MW / Home / Reviews / KINETIC ELEMENT: The Face Of Life
BAND/AUTHOR:

KINETIC ELEMENT

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
THE FACE OF LIFE
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
MELODIC REVOLUTION RECORDS
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE ROCK
""The Face of Life" remains an album to be discovered, and which will require some listening to integrate all its elements which, once assembled, will provide good musical moments to the attentive listener."
TONYB - 10.07.2019 -
For a good decade, Kinetic Element, an American band led by Mike Visaggio, has been taking us to the roots of progressive rock, the 70's, while dressing it with a certain modernity. After two albums full of music, the singer/keyboard player offers us a third, more compact offering, concentrated around two epic tracks, whose duration is in line with the new standard imposed by the rebirth of vinyl.

Epistle' begins this new album on a rhythmic basis, with a bass at the beginning, which is one of the founding elements of the band's sound, often playing in the high notes. This first track, a little muscular, may remind you of Deep Purple, especially since a (short) melodic line seems to be pumped straight out of "Smoke on the Water". In the calmer passages, a delicious assemblage of melodic lines that overlap refreshes the ears, allowing above all to override a song that, far from being unpleasant, turns out to be very ordinary.

And after this effective warm-up, the two pavers "All Open Eyes" and "The Face of Life" will distil everything that the Progressive rock fan (with a big P) is entitled to expect. Obvious yessian influences personified by vocal harmonies and Mark Tupko's bass playing, when the main theme of the first named evokes Genesis, embellished with frequent rhythmic breaks, numerous purely instrumental sequences and a mix of vintage and modern sounds for the best effect.
And for those who would be surprised by the classicism of the time, Kinetic Element also introduces some dissonant sounds as well as technical parts where the instrumentalists compete in dexterity... The ensemble is seductive, reconciling the different trends of progressive rock of the 70s with a modernist feel, while remaining accessible.

Unfortunately, a few lengths come to taint this balance sheet, which until now has been flattering. First of all, the two epic beaches are struggling to convince in their entirety: the pompous finale that drags on for'All Open Eyes', the slow start of'The Face of Life'. Similarly, we will regret an excessive profusion of themes, which does not allow some of them to be developed in greater depth, sometimes giving the impression of jumping from rooster to donkey. On the other hand, the last two tracks, very similar, are anecdotal.
And finally, we will regret a very average production that does not really pay tribute to the cleverly crafted compositions, full of variety both in the themes delivered by easily accessible melodies and in their rendering.

Despite these few negative points, "The Face of Life" remains an album to be discovered, and which will require some listening to integrate all its elements which, once assembled, will provide good musical moments to the attentive listener.

More informations on http://kineticelement.com/


SIMILAR BANDS

YES, SPOCK'S BEARD, ELP, DELUGE GRANDER, GENTLE GIANT, STRANGEFISH

TRACK LISTING

01. Epistle (07:10)
02. All Open Eyes (15:57)
03. The Face Of Life (19:35)
04. Last Words (04:04)
05. Lost Words (02:55)


LINEUP

Mark Tupko: Basse
Michael Murray: Batterie
Mike Visaggio: Chant / Claviers
Peter Matuchniak: Guitares
Saint John Coleman: Chant


TAGS:
70's, Old School
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS KINETIC ELEMENT
 
RATING
 
3.5/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS KINETIC ELEMENT
 
KINETIC-ELEMENT_the-face-of-life The Face Of Life (2019)
MELODIC REVOLUTION RECORDS / PROGRESSIVE ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

KINETIC ELEMENT

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
THE FACE OF LIFE (2019)
LABEL:
MELODIC REVOLUTION RECORDS
GENRE:
ROCK PROGRESSIF

""The Face of Life" est un album à découvrir et qui nécessitera quelques écoutes pour intégrer tous ses éléments qui, une fois assemblés, procureront de bons moments musicaux à l'auditeur attentif."
TONYB - 10.07.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
3/5
Depuis une bonne décennie, Kinetic Element, groupe américain mené par Mike Visaggio, nous entraîne aux racines du rock progressif, celui des 70's, tout en l'habillant d'une certaine modernité. Après deux albums pleins à craquer de musique, le chanteur/claviériste nous propose une troisième offrande plus ramassée, concentrée autour de deux plages épiques, dont la durée se trouve en phase avec le nouveau standard imposé par la renaissance du vinyle.

