BAND/AUTHOR:

FEVER 333

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
STRENGTH IN NUMB333RS (2019)
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
FUSION METAL

"Mix of vendicative rap and metal, Strength In Numb333ers" is, for a first attempt, a clear success."
CALGEPO - 12.03.2019 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
4/5
Since the death of Chester Bennington (Linkin Park) and the sleep of Rage Against The Machine despite episodic reformations, rapcore or rap metal feels a little orphaned. Fortunately, bands are there to take over from an ultra-demanding and terribly addictive genre. What could be better than to combine the protest flow of rap vocal lines with the melodic power of metal? Fever 333 is an integral part of these bands that are gaining more and more importance on the metal scene, notably by signing up for Roadrunner right from the start. 

The first misdeed of the power trio is called "Strength in Num333ers". Its introduction is totally chaotic with noises of riots, breakage, violence illustrated by the sample of an electronically altered radio report that announces colour. Fever 333 starts with a raw, modern sound, with keyboards that support Stephen Harrison's guitarist fervour in the effective "Burn It". If the sound wall is already high, the group raises the level with 'Animal' which starts relatively loudly and ends in a rhythmic apotheosis.

The tracks are relatively short but this does not prevent the band from trying more developed movements that bring an epic side to its subject. Thus "Prey For Me" from the top of its five minutes  alternates several atmospheres, one of which goes deeper towards rapcore than metalcore. It must be said that Jason Aalon Butler's flow is terribly effective and perfectly matches the band's desire to be the voice of the silent majority of Americans. The band is also capable of nuances with a track like 'Inglewood'. Built in two parts, the first vocal lines are close to an Eminem for the best effect in the somewhat jerky verses, which is counterbalanced by a very synthetic aerial chorus with long keyboard notes that bring a certain short-lived serenity. The second movement follows a more violent progression, as if this track was totally schizophrenic with a very hardcore vocals and a more aggressive music. 

Far from being a copy of Linkin Park, Fever 333 already shows a beautiful personality by not falling into the ease of ultra pop and easy listening choruses. The band explores more elaborate, less accessible sounds that require several listening sessions to reveal themselves completely. How can we not come out completely drained by the nebulous and saturated meanders of the seven minutes of "Out Of Control"? In the middle of this deluge, the ballad "Am I Here" is very surprising and sounds almost like an imposed exercise that had to be fixed at some point. 

In the end, this first album of Fever 333 perfectly fulfils its role as an expression of a damaged, torn America, prey to a feeling of injustice and of which the band is the spokesman. Reventive, vindictive, subversive and nuanced, "Strength In Numb333ers" is, for a first attempt, a clear success. 

More informations on https://fever333.com



SIMILAR BANDS:
PROPHETS OF RAGE, LINKIN PARK, RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE

TRACK LISTING:
01.
02. Burn It
03. Animal
04. Prey For Me/3
05. One Of Us
06. Inglewood/3
07. The Innocent
08. Out Of Control/3
09. Am I Here?
10. Coup D’Étalk


LINEUP:
Aric Improta: Batterie
Jason Aalon Butler: Chant
Stevis Harrison: Guitares


TAGS:
90's, Fusion, Neo, Dark, Rasping voice, Yelled sing
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH FEVER 333
RATING
3/5 (1 view(s)) 4/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
DREAM THEATER: Distance Over Time (2019)
PROGRESSIVE METAL "Distance Over Time" returns to an assumed balance between dexterity and emotion. The Americans are back with their best album since Mike Portnoy's departure.
 
NEXT REVIEW
THE MUTE GODS: Atheists And Believers (2019)
PROGRESSIVE ROCK The Mute Gods continue its frantic rhythm of nearly one album a year with "Atheists And Believers", a fickle album whose stylistic diversity is worth listening to.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT FEVER 333
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / FEVER 333: Strength In Numb333rs
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

