MW / Home / Reviews / DEPECHE MODE: Music For The Masses
BAND/AUTHOR:

DEPECHE MODE

(UNITED KINGDOM)

TITLE:
MUSIC FOR THE MASSES
RELEASE DATE:
1987
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
POP
"A real boost in Depeche Mode's career, and especially on the American continent, "Music for the Masses" can be considered as the real cornerstone of the band's discography."
TONYB - 04.02.2019 -
Continuing its frenetic release rhythm, Depeche Mode returns to business 18 months after the excellent "Black Celebration" with a sixth album that will definitely anchor the band at the top of electronic pop, notably through two gigantic hits.

First of them, 'Never Let Me Down Again' opens the ball with its unstoppable melody and a very judicious verse/refrain progression. The orchestration is precise, the sounds modern and the production refined is beautiful, celebrating the band's first publication in CD format. This track is still probably the most accomplished title of the band to date.

Depeche Mode takes the listener by the throat and will never let go of him again throughout ten exciting tracks. A little gliding and silky electro ('The Things you Said'), a striking 'Strange Love' in 'People are People' mode, or a second delightful hit offered by the jumping 'Behind the Wheel' whose opposite is offered by the melancholic 'Little Fifteen', each piece here proposed is a real little pop nugget, declaring moreover a specific identity of the band, which does not prevent the latter from giving a small reference to Kraftwerk with keyboard choruses with very Germanic sounds ('Nothing'). Once again, synthesizers are the kings of the cake (oops!), and despite the era favourable to now obsolete sounds, Depeche Mode had the good taste not to fall into caricature, which allows to continue to appreciate this album 30 years later.

However, beyond these tracks with their rather classic structure, a real UFO will conclude the album. "Pimpf" offers us an instrumental finale, with onomatopoeias chanted as the accompaniment gains in power, like a soundtrack to a thriller film where anxiety would gradually rise! And to better digest the effect, a few moments of silence precede a small hidden title of a handful of seconds that relaxes the atmosphere somewhat.

A real boost in Depeche Mode's career, and especially on the American continent, "Music for the Masses" can be considered as the real cornerstone of the band's discography, a prelude to the commercial successes that followed, but also the beginning of the end of the period of the electronic world that will end with "Violator".

More informations on http://www.depechemode.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

ULTRAVOX, OMD

TRACK LISTING

01. Never Let Me Down Again
02. The Things You Said
03. Strangelove
04. Sacred
05. Little 15
06. Behind The Wheel
07. I Want You Now
08. To Have And To Hold
09. Nothing
10. Pimpf


LINEUP

Alan Wilder: Claviers / Choeurs
Andy Fletcher: Claviers / Choeurs
Dave Gahan: Chant
Martin Gore: Claviers / Choeurs


TAGS:
80's, Electro, Dark
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS DEPECHE MODE
 
RATING
 
5/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS DEPECHE MODE
 
DEPECHE-MODE_Music-for-the-Masses Music For The Masses (1987)
AUTRE LABEL / POP
DEPECHE-MODE_Black-Celebration Black Celebration (1986)
AUTRE LABEL / POP
DEPECHE-MODE_Some-Great-Reward Some Great Reward (1984)
AUTRE LABEL / POP
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

ARTISTE:

DEPECHE MODE

(ROYAUME UNI)
TITRE:

MUSIC FOR THE MASSES

(1987)
LABEL:

AUTRE LABEL

GENRE:

POP

TAGS:
80's, Electro
"Véritable coup d'accélérateur dans la carrière de Depeche Mode, et notamment sur le continent américain, "Music for the Masses" peut être considéré comme la véritable pierre angulaire de la discographie du groupe."
TONYB (04.02.2019)  
5/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

Continuant son rythme frénétique de sortie, Depeche Mode revient aux affaires 18 mois après l'excellent "Black Celebration" avec un sixième album qui va définitivement ancrer le groupe au top de la pop électronique, par le biais notamment de deux tubes gigantesques.

