MW / Home / Reviews / PORT NOIR: The New Routine
BAND/AUTHOR:

PORT NOIR

(SWEDEN)

TITLE:
THE NEW ROUTINE
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
"Between supercharged pop and alternative metal, "The New Routine" brings a direct listening pleasure thanks to a unique tone and an intelligent and devilishly effective composition."
PROGRACER - 27.11.2019 -
If you liked "Any Way The Wind Carries" by the Swedish trio Port Noir, you'll be listening carefully to this "New Routine". And maybe you'll expect new and beautiful surprises. Well, not at all. 

Because with this third album, Port Noir lead the listener in the right direction and applies the recipe that made the success of the previous album in 2016. And this recipe is simple: a good dose of vitamin pop, groovy tempos, effective melodies and direct alternative rock. 

Musically, simplicity is essential. The guitar distills simple riffs that integrate perfectly with the compositions, without overdoing it. Bass is the main element, displaying a very present roundness with a drum set that support it perfectly, while the keyboards,  often presents at the beginning of the tracks, print this recognizable electro style to fade into simple discrete layers over the tracks. 

It is Love Anderson's voice that crystallizes the attention as the singer and composer lets his talent speak with vocal lines of great clarity. While the resemblance to that of Einar Solberg (Leprous) is obvious, Anderson is much less demonstrative than his compatriot and his emotional performance contributes to the artistic signature of the band, without abusive demonstration or exaggerated narcissism. The softness of its timbre blends perfectly with the trio's alternative metal. 

Once again, it is very difficult to detach titles from this homogeneous group. It should be noted that the potential hits "Old Fashioned", "Flawless" and "Low Lights" are alongside electro-pop compositions that could be heard on the radio such as "Champagne" and "Devine Us". A few more direct tracks such as '13' and 'Blow' quickly are more in the style of alternative pop-rock/metal tracks dear to the Stockholm natives. 

Lovers of brutal or extreme metal, move on. For the others, Port Noir could pick you up with their vitamin pop, their ultra-efficient melodies and their talent for composition and writing. "The New Routine" will be able to reach protagonists of all kinds for the same reasons and thanks to a bold mix of genres. If linearity or originality will remain an obstacle to prolonged listening, listening to this album regularly will always be a pleasure without a headache.

More informations on http://www.portnoir.com

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

LEPROUS

TRACK LISTING

01. Old Fashioned
02. Flawless
03. Blow
04. Champagne
05. Low Lights
06. 13
07. Young Bloods
08. Define Us
09. Drive
10. Down for Delight
11. Out of Line


LINEUP

Andreas 'aw' Wiberg: Batterie
Andreas Hollstrand: Guitares
Love Andersson: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
Electro, Groovy
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS PORT NOIR
LAST NEWS
PORT NOIR: Details on"The New Routine"
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about PORT NOIR
 
RATING
 
4/5 (2 view(s))
5/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS PORT NOIR
 
PORT-NOIR_The-New-Routine The New Routine (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
PORT-NOIR_Any-Way-The-Wind-Carries Any Way The Wind Carries (2016)
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / PORT NOIR: The New Routine
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

PORT NOIR

(SUÈDE)

TITRE:
THE NEW ROUTINE
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
ROCK ALTERNATIF
"Entre pop survitaminée et metal alternatif, "The New Routine" apporte un plaisir d'écoute direct grâce à un ton unique et une composition intelligente et diablement efficace."
PROGRACER - 27.11.2019 -
Si vous aviez aimé "Any Way The Wind Carries" du trio suédois  Port Noir, vous jetterez une oreille attentive à ce "New Routine" , comme votre serviteur, et en attendrez de nouvelles belles surprises. Eh bien, que nenni.

Non, pas de surprise car avec ce troisième album, Port Noir brosse l'auditeur dans le sens du poil et applique la recette qui avait fait le succès de l'album précédent en 2016. Et cette recette est simple : une bonne dose de pop vitaminée, des tempos groovy, des mélodies efficaces et un rock alternatif direct.

Musicalement, la simplicité également est de mise. La guitare se contente de distiller des riffs simples s'intégrant à merveille aux compositions, sans en faire trop. La basse originale constitue l'élément principal, affichant une rondeur très présente qu'une batterie dans le ton seconde parfaitement, alors que les claviers s'imposent souvent en début des titres pour imprimer cette patte électro reconnaissable, puis s'effacent en simples nappes discrètes au fil des titres.

C'est la voix de Love Anderson qui cristallise l'attention puisque le chanteur et compositeur laisse parler son talent avec des lignes vocales d'une grande limpidité. Si la ressemblance avec celle de Einar Solberg (Leprous) est évidente, Anderson est bien moins démonstratif que son compatriote et sa prestation toute en émotion contribue à la signature artistique du groupe, sans démonstration abusive ou narcissisme exacerbé. La douceur de son timbre se mêle à la perfection au metal alternatif du trio.

Une nouvelle fois, il est bien difficile de détacher des titres de cet ensemble homogène. Notons que les hits en puissance que sont 'Old Fashioned', 'Flawless' et 'Low Lights' côtoient des compositions électro-pop éligibles à une diffusion hertzienne mainstream comme 'Champagne' et 'Devine Us'. Quelques titres plus rentre-dedans tels que '13' et 'Blow' reviennent vite dans le rang de ce pop-rock/metal alternatif cher aux natifs de Stockholm.

Amateurs de metal brutal ou extrême, passez votre chemin. Les autres, Port Noir pourrait bien vous cueillir avec leur pop vitaminée, leurs mélodies ultra-efficaces et leur talent de composition et d'écriture qui fait mouche à presque chaque instant. "The New Routine" pourra toucher les progueux de tous poils pour les mêmes raisons et grâce à un audacieux mélange des genres, moderne et payant. Si la linéarité ou l'originalité resteront un frein à une écoute prolongée, se passer cet album régulièrement sera toujours un plaisir sans prise de tête.

Plus d'information sur http://www.portnoir.com

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
LEPROUS

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Old Fashioned
02. Flawless
03. Blow
04. Champagne
05. Low Lights
06. 13
07. Young Bloods
08. Define Us
09. Drive
10. Down for Delight
11. Out of Line


FORMATION:
Andreas 'aw' Wiberg: Batterie
Andreas Hollstrand: Guitares
Love Andersson: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
Electro, Groovy
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC PORT NOIR
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
PORT NOIR: Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant PORT NOIR
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (2 avis)
5/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT PORT NOIR
 
PORT-NOIR_The-New-Routine The New Routine (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / ROCK ALTERNATIF
PORT-NOIR_Any-Way-The-Wind-Carries Any Way The Wind Carries (2016)
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS / ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019