BAND/AUTHOR:

SABATON

(SWEDEN)

TITLE:
THE GREAT WAR (2019)
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL

"More than in previous albums, this one oppresses and constitutes the soundtrack of war images from this past era."
CALGEPO - 19.07.2019 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
4/5
No one is supposed to ignore the fact that Sabaton has made his musical business the theme of the great conflicts that have plunged history into mourning. If sometimes this kind of approach is surrounded by criticism of the sincerity or seriousness of the project or to highlight its commercial aspect, there is no doubt that it does not affect the Swedes. Over the course of its discography, which required a lot of research to give it meaning, Sabaton has shown that its members are true history lovers and that the band participates, at its level, in the duty of memory necessary not to forget.

Looking back, 2018 marks the centenary of the end of the first world war, known as "The Great War". On November 11, 1918, at 5:15 a.m., the armistice was signed with the sad and terrifying observation in its wake that this conflict resulted in 18.6 million deaths and many more collateral victims. The symbolic date of November 11 (2018) coincides with the date on which Sabaton began writing his new album. If this is not the first time that the band has talked about the Great War, this time it is an entire disc dedicated to it, even promoting the project in Verdun itself, in the middle of the trenches, as close as possible to the battle sites, during a day gathering the band, journalists and historians.

Sabaton's strength is to have a very imaginative musical approach that testifies to the harshness and oppression of the fighting while giving it an epic side. Thus the listener takes to his face the grandiloquence and arrogance of the Red Baron ('The Red Baron') with his introduction to the Hammond organ espousing a composition by Bach but also the anguish of the trenches with the disturbing and theatrical singing of Joaquim ('A Ghost In The Trenchess'). Sabaton adds imposing choirs that enhance this epic relief, especially in the irresistible "Devil Dogs" with his solo that amplifies everything. The rhythmic bludgeoning accentuates this warlike immersion in the image of a shell storm falling from the sky, making the whole unbreathable.

If the listener remains on familiar ground, the Swedish combo knows how to maintain a constant progression from album to album in order to pursue the conquest of an artistic fullness. This involves small touches that we suspected in previous records and which appear much more marked or assumed here, notably by an ultra-developed symphonic side in 'The End Of The War To Ends All Wars' and especially in 'Great War', an anthology piece with a powerful and galvanizing hymn atmosphere, or by the very eighties glam rock atmosphere of '82 nd All The Way'. Finally, the band brings an extra touch of emotion with 'In Flanders Fields' performed a cappella by a choir after this deluge of notes, violence, riffs as sharp as the barbed wire of the battlefields. 

With "The Great War", Sabaton continues his work with sincerity and goes further in what he knows how to do. More than in previous albums, this one oppresses and constitutes the soundtrack of images from this past era, which come to us in the various documentaries.  We are looking forward to the next one....

More informations on http://www.sabaton.net/



SIMILAR BANDS:
FIREFORCE, CIVIL WAR, GRAVE DIGGER, RAGE, U.D.O., GAMMA RAY, W.A.S.P., HAMMERFALL

TRACK LISTING:
01. The Future Of Warfare
02. Seven Pillars Of Wisdom
03. 82nd All The Way
04. The Attack Of The Dead Men
05. Devil Dogs
06. The Red Baron
07. Great War
08. A Ghost In The Trenches
09. Fields Of Verdun
10. The End Of The War To End All Wars
11. In Flanders Fields


LINEUP:
Chris Rörland: Guitares
Hannes Van Dahl: Batterie
Joakim Brodén: Chant / Claviers
Pär Sundström: Basse
Tommy Johansson: Guitares


TAGS:
90's, Epic, Movie music, Symphonic, Theatrical
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH SABATON
LAST NEWS
SABATON: New video
All news about SABATON
LAST INTERVIEW
Music Waves met Joakim, Sabaton's emblematic singer, for the release of his new album dedicated to the First World War.

RATING
4/5 (1 view(s)) 4/5 (4 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
ELUVEITIE: Ategnatos (2019)
PAGAN/VIKING METAL Eluveitie signs a varied and very good folk metal record.
 
NEXT REVIEW
IAMTHEMORNING: The Bell (2019)
ATMOSPHERIC ROCK A blend of subtle pop and classic with heavenly and progressive tones, "The Bell" reveals an ocean of gentleness.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT SABATON
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

ARTISTE:

SABATON

(SUÈDE)
TITRE:

THE GREAT WAR

(2019)
LABEL:

NUCLEAR BLAST

GENRE:

HEAVY METAL

TAGS:
90's, Epique, Musique de film, Symphonique, Théatral
"Avec "The Great War", Sabaton va plus loin dans ce qu'il sait faire et oppresse avec l’idée terrifiante que l'Histoire n'est que balbutiement et répétition tant la paix est un équilibre fragile."
CALGEPO (19.07.2019)  
4/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

Nul n'est censé ignorer que Sabaton a fait de son fonds de commerce musical le thème des grands conflits qui ont endeuillé l'histoire. Si parfois ce genre de démarche s'entoure de critiques sur la sincérité ou le sérieux du projet ou pour souligner son aspect mercantile, il ne fait aucun doute que cela ne touche pas les Suédois tant ceux ci mettent du cœur dans leur œuvre. Au fil de sa discographie qui a nécessité énormément de recherches pour lui donner du sens, Sabaton a démontré que ses membres sont des vrais passionnés d'Histoire et que le groupe participe, à son niveau, au devoir de mémoire nécessaire pour ne pas oublier.

