MW / Home / Reviews / BENT KNEE: Say So
BAND/AUTHOR:

BENT KNEE

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
SAY SO
RELEASE DATE:
2016
LABEL:
CUNEIFORM
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE ROCK / -
"By releasing a progressive and avant-garde pop "Say So", Bent Knee's Americans are making their mark on the 2016 progressive year and asserting themselves as a band to be followed very closely."
NUNO777 - 20.04.2017 -
The most prestigious music school in the world, the one that trains the modern musical elite, mainly jazz, is the Berklee College Of Music in Boston. In 2009, three students from this institution, which has seen Steve Vai, musicians from Dream Theater, Gary Burton, Al Di Meola, Vinnie Colaiuta and Zoe Zawinul emerge, decided to form the group Bent Knee, which will release its first eponymous demo in 2011. The initial nucleus formed around Courtney Swain (vocals), Ben Levin (guitar) and Vince Welch (production and sound engineer) was reinforced by three other musicians (not to mention more than twenty other brass, string and choral talents who participated in the album) when "Shiny Eyed Babies" was released in 2014, Bent Knee's true first album and testimony to the great creative originality of this unique group. 

The musicians of Bent Knee like to work on interfaces and push the boundaries of genres by daring the most fertile associations. Their favourite styles: jazz, rock and pop that they mix to satisfy their idea of their art, which is above all a question of emotions. To generate them, the Americans play on the contrasts naturally caused by the presence of antagonistic elements. This is particularly audible in the first moments of the album with the very dreamlike and ceremonial "Black Tar Water" jostled by the hammering of percussion, the accessible and pop "Leak Water" disturbed by rhythmic and harmonic distortions, and "Counselor" who sees an atmosphere under tension and strident coexisting with the spirit of a neo-punk energy in the Cardiacs style. 

After a very melodious start to the art-rock album, Bent Knee shows its most avant-garde and experimental facet with the destructured and chaotic "Eve" with its free-jazz and atmospheric accents. In the second part of "Say So", each track is a new adventure that provides different sensations and surprises the listener with passages of pure sweetness in which the choirs are highlighted ('The Things You Love'), emotional ascents that remind us of the breathtaking "In God We Trust" ('Hands Up' and 'Nakami' built on jazz and Asian tones) and unbridled pop-rock models in the vein of the genius Everything Everything ('Hands Up' and 'Commercial'). 

Bent Knee is a true collective of young musicians of very high technical quality but above all with impressive harmonic gifts. If talking about individuality is a misinterpretation when approaching this band, it is impossible not to mention the atypical role of Vince Welch, sound designer and producer, particularly important in the rendering of atmospheres, arrangements and textures, and especially Courtney Swain, the charismatic singer-clavierist who bewitches every second of "Say So". Her voice, perhaps one of the most beautiful of progressive rock today in this crossover between Amanda Palmer, Moorea Dickason and Kate Bush, as comforting and moving as it is dazzling, guides the listener through the experience of immersion in "Say So". 

"Say So" is a real breath of fresh air in modern progressive rock. Easily accessible, by virtue of the pop dimension of his writing, Bent Knee's music is fascinating for the density of his arrangements and the richness of his details, which are difficult to decode and promise a listening pleasure that is always renewed. This second album confirms the qualities heard two years earlier in "Shiny Eyed Babies" and establishes the Americans as the rising star of modern progressive rock.

