MW / Home / Reviews / SABATON: The Great War
BAND/AUTHOR:

SABATON

(SWEDEN)

TITLE:
THE GREAT WAR
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL
"More than in previous albums, this one oppresses and constitutes the soundtrack of war images from this past era."
CALGEPO - 19.07.2019 -
No one is supposed to ignore the fact that Sabaton has made his musical business the theme of the great conflicts that have plunged history into mourning. If sometimes this kind of approach is surrounded by criticism of the sincerity or seriousness of the project or to highlight its commercial aspect, there is no doubt that it does not affect the Swedes. Over the course of its discography, which required a lot of research to give it meaning, Sabaton has shown that its members are true history lovers and that the band participates, at its level, in the duty of memory necessary not to forget.

Looking back, 2018 marks the centenary of the end of the first world war, known as "The Great War". On November 11, 1918, at 5:15 a.m., the armistice was signed with the sad and terrifying observation in its wake that this conflict resulted in 18.6 million deaths and many more collateral victims. The symbolic date of November 11 (2018) coincides with the date on which Sabaton began writing his new album. If this is not the first time that the band has talked about the Great War, this time it is an entire disc dedicated to it, even promoting the project in Verdun itself, in the middle of the trenches, as close as possible to the battle sites, during a day gathering the band, journalists and historians.

Sabaton's strength is to have a very imaginative musical approach that testifies to the harshness and oppression of the fighting while giving it an epic side. Thus the listener takes to his face the grandiloquence and arrogance of the Red Baron ('The Red Baron') with his introduction to the Hammond organ espousing a composition by Bach but also the anguish of the trenches with the disturbing and theatrical singing of Joaquim ('A Ghost In The Trenchess'). Sabaton adds imposing choirs that enhance this epic relief, especially in the irresistible "Devil Dogs" with his solo that amplifies everything. The rhythmic bludgeoning accentuates this warlike immersion in the image of a shell storm falling from the sky, making the whole unbreathable.

If the listener remains on familiar ground, the Swedish combo knows how to maintain a constant progression from album to album in order to pursue the conquest of an artistic fullness. This involves small touches that we suspected in previous records and which appear much more marked or assumed here, notably by an ultra-developed symphonic side in 'The End Of The War To Ends All Wars' and especially in 'Great War', an anthology piece with a powerful and galvanizing hymn atmosphere, or by the very eighties glam rock atmosphere of '82 nd All The Way'. Finally, the band brings an extra touch of emotion with 'In Flanders Fields' performed a cappella by a choir after this deluge of notes, violence, riffs as sharp as the barbed wire of the battlefields. 

With "The Great War", Sabaton continues his work with sincerity and goes further in what he knows how to do. More than in previous albums, this one oppresses and constitutes the soundtrack of images from this past era, which come to us in the various documentaries.  We are looking forward to the next one....

More informations on http://www.sabaton.net/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

W.A.S.P., U.D.O., GAMMA RAY, GRAVE DIGGER, RAGE, HAMMERFALL, FIREFORCE, CIVIL WAR

TRACK LISTING

01. The Future Of Warfare
02. Seven Pillars Of Wisdom
03. 82nd All The Way
04. The Attack Of The Dead Men
05. Devil Dogs
06. The Red Baron
07. Great War
08. A Ghost In The Trenches
09. Fields Of Verdun
10. The End Of The War To End All Wars
11. In Flanders Fields


LINEUP

Chris Rörland: Guitares
Hannes Van Dahl: Batterie
Joakim Brodén: Chant / Claviers
Pär Sundström: Basse
Tommy Johansson: Guitares


TAGS:
90's, Epic, Movie music, Symphonic, Theatrical
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS SABATON
LAST NEWS
SABATON : Nouvelle lyric video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about SABATON
 
LAST ARTICLE
Music Waves met Joakim, Sabaton's emblematic singer, for the release of his new album dedicated to the First World War.

Read the article
View all articles about SABATON
 
RATING
 
4/5 (4 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS SABATON
 
SABATON_The-Great-War The Great War (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / HEAVY METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / SABATON: The Great War
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

SABATON

(SUÈDE)

TITRE:
THE GREAT WAR
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL
"Avec "The Great War", Sabaton va plus loin dans ce qu'il sait faire et oppresse avec l’idée terrifiante que l'Histoire n'est que balbutiement et répétition tant la paix est un équilibre fragile."
CALGEPO - 19.07.2019 -
Nul n'est censé ignorer que Sabaton a fait de son fonds de commerce musical le thème des grands conflits qui ont endeuillé l'histoire. Si parfois ce genre de démarche s'entoure de critiques sur la sincérité ou le sérieux du projet ou pour souligner son aspect mercantile, il ne fait aucun doute que cela ne touche pas les Suédois tant ceux ci mettent du cœur dans leur œuvre. Au fil de sa discographie qui a nécessité énormément de recherches pour lui donner du sens, Sabaton a démontré que ses membres sont des vrais passionnés d'Histoire et que le groupe participe, à son niveau, au devoir de mémoire nécessaire pour ne pas oublier.

