MW / Home / Reviews / BETH HART: Fire On The Floor
BAND/AUTHOR:

BETH HART

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
FIRE ON THE FLOOR
RELEASE DATE:
2016
LABEL:
PROVOGUE RECORDS
GENRE:
ROCK / BLUES
"Once again, Beth Hart succeeds in offering a varied and coherent album in which her voice remains the main thread."
LOLOCELTIC - 20.10.2016 -
To say that with "Better Than Home" (2015), Beth Hart's career has taken a new direction would be almost reductive. Indeed, even if the American woman already enjoyed considerable recognition, with this album, she saw her record and concert ticket sales explode. It was high time, as the singer has shown such extraordinary talent since the beginning of her career. But it is true that it is not always easy to find your audience for an artist who refuses to let herself be trapped in a too narrow musical niche. Faithful to her principles and probably wishing not to let enthusiasm fall, the Californian returns with a new album produced by Oliver Leiber (Rod Stewart, The Corrs, Paula Abdul...) and entitled "Fire On The Floor".

By the author's own admission, "Better Than Home" had been a painful album and was affected by its generally melancholic atmosphere. Without denying her style, Beth Hart decided to take the opposite view for her new work. To do this, she is supported by a team of legendary musicians brought together by Oliver Leiber. Among these greats, we will mention guitarists Michael Landau (Pink Floyd, Michael Jackson, Miles Davis...), Waddy Watchel (Iggy Pop, Bryan Ferry, Linda Ronstadt...) and Dean Parks (Joe Cocker, BB King, Elton John, Stevie Wonder...), or drummer Rick Marotta (Aretha Franklin, Peter Gabriel, John Lennon...). A true vocal demonstration, without falling into exuberance, "Jazz Man" plunges the listener directly into the bath. Energetic and positive, this big jazz band is launching the album on the right track.

The rest is still Beth Hart and some titles continue to venture into sad and painful atmospheres, but whether it is on the disillusioned "Love Is Is A Lie" with controlled anger, on the eponymous title reflecting the distress of a person who does not know how to help a loved one in distress, or on the delicate "Woman You've Been Dreaming Of", the message is more positive, encouraging to rise from the trials imposed by life. Although dominated by bluesy influences, the whole set of tracks continues to sweep a fairly wide musical spectrum ranging from a powerful and catchy rock ('Fat Man') to a delicate and finely chiselled pop reminiscent of Norah Jones' early works ('Picture In A Frame'), through a groovy R'n'B and hammers ('Baby Shot Me Down') or a light and playful pop, a real breath of optimism ('Let's Get Together'). Add to that the reptilian "Love Gangster" with its hypnotic chorus and a lascivious and casual "Coca Cola", combining blues, rock, soul and jazz, and you have an opus that is unstoppable.

Once again, Beth Hart succeeds in offering a varied and coherent album in which her voice remains the main thread. Able to express all emotions by touching the listener in the depths of his soul, the singer takes him to sunnier and more optimistic horizons than on her previous album. "Fire On The Floor" confirm the talent recognized at "Better Than Home" and settle on the highest peaks occupied by these rare artists with a strong and honest identity.

More informations on bethhart.com

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

GARY MOORE, JOE BONAMASSA, LAYLA ZOE, BETH HART & JOE BONAMASSA

TRACK LISTING

01. Jazz Man - 3:51
02. Love Gangster - 4:09
03. Coca Cola - 3:38
04. Let's Get Together - 3:39
05. Love Is A Lie - 3:15
06. Fat Man - 3:51
07. Fire On The Floor - 5:12
08. Woman You've Been Dreaming Of - 4:22
09. Baby Shot Me Down - 3:22
10. Good Day To Cry - 4:32
11. Picture In A Frame - 4:39
12. No Place Like Home - 3:53


LINEUP

Beth Hart : Chant / Guitares / Claviers / Batterie / Piano
Brian Allen: Basse
Dean Parks: Guitares
Ivan Neville: Claviers
Jim Cox: Claviers
Michael Landau: Guitares
Rick Marotta: Batterie
Waddy Wachtel: Guitares


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Bluesy, Jazzy, Rasping voice, Female voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS BETH HART
LAST NEWS
BETH HART: New song
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about BETH HART
 
LAST ARTICLE
Music Waves went to meet a great rock lady to talk about her latest album, but also to talk about much more sensitive and personal topics, not without emotion!

Read the article
View all articles about BETH HART
 
RATING
 
3.8/5 (4 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS BETH HART
 
BETH-HART_War-In-My-Mind War In My Mind (2019)
PROVOGUE RECORDS / ROCK
BETH-HART_Fire-On-The-Floor Fire On The Floor (2016)
PROVOGUE RECORDS / ROCK
BETH-HART_Better-Than-Home Better Than Home (2015)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
BETH-HART_Bang-Bang-Boom-Boom Bang Bang Boom Boom (2012)
PROVOGUE RECORDS / BLUES
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / BETH HART: Fire On The Floor
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

BETH HART

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
FIRE ON THE FLOOR
ANNEE PARUTION:
2016
LABEL:
PROVOGUE RECORDS
GENRE:
ROCK / BLUES
"Une fois de plus, Beth Hart se révèle capable de traduire toutes les émotions en touchant l'auditeur au plus profond de son âme."
LOLOCELTIC - 20.10.2016 -
Dire qu'avec "Better Than Home" (2015), Beth Hart a vu sa carrière franchir un nouveau cap serait presque réducteur. En effet, même si l'Américaine bénéficiait déjà d'une reconnaissance non négligeable, avec cet album à fleur de peau elle a vu ses ventes de disques et de places de concerts exploser. Il était grand temps, tant la chanteuse fait preuve d'un talent hors du commun depuis le début de sa carrière. Mais il est vrai qu'il n'est pas toujours facile de trouver son public pour une artiste qui refuse de se laisser enfermer dans un créneau musical trop étriqué. Fidèle à ses principes et souhaitant probablement ne pas laisser retomber l'enthousiasme, la Californienne nous revient avec un nouvel opus produit par Oliver Leiber (Rod Stewart, The Corrs, Paula Abdul...) et intitulé "Fire On The Floor".