More informations on http://www.bentkneemusic.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

KING CRIMSON, CARDIACS, MOETAR, RADIOHEAD, KATE BUSH, KNIFEWORLD

TRACK LISTING

01. Black Tar Water
02. Leak Water
03. Counselor
04. Eve
05. Transition
06. The Things You Love
07. Nakami
08. Commercial
09. Hands Up
10. Good Girl


LINEUP

Ben Levin: Guitares
Chris Baum: Violon
Courtney Swain: Chant / Claviers
Gavin Wallace-ailsworth: Batterie
Jessica Kion: Basse
Vince Welch: Claviers
Andy Bergman: Invité / Saxophone, Clarinette
Ben Swartz: Invité / Violoncelle
Bryan Murphy: Invité / Trompette
Geni Skendo: Invité / Flute, Shakuhachi
Geoff Nielsen: Invité / Trombone
Keith Dickerhofe: Invité / Violoncelle
Nathan Cohen: Invité / Violon
Rebecca Hallowell: Invité / Violon
Sam Morrison: Invité / Saxophone


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Cutting Edge, ?, Discordant, Experimental, Female voice, Chorus
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
NUNO777 - 20/04/2017 11:18:23
La coïncidence veut que cette chronique soit publiée alors que le groupe annonce la sortie de son nouvel album "Land Animal" le 23 juin prochain sur le fameux label InsideOutMusic. Vivement juin !
1405395
 
LINKS BENT KNEE
LAST NEWS
BENT KNEE: Hold Me In
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about BENT KNEE
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
1/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS BENT KNEE
 
BENT-KNEE_You-Know-What-They-Mean You Know What They Mean (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE ROCK
BENT-KNEE_Land-Animal Land Animal (2017)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE ROCK
BENT-KNEE_Say-So Say So (2016)
CUNEIFORM / PROGRESSIVE ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / BENT KNEE: Say So
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

BENT KNEE

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
SAY SO
ANNEE PARUTION:
2016
LABEL:
CUNEIFORM
GENRE:
ROCK PROGRESSIF / -
"En sortant un "Say So" pop, progressif et avant-gardiste, les Américains de Bent Knee marquent de leur empreinte l’année progressive 2016 et s’affirment comme une formation à suivre de très près."
NUNO777 - 20.04.2017 -
L'école de musique la plus prestigieuse du monde, celle qui forme l'élite musicale moderne, principalement jazz, est la Berklee College Of Music de Boston. En 2009, trois étudiants de cette institution, qui a notamment vu émerger Steve Vai, les musiciens de Dream Theater, Gary Burton, Al Di Meola, Vinnie Colaiuta ou Zoe Zawinul, décident de monter le groupe Bent Knee qui sortira une première démo éponyme en 2011. Le noyau initial formé autour de Courtney Swain (chants), Ben Levin (guitare) et Vince Welch (production et ingénieur du son) se renforce de trois autres musiciens (sans compter plus de vingt autres talents aux cuivres, cordes et chœurs qui participent à l'album) lors de la sortie de "Shiny Eyed Babies" en 2014, le véritable premier album de Bent Knee et témoignage de la grande originalité créative de ce groupe unique.

Les musiciens de Bent Knee aiment travailler les interfaces et repousser les limites des genres en osant les associations les plus fertiles. Leurs styles de prédilection : le jazz, le rock et la pop qu'ils mélangent pour satisfaire à l'idée qu'ils se font de leur art, qui est avant tout une question d'émotions. Pour en générer, les Américains jouent sur les contrastes naturellement provoqués par la mise en présence d'éléments antagonistes. C'est particulièrement audible dans les premiers moments du disque avec le très onirique et cérémoniel 'Black Tar Water' bousculé par le martèlement de percussions, l'accessible et pop 'Leak Water' perturbé par des distorsions rythmiques et harmoniques, et 'Counselor' qui voit cohabiter une ambiance sous tension et stridente avec l'entrain d'une énergie néo-punk à la Cardiacs.

Après un début de disque art-rock très mélodieux, Bent Knee montre sa facette la plus avant-gardiste et expérimentale avec le déstructuré et chaotique 'Eve' aux accents free-jazz et atmosphérique. Dans la seconde partie de "Say So", chaque piste est une nouvelle aventure qui procure des sensations différentes et surprend l'auditeur avec des passages de pure douceur dans lesquels les chœurs sont mis en avant ('The Things You Love'), des ascensions émotionnelles qui rappellent l'époustouflant 'In God We Trust' ('Hands Up' et 'Nakami' bâti sur des tonalités jazz et asiatiques) et des modèles de pop-rock débridé dans la veine des géniaux Everything Everything ('Hands Up' et 'Commercial').

