MW / Home / Reviews / GIANCARLO ERRA: Ends
BAND/AUTHOR:

GIANCARLO ERRA

(ITALY)

TITLE:
ENDS
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
KSCOPE
GENRE:
ATMOSPHERIC ROCK
"If you are sensitive to melancholic atmospheres, you could be trapped by the nostalgic beauty of "Ends", which proves that beautiful things can be done with few resources deployed."
CORTO1809 - 15.04.2019 -
You may not be familiar with Giancarlo Erra's name. Nothing could be more normal since "Ends" is the first album to be released under this artist's name. Nevertheless, the most perceptive will have already made the connection with the Italian group Nosound. Originally, Nosound was Giancarlo Erra's one-man band, which will produce only one album in this form, "Sol29" (2005). To be able to play his music in concert, Erra surrounds himself with musicians who will transform the one-man band into a full-fledged group from 2006 onwards, with five albums and three EPs to his credit.

But tempted by a new experience, Giancarlo Erra gives birth to a first solo album only accompanied by an Islandic-Danish string quartet. No percussion, no guitars and no vocals, it is only behind his acoustic and electric keyboards that our man invites us to a balad as dark and austere as his picture on the cover lets it prefigure.

A small riddle to which we do not have the solution, the titles, all called "Ends" followed by a Latin number, do not appear in their numerical order. Thus, the first track is entitled "Ends III", "Ends I" only coming in third position without anything to explain the logic of this arrangement. Because from "Ends I" to "Ends Coda", all the tracks are built in the same way : a slow tempo (Nosound had already accustomed us to that), a cyclic theme that unfolds its loops, setting a deep melancholy, and variations introduced only by the addition or removal of instruments and subtle decrescendo crescendo effects. It is better to love Barber's adagio or the works of Arvo Pärt to enter the universe of the Italian artist. Those who like that will certainly be transported by the clear beauty of the themes and the poignant melancholy they emanate. The others may quickly find that the album gets bogged down in a certain monotony.

Nevertheless, here's the proof that beautiful things can be done with few resources deployed : a few keyboards and a string quartet, skeletal melodies running in a loop, a single tempo for the whole album, a single theme per track. As long as you are sensitive to melancholic atmospheres, it is easy to be trapped by the nostalgic beauty of this album. In the opposite case, the throbbing and repetitive nature of the melodies and the monochromy of the effects used will quickly bore the listener.

More informations on

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

NOSOUND, KLAUS SCHULZE, TIM BOWNESS

TRACK LISTING

01. Ends Iii (04:05)
02. Ends Ii (04:03)
03. Ends I (05:25)
04. Ends Vii (06:44)
05. Ends V (04:24)
06. Ends Iv (05:06)
07. Ends Vi (04:42)
08. Ends Coda (04:02)


LINEUP

Elis Marteinsson: Violon
Giancarlo Erra: Claviers
Krista Sverrisdottir: Violon
Nicolaj Nielsen: Alto
Quynh Lephan: Violoncelle


TAGS:
Instrumental, Melancholic
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS GIANCARLO ERRA
 
RATING
 
3/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS GIANCARLO ERRA
 
GIANCARLO-ERRA_Ends Ends (2019)
KSCOPE / ATMOSPHERIC ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

ARTISTE:

GIANCARLO ERRA

(ITALIE)
TITRE:

ENDS

(2019)
LABEL:

KSCOPE

GENRE:

ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE

TAGS:
Instrumental, Mélancolique
"Pour peu qu'on soit sensible aux atmosphères mélancoliques, il est facile de se faire piéger par la nostalgique beauté de "Ends" qui prouve qu'on peut faire beau avec peu de moyens déployés."
CORTO1809 (15.04.2019)  
4/5
(1) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

Le nom de Giancarlo Erra ne vous est peut-être pas familier. Rien de plus normal puisque "Ends" est le premier album à voir le jour avec ce nom d'artiste. Néanmoins, les plus perspicaces auront déjà fait le rapprochement avec le groupe italien Nosound. A l'origine, Nosound était le one-man band de Giancarlo Erra qui ne produira sous cette forme qu'un seul album, "Sol29" (2005). Pour pouvoir jouer sa musique en concert, Erra s'entoure de musiciens qui vont à partir de 2006 transformer le one-man band en groupe à part entière, celui-ci comptant depuis lors à son actif cinq albums et trois EPs.