FEVER 333

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
STRENGTH IN NUMB333RS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
METAL FUSION
"Ce premier album de Fever 333 remplit parfaitement son rôle, celui de l'expression d'une Amérique abîmée, déchirée, en proie au sentiment d'injustice et dont le groupe se fait le porte-parole. Revendicatif, vindicatif, subversif et nuancé, "Strength In Numb333ers" est, pour un premier essai, une franche réussite."
CALGEPO - 12.03.2019 -
Depuis la mort de Chester Bennington (Linkin Park) et la mise en sommeil de Rage Against The Machine malgré des reformations épisodiques, le rapcore ou rap metal se sent un peu orphelin. Fort heureusement, des groupes sont là pour prendre la relève d'un genre ultra revendicatif et terriblement addictif. Quoi de meilleur que d'allier le flow contestataire des lignes de chant du rap à la puissance mélodique du metal ? Fever 333 fait partie intégrante de ces groupes qui prennent de plus en plus d'importance sur la scène metal notamment en signant d'emblée chez Roadrunner.

Le premier méfait du power trio se nomme "Strength in Num333ers". Son introduction est totalement chaotique avec des bruits de manifestation, de casse, de violence illustrés par le sample d'un reportage radiophonique trafiqué électroniquement qui annonce la couleur. Fever 333 ne fait pas dans la dentelle et assoit d'entrée un son brut, moderne, avec des nappes de claviers qui appuient la ferveur guitaristique de Stephen Harrison dans l'efficace 'Burn It'. Si le mur du son est déjà porté bien haut, le groupe hausse le niveau avec 'Animal' qui démarre relativement fort pour finir en apothéose rythmique.

Les titres sont relativement courts mais cela n'empêche pas le groupe de tenter des mouvements plus développés qui apportent un côté épique à son propos. Ainsi 'Prey For Me' du haut de ses cinq minutes au compteur alterne plusieurs ambiances dont une dernière qui va plus profondément vers le rapcore que le metalcore. Il faut dire que le flow de Jason Aalon Butler est terriblement efficace et épouse parfaitement la volonté du groupe d'être le porte-parole de la majorité silencieuse des Américains pour leur permettre d'exprimer leur sentiment d'injustice et d'abus de pouvoir. Le groupe est également capable de nuances avec notamment un 'Inglewood' qui calme un peu le jeu. Construit en deux parties, les premières lignes de chant se rapprochent d'un Eminem du meilleur effet dans les couplets un peu saccadés que vient contrebalancer un refrain aérien très synthétique avec des longues notes de clavier qui apportent une certaine sérénité de courte durée. Le second mouvement suit une progression plus violente, comme si ce titre était totalement schizophrène avec un chant très hardcore et une musique plus agressive.

Loin d'être une copie de Linkin Park, Fever 333 fait déjà preuve d'une belle personnalité en ne tombant pas dans la facilité de refrains ultra pop et easy listening. Le groupe explore des sonorités plus travaillées, moins faciles d'accès qui nécessitent plusieurs écoutes afin de se révéler totalement. Comment ne pas sortir totalement essorés par les méandres nébuleuses et saturées des sept minutes de 'Out Of Control' qui finit par dévoiler ses richesses après l'avoir entendu plusieurs fois ? Au milieu de ce déluge, la ballade 'Am I Here' apparaît comme un cheveu sur la soupe et sonne presque comme un exercice imposé qu'il fallait caler à un moment donné.

Au final, ce premier album de Fever 333 remplit parfaitement son rôle, celui de l'expression d'une Amérique abîmée, déchirée, en proie au sentiment d'injustice et dont le groupe se fait le porte-parole. Revendicatif, vindicatif, subversif et nuancé, "Strength In Numb333ers" est, pour un premier essai, une franche réussite.

Plus d'information sur https://fever333.com


GROUPES PROCHES:
RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE, LINKIN PARK, PROPHETS OF RAGE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01.
02. Burn It
03. Animal
04. Prey For Me/3
05. One Of Us
06. Inglewood/3
07. The Innocent
08. Out Of Control/3
09. Am I Here?
10. Coup D’Étalk


FORMATION:
Aric Improta: Batterie
Jason Aalon Butler: Chant
Stevis Harrison: Guitares


TAGS:
90's, Fusion, Neo, Sombre, Chant éraillé, Chant hurlé
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC FEVER 333
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
FEVER 333: Les détails sur "Strength In Numb333rs"
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant FEVER 333
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
3/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT FEVER 333
 
FEVER-333_STRENGTH-IN-NUMB333RS Strength In Numb333rs (2019)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / METAL FUSION
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020