Bent Knee est un véritable collectif de jeunes musiciens de très grande qualité technique mais surtout aux dons harmoniques impressionnants. Si parler d'individualité est un contresens quand on aborde ce groupe, il est impossible de ne pas mentionner le rôle atypique d'un Vince Welch, designer sonore et producteur au sein du groupe, particulièrement important dans le rendu des ambiances, des arrangements et des textures, et surtout Courtney Swain, la charismatique chanteuse-claviériste qui envoûte chaque seconde de "Say So". Sa voix, peut-être une des plus belles du rock progressif actuel dans ce croisement entre Amanda Palmer, Moorea Dickason et Kate Bush, tout autant réconfortante et bouleversante qu'éblouissante, guide l'auditeur tout au long de l'expérience qu'est l'immersion dans "Say So".

"Say So" est un véritable bol d'air frais dans le rock progressif moderne. D’un accès aisé, en vertu de la dimension pop de son écriture, la musique de Bent Knee s’avère fascinante par la densité de ses arrangements et la richesse de ses détails difficiles à décoder et promet un plaisir d’écoute à chaque fois renouvelé. Ce deuxième album confirme les qualités entendues deux ans plus tôt dans "Shiny Eyed Babies" et installe les Américains comme valeur montante du rock progressif moderne.

Plus d'information sur http://www.bentkneemusic.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
KING CRIMSON, CARDIACS, MOETAR, RADIOHEAD, KATE BUSH, KNIFEWORLD

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Black Tar Water
02. Leak Water
03. Counselor
04. Eve
05. Transition
06. The Things You Love
07. Nakami
08. Commercial
09. Hands Up
10. Good Girl


FORMATION:
Ben Levin: Guitares
Chris Baum: Violon
Courtney Swain: Chant / Claviers
Gavin Wallace-ailsworth: Batterie
Jessica Kion: Basse
Vince Welch: Claviers
Andy Bergman: Invité / Saxophone, Clarinette
Ben Swartz: Invité / Violoncelle
Bryan Murphy: Invité / Trompette
Geni Skendo: Invité / Flute, Shakuhachi
Geoff Nielsen: Invité / Trombone
Keith Dickerhofe: Invité / Violoncelle
Nathan Cohen: Invité / Violon
Rebecca Hallowell: Invité / Violon
Sam Morrison: Invité / Saxophone


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Avant-gardiste, Dépaysant, Dissonant, Expérimental, Chant féminin, Choeurs
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
productionuser_idproduction_comment_idproduction_review_id

LOLO_THE_BEST59 - 30/04/2017 16:27:05
Avant-gardiste, je veux bien, mais enfin, la musique, c'est avant tout fait pour être écouté et/ou dansé. Alors, je me suis ennuyé comme un rat mort à l'écoute de cet opus, et les dissonances de EVE ont fini de m'achever. Seule Nakami trouve grâce à mes oreilles, mais c'est pur dire de sauver quelque chose. Ah oui, puis la voix de la chanteuse m'insupporte au possible.
9075 20812
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
NUNO777 - 20/04/2017 11:18:23
La coïncidence veut que cette chronique soit publiée alors que le groupe annonce la sortie de son nouvel album "Land Animal" le 23 juin prochain sur le fameux label InsideOutMusic. Vivement juin !
1405395
 
EN RELATION AVEC BENT KNEE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
BENT KNEE: Nouvel album en octobre
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant BENT KNEE
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
1/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT BENT KNEE
 
BENT-KNEE_You-Know-What-They-Mean You Know What They Mean (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / ROCK PROGRESSIF
BENT-KNEE_Land-Animal Land Animal (2017)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / ROCK PROGRESSIF
BENT-KNEE_Say-So Say So (2016)
CUNEIFORM / ROCK PROGRESSIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020