MW / Home / Reviews / ALTER BRIDGE: The Last Hero
BAND/AUTHOR:

ALTER BRIDGE

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
THE LAST HERO
RELEASE DATE:
2016
LABEL:
NAPALM RECORDS
GENRE:
ALTERNATIVE METAL
"As impressive in immediate formats as in more ambitious developments, Alter Bridge confirms its absolute control over alternative metal."
NUNO777 - 21.10.2016 -
Nothing seems to stop Alter Bridge's rise or desire to create, judging by the rhythm of work of the band's two main musicians. First guitarist Mark Tremonti who released two very good albums between Alter Bridge's fourth album "Fortress" in 2013 and today , then the singer and guitarist Myles Kennedy as frontman of the Slash band for the second album "World On Fire". No time to breathe for the two accomplices that a fifth Floridian album is announced, "The Last Hero". "Fortress" had been hailed as the pinnacle of the band's career with a very dense but irresistible work from beginning to end and a number of risk-taking through more daring compositions. "The Last Hero" takes up the rest of this reference disc as if it had been composed in the process, providing the listener's appetite with even more audio material.

With more than 71 minutes, you have to call yourself Alter Bridge to avoid flinching and keep a constant level of quality over such a long period of time. The bet is totally filled with fourteen successful and punchy choruses, in direct and powerful templates of modern alternative metal ('Show Me A Leader','Poison In Your Vains','Twilight') or fat grunge/stoner ('The Other Side','Crowns On A Wire','Island Of Fool') not to mention some sweets ('My Champion' and 'You Will Be Remebered'). As expected with "Fortress", Alter Bridge knows how to make itself more refined with dark and harmonically rich compositions ("This Side Of Fate", "Cradle To The Grave", "The Last Hero") which constitute as many highlights of the album.

A word about the Tremonti/Kennedy pair that complement each other admirably and seem to be at the height of their collaborative creativity. With his solo experiences, the guitarist is liberated as never before, balancing his playing by reaching the same quality in riffs as in solos, increasingly better built and mastered, and appearing as a luxury reinforcement to the choirs. Myles Kennedy is a must-have singer who does an impressive vocal work by searching for complex and original harmonies and modulations ('This Side Of Fate', "Last Of Our Kind') making tracks immediate and melodic. In addition, he is a real guitarist, sharing a good part of the solos on the album and putting in some very nice performances (notably 'The Last Hero').

On "The Last Hero", Alter Bridge is widening the gap with the competition with a collection of pieces of very high musical and textual added value with solid and melodically mature constructions. As impressive in immediate formats as in more ambitious developments, which we would like to hear more often, Alter Bridge confirms its absolute control over alternative metal.

More informations on http://www.alterbridge.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

HEAVEN'S BASEMENT, STONEDRIVE, HOTEL DIABLO

TRACK LISTING

01. Show Me a Leader - 5:05
02. The Writing on the Wall - 4:27
03. The Other Side - 5:54
04. My Champion - 4:40
05. Poison in Your Vains - 4:18
06. Cradle to the Grave - 5:40
07. Losing Patience - 4:09
08. This Side of Fate - 6:47
09. You Will Be Remembered - 4:42
10. Crows on a Wire - 4:26
11. Twillight - 4:14
12. Island of Fools - 5:00
13. The Last Hero - 6:42
14. Last of Our Kind - 5:34


LINEUP

Brian Marshall : Basse
Mark Tremonti : Guitares
Myles Kennedy: Chant / Guitares
Scott Phillips: Batterie


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Dark, Acute voice, Chorus
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS ALTER BRIDGE
LAST NEWS
ALTER BRIDGE: Walk The Sky
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about ALTER BRIDGE
 
RATING
 
4.3/5 (3 view(s))
5/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS ALTER BRIDGE
 
ALTER-BRIDGE_Walk-The-Sky Walk The Sky (2019)
NAPALM RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE METAL
ALTER-BRIDGE_The-Last-Hero The Last Hero (2016)
NAPALM RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE METAL
ALTER-BRIDGE_Fortress Fortress (2013)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
ALTER-BRIDGE_AB-III AB III (2010)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_BlackBird BlackBird (2007)
UNIVERSAL / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_One-Day-Remains One Day Remains (2004)
WIND-UP RECORDS / GRUNGE
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

ALTER BRIDGE

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
THE LAST HERO (2016)
LABEL:
NAPALM RECORDS
GENRE:
METAL ALTERNATIF

""Fortress" confirmait admirablement le potentiel d'un groupe qui, album après album, posait les jalons d'un metal alternatif de très haute qualité. "The Last Hero" entérine le fait qu'Alter Bridge est parvenu à maturité avec une réussite dans la même veine."
NUNO777 - 21.10.2016 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
4/5
Rien ne semble arrêter l'ascension ni l'envie de création d'Alter Bridge si l'on en juge par le rythme de travail des deux principaux musiciens du groupe. D'abord le guitariste Mark Tremonti qui a sorti deux albums de très bon niveau entre le quatrième disque d'Alter Bridge "Fortress" en 2013 et aujourd'hui. Ensuite le chanteur et guitariste Myles Kennedy en tant que frontman du groupe de Slash pour le deuxième opus "World On Fire". Pas le temps de souffler pour les deux compères qu'un cinquième album des Floridiens est annoncé, "The Last Hero". "Fortress" avait été salué comme le sommet de la carrière du groupe avec une œuvre très dense mais irrésistible de bout en bout et un certain nombre de prises de risque par l'intermédiaire de compositions plus audacieuses. "The Last Hero" reprend la suite de ce disque référence comme s'il avait été composé dans la foulée, en pourvoyant l'appétit de l'auditeur avec encore plus de matériel audio.

