MW / Home / Reviews / BLINK-182: California
BAND/AUTHOR:

BLINK-182

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
CALIFORNIA
RELEASE DATE:
2016
LABEL:
BMG
GENRE:
ROCK
"Blink 182's first album without its historical member Tom DeLonge. And yet, "California" is already a classic!"
ADRIANSTORK - 04.08.2016 -
"California" is likely to be a landmark in the eventful history of Blink 182. Its illustrious co-founder Tom DeLonge was (temporarily) excluded from the group for reasons of mood incompatibility. A new singer-guitarist has been found in the person of Matt Skyba (from the Illinois punk trio Alkaline Trio). With this new album, which pays tribute to his original state, can Blink 182 hope to regain altitude?

As soon as the first track is introduced, the listener seems to be on familiar ground. Mark Hoppus' sweet voice brings us the freshness of a fountain of youth. The introduction of "Bored To Death" recalls the memory of "Feeling This", the potache spirit is found on the short "Built The Pool" and on "Brohemian Rhapsody", the anger  on "No Future" or even unstoppable riffs on "Kings Of The Week-End" or "Explicit Rabbit Hole". The short pieces mix with the long pieces of... three minutes fifty-six (this is punk). The band seems to be looking less for subtlety than for the immediate, as shown by some redundant tracks ('She's Out Of Her Mind').

However, Blink 182 innovates by venturing into terrain that he had not often explored. The adventurous "Los Angeles" creates a mysterious atmosphere magnified by the Alabama Parker piano and by the excellent work of the two vocalists. The ballads "Home Is Such A Lonely Place" and "California" also recall the melodic capacities of the group, too often underestimated as a punk band (just like Green Day, but unlike Good Charlotte). As for the newcomer's voice, it owes nothing to his predecessor ('Sober' co-written by Patrick Stump of Fall Out Boy, or on 'Left Alone') and has found in Mark Hoppus a vocal accomplice ('Bored To Death'). The lyrics are a little more intimate, like the existential "Teenage Satellites", or retrospectives on "San Diego", which evokes with pain common memories with Tom DeLonge.

At first glance, the bet was risky to find an original sound without one of its founding members. However, the Californian group didn't lost anything in the change, and better still, found a new youth. The release of his new album and his single "Bored To Death" shows that the band's potential, even if amputated, is intact.

More informations on http://www.blink182.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

THE WHO, GREEN DAY, THE OFFSPRING, SUM 41, MY CHEMICAL ROMANCE, THE DAMNED

TRACK LISTING

01. Cynical - 1:55
02. Bored to Death - 3:55
03. She's out of Her Mind - 2:42
04. Los Angeles - 3:03
05. Sober - 2:59
06. Built This Pool - 0:16
07. No Future - 3:45
08. Home Is Such a Lonely Place - 3:21
09. Kings of the Weekend - 2:56
10. Teenage Satellites - 3:11
11. Left Alone - 3:09
12. Explicit. Rabbit Hole - 2:35
13. San Diego - 3:12
14. The Only Thing That Matters - 1:57
15. California - 3:10
16. Brohemian Rhapsody - 0:30


LINEUP

Mark Hoppus: Chant / Basse
Matt Skiba: Chant / Guitares
Travis Barker: Batterie
Alabama Parker: Claviers / Invité
Jack Hoppus: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Chaotic, Groovy, Happy / Delirious, Punk, Deep voice, Yelled sing, Chorus
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS BLINK-182
LAST NEWS
BLINK-182: Nine
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about BLINK-182
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS BLINK-182
 
BLINK-182_Nine Nine (2019)
COLUMBIA / ROCK
BLINK-182_CALIFORNIA California (2016)
BMG / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / BLINK-182: California
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

BLINK-182

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
CALIFORNIA
ANNEE PARUTION:
2016
LABEL:
BMG
GENRE:
ROCK
"Premier album de Blink 182 sans son membre historique Tom DeLonge. Et pourtant, "California" est déjà un classique!"
ADRIANSTORK - 04.08.2016 -
''California'' risque de faire date dans l'histoire mouvementée de ​Blink 182​. Son illustre co-fondateur Tom DeLonge a été exclu (provisoirement) du groupe pour des raisons d'incompatibilité d'humeurs. Un nouveau chanteur-guitariste a été trouvé en la personne de Matt Skyba (du trio punk de l'Illinois ​Alkaline Trio​). Avec ce nouvel album qui rend hommage à son état d'origine, ​Blink 182​, délesté de l'un de ses leaders, peut-il espérer retrouver de l'altitude?

