MW / Home / Reviews / UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY: Planetary Overload : Loss To Lost
BAND/AUTHOR:

UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY

(AUSTRALIA)

TITLE:
PLANETARY OVERLOAD : LOSS TO LOST
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
GIANT ELECTRIC PEA
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE ROCK
"Collant avec grande précision à l'univers d'Unitopia, UPF livre un album d'un bel éclectisme, sans toutefois atteindre la dimension mythique de son modèle."
ABADDON - 24.06.2019 -
The splits of the mythical bands always raise the same questions among the fans: will the spirit of the disappeared band reappear in the new contributions of the separate members, and above all, who was the soul holder of the band? The Beatles, was it Lennon or McCartney? Pink Floyd, Waters or Gilmour? Was Gabriel essential to Genesis' alchemy? Will Supertramp survive Roger Hodgson's departure? Unitopia is no exception to the rule: the Australian band has left its mark on the progressive with world and symphonic resonances in just three original albums and its separation has had the effect of a thunderbolt.

Since then, two entities have emerged, the Southern Empire of keyboardist Sean Timms and the United Progressive Fraternity project led by singer Mark Trueack, which brought with it almost all of the Unity band. In mid-2019, UPF releases its third album, "Planetary Overload: Loss to Lost", which, as the subtitle suggests, is based on a strong ecological message.

The tone of the album remains quite in line with the previous opuses, Mark Trueak and his formation sticking quite closely to the Unitopia form, with an inflection linked to the arrival of the violinist Steve Unruh (Resistor, Samurai of Prog), whose contribution is prevalent on many tracks, looking towards the Kansas style ('Mercenaries') ! In the middle of a plethoric line-up (47 participants!) is Steve Hackett (the acoustic solos of "Seeds for Life") and his keyboardist Nick Magnus. The world sensitivity is once again very present, from the sound of sitar in 'Loss Anthem' or 'Loss to Lost', to the use of oud and bouzouki; this rich orchestration is completed by numerous orchestral passages and the ensemble, associated with a production that is both deep and precise, brings a very appreciable dimension.

The least we can say is that the album is wide ranging from the intimate ballad (the beginning of 'Cruel Times' or 'What if' and 'One More', both nice), to the tribal track highlighted by ethnic percussion ('What Are We Doing to Ourselves', funny but minor), to the atmospheric piece (the second part of 'Forgive Me, My Son', which unfortunately hardly takes off), passing through rather jazzy segments without forgetting straightforward symphonic parts ('Cruel Times'). This eclecticism is pleasing to hear but gives a somewhat disjointed impression, like a "Mercenaries" where we seek musical coherence despite skillfully linked parts, like the epic "Seeds For Life", a beautiful 19-minute roller coaster patchwork, with its extraordinary opening part (after an unnecessary 2:20 intro that looks like Albedo 0.39 by Vangelis!) which gives the best passage of the album: we find here the breath of Unitopia's compositions, the alliance of inventive percussions, the symphonic dimension and the little guitar touch more tense in the background: grandiose! "Stop Time" is the most delightful track on the album, full of arrangement details and with a very fun rhythm. The instrumental part is a slow atmospheric ascent very well conducted, rather scary, delivering an perfect end.

In the "war of succession" against Sean Timms, Mark Trueack is always one step ahead: he releases his albums before his accomplice's, and naturally has with his voice an extremely powerful marker for Unitopia fans. With his very particular timbre, his ease in moving from a soft register to a vindictive expression and an incredibly precise diction, he obviously has an exceptional instrument. Moreover, UPF's instrumental orientation carefully seeks to reproduce the unitopian colors (unlike Sean Timms, who has taken a more rock band orientation with Southern Empire): "Mercenaries" refers directly to the "When I'm Down" of "The Garden" and his guitar solo strongly recalls that of "Angelica" of the same album, the symphonic and jazzy piano parts are one of Sean Timms' trademarks, there are references to "Slow Down" in "Cruel Times", etc. The boundaries are blurred all the more since in an interview just before the split, Sean and Mark said optimistically that they had material for several upcoming Unitopia albums, material that we find in the productions of both bands.

But it doesn't matter who is the best at the succession's little game: with this third album, UPF gives us once again a beautiful gift that will satisfy fans of an eclectic progressive, without reaching the alchemy of Unitopia. As if that were not enough, what makes large bands successful is this unique complicity that creates osmosis.