Rétrospectivement, 2018 marque le centenaire de la fin du premier conflit mondial de l'ère moderne que l'on nomma "La Grande Guerre". Le 11 novembre 1918, 5h15, l'armistice est signé  avec dans son sillage le triste et terrifiant constat que ce conflit a fait 18,6 millions de morts et bien plus de victimes collatérales. La date symbolique du 11 novembre (2018) coïncide avec celle où Sabaton commence l'écriture de son nouvel album qui aura pour thématique la première guerre mondiale. Si ce n'est pas la première fois que le groupe aborde la grande guerre, cette fois, c'est un disque entier qui lui est consacré, allant jusqu'à même promouvoir le projet à Verdun même, au milieu des tranchées, au plus près des lieux de la bataille, au cours d'une journée réunissant le groupe, les journalistes et historiens.

La force de Sabaton est d'avoir une approche musicale très imagée qui témoigne de l'âpreté, de l'oppression des combats tout en lui insufflant un côté épique. Ainsi l'auditeur se prend à la figure la grandiloquence et l'arrogance du Baron Rouge ('The Red Baron') avec son introduction à l'orgue Hammond épousant une composition de Bach mais aussi l'angoisse des tranchées avec le chant inquiétant et théâtral de Joaquim ('A Ghost In The Trenchess'). Sabaton ajoute des chœurs imposants qui augmentent ce relief épique notamment dans l'irrésistible 'Devil Dogs' avec son solo qui amplifie le tout. Le matraquage rythmique accentue cette immersion guerrière à l'image d'un orage d'obus tombant du ciel, rendant le tout irrespirable.

Si l'auditeur reste en terrain connu, le combo suédois sait entretenir une progression constante d'album en album pour poursuivre la conquête d'une plénitude artistique. Cela passe par des petites touches que l'on soupçonnait dans les précédents disques et qui apparaissent ici beaucoup plus marquées ou assumées, notamment par un côté symphonique ultra développé dans 'The End Of The War To Ends All Wars' et surtout dans 'Great War', morceau d'anthologie à l'atmosphère d'hymne puissant et galvanisant, ou par l'ambiance très eighties glam rock de '82 nd All The Way '. Le groupe enfin apporte une pointe d'émotion supplémentaire avec 'In Flanders Fields' interprété a cappella par une chorale qui prend aux tripes après ce déluges de notes, de violences, de riffs aussi tranchants que les barbelés des champs de bataille.

Avec "The Great War", Sabaton poursuit son œuvre avec sincérité et continue sa progression en allant plus loin dans ce qu'il sait faire. Plus que dans les précédents albums, celui-ci oppresse, il constitue la bande sonore des images de cette époque passée, qui nous parviennent dans les différents documentaires avec cette idée encore plus terrifiante que l'Histoire n'est que balbutiement et répétition tant la paix est un équilibre fragile.


Plus d'information sur http://www.sabaton.net/



GROUPES PROCHES:
RAGE, CIVIL WAR, FIREFORCE, HAMMERFALL, U.D.O., W.A.S.P., GRAVE DIGGER, GAMMA RAY

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. The Future Of Warfare
02. Seven Pillars Of Wisdom
03. 82nd All The Way
04. The Attack Of The Dead Men
05. Devil Dogs
06. The Red Baron
07. Great War
08. A Ghost In The Trenches
09. Fields Of Verdun
10. The End Of The War To End All Wars
11. In Flanders Fields

FORMATION:
Chris Rörland: Guitares
Hannes Van Dahl: Batterie
Joakim Brodén: Chant / Claviers
Pär Sundström: Basse
Tommy Johansson: Guitares
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
4/5 (1 avis)
STAFF:
4/5 (4 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
SABATON : Nouvelle vidéo
DERNIER ARTICLE
SABATON - ZENITH DE PARIS - 7 FEVRIER 2020
Tout feu, tout flamme !
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
SABATON (15 MAI 2019)
Music Waves est parti à la rencontre de Joakim, chanteur emblématique de Sabaton, à l'occasion de la sortie du nouvel album consacré à la première guerre mondiale.
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
ELUVEITIE: Ategnatos (2019)
PAGAN/VIKING METAL - Eluveitie signe un disque varié taillé dans le meilleur d'un folk metal qu'il maîtrise parfaitement.
IAMTHEMORNING: The Bell (2019)
ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE - Mélange de pop subtile et de classique teinté d'heavenly et de progressif, "The Bell" révèle un océan de délicatesse.
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT SABATON
SABATON_The-Last-Stand
The Last Stand (2016)
4/5
4/5
NUCLEAR BLAST / HEAVY METAL
SABATON_Heroes
Heroes (2014)
5/5
4.5/5
NUCLEAR BLAST / HEAVY METAL
SABATON_Carolus-Rex
Carolus Rex (2012)
4/5
5/5
NUCLEAR BLAST / HEAVY METAL
SABATON_Coat-Of-Arms
Coat Of Arms (2010)
4/5
-/5
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL MELODIQUE
SABATON_The-Art-Of-War
The Art Of War (2008)
2/5
3.5/5
BLACK LODGE / METAL MELODIQUE
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020