Rétrospectivement, 2018 marque le centenaire de la fin du premier conflit mondial de l'ère moderne que l'on nomma "La Grande Guerre". Le 11 novembre 1918, 5h15, l'armistice est signé  avec dans son sillage le triste et terrifiant constat que ce conflit a fait 18,6 millions de morts et bien plus de victimes collatérales. La date symbolique du 11 novembre (2018) coïncide avec celle où Sabaton commence l'écriture de son nouvel album qui aura pour thématique la première guerre mondiale. Si ce n'est pas la première fois que le groupe aborde la grande guerre, cette fois, c'est un disque entier qui lui est consacré, allant jusqu'à même promouvoir le projet à Verdun même, au milieu des tranchées, au plus près des lieux de la bataille, au cours d'une journée réunissant le groupe, les journalistes et historiens.

La force de Sabaton est d'avoir une approche musicale très imagée qui témoigne de l'âpreté, de l'oppression des combats tout en lui insufflant un côté épique. Ainsi l'auditeur se prend à la figure la grandiloquence et l'arrogance du Baron Rouge ('The Red Baron') avec son introduction à l'orgue Hammond épousant une composition de Bach mais aussi l'angoisse des tranchées avec le chant inquiétant et théâtral de Joaquim ('A Ghost In The Trenchess'). Sabaton ajoute des chœurs imposants qui augmentent ce relief épique notamment dans l'irrésistible 'Devil Dogs' avec son solo qui amplifie le tout. Le matraquage rythmique accentue cette immersion guerrière à l'image d'un orage d'obus tombant du ciel, rendant le tout irrespirable.

Si l'auditeur reste en terrain connu, le combo suédois sait entretenir une progression constante d'album en album pour poursuivre la conquête d'une plénitude artistique. Cela passe par des petites touches que l'on soupçonnait dans les précédents disques et qui apparaissent ici beaucoup plus marquées ou assumées, notamment par un côté symphonique ultra développé dans 'The End Of The War To Ends All Wars' et surtout dans 'Great War', morceau d'anthologie à l'atmosphère d'hymne puissant et galvanisant, ou par l'ambiance très eighties glam rock de '82 nd All The Way '. Le groupe enfin apporte une pointe d'émotion supplémentaire avec 'In Flanders Fields' interprété a cappella par une chorale qui prend aux tripes après ce déluges de notes, de violences, de riffs aussi tranchants que les barbelés des champs de bataille.

Avec "The Great War", Sabaton poursuit son œuvre avec sincérité et continue sa progression en allant plus loin dans ce qu'il sait faire. Plus que dans les précédents albums, celui-ci oppresse, il constitue la bande sonore des images de cette époque passée, qui nous parviennent dans les différents documentaires avec cette idée encore plus terrifiante que l'Histoire n'est que balbutiement et répétition tant la paix est un équilibre fragile.

Plus d'information sur http://www.sabaton.net/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
W.A.S.P., U.D.O., GAMMA RAY, GRAVE DIGGER, RAGE, HAMMERFALL, FIREFORCE, CIVIL WAR

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. The Future Of Warfare
02. Seven Pillars Of Wisdom
03. 82nd All The Way
04. The Attack Of The Dead Men
05. Devil Dogs
06. The Red Baron
07. Great War
08. A Ghost In The Trenches
09. Fields Of Verdun
10. The End Of The War To End All Wars
11. In Flanders Fields


FORMATION:
Chris Rörland: Guitares
Hannes Van Dahl: Batterie
Joakim Brodén: Chant / Claviers
Pär Sundström: Basse
Tommy Johansson: Guitares


TAGS:
90's, Epique, Musique de film, Symphonique, Théatral
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC SABATON
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
SABATON : Nouvelle vidéo featuring APOCALYPTICA
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant SABATON
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Music Waves est parti à la rencontre de Joakim, chanteur emblématique de Sabaton, à l'occasion de la sortie du nouvel album consacré à la première guerre mondiale.

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant SABATON
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (4 avis)
4/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT SABATON
 
SABATON_The-Great-War The Great War (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / HEAVY METAL
SABATON_The-Last-Stand The Last Stand (2016)
NUCLEAR BLAST / HEAVY METAL
SABATON_Heroes Heroes (2014)
NUCLEAR BLAST / HEAVY METAL
SABATON_Carolus-Rex Carolus Rex (2012)
NUCLEAR BLAST / HEAVY METAL
SABATON_Coat-Of-Arms Coat Of Arms (2010)
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL MELODIQUE
SABATON_The-Art-Of-War The Art Of War (2008)
BLACK LODGE / METAL MELODIQUE
SABATON_Attero-Dominatus Attero Dominatus (2006)
BLACK LODGE / HEAVY METAL
SABATON_Primo-Victoria Primo Victoria (2005)
BLACK LODGE / HEAVY METAL
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019