Avec ses plus de 71 minutes au compteur, il faut s'appeler Alter Bridge pour ne pas flancher et garder un degré de qualité constant sur une si longue durée. Le pari est totalement rempli avec quatorze réussites aux refrains percutants, dans des gabarits directs et puissants de metal alternatif moderne ('Show Me A Leader', 'Poison In Your Vains', 'Twilight') ou de grunge/stoner bien gras ('The Other Side', 'Crowns On A Wire', 'Island Of Fool') sans oublier quelques légèretés cautérisantes ('My Champion' et 'You Will Be Remebered'). Comme entrevu avec "Fortress", Alter Bridge sait se faire plus raffiné avec des compositions sombres et harmoniquement riches (le très musien 'This Side Of Fate', 'Cradle To The Grave', 'The Last Hero') qui constituent autant de sommets de l'album.

Un mot sur la paire Tremonti/Kennedy qui se complètent admirablement l'un l'autre et semblent au faîte de leur créativité collaborative. Fort de ses expériences solos, le guitariste est libéré comme jamais, équilibre son jeu en atteignant la même qualité en riffs qu'en soli, de mieux en mieux construits et maîtrisés, et apparaît comme un renfort de luxe aux chœurs. Myles Kennedy quant à lui est un chanteur incontournable qui effectue un travail vocal impressionnant en allant chercher des harmonies et des modulations complexes et originales (This Side Of Fate', 'Last Of Our Kind') rendant le plus immédiat des titres intéressant mélodiquement. De plus, il est une vraie fine lame à la guitare, partageant une bonne partie des soli du disque et plaçant quelques très belles prestations (notamment 'The Last Hero').

Sur "The Last Hero", Alter Bridge creuse l'écart avec la concurrence avec une collection de morceaux de très haute valeur ajoutée musicale et textuelle aux constructions solides et mélodiquement pleines de maturité qui permettent de nombreuses écoutes sans lassitude. Aussi impressionnant dans les formats immédiats que dans les développements plus ambitieux, que l'on aimerait entendre plus souvent, Alter Bridge confirme sa mainmise absolue sur le metal alternatif.

Plus d'information sur http://www.alterbridge.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
STONEDRIVE, HOTEL DIABLO, HEAVEN'S BASEMENT

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Show Me a Leader - 5:05
02. The Writing on the Wall - 4:27
03. The Other Side - 5:54
04. My Champion - 4:40
05. Poison in Your Vains - 4:18
06. Cradle to the Grave - 5:40
07. Losing Patience - 4:09
08. This Side of Fate - 6:47
09. You Will Be Remembered - 4:42
10. Crows on a Wire - 4:26
11. Twillight - 4:14
12. Island of Fools - 5:00
13. The Last Hero - 6:42
14. Last of Our Kind - 5:34


FORMATION:
Brian Marshall : Basse
Mark Tremonti : Guitares
Myles Kennedy: Chant / Guitares
Scott Phillips: Batterie


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Sombre, Chant aigu, Choeurs
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC ALTER BRIDGE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
ALTER BRIDGE: Nouvelle vidéo
Toutes les actualités sur ALTER BRIDGE
DERNIER ARTICLE
ALTER BRIDGE + AS LIONS - L'ELYSEE MONTMARTRE - 10 OCTOBRE 2017
C'est dans un Elysée Montmartre toujours aussi beau, qu'Alter Bridge nous a donné rendez vous ce soir ! Tous les articles sur ALTER BRIDGE
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
Quelques heures avant son concert à la Maroquinerie, Alter Bridge représenté par son bassiste Brian Marshall, et malgré un planning très serré, accordait à Music Waves une interview entre quatres yeux !

NOTES
5/5 (1 avis) 4.3/5 (3 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
BETH HART: Fire On The Floor (2016)
ROCK Une fois de plus, Beth Hart se révèle capable de traduire toutes les émotions en touchant l'auditeur au plus profond de son âme.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
YANN ARMELLINO & EL BUTCHO: Better Way (2016)
GUITAR HERO Fruit de la collaboration de deux musiciens talentueux, "Better Way" est un très bon album heavy rock qui fait preuve de personnalité tout en assumant ses influences.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT ALTER BRIDGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_Walk-The-Sky
Walk The Sky (2019)
4/5
-/5
NAPALM RECORDS / METAL ALTERNATIF
ALTER-BRIDGE_Fortress
Fortress (2013)
5/5
4.5/5
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ROCK ALTERNATIF
ALTER-BRIDGE_Live-From-Amsterdam
Live From Amsterdam (2011)
4/5
2/5
UNIVERSAL / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_AB-III
AB III (2010)
4/5
4/5
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_BlackBird
BlackBird (2007)
4/5
4/5
UNIVERSAL / GRUNGE
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020