Du propre aveu de son auteur, "Better Than Home" avait été un album douloureux et s'en ressentait au niveau de son ambiance générale majoritairement mélancolique. Sans renier son style, Beth Hart a décidé de prendre le contrepied avec sa nouvelle œuvre. Pour ce faire, elle se retrouve épaulée par une équipe de musiciens légendaires rameutés par Oliver Leiber. Parmi ces pointures, nous citerons les guitaristes Michael Landau (Pink Floyd, Michael Jackson, Miles Davis...), Waddy Watchel (Iggy Pop, Bryan Ferry, Linda Ronstadt...) et Dean Parks (Joe Cocker, BB King, Elton John, Stevie Wonder...), ou le batteur Rick Marotta (Aretha Franklin, Peter Gabriel, John Lennon...). Véritable démonstration vocale, sans pour autant tomber dans l'exubérance, 'Jazz Man' plonge l'auditeur directement dans le bain. Energique et positif, ce jazz big band lance l'album sur les bons rails.

La suite reste du Beth Hart et certains titres continuent à s'aventurer dans des ambiances tristes et douloureuses, mais que cela soit sur le désabusé 'Love Is A Lie' à la colère maîtrisée, sur le titre éponyme traduisant la détresse d'une personne ne sachant pas comment venir en aide à un proche en perdition, ou sur le délicat 'Woman You've Been Dreaming Of', le message se veut plus positif, encourageant à se relever face aux épreuves imposées par la vie. Bien que dominé par les influences bluesy, l'ensemble des titres continue à balayer un spectre musical assez large allant d'un rock puissant et accrocheur ('Fat Man') à une pop délicate et finement ciselée rappelant les premières œuvres de Norah Jones ('Picture In A Frame'), passant par un R'n'B groovy et hâbleur ('Baby Shot Me Down') ou une pop légère et enjouée, véritable bouffée d'optimisme ('Let's Get Together'). Ajoutez à cela le reptilien 'Love Gangster' au refrain hypnotisant et un 'Coca Cola' lascif et désinvolte, mariant blues, rock, soul et jazz, et vous obtenez un opus à nouveau imparable.

Une fois encore, Beth Hart réussit à offrir un album varié et cohérent dont sa voix reste le principal fil conducteur. Capable de traduire toutes les émotions en touchant l'auditeur au plus profond de son âme, la chanteuse emmène ce dernier vers des horizons plus ensoleillés et optimistes que sur son précédent album. Ceci ne l'empêche pas de confirmer le talent reconnu à l'occasion de "Better Than Home" et de s'installer sur les plus hauts sommets occupés par ces artistes rares à l'identité forte et intègre.

Plus d'information sur bethhart.com

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
GARY MOORE, JOE BONAMASSA, LAYLA ZOE, BETH HART & JOE BONAMASSA

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Jazz Man - 3:51
02. Love Gangster - 4:09
03. Coca Cola - 3:38
04. Let's Get Together - 3:39
05. Love Is A Lie - 3:15
06. Fat Man - 3:51
07. Fire On The Floor - 5:12
08. Woman You've Been Dreaming Of - 4:22
09. Baby Shot Me Down - 3:22
10. Good Day To Cry - 4:32
11. Picture In A Frame - 4:39
12. No Place Like Home - 3:53


FORMATION:
Beth Hart : Chant / Guitares / Claviers / Batterie / Piano
Brian Allen: Basse
Dean Parks: Guitares
Ivan Neville: Claviers
Jim Cox: Claviers
Michael Landau: Guitares
Rick Marotta: Batterie
Waddy Wachtel: Guitares


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Bluesy, Jazzy, Chant éraillé, Chant féminin
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC BETH HART
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
TEMPETE SOUS LE CRANE DE BETH HART SUR MUSIC WAVES!
INTERVIEW

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant BETH HART
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Music Waves est allé à la rencontre d'une grande dame du rock pour parler de son dernier opus, mais aussi pour aborder des sujets beaucoup plus sensibles et personnels, non sans émotion !

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant BETH HART
 
NOTES
 
3.8/5 (4 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT BETH HART
 
BETH-HART_War-In-My-Mind War In My Mind (2019)
PROVOGUE RECORDS / ROCK
BETH-HART_Fire-On-The-Floor Fire On The Floor (2016)
PROVOGUE RECORDS / ROCK
BETH-HART_Better-Than-Home Better Than Home (2015)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
BETH-HART_Bang-Bang-Boom-Boom Bang Bang Boom Boom (2012)
PROVOGUE RECORDS / BLUES
BETH-HART_Immortal Immortal (1996)
ATLANTIC RECORDS / ROCK
BETH-HART_Beth-Hart-and-the-Ocean-of-Souls Beth Hart And The Ocean Of Souls (1993)
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020