MW / Home / Reviews / DOG N STYLE: Pub's Calling
BAND/AUTHOR:

DOG N STYLE

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
PUB'S CALLING
RELEASE DATE:
2016
LABEL:
AUTOPRODUCTION
GENRE:
ROCK / STONER
"If you like Headcharger or Hell Of A Ride, take a look at this "Pub's Calling"."
AXEL_D - 03.10.2016 -
Dog'N' Style comes from Lorraine and is composed of Greg (singer/guitar), Yan (guitar), Robin (bass) and Boub (drums), four musicians visibly fond of big guitars, trips to bars, but also big guitars, trips to bars... In short, "Pub's Calling" is their first real album, but the band already released an EP last year.

Do you enjoy the music of our compatriots from Hell Of A Ride or Headcharger? Then you would be well advised to take a look at the ten compositions proposed by the quartet, since the latter, without reaching a finesse of composition as high as the two bands mentioned above, has some assets that promise a lot for the future.

If 'The Best Of Me' starts the album on a friendly note, it is not the most interesting song on the album. On the other hand, 'Pretty Fly', Dog'N' Style shows us its ability to offer catchy riffs and choruses. In the same genre, 'I Did Something Bad', the very stoner 'One Day' or the eponymous track are great successes. Greg's raspy voice grain brings a lot to the compositions, and the rhythm section is not to be outdone. The riffing is not fundamentally original because the codes of the genre are sometimes a little too strictly followed, but it remains a real pleasure to see a band capable of giving birth with such little studio experience to songs like "Night Losers", a title that tells us the story of a man who is obviously not very good with the female population.

Even if the album is running out of steam slightly on its second part because of a certain redundancy in the structures and riffs (but also because of some less inspired tracks like "Running Out" and its not always happy transitions), it would be a shame to miss this try by Dog'N'Style, a band definitely to listen to but also not to miss if it passes near your home. 

More informations on https://dognstyle.bandcamp.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

NASHVILLE PUSSY, BUKOWSKI, HEADCHARGER, BLACK STONE CHERRY, BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, HELL OF A RIDE, RED FANG

TRACK LISTING

01. The Best Of Me - 3:33
02. Pretty Fly - 3:50
03. I Did Something Bad - 3:04
04. One Day - 4:15
05. Mad Motorcyle - 3:37
06. Night Losers - 3:20
07. Running Out - 4:13
08. Never Trust An Asshole - 4:48
09. Pub's Calling - 3:39
10. Couple Of Beers - 4:06


LINEUP

Boub Tchak: Batterie
Greg Hal: Chant / Guitares
Robin Rob's: Basse
Yan Pierrat: Guitares


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Groovy, Rasping voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS DOG N STYLE
LAST NEWS
DOG N STYLE: New video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about DOG N STYLE
 
RATING
 
3/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS DOG N STYLE
 
DOG-N-STYLE_Only-Stronger Only Stronger (2019)
AUTOPRODUCTION / HARD ROCK
DOG-N-STYLE_Pub-s-Calling Pub's Calling (2016)
AUTOPRODUCTION / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

ARTISTE:

DOG N STYLE

(FRANCE)
TITRE:

PUB'S CALLING

(2016)
LABEL:

AUTOPRODUCTION

GENRE:

ROCK

/ STONER
TAGS:
Chant éraillé, FM, Groovy
"Si vous aimez Headcharger ou Hell Of A Ride, jetez une oreille sur ce "Pub's Calling"."
AXEL_D (03.10.2016)  
3/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

C'est du pays de la mirabelle que débarquent Dog'N'Style, groupe – lorrain donc – composé de Greg (chant/guitare), Yan (guitare), Robin (basse) et Boub (batterie), quatre musiciens visiblement amateurs de grosses guitares, de virées dans les bars, mais aussi de grosses guitares, de virées dans les bars... Bref, "Pub's Calling" est leur premier véritable album, le groupe ayant déjà toutefois sorti un EP l'année dernière.

Vous appréciez la musique de nos compatriotes d'Hell Of A Ride ou d'Headcharger ? Alors vous seriez bien avisés de jeter une oreille sur les dix compositions proposées par le quatuor, puisque celui-ci, sans parvenir à une finesse de composition aussi élevée que les deux groupes cités, possède quelques atouts qui promettent beaucoup pour l'avenir.

Si 'The Best Of Me' démarre le disque sur une note sympathique, elle n'est pas la chanson la plus intéressante de la galette. En revanche, 'Pretty Fly', Dog'N'Style nous montre sa capacité à proposer des riffs et refrains accrocheurs. Dans le même genre, 'I Did Something Bad', le très stoner 'One Day' ou encore le titre éponyme sont de belles réussites. Le grain de voix éraillé de Greg (encore une fois, Headcharger se rappelle à notre bon souvenir) apporte énormément aux compositions, et la section rythmique n'est pas en reste. Le riffing n'est pas foncièrement original car les codes du genre sont parfois un peu trop suivis à la lettre, mais cela reste un vrai plaisir de voir une formation capable d'accoucher avec aussi peu d'expérience studio de morceaux tels que 'Night Losers', titre nous racontant l'histoire d'un mec visiblement peu doué avec la gent féminine. Plus loin, 'Never Trust An Asshole', vous l'aurez compris, nous invite à ne pas accorder notre confiance à n'importe qui.

Même s'il est vrai que l'album s'essouffle légèrement sur sa deuxième partie à cause d'une certaine redondance dans les structures et les riffs (mais aussi du fait de quelques titres moins inspirés comme 'Running Out' et ses transitions pas toujours heureuses), il serait dommage de passer à côté de cet essai de Dog'N'Style, un groupe assurément à écouter mais aussi à ne pas louper s'il passe près de chez vous. Cocorico !  


Plus d'information sur https://dognstyle.bandcamp.com/





LISTE DES PISTES:
01. The Best Of Me - 3:33
02. Pretty Fly - 3:50
03. I Did Something Bad - 3:04
04. One Day - 4:15
05. Mad Motorcyle - 3:37
06. Night Losers - 3:20
07. Running Out - 4:13
08. Never Trust An Asshole - 4:48
09. Pub's Calling - 3:39
10. Couple Of Beers - 4:06

FORMATION:
Boub Tchak: Batterie
Greg Hal: Chant / Guitares
Robin Rob's: Basse
Yan Pierrat: Guitares
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
-/5 (0 avis)
STAFF:
3/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
DOG'N'STYLE DONNE RENDEZ-VOUS SEULEMENT AUX PLUS FORTS SUR MUSIC WAVES!
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
DOG N STYLE (14 OCTOBRE 2019)
Avec "Only Stronger", Dog'N'Style revient avec un opus censé confirmer les espoirs placés en "Pub’s Calling". Music Waves fait le point...
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
DIABOLICAL: Umbra (2016)
DEATH METAL - EP d'une vingtaine de minutes, "Umbra" n'a l'air de rien, il déroule pourtant les tentacules vertigineuses d'un death évolutif que ne renierait pas le Opeth de l'âge d'or !
EAGLES: One Of These Nights (1975)
POP - Un album qui rencontre le succès avec quelques superbes morceaux intemporels.
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT DOG N STYLE
DOG-N-STYLE_Only-Stronger
Only Stronger (2019)
4/5
-/5
AUTOPRODUCTION / HARD ROCK
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2021