait dans son écurie Jethro Tull, avec lequel Gentle Giant a tourné), retrouve le chemin des studios. Le départ de chez Vertigo pour un label plus réputé aura-t-il un impact sur l'enregistrement de son septième album ''Free Hand'' ?

A l'écoute de la première piste, on est en droit de penser que ​le groupe, qui avait pour but de ''repousser les musiques populaires contemporaines, au risque d'être impopulaire'', semble avoir fait quelques concessions à ce qu'ils avaient naguère pourfendu. Ainsi 'Just The Same' débute avec un son de clavier si particulier qu'on pourrait accuser le groupe de faire un coming out en faveur de... Stevie Wonder. Cette piste dansante, faussement simpliste, prouve que le groupe était de taille à aérer son propos sans pour autant se dénaturer ('Time To Kill' est une autre réussite de l'album avec son introduction Pong et ses choeurs envoûtants).

Le groupe n'en délaisse pas pour autant les sonorités médiévales qui ont contribué à forger son identité musicale. Le titre éponyme qui commence avec une fugue (dont s'inspirera ​Claudio Simonetti​ pour 'Phénomena') laisse place à une énergie rock brute, portée par des paroles à l'acide contre l'industrie musicale. Petit à petit, le cours tourmenté va changer de cap rythmique jusqu'à atteindre une rêverie, dans laquelle basse, percussions et claviers offrent un repos de courte durée. Le sommet de l'album est atteint avec 'On Reflection', qui poursuit sur les mêmes bases que 'Knots' avec un chant polyphonique à quatre voix d'abord a cappella (que Spock's Beard essaiera en vain de copier sur 'Thoughts'), des idées d'instrumentation inédites (un instrument différent sert d'introduction à chacune des voix dans la partie suivante), une émotion à fleur de peau magnifiée par la voix de velours de Kerry Minnear, le violon de Ray Shulman​, le vibraphone et la flûte de Gary Green sur la deuxième partie, et des paroles dédiées à leur ancienne maison de disque Vertigo.

Seule ombre au tableau, la fin de l'album baisse en intensité. L'instrumental gallois 'Talybont' avec sa flûte virevoltante et 'Mobile' (avec son texte qui rappelle 'Ladies Of The Roads' en moins sexuel) semblent avoir été placés tardivement en queue de disque et ne constituent guère une bonne conclusion pour un album de cette volée. 'His Last Voyage', par son titre et par l'émotion surannée qui émane de la voix de Kerry Minnear et du solo de guitare de Gary Green aurait pu constituer un plus crédible candidat pour fermer cet opus.  Il ne s'agit aucunement d' un problème de qualité mais de dosage savant qui nuit à l'écoute intégrale de l'album.

''Free Hand'' va marquer un compromis satisfaisant entre héritage et concessions modernes. L'album se place en rupture totale avec les deux précédents plus expérimentaux. Il sera le seul disque du doux géant à se placer dans le Billboard américain du meilleur album (avec une dérisoire 48ème place).

Plus d'information sur http://www.blazemonger.com/gg/



GROUPES PROCHES:
MOTH VELLUM, DARAGON, YUGEN, THE TANGENT, KINETIC ELEMENT, SPOCK'S BEARD, HALF PAST FOUR, ARGOS, BEARDFISH, DAYMOON

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Just The Same
02. On Reflection
03. Free Hand
04. Time To Kill
05. His Last Voyage
06. Talybont
07. Mobile


FORMATION:
Derek Shulman: Chant / Saxophone
Gary Green: Chant / Guitares
John Weathers: Batterie
Kerry Minnear: Chant / Claviers
Ray Shulman: Chant / Basse / Violon


TAGS:
70's, Chaotique, Dépaysant, Dissonant, Expérimental, Fusion, Groovy, Instrumental, Médiéval, Mélancolique, Old School, Sombre, Symphonique, Technique, Ballades, Guitar-Hero, Chant aigu, Chant grave, Choeurs
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC GENTLE GIANT
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 5/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
KILLERS (FR): Le Baiser De La Mort (2015)
HEAVY METAL Killers a mis l'accent plus sur la variété que sur la puissance dans ce très bon album de Heavy Metal, qui n'en reste pas moins très costaud
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
NORTHAUNT: Istid (2015)
AUTRES EXTREME D'une grande pureté de touches et de traits, "Istid" signe l'apogée créatrice de Northaunt, maître incontesté d'une Dark Ambient polaire.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT GENTLE GIANT
GENTLE-GIANT_Civilian
Civilian (1980)
3/5
-/5
CHRYSALIS / HARD ROCK
GENTLE-GIANT_Giant-For-A-Day
Giant For A Day (1978)
4/5
-/5
CHRYSALIS / POP
GENTLE-GIANT_The-Missing-Piece
The Missing Piece (1977)
4/5
4/5
CHRYSALIS / ROCK PROGRESSIF
GENTLE-GIANT_Interview
Interview (1976)
4/5
5/5
CHRYSALIS / ROCK PROGRESSIF
GENTLE-GIANT_The-Power-And-The-Glory
The Power And The Glory (1974)
5/5
5/5
ALUCARD / ROCK PROGRESSIF
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020