MW / Home / Reviews / ROYAL TUSK: Tusk Ii
BAND/AUTHOR:

ROYAL TUSK

(CANADA)

TITLE:
TUSK II
RELEASE DATE:
2018
LABEL:
EONE MUSIC
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"While the relationship with the Foo Fighters or Biffy Clyro is dominant, it does not prevent the band from offering a pleasant hard rock made of sound power, a strong vocal presence and communicative energy."
PROGRACER - 05.11.2019 -
A phenomenon of Canadian hard rock, Royal Tusk is back in the spotlight with a second album that fans of the first (not many in France) were hoping for. Soberly entitled "Tusk II", this second effort is produced by Eric Ratz (Danko Jones, Billy Talent, ...). 

From the very first tracks, the listener is on familiar ground. The hairy riffs and the energy of the quartet are there. "Aftermath" with its effective chorus of subtle variations reminds us of Biffy Clyro for the raw energy he gives off. The same applies to 'Stowaway', whose chorus is similar to that of 'Aftermath' and is also well tied up. On these titles, it will be possible to hear similarities with Dave Grolh's voice (Foo Fighters), especially on the most aggressive vocal parts. 

Several tracks with a slower tempo may sound more FM or sound more like Nickelback, making the whole thing particularly accessible like 'Die Knowing','Freedom' and 'Under', even if the most hardcore of you will regret the power of more hackneyed tracks like 'Long Shot' or the energetic 'Under', but small breaths in this flood of riffs and well balanced tempos are welcomed. 

The bass takes a more important place on the triptych "Reflection", "Under" and "Northern Town" giving a well marked rock atmosphere while the riffs are less powerful and that the whole, while remaining groovy, is nevertheless very accessible. Finally, a word about 'First Time' which opens the album with a huge riff and an unstoppable chorus in a vein close to Alter Bridge and Audioslave. 

Resolutely placed under the sign of rock, "Tusk II' pulls towards the alternative side of the genre with a simple and energetic writing. While the relationship with the Foo Fighters or Biffy Clyro is dominant, it does not prevent the Edmonton natives from offering a pleasant hard rock made of sound power, a strong vocal presence and communicative energy. Without revolutionizing the genre, especially by a lack of originality that is ultimately not prohibitive, Royal Tusk offers an album that can be listened to with pleasure.

More informations on http://www.royaltusk.com

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

NICKELBACK, BIFFY CLYRO, FOO FIGHTERS

TRACK LISTING

01. First Time - 3:47
02. Aftermath - 3:28
03. Die Knowing - 3:52
04. Stowaway - 3:31
05. Freedom - 3:34
06. Reflection - 3:36
07. Control - 3:23
08. Under - 3:09
09. Northern Town - 3:21
10. Long Shot - 4:08


LINEUP

Calen Stuckel: Batterie
Daniel Carriere: Chant / Guitares
Quinn Cyrankiewicz: Guitares
Sandy Mackinnon: Basse


TAGS:
Rasping voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS ROYAL TUSK
 
RATING
 
2/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS ROYAL TUSK
 
ROYAL-TUSK_Tusk-Ii Tusk Ii (2018)
EONE MUSIC / HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

ROYAL TUSK

(CANADA)

TITRE:
TUSK II (2018)
LABEL:
EONE MUSIC
GENRE:
HARD ROCK

"Ce "Tusk II" propose un hard rock plaisant fait de puissance sonore, d'une grosse présence vocale et d'une énergie communicative à la Foo Fighters."
PROGRACER - 05.11.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
3/5
Phénomène du hard rock canadien, Royal Tusk revient sur le devant de la scène avec un deuxième album que les fans du premier (pas bien nombreux en France) appelaient de leurs vœux. Sobrement intitulé "Tusk II", ce second effort est produit par Eric Ratz (Danko Jones, Billy Talent, ...).

Dès les premiers titres l'auditeur est en terrain connu. Les riffs velus et l'énergie du quatuor sont au rendez-vous. 'Aftermath' avec son refrain efficace aux variations subtiles fait penser à Biffy Clyro pour l'énergie brute qu'il dégage. Même remarque pour 'Stowaway' dont le refrain proche de celui de 'Aftermath' est lui aussi bien ficelé. Sur ces titres, il sera possible d'entendre des similitudes avec la voix de Dave Grolh (Foo Fighters), particulièrement sur les parties de chant les plus agressives.

Plusieurs titres au tempo moins rapide pourront sonner plus FM ou faire penser à Nickelback, rendant l'ensemble particulièrement accessible comme 'Die Knowing', 'Freedom' et 'Under', même si les plus hardos d'entre vous regretteront la puissance des titres plus rentre-dedans comme 'Long Shot' ou l'énergique 'Under', mais de petites respirations dans ce déferlement de riffs et de tempos bien balancés seront les bienvenues.

La basse prend une place plus importante sur le triptyque 'Reflection', 'Under' et 'Northern Town' donnant une ambiance rock bien marquée alors que les riffs se font moins puissants et que l'ensemble, tout en restant groovy, est tout de même très accessible. Un mot enfin sur 'First Time' qui ouvre l'album avec un riff sévèrement burné et un refrain imparable dans une veine proche de Alter Bridge pour la pêche ou de Audioslave pour la mélodie.

Résolument placé sous le signe du rock, "Tusk II' tire vers le côté alternatif du genre avec une écriture simple et énergique. Si la parenté avec les Foo Fighters ou Biffy Clyro est dominante, elle n'empêche pas les natifs d'Edmonton de proposer un hard rock plaisant fait de puissance sonore, d'une grosse présence vocale et d'une énergie communicative. Sans révolutionner le genre, surtout par un manque d'originalité finalement pas rédhibitoire, Royal Tusk propose un album qui s'écoute avec plaisir et qui ne restera jamais bien loin du lecteur pour se le remettre sous peu entre les oreilles.

Plus d'information sur http://www.royaltusk.com



GROUPES PROCHES:
NICKELBACK, FOO FIGHTERS, BIFFY CLYRO

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. First Time - 3:47
02. Aftermath - 3:28
03. Die Knowing - 3:52
04. Stowaway - 3:31
05. Freedom - 3:34
06. Reflection - 3:36
07. Control - 3:23
08. Under - 3:09
09. Northern Town - 3:21
10. Long Shot - 4:08


FORMATION:
Calen Stuckel: Batterie
Daniel Carriere: Chant / Guitares
Quinn Cyrankiewicz: Guitares
Sandy Mackinnon: Basse


TAGS:
Chant éraillé
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC ROYAL TUSK
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 2/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
JINJER: Macro (2019)
METAL PROGRESSIF Entre djent et pop, Jinjer propose avec "Macro" un cocktail détonnant porté par une chanteuse qui varie les registres avec aisance.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
FOREST FIELD: Seasons (2019)
ROCK PROGRESSIF Si la qualité des compositions est réelle, Forest Field mettrait davantage en valeur ses compositions avec une production supérieure à l’avenir.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT ROYAL TUSK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020