Mais tenté par une nouvelle expérience, Giancarlo Erra donne jour à un premier album solo uniquement accompagné d'un quatuor à cordes islando-danois. Pas de percussion, pas de guitare et pas de chant, c'est uniquement derrière ses claviers acoustiques et électriques que notre homme nous convie à une balade aussi sombre et austère que sa photo sur la pochette le laisse préfigurer.

Petite énigme à laquelle nous n'avons pas la solution, les titres, s'appelant tous 'Ends' suivi d'un chiffre latin, n'apparaissent pas dans leur ordre numérique. Ainsi, le premier morceau s'intitule 'Ends III', 'Ends I' n'arrivant qu'en troisième position sans que rien ne vienne expliquer la logique de cette disposition. Car de 'Ends I' à 'Ends Coda', tous les titres sont bâtis de la même manière : un tempo lent (Nosound nous avait déjà habitué à cela), un thème cyclique qui déroule ses boucles, installant une profonde mélancolie, et des variations introduites uniquement par l'ajout ou le retrait d'instruments et de subtils effets de crescendo decrescendo. Mieux vaut aimer l'adagio de Barber ou les œuvres d'Arvo Pärt pour pénétrer l'univers de l'artiste italien. Ceux-là seront certainement transportés par la beauté limpide des thèmes et la poignante mélancolie qu'ils dégagent. Les autres risquent de trouver rapidement que l'album s'enlise dans une certaine monotonie.

Néanmoins, la preuve est faite qu'on peut faire beau avec peu de moyens déployés : quelques claviers et un quatuor à cordes, des mélodies squelettiques tournant en boucle, un seul tempo pour tout l'album, un seul thème par titre. Pour peu qu'on soit sensible aux atmosphères mélancoliques, il est facile de se faire piéger par la nostalgique beauté de cet album. Dans le cas inverse, le caractère lancinant et répétitif des mélodies et la monochromie des effets utilisés ennuiera rapidement l'auditeur.


Plus d'information sur





LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Ends Iii (04:05)
02. Ends Ii (04:03)
03. Ends I (05:25)
04. Ends Vii (06:44)
05. Ends V (04:24)
06. Ends Iv (05:06)
07. Ends Vi (04:42)
08. Ends Coda (04:02)

FORMATION:
Elis Marteinsson: Violon
Giancarlo Erra: Claviers
Krista Sverrisdottir: Violon
Nicolaj Nielsen: Alto
Quynh Lephan: Violoncelle
   
(1) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
TONYB
15/04/2019
  0 0  
2/5
"Balade sombre et austère"
Tout est résumé avec ces deux adjectifs ... et à trop d'austérité, l'ennui s'installe rapidement. Tout le monde n'est pas Mark Hollis.

Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
-/5 (0 avis)
STAFF:
3/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
GIANCARLO ERRA: Ends
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
GOAT EXPLOSION: Rumors Of Man (2018)
DOOM - Dès son premier album, Goat Explosion fait une entrée fracassante sur l'autel du doom traditionnel auquel il donne une de ses plus belles hosties goûtées depuis longtemps.
ÖFÖ AM: Tales From Outerspace : An Octaman's Odyssey (2018)
STONER - "Tales From Outerspace" est tonique, stimulant et déclenche une agréable chaleur dans le bas-ventre. Öfö Am est décidément une valeur sûre !
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT GIANCARLO ERRA
GIANCARLO-ERRA_Departure-Tapes
Departure Tapes (2021)
3/5
4/5
KSCOPE / ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2022