Dès l'introduction de la première piste, l'auditeur semble en terrain connu. La voix suave de Mark Hoppus nous apporte la fraîcheur d'une fontaine de jouvence. L'introduction de 'Bored To Death' rappelle le souvenir de 'Feeling This', l'esprit potache se retrouve sur la courte 'Built The Pool' et sur 'Brohemian Rhapsody', la hargne sur la profession de foi 'No Future' ou encore des riffs imparables ('Kings Of The Week-End', 'Explicit Rabbit Hole'). Les morceaux courts côtoient des morceaux longs... de trois minutes cinquante-six (punk oblige). Le groupe semble rechercher moins la subtilité que l'immédiat comme le prouvent certaines pistes redondantes ('She's Out Of Her Mind').

Pourtant, Blink 182 innove en s'aventurant dans des terrains qu'il n'avait pas souvent arpentés. L'aventureux 'Los Angeles' crée une atmosphère mystérieuse magnifiée par le piano d'Alabama Parker et par un excellent travail des deux vocalistes. Les ballades 'Home Is Such A Lonely Place' et 'California' rappellent également les capacités mélodiques du groupe, trop souvent sous-estimé en tant que groupe punk (tout comme ​Green Day​, mais à l'inverse de ​Good Charlotte​). Quant à la voix du nouveau venu, elle ne doit rien à son prédécesseur ('Sober' co-écrit par Patrick Stump de ​Fall Out Boy, ou encore sur 'Left Alone') et a trouvé en Mark Hoppus un complice vocal ('Bored To Death'). Les paroles se font un peu plus intimistes, comme sur l'existentiel 'Teenage Satellites', ou rétrospectives  sur 'San Diego', qui évoque avec douleur des souvenirs communs avec Tom DeLonge.

A première vue, le pari était risqué de retrouver un son d'origine sans l'un de ses membres fondateurs. Pourtant le groupe californien n'y perd rien au change, et mieux, retrouve une nouvelle jeunesse. La parution de son nouvel album et de son single 'Bored To Death' montre que le potentiel du groupe, même amputé, est intact.

Plus d'information sur http://www.blink182.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
THE WHO, GREEN DAY, THE OFFSPRING, SUM 41, MY CHEMICAL ROMANCE, THE DAMNED

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Cynical - 1:55
02. Bored to Death - 3:55
03. She's out of Her Mind - 2:42
04. Los Angeles - 3:03
05. Sober - 2:59
06. Built This Pool - 0:16
07. No Future - 3:45
08. Home Is Such a Lonely Place - 3:21
09. Kings of the Weekend - 2:56
10. Teenage Satellites - 3:11
11. Left Alone - 3:09
12. Explicit. Rabbit Hole - 2:35
13. San Diego - 3:12
14. The Only Thing That Matters - 1:57
15. California - 3:10
16. Brohemian Rhapsody - 0:30


FORMATION:
Mark Hoppus: Chant / Basse
Matt Skiba: Chant / Guitares
Travis Barker: Batterie
Alabama Parker: Claviers / Invité
Jack Hoppus: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Chaotique, Groovy, Happy / Délirant, Punk, Chant grave, Chant hurlé, Choeurs
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC BLINK-182
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
BLINK-182: Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant BLINK-182
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Et de 8 pour le géant américain de la scène pop-punk ! Markus Hoppus (chant, basse) et Matt Skiba (chant, guitare) sont revenus sur ce dernier opus au micro de Music Waves.

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant BLINK-182
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT BLINK-182
 
BLINK-182_Nine Nine (2019)
COLUMBIA / ROCK
BLINK-182_CALIFORNIA California (2016)
BMG / ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020