More informations on http://unitedprogressivefraternity.com/site

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

KANSAS, UNITOPIA, DAMANEK

TRACK LISTING

01. Phase I: Dawning On Us - Loss (Anthem)
02. Phase I: Dawning On Us - What Happens Now
03. Phase I: Dawning On Us - Cruel Times
04. Phase I: Dawning On Us - What Are We Doing To Ourselves
05. Phase II: Destraction And Destruction - Stop-Time
06. Phase II: Destraction And Destruction - One More
07. Phase II: Destraction And Destruction - Mercinaries
08. Phase II: Destraction And Destruction - What If
09. Phase II: Destraction And Destruction - Forgive Me, My Son
10. Phase III: Growing - Dying To Be Reborn
11. Phase III: Growing - Seeds For Life
12. Phase III: Growing - Loss To Lost


LINEUP

Christophe Lebled: Claviers
Cornel Wilczek: Guitares / Claviers
Daniel Mash: Basse
Joe Toscano: Batterie / Choeurs
Marek Arnold: Saxophone
Mark Franco: Basse / Choeurs
Mark Trueack: Chant
Matthew Atherton: Guitares / Claviers / Choeurs
Steve Unruh: Chant / Guitares / Violon / Flûte
Alanna Mitchell: Invité / Narration (6)
Angelo Racz: Invité / Claviers (3)
Angus Keay: Guitares / Invité
Brendon Darby: Invité / Trompette
Charlie Cawood: Invité / Oud / Bouzouki / Dulcimer
Claire Vezina: Invité / Choeurs
Clive Hodson: Invité / Saxophone / Trombone / Trompette / Hautbois
Colin Edwin: Basse / Invité
David Hopgood: Invité / Batterie (7)
David Suzuki: Invité / Narration (7)
Dr. Cary Fowler: Invité / Introduction (11)
Dr. James E. Hansen: Invité / Narration (1,2)
Dr. Jane Goodall: Invité / Narration (1,10)
Ettore Salati: Invité / Guitare (3)
George Perdikis: Guitares / Invité
Ghost Girls: Invité / Voix Fantomatiques (9)
Grace Bawden: Chant / Invité / Choeurs
Guillermo Cides: Invité / Chapman Stick
Hans Jorg Schmitz: Batterie / Invité
Hasse Fröberg: Chant / Invité
James Lovelock: Invité / Narration (8)
Jerry Marotta: Batterie / Invité
Jesus Gancedo Garcia: Batterie / Invité
Jon Davison: Invité / Choeurs
Lisa Wetton: Batterie / Invité / Choeurs
Little Brodie Byrne: Invité / Voix (9)
Marc Papeghin: Invité / Cor
Mark Maslin: Invité / Narration (1,7)
Matt Williams: Guitares / Invité
Michel St-père: Guitares / Invité
Michelle Young: Chant / Invité
Nick Magnus: Claviers / Invité
Phill Sokha: Batterie / Invité
Raf Azaria: Guitares / Basse / Invité / Piano / Violon / Mandoline / Accordéon
Satish Kumar: Invité / Narration (1)
Sir David Attenborough: Invité / Narration (1,5)
Steve Hackett: Invité / Guitare Acoustique
Valentin Halembakov: Guitares / Invité


TAGS:
Symphonic, Tribal, Concept-album
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY
LAST NEWS
UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY: Planetary Overload : Loss
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY
 
RATING
 
4/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY
 
UNITED-PROGRESSIVE-FRATERNITY_Planetary-Overload-Loss-to-Lost Planetary Overload : Loss To Lost (2019)
GIANT ELECTRIC PEA / PROGRESSIVE ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY

(AUSTRALIE)

TITRE:
PLANETARY OVERLOAD : LOSS TO LOST (2019)
LABEL:
GIANT ELECTRIC PEA
GENRE:
ROCK PROGRESSIF

"Collant avec grande précision à l'univers d'Unitopia, UPF livre un album d'un bel éclectisme, sans toutefois atteindre la dimension mythique de son modèle."
ABADDON - 24.06.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
4/5
Les splits des groupes mythiques entraînent toujours les mêmes questions chez les fans : l’esprit du groupe disparu va-t-il réapparaître dans les nouvelles contributions des membres séparés, et surtout, qui était détenteur de l’âme du groupe ? Les Beatles, est-ce que c’était Lennon ou McCartney ? Pink Floyd, Waters ou Gilmour ? Gabriel était-il indispensable à l’alchimie de Genesis ? Supertramp survivra-t-il au départ de Roger Hodgson ? Unitopia ne fait pas exception à la règle : le groupe australien a marqué de son empreinte le progressif à résonances world et symphonique en seulement trois albums originaux et sa séparation a fait l’effet d’un coup de tonnerre.

