MW / Home / Reviews / MOLLY HATCHET: Kingdom Of Xii
BAND/AUTHOR:

MOLLY HATCHET

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
KINGDOM OF XII
RELEASE DATE:
2000
LABEL:
SPV STEAMHAMMER
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"Molly Hatchett is able to maintain an excellent level, even if they sometimes give the impression of purring by reusing a method that has proven its worth without taking the slightest risk."
LOLOCELTIC - 25.06.2019 -
In two albums, Molly Hatchet has managed to impose a new vocalist (Phil McCormack), a line-up without any original members, and a new musical identity that can now be called Southern hard rock. Not bad, especially since "Silent Reign Of Heroes" (1998), the latest studio misdeed to date, has proved to be one of the best recordings of Florida legend, all periods combined. The line-up is this time modified, but very slightly, by the replacement of Mac Crawford by Sean Shannon on drums. However, it should be noted that the band had returned to a formation with three guitarists with the recruitment of Mike Owings in June 1999, but that the experience quickly turned short with the departure of the latter in March 2000 for health reasons. Another important point to note: Bobby Ingram is now the sole owner of the Molly Hatchet brand after acquiring the last rights held by Pat Armstrong, the group's original manager.

Once these details have been brought to your attention, it is now high time to look at the content of this record. Launched by some southern sounds,'Heart Of The U.S.A.' throws its big hard-rock riff that crushes everything in its path, reinforced by a good catchy chorus. 'Cornbreed Mafia' shows the band's boogie face with the traditional slide. As for 'One Last Ride', it deserves its place alongside the best epic titles that Molly Hatchet regularly spoils us with. Majestic and melancholic and endowed with a new guitaristic cavalcade of which the southern band has the secret, this track represents without any dispute the summit of this opus.

Reinforced by a new wild boogie with bastringue piano ('Why Won't You Take Me Home'), a beautiful bewitching ballad ('Turn My Back To Yesterday'), and a nervous rock-folk enriched with a twirling violin ('Gypsy Trail'), the first part of this "Kingdom Of XII" confirms the high level of its predecessor, even if it akes no risk. Unfortunately, the rest of the story struggles to maintain this intensity, handicapped by the dispensable cover of the Rolling Stones ''Tumbling Dice', or by the meaningless acoustic re-reading of 'Edge Of Sundown'. Only the energy and harmonica of 'White Lightning' or the steamroller of 'Kickstart To Freedom' succeed in extracting themselves from an ensemble that is too confined to the clichés of the group's different facets.

Nevertheless, Molly Hatchet is able to maintain an excellent level of demand, even if he sometimes gives the impression of purring by reusing a method that has proven its worth without taking the slightest risk. However, "Kingdom Of XII" has enough good titles to satisfy fans. Now it remains for Bobby Ingram's formation to find the necessary ingredients to renew himself a little.

More informations on http://www.mollyhatchet.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

LYNYRD SKYNYRD, TED NUGENT, NASHVILLE PUSSY, ZZ TOP, JESUS VOLT, DOC HOLLIDAY, THE ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND, THE BOUNTY HUNTER GANG, RED ROAD CROSSING, POINT BLANK

TRACK LISTING

01. Heart Of The U.s.a. - 4:01
02. Cornbread Mafia - 3:27
03. One Last Ride - 7:46
04. Why Won't You Take Me Home - 3:21
05. Turn My Back On Yesterday - 5:04
06. Gypsy Trail - 3:47
07. White Lightnin' - 3:50
08. Tumbling Dice - 3:13
09. Angel In Dixie - 4:08
10. Kickstart To Freedom - 4:36
11. Dreams Of Life - 7:12
12. Edge Of Sundown - 7:10


LINEUP

Andy Mckinney: Basse
Bobby Ingram: Guitares
Bryan Bassett: Guitares
John Galvin: Claviers
Phil McCormack: Chant / Harmonica
Sean Shannon: Batterie
Charlie Daniels: Invité / Fiddle
Russ Maxwell: Guitares / Invité
Tim Donovan: Claviers / Invité


TAGS:
Bluesy, Southern, Rasping voice, Deep voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS MOLLY HATCHET
LAST NEWS
MOLLY HATCHET Singer Phil McCormack Dies
INFORMATION

Read the news
View all news about MOLLY HATCHET
 
RATING
 
3/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS MOLLY HATCHET
 
MOLLY-HATCHET_Kingdom-Of-XII Kingdom Of Xii (2000)
SPV STEAMHAMMER / HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

ARTISTE:

MOLLY HATCHET

(ETATS UNIS)
TITRE:

KINGDOM OF XII

(2000)
LABEL:

SPV STEAMHAMMER

GENRE:

HARD ROCK

TAGS:
Bluesy, Chant éraillé, Chant grave, Sudiste
"Les Floridiens réussissent à maintenir un excellent degré d’exigence, même s’ils donnent parfois l’impression de ronronner en réutilisant une méthode qui a fait ses preuves sans prendre le moindre risque."
LOLOCELTIC (25.06.2019)  
3/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

En deux albums, Molly Hatchet a réussi à imposer un nouveau vocaliste (Phil McCormack), un line-up sans aucun membre d’origine, et une nouvelle identité musicale qu’il est désormais possible de nommer hard rock sudiste. Pas mal, d’autant que "Silent Reign Of Heroes" (1998), dernier méfait studio en date, s’est révélé comme une des meilleures livraisons discographiques de la légende floridienne, toutes époques confondues. Le line-up est cette fois modifié, mais très légèrement, par le remplacement de Mac Crawford par Sean Shannon à la batterie. A noter cependant que le groupe avait retrouvé une formation avec trois guitaristes avec le recrutement de Mike Owings en juin 1999, mais que l’expérience a vite tourné court avec le départ de ce dernier dès mars 2000 pour des raisons de santé. Autre point non négligeable à signaler : Bobby Ingram est désormais le seul propriétaire de la marque Molly Hatchet après avoir acquis les derniers droits détenus Pat Armstrong, manager original du groupe.

