MW / Home / Reviews / SOTO: Origami
BAND/AUTHOR:

SOTO

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
ORIGAMI
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL
"S.O.T.O.'s third album remains faithful to the group's original orientation: modern, groovy, powerful and melodic metal."
NUNO777 - 30.05.2019 -
If there is one singer who has the wind in his sails, it is Jeff Scott Soto. Driven by his participation in the super-group Sons Of Apollo, whose success owes him a lot, the American clearly showed the full extent of his talents and at the same time opened his audience beyond the strict melodic hard-rock. Thanks to this progressive experience, it is the home label of this group InsideOut that welcomes him for its third album under the name of S.O.T.O.

The guy is the hyperactive type and doesn't shake when it comes to going beyond his preferred style of melodic hard-rock/AOR/FM. And especially under the name S.O.T.O Jeff concentrates a modern metal writing that may have surprised aficionados during the founding act "Inside The Vertigo". This third album keeps these initial specifications which fixes a typology of doped tracks with modern sounds and powerful riffs with a strong melodic anchoring through very elaborate and powerful choruses. It starts with the groovy "HyperMania" crossed by energizing electronic devices and the asphyxiating "Origami" which pounds its hellish rhythm. The quintet is launched and will only take a break with the ballad "Torn", but before this candy he distributes the devastating tracks whose melodic peaks are called "World Gone Colder", "Detonate" or the mid-tempo "BeLie" with the interesting break.

In contrast to "DIVAK" "Origami", "DIVAK" relies on brighter tones and to increase this effect Jeff Scott Soto does not hesitate to vary the pleasures with some refreshing touches like "After Glow" which smells like funky big rock in the Extreme style. Jeff Scott Soto wanted to distinguish between S.O.T.O. and his other personal work to emphasize the collective aspect of this group. Indeed S.O.T.O is a convergence of talents at the service of music with the excellent guitarist Jorge Salan who illuminates each piece with his solos. But it is Jeff's performances that drive the album up. The giant brings density, groove and finesse with his deeply rock and soul iridescent voice. With each of his revisits, and this time it's the superb 'Give In To Me' by the king of pop, it's as if a new song emerges.

Jeff Scott Soto and his band offer us what we can expect from a S.O.T.O. album, without surprises or disappointment. While waiting for the release of the successor of "Psychotic Symphony" of Sons Of Apollon "Origami" allows to prolong the pleasure of hearing one of the most beautiful voices of today's heavy metal.

More informations on http://sototheband.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

THE POODLES, STONE SOUR, ADRENALINE MOB

TRACK LISTING

01. HyperMania - 04:05
02. Origami - 05:08
03. BeLie - 04:06
04. World Gone Colder - 03:42
05. Detonate - 04:46
06. Torn - 04:39
07. Dance With The Devil - 04:26
08. AfterGlow - 04:48
09. Vanity Lane - 04:02
10. Give In To Me - 4:39


LINEUP

BJ: Guitares / Claviers
David Z: Basse
Edu Cominato: Batterie
Jeff Scott Soto: Chant
Jorge Salan: Guitares
Tony Dickinson: Basse


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Groovy
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS SOTO
LAST NEWS
SOTO: details on "Origami"
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about SOTO
 
RATING
 
4/5 (3 view(s))
3/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS SOTO
 
SOTO_Origami Origami (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / HEAVY METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

SOTO

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
ORIGAMI (2019)
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL

"Le troisième album de S.O.T.O reste fidèle à l’orientation originelle du groupe : du metal moderne, groovy, puissant et mélodique."
NUNO777 - 30.05.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
4/5
S’il y a bien un chanteur qui a le vent en poupe c’est Jeff Scott Soto. Porté par sa participation dans le super-groupe Sons Of Apollo, dont la réussite lui doit beaucoup, l’Américain a montré clairement toute l’étendue de ses talents et du même coup a ouvert son auditoire au-delà du strict hard-rock mélodique. Fort de cette expérience progressive c’est le label d’attache de ce groupe (InsideOut) qui l’accueille pour son troisième disque sous le nom de S.O.T.O.