Depuis, deux entités ont vu le jour, le Southern Empire du claviériste Sean Timms et le projet United Progressive Fraternity mené par le chanteur Mark Trueack, qui a emmené avec lui la quasi-totalité de la formation unitopienne. En ce milieu d’année 2019, UPF fait paraître son deuxième album, "Planetary Overload : Loss to Lost", qui s’appuie comme le laisse penser le sous-titre sur un message écologique fort.

La tonalité de l’album reste assez dans la ligne des opus précédents, Mark Trueak et sa formation collant d’assez près à la forme d’Unitopia, avec une inflexion liée à l’arrivée du violoniste Steve Unruh (Resistor, Samurai of Prog), dont l’apport est prégnant sur de nombreuses pistes, allant jusqu’à tirer le style vers Kansas ('Mercenaries') ! Au milieu d’un line-up pléthorique (47 participants !) se remarque la présence de Steve Hackett (les soli acoustiques de 'Seeds for Life') et de son claviériste Nick Magnus. La sensibilité world est encore une fois très présente, du son de sitar dans 'Loss Anthem' ou 'Loss to Lost', à l’utilisation de l’oud et du bouzouki ; cette riche orchestration est complétée par de nombreux passages orchestraux et l’ensemble, associé à une production à la fois profonde et précise, apporte une dimension très appréciable.

Le moins que l’on puisse dire, c’est que l’album ratisse large, parcourant une multitude de styles, de la ballade intimiste (l’entame de 'Cruel Times' ou 'What if' et 'One More', tous deux gentillets), au morceau tribal souligné de percussions ethniques ('What Are We Doing to Ourselves', rigolo mais mineur), à la pièce atmosphérique (la seconde partie de 'Forgive Me , My Son', qui hélas peine à décoller), en passant par des segments plutôt jazzy sans oublier des parties carrément symphoniques ('Cruel Times'). Cet éclectisme fait plaisir à entendre mais donne une impression un peu décousue, à l’image d’un 'Mercenaries' où l’on cherche la cohérence musicale malgré des parties habilement liées, à l’image aussi de l’épique 'Seeds For Life', beau patchwork de 19 minutes en montagnes russes, avec son extraordinaire première partie (après une intro inutile de 2:20 ressemblant à l'Albedo 0.39 de Vangelis !) qui donne le meilleur passage de l’album : on retrouve ici le souffle des compositions d’Unitopia, l’alliance des percussions inventives, la dimension symphonique et la petite touche guitare plus tendue en arrière-plan : grandiose ! 'Stop Time' constitue le titre le plus réjouissant de l’album, fourmillant de détails d’arrangements et doté d’un rythme très fun. La partie instrumentale est une lente montée atmosphérique très bien menée, plutôt angoissante, livrant une fin au cordeau.

Dans la “guerre de succession” qui l’oppose à Sean Timms, Mark Trueack a toujours un coup d’avance : il fait paraître ses albums avant ceux de son compère, et naturellement possède avec sa voix un marqueur extrêmement puissant pour les fans d’Unitopia. Avec son timbre très particulier, son aisance à passer d’un registre doux à une expression vindicative et une diction d’une incroyable précision, il dispose évidemment d’un instrument exceptionnel. Par ailleurs, l’orientation instrumentale d’UPF cherche avec soin à reproduire les couleurs unitopiennes (contrairement à Sean Timms, qui a pris avec Southern Empire une orientation plus groupe rock) :  'Mercenaries' renvoie directement au 'When I’m Down' de "The Garden" et son solo de guitare rappelle très fortement celui d' 'Angelica' du même album, les parties symphoniques et piano jazzy sont une des marques de fabrique de Sean Timms, on trouve des clins d’œil à 'Slow Down' dans 'Cruel Times', etc. Les frontières sont d’autant plus brouillées que dans une interview datant de peu avant le split, Sean et Mark disaient avec optimisme avoir du matériel pour plusieurs albums d’Unitopia à venir, matériel que nous retrouvons dans les productions des deux formations.