Une fois ces détails portés à votre connaissance, il est désormais grand temps de nous pencher sur le contenu de cette galette à la pochette toujours aussi typique. Et en matière de typique, ce "Kingdom Of XII" se pose là en reprenant tous les ingrédients qui permettent de faire un bon album du sextet de Jacksonville. Lancé par quelques bruitages bien sudistes, ‘Heart Of The U.S.A.’ balance son gros riff hard-rock qui écrase tout sur son passage, renforcé par un bon refrain catchy. ‘Cornbreed Mafia’ porte fièrement l’étendard de la face boogie du groupe avec la traditionnelle slide. Quant à ‘One Last Ride’, il mérite sa place aux côtés des meilleurs titres épiques dont Molly Hatchet nous gâte régulièrement. Majestueux et mélancolique et doté d’une nouvelle cavalcade guitaristique dont la formation sudiste a le secret, ce titre représente sans aucune contestation le sommet de cet opus.

Renforcé par un nouveau boogie endiablé avec piano bastringue (‘Why Won’t You Take Me Home’), une belle ballade envoûtante (‘Turn My Back To Yesterday’), et un rock-folk nerveux enrichi d’un violon tournoyant (‘Gypsy Trail’), la première partie de ce "Kingdom Of XII" confirme le haut niveau de son prédécesseur, même s’il ne prend aucun risque. Malheureusement, la suite peine à maintenir cette intensité, handicapée par la reprise lourdingue du ‘Tumbling Dice’ des Rolling Stones, ou par la relecture acoustique sans intérêt de ‘Edge Of Sundown’. Seule l’énergie et l’harmonica de ‘White Lightning’ ou le rouleau compresseur de ‘Kickstart To Freedom’ réussissent à s’extraire d’un ensemble se cantonnant trop dans les poncifs des différentes facettes du groupe.

Il n’en reste pas moins que Molly Hatchet réussit à maintenir un excellent degré d’exigence, même s’il donne parfois l’impression de ronronner en réutilisant une méthode qui a fait ses preuves sans prendre le moindre risque. "Kingdom Of XII" possède cependant suffisamment de bons titres pour mériter que les amateurs s’y intéressent et y trouvent leur lot de satisfactions. Reste désormais à la formation menée par Bobby Ingram à trouver les ingrédients nécessaires pour se renouveler un minimum.


Plus d'information sur http://www.mollyhatchet.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
NASHVILLE PUSSY, DOC HOLLIDAY, POINT BLANK, JESUS VOLT, RED ROAD CROSSING, ZZ TOP, TED NUGENT, THE BOUNTY HUNTER GANG, LYNYRD SKYNYRD, THE ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Heart Of The U.s.a. - 4:01
02. Cornbread Mafia - 3:27
03. One Last Ride - 7:46
04. Why Won't You Take Me Home - 3:21
05. Turn My Back On Yesterday - 5:04
06. Gypsy Trail - 3:47
07. White Lightnin' - 3:50
08. Tumbling Dice - 3:13
09. Angel In Dixie - 4:08
10. Kickstart To Freedom - 4:36
11. Dreams Of Life - 7:12
12. Edge Of Sundown - 7:10

FORMATION:
Andy Mckinney: Basse
Bobby Ingram: Guitares
Bryan Bassett: Guitares
John Galvin: Claviers
Phil McCormack: Chant / Harmonica
Sean Shannon: Batterie
Charlie Daniels: Invité / Fiddle
Russ Maxwell: Guitares / Invité
Tim Donovan: Claviers / Invité
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
-/5 (0 avis)
STAFF:
3/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
MOLLY HATCHET: Sortie d'un live en novembre
DERNIER ARTICLE
MOLLY HATCHET + DEZPERADOZ - LE TRABENDO - 21 DECEMBRE 2017
Un souffle de Jacksonville.
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY: Planetary Overload : Loss To Lost (2019)
ROCK PROGRESSIF - Collant avec grande précision à l'univers d'Unitopia, UPF livre un album d'un bel éclectisme, sans toutefois atteindre la dimension mythique de son modèle.
NAD SYLVAN: The Regal Bastard (2019)
ROCK PROGRESSIF - Nad Sylvan se met en scène dans un album vampirique maniéré musicalement éloigné de son propos.
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
L'album n'est peut être pas sorti ou l'ID spotify n'a pas encore été renseigné ou il n'y a pas d'ID spotify disponible
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT MOLLY HATCHET
MOLLY-HATCHET_Justice
Justice (2010)
3/5
4/5
SPV STEAMHAMMER / HARD ROCK
MOLLY-HATCHET_Silent-Reign-Of-Heroes
Silent Reign Of Heroes (1998)
4/5
-/5
SPV STEAMHAMMER / ROCK
MOLLY-HATCHET_Devil-s-Canyon
Devil's Canyon (1996)
3/5
-/5
SPV STEAMHAMMER / ROCK
MOLLY-HATCHET_Lightning-Strikes-Twice
Lightning Strikes Twice (1989)
3/5
4/5
CAPITOL / ROCK
MOLLY-HATCHET_The-Deed-Is-Done
The Deed Is Done (1984)
2/5
4/5
EPIC / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020