MW / Home / Reviews / CAPTAIN OBVIOUS: Let It Burn
BAND/AUTHOR:

CAPTAIN OBVIOUS

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
LET IT BURN
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
WAGRAM
GENRE:
STONER
""Let It Burn" will appeal to lovers of a style that is bare and collected in terms of both composition and sound atmosphere."
CALGEPO - 28.03.2019 -
Captain Obvious could be the name of a new superhero from Marvel or DC Comics but it is not. It is above all an ironic expression, a name given to a person who makes obvious statements, in other words a truism.

It was in the Sputnik Sound studios (The Inspector Cluzo, The Raconteurs, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club) in Nashville that "Let It Burn" was recorded and mixed by none other than Brian Lucey (Royal Blood, The Black Keys, Arctic Monkeys). The band's desire was undoubtedly to immerse itself as closely as possible in the American rock atmosphere it claims to be. The first listening of the five titles confirms this impression. Captain Obvious offers a bare rock and therefore in its simplest device up to the very garage sound. Returning to the very essence of the style is an authentic approach that respects claimed influences such as Rage Against The Machine or Beastie Boys.

The eponymous track with which the EP begins immediately infuses this sulphurous spirit into a rhythm that seems slightly slowed down, built on a martial rhythmic accompanied by a very fat guitar. 'Head' follows a little further in the vintage experience with these verses in which the vocal lines are interpreted in a relatively detached way, often with echoes that accentuate this impression, counterbalanced by a more dynamic chorus. The bass plays a more important role on 'Shadow' by forming the backbone of the track always at a falsely slower tempo. The EP has the advantage of increasing in power up to 'Psycho Dance' whose riff pays tribute to RATM ('Killing In The Name') with a more assertive, rapped and energetic song. In the meantime, the listener will have passed through "Pop Song" which is a little familiar with the punk spirit as its name does not indicate with its more aggressive riffs and a chorus that is just as aggressive.

First stone of a larger building to come, this first EP  is a pretty slap that will please aficionados of a bare and collected style, both in terms of compositions and the successful sound atmosphere.  The band does not bother with any electronic and production goes straight to the point in the hope that this choice, with an extra soul and personality, will open the doors to a promising future.  It is obvious. 

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/captainobviousfr/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE

TRACK LISTING

01. Let It Burn
02. Head
03. Shadows
04. Pop Songs
05. Psycho Dance


LINEUP

Angus: Batterie
Joseph: Chant / Guitares / Basse


TAGS:
70's, Fusion, Indépendant, Old School, Punk
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS CAPTAIN OBVIOUS
 
RATING
 
3/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS CAPTAIN OBVIOUS
 
CAPTAIN-OBVIOUS_Let-It-Burn Let It Burn (2019)
WAGRAM / STONER
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

ARTISTE:

CAPTAIN OBVIOUS

(FRANCE)
TITRE:

LET IT BURN

(2019)
LABEL:

WAGRAM

GENRE:

STONER

TAGS:
Fusion, Old School, Punk
"Première pierre d'un édifice plus grand à venir, "Let It Burn" plaira aux amateurs d'un style dépouillé et ramassé tant sur le plan des compositions que de l'ambiance sonore réussie"
CALGEPO (28.03.2019)  
3/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

Captain Obvious pourrait être le nom d'un nouveau super héros de Marvel ou DC Comics mais il n'en est rien. C'est surtout une expression ironique, un nom donné à une personne qui tient des propos manifestement évidents, en d'autres termes une lapalissade. Mais Captain Lapalissade était sans doute moins évident à porter pour un groupe que Captain Obvious.

C'est dans les studios de Sputnik Sound (The Inspector Cluzo, The Raconteurs, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club) à Nashville que "Let It Burn" a été enregistré puis mixé par nul autre que Brian Lucey (Royal Blood, The Black Keys, Arctic Monkeys). La volonté du groupe était sans doute de s'imprégner au plus près de l'ambiance rock américaine dont il se réclame. La première écoute des cinq titres confirme cette impression. Captain Obvious propose un rock mis à nu et donc dans son plus simple appareil jusque dans le son très garage. Revenir à l'essence même du style se révèle une démarche authentique et respectueuse des influences revendiquées telles que Rage Against The Machine ou Beastie Boys.

Le titre éponyme par lequel débute l'EP insuffle d'emblée cet esprit sulfureux sur un rythme qui semble légèrement ralenti, bâti sur une rythmique martiale qu'accompagne une guitare bien grasse. 'Head' qui prend le relais va un peu plus loin dans l'expérience vintage avec ces couplets dans lequel les lignes de chant sont interprétées de manière relativement détachée, avec souvent de l'écho qui accentue cette impression, contrebalancées par un refrain plus dynamique. La basse joue un rôle plus important sur 'Shadow' en constituant la colonne vertébrale du titre toujours sur un tempo faussement ralenti. L'EP a l'avantage de monter en puissance jusqu'à 'Psycho Dance' dont le riff rend hommage à RATM ('Killing In The Name') avec un chant plus affirmé, plus rappé et plus énergique. Entre temps, l'auditeur sera passé par 'Pop Song' qui tutoie un peu l'esprit punk comme son nom ne l'indique pas avec ses riffs plus agressifs et un refrain qui l'est tout autant.

Première pierre d'un édifice plus grand à venir, ce premier EP à l'orientation assumée d'une recherche d'authenticité est une jolie claque qui plaira aux aficionados d'un style dépouillé et ramassé, tant sur le plan des compositions que de l'ambiance sonore réussie.  Le groupe ne s’embarrasse d'aucune fioriture électronique et de production et va droit au but en espérant que ce choix, avec un supplément d'âme et de personnalité, lui ouvrira les portes d'un avenir plein de promesses.  C'est une évidence.


Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/captainobviousfr/



GROUPES PROCHES:
RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE


LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Let It Burn
02. Head
03. Shadows
04. Pop Songs
05. Psycho Dance

FORMATION:
Angus: Batterie
Joseph: Chant / Guitares / Basse
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
-/5 (0 avis)
STAFF:
3/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
CAPTAIN OBVIOUS: Les détails sur leur EP
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
CAPTAIN OBVIOUS (21 MARS 2019)
Rendez-vous pris avec non pas le nouveau membre des Avengers mais avec un nouveau groupe rock, Captain Obvious qui nous parle de son EP au son vintage assumé.
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
GRAND TOUR: Clocks That Tick (but Never Talk) (2019)
ROCK PROGRESSIF - Subtil mélange de mélodies soignées, d'arrangements raffinés et d'effluves folk, "Clocks That Tick" remplit honnêtement le contrat : nous faire passer un (très) bon moment à son écoute. Que demander de plus ?
TIM BOWNESS: Flowers At The Scene (2019)
ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE - "Flowers at the Scene" malgré sa palette d'artistes talentueux s'avère finalement un album un peu monochrome.
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2021