Le bonhomme est du genre hyperactif et ne tremble pas quand il s’agit de déborder de son style de prédilection qu’est le hard-rock mélodique/AOR/FM. Et notamment sous l’appellation S.O.T.O Jeff concentre une écriture metal moderne qui avait pu surprendre les aficionados lors de l’acte fondateur  "Inside The Vertigo". Ce troisième album conserve ce cahier des charges initial qui fixe une typologie de morceaux dopés aux sonorités modernes et aux riffs puissants avec un ancrage mélodique fort par l’intermédiaire de refrains très travaillés et percutants. Cela débute avec le groovy ‘HyperMania’ traversés d’artifices électroniques dynamisants et de l’asphyxiant ‘Origami’ qui martèle son rythme d’enfer. Le quintet est lancé et ne s’accordera une pause qu’avec la ballade ‘Torn’, mais avant cette sucrerie il distribue les titres dévastateurs dont les sommets mélodiques se nomment ‘World Gone Colder’, ‘Detonate’ ou le mid-tempo ‘BeLie’ à l’intéressante cassure.

A contrario de "DIVAK", "Origami" mise sur des tonalités plus lumineuses et pour augmenter cet effet Jeff Scott Soto n’hésite pas à varier les plaisirs avec quelques touches rafraîchissantes comme le cuivré ‘After Glow’ qui sent bon le big rock funky à la Extreme. Jeff Scott Soto a voulu marquer la distinction entre S.O.T.O et ses autres travaux personnels pour insister sur l’aspect collectif de ce groupe. Effectivement S.O.T.O est une convergence de talents au service de la musique avec notamment l’excellent guitariste Jorge Salan qui illumine chaque morceau de ses soli. Mais ce sont bien les prestations de Jeff qui tirent l’album vers le haut. Le géant apporte la densité, le groove et la finesse avec sa voix profondément rock et irisée de soul. A chacune de ses revisites, et cette fois-ci c’est le superbe ‘Give In To Me’ du roi de la pop, c’est comme si un nouveau morceau émergeait.

Jeff Scott Soto et son groupe nous offrent ce que l’on peut attendre d’un album de S.O.T.O, sans surprises ni déception. En attendant la sortie du successeur de "Psychotic Symphony" des Fils d’Apollon, "Origami" permet de prolonger le plaisir d’entendre une des plus belles voix du heavy metal actuel.

Plus d'information sur http://sototheband.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
ADRENALINE MOB, THE POODLES, STONE SOUR

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. HyperMania - 04:05
02. Origami - 05:08
03. BeLie - 04:06
04. World Gone Colder - 03:42
05. Detonate - 04:46
06. Torn - 04:39
07. Dance With The Devil - 04:26
08. AfterGlow - 04:48
09. Vanity Lane - 04:02
10. Give In To Me - 4:39


FORMATION:
BJ: Guitares / Claviers
David Z: Basse
Edu Cominato: Batterie
Jeff Scott Soto: Chant
Jorge Salan: Guitares
Tony Dickinson: Basse


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Groovy
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC SOTO
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
SOTO: Nouvelle vidéo
Toutes les actualités sur SOTO
NOTES
3/5 (1 avis) 4/5 (3 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
AQME: Requiem (2019)
METAL ALTERNATIF Pour son dernier acte, Aqme signe un disque mélancolique qui mixe avec force toutes ses qualités, entre puissance et mélodie à fleur de peau.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
DOUBLE UP SHOT: Double Up Shot (2019)
HARD ROCK En ne confondant pas l’absence de prise de tête avec le manque de sérieux, les Français se présentent comme de réels espoirs dans le domaine du sleaze.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT SOTO
SOTO_Divak
Divak (2016)
4/5
-/5
EAR MUSIC / HEAVY METAL
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020