'Epistle' entame cette nouvelle galette sur des bases rythmées, avec d'entrée une basse qui se positionne comme un des éléments fondateurs du son du groupe, jouant souvent dans les aigus. Ce premier titre quelque peu musclé pourra rappeler Deep Purple, d'autant qu'une (courte) ligne mélodique semble tout droit pompée sur "Smoke on the Water". Dans les passages plus calmes, un délicieux assemblage de lignes mélodiques qui se superposent vient rafraîchir les oreilles, permettant surtout de passer outre un chant qui, loin d'être désagréable, se révèle très quelconque.

Et après cette mise en jambes efficace, les deux pavés que sont 'All Open Eyes' et 'The Face of Life' vont quant à eux distiller tout ce que l'amateur de rock Progressif (avec un grand P) est en droit d'attendre. Des influences yessiennes évidentes personnifiées entre autres par des harmonies vocales et le jeu de basse de Mark Tupko, quand le thème principal du premier nommé évoque quant à lui Genesis, agrémentées de fréquentes ruptures rythmiques, de nombreuses séquences purement instrumentales et un mélange de sonorités vintage et modernes du meilleur effet.
Et pour ceux qui s'étonneraient de tant de classicisme, Kinetic Element introduit également quelques sonorités dissonantes ainsi que des parties techniques où les instrumentistes rivalisent de dextérité. L'ensemble est séduisant, conciliant les différents courants du rock progressif des années 70's avec un rendu moderniste, tout en restant accessible.

Hélas, quelques longueurs viennent entacher ce bilan jusqu'alors flatteur. Tout d'abord, les deux plages épiques peinent à convaincre en totalité : final pompeux qui traîne en longueur pour 'All Open Eyes', démarrage poussif de 'The Face of Life'. De même, on regrettera une trop grande profusion de thèmes, qui ne permet pas de développer certains d'entre eux plus en profondeur, donnant parfois l'impression de sauter du coq à l'âne. A l'inverse, les deux derniers morceaux, très similaires, se révèlent anecdotiques. Et enfin, on regrettera une production très moyenne qui ne rend pas vraiment hommage aux compositions intelligemment troussées, pleines de variété tant dans les thèmes délivrés par des mélodies facilement accessibles que dans leur rendu.

Malgré ces quelques points négatifs, "The Face of Life" reste un album à découvrir et qui nécessitera quelques écoutes pour intégrer tous ses éléments qui, une fois assemblés, procureront de bons moments musicaux à l'auditeur attentif.

Plus d'information sur http://kineticelement.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
DELUGE GRANDER, YES, GENTLE GIANT, SPOCK'S BEARD, ELP, STRANGEFISH

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Epistle (07:10)
02. All Open Eyes (15:57)
03. The Face Of Life (19:35)
04. Last Words (04:04)
05. Lost Words (02:55)


FORMATION:
Mark Tupko: Basse
Michael Murray: Batterie
Mike Visaggio: Chant / Claviers
Peter Matuchniak: Guitares
Saint John Coleman: Chant


TAGS:
70's, Old School
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC KINETIC ELEMENT
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
KINETIC ELEMENT: The Face Of Life
Toutes les actualités sur KINETIC ELEMENT
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 3.5/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
IMPERIA: Flames Of Eternity (2019)
METAL GOTHIQUE "Flames Of Eternity" ne marquera guère les esprits, ne s'adressant qu'aux fans d'Imperia et de ce gothic metal d'un autre âge.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
TYLER BRYANT & THE SHAKEDOWN: Truth & Lies (2019)
ROCK Tyler n'est plus un ersatz d'Aerosmith, il s'en inspire pour mieux affirmer sa personnalité.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT KINETIC ELEMENT
KINETIC-ELEMENT_Travelog
Travelog (2015)
3/5
-/5
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK PROGRESSIF
KINETIC-ELEMENT_Powered-By-Light
Powered By Light (2009)
3/5
4/5
AUTOPRODUCTION / ROCK PROGRESSIF
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020