Mais peu importe qui est le meilleur au petit jeu de la succession : avec ce deuxième album, UPF nous fait une fois encore un beau cadeau qui comblera les amateurs d’un progressif éclectique, sans toutefois atteindre l’alchimie d’Unitopia. Comme quoi, ce qui fait la réussite des grands groupes, c’est bien cette unique complicité qui crée l’osmose.

Plus d'information sur http://unitedprogressivefraternity.com/site



GROUPES PROCHES:
KANSAS, UNITOPIA, DAMANEK

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Phase I: Dawning On Us - Loss (Anthem)
02. Phase I: Dawning On Us - What Happens Now
03. Phase I: Dawning On Us - Cruel Times
04. Phase I: Dawning On Us - What Are We Doing To Ourselves
05. Phase II: Destraction And Destruction - Stop-Time
06. Phase II: Destraction And Destruction - One More
07. Phase II: Destraction And Destruction - Mercinaries
08. Phase II: Destraction And Destruction - What If
09. Phase II: Destraction And Destruction - Forgive Me, My Son
10. Phase III: Growing - Dying To Be Reborn
11. Phase III: Growing - Seeds For Life
12. Phase III: Growing - Loss To Lost


FORMATION:
Christophe Lebled: Claviers
Cornel Wilczek: Guitares / Claviers
Daniel Mash: Basse
Joe Toscano: Batterie / Choeurs
Marek Arnold: Saxophone
Mark Franco: Basse / Choeurs
Mark Trueack: Chant
Matthew Atherton: Guitares / Claviers / Choeurs
Steve Unruh: Chant / Guitares / Violon / Flûte
Alanna Mitchell: Invité / Narration (6)
Angelo Racz: Invité / Claviers (3)
Angus Keay: Guitares / Invité
Brendon Darby: Invité / Trompette
Charlie Cawood: Invité / Oud / Bouzouki / Dulcimer
Claire Vezina: Invité / Choeurs
Clive Hodson: Invité / Saxophone / Trombone / Trompette / Hautbois
Colin Edwin: Basse / Invité
David Hopgood: Invité / Batterie (7)
David Suzuki: Invité / Narration (7)
Dr. Cary Fowler: Invité / Introduction (11)
Dr. James E. Hansen: Invité / Narration (1,2)
Dr. Jane Goodall: Invité / Narration (1,10)
Ettore Salati: Invité / Guitare (3)
George Perdikis: Guitares / Invité
Ghost Girls: Invité / Voix Fantomatiques (9)
Grace Bawden: Chant / Invité / Choeurs
Guillermo Cides: Invité / Chapman Stick
Hans Jorg Schmitz: Batterie / Invité
Hasse Fröberg: Chant / Invité
James Lovelock: Invité / Narration (8)
Jerry Marotta: Batterie / Invité
Jesus Gancedo Garcia: Batterie / Invité
Jon Davison: Invité / Choeurs
Lisa Wetton: Batterie / Invité / Choeurs
Little Brodie Byrne: Invité / Voix (9)
Marc Papeghin: Invité / Cor
Mark Maslin: Invité / Narration (1,7)
Matt Williams: Guitares / Invité
Michel St-père: Guitares / Invité
Michelle Young: Chant / Invité
Nick Magnus: Claviers / Invité
Phill Sokha: Batterie / Invité
Raf Azaria: Guitares / Basse / Invité / Piano / Violon / Mandoline / Accordéon
Satish Kumar: Invité / Narration (1)
Sir David Attenborough: Invité / Narration (1,5)
Steve Hackett: Invité / Guitare Acoustique
Valentin Halembakov: Guitares / Invité


TAGS:
Symphonique, Tribal, Concept-album
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
Tout sur le nouvel album de UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY
Toutes les actualités sur UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY
NOTES
3.7/5 (3 avis) 4/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
FIRESPAWN: Abominate (2019)
DEATH METAL "Abominate" affiche une aisance métallique bluffante, mais sa hargne s'évanouit dans des compositions parfois trop prévisibles.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
MOLLY HATCHET: Kingdom Of Xii (2000)
HARD ROCK Les Floridiens réussissent à maintenir un excellent degré d’exigence, même s’ils donnent parfois l’impression de ronronner en réutilisant une méthode qui a fait ses preuves sans prendre le moindre risque.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY
UNITED-PROGRESSIVE-FRATERNITY_Fall-In-Love-With-The-World
Fall In Love With The World (2014)
4/5
4/5
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / ROCK PROGRESSIF
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020