MW / Home / Reviews / MONKEY3: Sphere
BAND/AUTHOR:

MONKEY3

(SWITZERLAND)

TITLE:
SPHERE
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
NAPALM RECORDS
GENRE:
STONER
"In the continuity of its recent predecessors, "Sphere" affirms the increasingly progressive signature of Monkey3, of which it is certainly the most powerful work."
CHILDERIC THOR - 31.12.2019 -
Over time, casting off the stoner's moorings to dock the shores of a more progressive (post) metal, although still as dynamic and instrumental as ever, Monkey3 has managed to shape an identity as assertive as it is endearing, which ultimately belongs only to him. In almost twenty years of career, the Swiss have logically established themselves among the masters of a rock that is both catchy and hovering and from which vocals are d. By joining the Napalm Records team in 2013 on the occasion of "The 5th Sun", the quartet even increased its visibility, gaining a amply justified success that the most disappointing "Astral Symmetry", engraved three years later, has not really managed to slow down. Despite this relative decrease in inspiration, many of us were waiting for his sixth album. Here it is. 

Some may see "Sphere" as a return to the roots; we prefer to see in it, on the contrary, the extension of the aerial and soft style at work since "The 5th Sun". "Spirals" summarizes the band's signature, stretching over more than eleven elegant and silky minutes an atmospheric rock whose spatial beauty can only evoke the Pink Floyd of "Wish You Were Here" or "Animals" with a hint of "Meddle", an obvious reference as soon as the guitars take off very high. After a long start in stellar colours, the track gradually awakens to the rhythm of percussions that nibble more and more on the space, before being definitively launched. Its features harden as Boris' stratospheric six-stringed string rivals DB's undulating keyboards. The title quietly moves towards a conclusion that looks like an apotheosis. 

At the other end answers 'Ellipsis'. 14 minutes for a real lesson in orgasmic empowerment. Gourmet bass, hypnotic groove drums, synths coming from the stars and pointillist guitar gradually come together in a heady spatial ballet. Moreover, listening to this pavement, we can see how much each musician holds his place here in a delicate ensemble whose beautiful freedom of features actually betrays a millimetre-long work.  

Between these two monuments are four composers with a more compact format, except for "Prism" whose emotional power and superior quality give it a pivotal role as the epicentre of a tsunami of beauty. Here again, these nine minutes offer the Swiss the opportunity to demonstrate their science of cataclysmic elevation. Behind his drums, Walter imprints a devastating energy, which is draped in ghostly electronic tablecloths. Driven by a guitar full of feeling, the finale can only bring tears to your eyes. Shorter, the rest is not an anecdotal, between an 'Axis' also floydian, an 'Ida' as dreamy as he is chaloupé and especially this 'Mass' with more desperate accents which spreads a dark and bewitching emphase. 

In the continuity of its recent predecessors, "Sphere" affirms the increasingly progressive signature of Monkey3, of which it is certainly the most powerful work. And so the most beautiful.

More informations on http://www.monkeythree.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

ISIS, TOOL

TRACK LISTING

01. Spirals
02. Axis
03. Prism
04. Mass
05. Ida
06. Ellipsis


LINEUP

Boris: Guitares
Db: Claviers
Kevin.: Basse
Walter: Batterie
Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal: Guitares / Invité


TAGS:
Instrumental, Smoothing, Space, Technical
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS MONKEY3
 
RATING
 
4.7/5 (3 view(s))
5/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS MONKEY3
 
MONKEY3_SPHERE Sphere (2019)
NAPALM RECORDS / STONER
MONKEY3_Beyond-The-Black-Sky Beyond The Black Sky (2011)
AUTRE LABEL / STONER
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

MONKEY3

(SUISSE)

TITRE:
SPHERE (2019)
LABEL:
NAPALM RECORDS
GENRE:
STONER

"Dans la continuité de ses récents aînés, "Sphere" affirme la signature de plus en plus progressive de Monkey3 dont il constitue certainement l'œuvre la plus forte."
CHILDERIC THOR - 31.12.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
5/5
Larguant au fil du temps les amarres du stoner pour accoster les rivages d'un (post) metal plus évolutif quoique toujours aussi dynamique et instrumental, Monkey3 a su façonner une identité aussi affirmée qu'attachante qui finalement n'appartient qu'à lui. En presque vingt ans de carrière, les Suisses se sont logiquement imposés parmi les mètres-étalons d'un rock à la fois accrocheur et planant duquel le chant est éconduit. En rejoignant en 2013 l'écurie Napalm Records à l'occasion de "The 5th Sun", le quatuor a même encore accru sa visibilité, gagnant un succès amplement justifié que le plus décevant "Astral Symmetry", gravé trois ans plus tard, n'a pas vraiment réussi à entamer. Malgré cette relative baisse d'inspiration, nous étions donc nombreux à attendre son sixième album. Le voici.