Premier d'entre eux, 'Never Let Me Down Again' ouvre le bal avec sa mélodie imparable et une progression couplet/refrain fort judicieuse. L'orchestration est précise, les sonorités modernes et la production raffinée s'avère de toute beauté, célébrant en cela la première publication du groupe au format CD. Cette plage reste encore à ce jour probablement le titre le plus abouti du groupe.

Depeche Mode prend ainsi l'auditeur à la gorge et ne va plus le lâcher tout au long de dix titres passionnants. Un peu d'electro planant et soyeux ('The Things you Said'), un 'Strange Love' percutant décliné en mode 'People are People', ou encore un deuxième tube jouissif proposé par le sautillant 'Behind the Wheel' dont l'opposé est proposé par le mélancolique 'Little Fifteen', chaque pièce ici proposée se pose en véritable petite pépite pop, déclinant de surcroît une identité propre au groupe, ce qui n'empêche pas ce dernier de remettre une petite référence à Kraftwerk avec des chorus de claviers aux sonorités très germaniques ('Nothing'). Une nouvelle fois, les synthétiseurs sont les rois de la galette (oups!), et malgré l'époque propice aux sonorités désormais désuètes, Depeche Mode a eu le bon goût de ne pas tomber dans la caricature, ce qui permet de continuer à apprécier cet album 30 années plus tard.

Pourtant, au-delà de ces plages à la structure somme toute plutôt classique, un véritable OVNI va conclure le disque. 'Pimpf' nous propose en effet un final instrumental, avec des onomatopées scandées au fur et à mesure que l'accompagnement gagne en puissance, telle une bande originale d'un film à suspense où l'angoisse monterait peu à peu ! Et pour mieux en digérer l'effet, quelques instants de silence précèdent un petit titre caché d'une poignée de secondes venant détendre quelque peu l'atmosphère.

Véritable coup d'accélérateur dans la carrière de Depeche Mode, et notamment sur le continent américain, "Music for the Masses" peut être considéré comme la véritable pierre angulaire de la discographie du groupe, prélude aux succès commerciaux qui ont suivi, mais également début de la fin de la période du tout électronique qui s'achèvera avec "Violator".


Plus d'information sur http://www.depechemode.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
OMD, ULTRAVOX

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Never Let Me Down Again
02. The Things You Said
03. Strangelove
04. Sacred
05. Little 15
06. Behind The Wheel
07. I Want You Now
08. To Have And To Hold
09. Nothing
10. Pimpf

FORMATION:
Alan Wilder: Claviers / Choeurs
Andy Fletcher: Claviers / Choeurs
Dave Gahan: Chant
Martin Gore: Claviers / Choeurs
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
5/5 (1 avis)
STAFF:
5/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
DEPECHE MODE: Nouvel album et tournée
 

"Ecoutez "Smash" de Clint Slate !"
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
EXCEPT ONE: F∀llen (2018)
DEATH METAL - "Fallen" est un album puissant et brumeux, avec lequel Except One trace sa route vers une reconnaissance bien méritée.
LAST AUTUMN'S DREAM: Secret Treasures (2018)
HARD ROCK MELODIQUE - Le nouvel album de Last Autumn's Dream est la claque mélodique que nous n'attendions plus de leur part !
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT DEPECHE MODE
DEPECHE-MODE_Black-Celebration
Black Celebration (1986)
4/5
5/5
AUTRE LABEL / POP
DEPECHE-MODE_Some-Great-Reward
Some Great Reward (1984)
4/5
4/5
AUTRE LABEL / POP
DEPECHE-MODE_Construction-Time-Again
Construction Time Again (1983)
3/5
-/5
AUTRE LABEL / POP
DEPECHE-MODE_A-Broken-Frame
A Broken Frame (1982)
3/5
3/5
AUTRE LABEL / POP
DEPECHE-MODE_Speak-And-Spell
Speak And Spell (1981)
3/5
3/5
AUTRE LABEL / POP
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2021