Certains verront peut-être "Sphere" comme un retour aux sources ; nous préférons voir en lui au contraire le prolongement du style aérien et moelleux à l'œuvre depuis "The 5th Sun". Deux gigantesques sentinelles bordent son menu trapu. La première d'entre elles, 'Spirals' résume la signature du groupe, étirant sur plus de onze minutes élégantes et soyeuses un rock atmosphérique dont la beauté spatiale ne peut qu'évoquer le Pink  Floyd de "Wish You Were Here" ou "Animals" avec un soupçon de "Meddle", référence obligée dès que les guitares décollent très haut. Après une longue entame aux couleurs stellaires, la piste s'éveille peu à peu au rythme de percussions qui grignotent de plus en plus l'espace, avant d'être définitivement lancée. Ses traits se durcissent tandis que la six-cordes stratosphérique de Boris rivalise avec les claviers ondoyants de DB. Le titre file tranquillement vers une conclusion aux allures d'apothéose.

A l'autre bout lui répond 'Ellipsis'. 14 minutes au garrot pour une véritable leçon de montée en puissance orgasmique. Basse gourmande, batterie au groove hypnotique, synthés venus des étoiles et guitare pointilliste se rejoignent progressivement en un ballet spatial capiteux. D'ailleurs, à l'écoute de ce pavé, on mesure combien chaque musicien tient ici sa place dans un ensemble délicat dont la belle liberté de traits trahit en réalité un travail millimétré. 

Entre ces deux monuments se glissent quatre compos au format plus ramassé, exception faite de 'Prism' dont la puissance émotionnelle et la qualité supérieure lui confèrent un rôle de pivot, épicentre d'un tsunami de beauté. Là encore, ces neuf minutes offrent aux Suisses l'occasion de démontrer leur science de l'élévation cataclysmique couplée à une construction d'orfèvres. Derrière ses fûts, Walter imprime une énergie ravageuse, que drapent de fantomatiques nappes électroniques. Piloté par une guitare gavée de feeling, le final ne peut que tirer des larmes. Plus court, le reste n'en est pas pour autant anecdotique, entre un 'Axis' également floydien, un 'Ida' aussi rêveur que chaloupé et surtout ce 'Mass' aux accents plus désespérés qui répand une emphase sombre et envoûtante.

Dans la continuité de ses récents aînés, "Sphere" affirme la signature de plus en plus progressive de Monkey3 dont il constitue certainement l'œuvre la plus forte. Et donc la plus belle.

Plus d'information sur http://www.monkeythree.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
ISIS, TOOL

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Spirals
02. Axis
03. Prism
04. Mass
05. Ida
06. Ellipsis


FORMATION:
Boris: Guitares
Db: Claviers
Kevin.: Basse
Walter: Batterie
Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal: Guitares / Invité


TAGS:
Instrumental, Planant, Space, Technique
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC MONKEY3
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
MONKEY3 revient avec "Sphere"
Toutes les actualités sur MONKEY3
NOTES
4.7/5 (3 avis) 4.7/5 (3 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
FLYING COLORS: Third Degree (2019)
ROCK Un des rares cas de super-groupe où la somme est égale à l’addition des talents. Un album efficace, varié, et d'une insolente facilité tout en évitant le mainstream.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
DEVIN TOWNSEND: Empath (2019)
METAL PROGRESSIF "Empath" est un chef-d’œuvre à écouter encore et encore. Il est impossible de ne pas s’incliner devant autant de talent et de génie.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT MONKEY3
MONKEY3_Beyond-The-Black-Sky
Beyond The Black Sky (2011)
4/5
4/5
AUTRE LABEL / STONER
MONKEY3_39-Laps
39 Laps (2006)
4/5
4/5
LONGFELLOW DEEDS / STONER
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020