MW / Home / Reviews / PRISTINE: Road Back To Ruin
BAND/AUTHOR:

PRISTINE

(NORWAY)

TITLE:
ROAD BACK TO RUIN
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
ROCK
"Powered by an incandescent female organ, "Road Back To Ruin" is the best way to discover Pristine, quite simply what hard bluesy and vintage has offered us the best in a very long time."
CHILDERIC THOR - 13.06.2019 -
We have known for a long time that hard rock combined with blues is perfectly suited to women. The older ones may remember the ephemeral Zephyr with Ritchie Blackmore's future replacement at Deep Purple, Tommy Bolin, the younger ones of the unknown Fuzz Mantra and queens Layla Zoe and Beth Hart in a bluesy rather than hard register. We also think of Blue Pills, for which Pristine heated the halls in 2016. Many people then discovered these Norwegians who simply stole the spotlight from the Swedish headliner.

Pristine is (hard) rock and the best, which evokes both the ardour of Deep Purple and the epic power of Led Zeppelin. Imagine Black Country Communion replacing Glenn Hughes with an amazing singer and you will then get a pretty good picture of what "Road Back To Ruin" contains. Combining energy and emotion, all wrapped in a warm and cozy but authentically rock sound, the successor to "Ninja" who, two years ago, had slightly disappointed, has serious assets to be at the top of the podium of the best records of the year 2019. Rich in eleven pieces, its menu exudes a force as furious as it is communicative, which both makes you want to move mountains and releases a pleasant warmth in your lower abdomen. 

Orgasmic, the opus distributes striking tracks, whether they are fast or more muffled or even reptilian. Thus, to the very effective "Sinnerman" (and its purple-linked organ), "Landside" or this "Dead End" strangely placed at the end of the disc, clings a set of extremely varied compositions but which all have in common the same passionate strength and a painful dramaturgy. 'Road Back To Ruin' is a prisoner of a heavy melancholic gang, 'Blind Spot' shudders under the singer's shocking bullets and 'Cause And Effect' marries the heartbreaking features of a bluesy power ballad on which Gary Moore's ghost hangs. Alongside these epic flights are more bare breaths ('Aurora Skies','Your Song') or more creeping projections, juicy mid-tempo where a nervous guitar responds to wet keyboards ('Pioneer'), where the silky atmospheres blend into a earthy substrate ('The Sober'). 

This owner's tour would of course not be complete without highlighting Heidi Solheim's formidable performance, which combines raging energy and stunning beauty with her warm timbre that combines the hardness of hard-Rock, the delicacy of blues and the softness of soul. Her partners set her up a bed in which she can flourish, as witnessed by this "Bluebird" where she plays with the Hammond organ on a background of Zeppelin rhythmic and gospel choirs. 

Powered by an incandescent female organ, "Road Back To Ruin" is the best way to discover Pristine, quite simply what hard bluesy and vintage has offered us the best in a very long time.  

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/pristineband/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

DEEP PURPLE, LED ZEPPELIN, GARY MOORE, BLACK COUNTRY COMMUNION, LAYLA ZOE

TRACK LISTING

01. Sinnerman
02. Road Back To Ruin
03. Bluebird
04. Landslide
05. Aurora Skies
06. Pioneer
07. Blind Spot
08. The Sober
09. Cause And Effect
10. Your Song


LINEUP

Espen Elverum Jakobsen: Guitares
Gustav Eidsvik: Basse
Heidi Solheim: Chant
Ottar Tøllefsen: Batterie
Racha Rizk: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Bluesy, Female voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS PRISTINE
LAST NEWS
PRISTINE: Road Back To Ruin
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about PRISTINE
 
RATING
 
4.5/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS PRISTINE
 
PRISTINE_Road-Back-To-Ruin Road Back To Ruin (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / PRISTINE: Road Back To Ruin
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

PRISTINE

(NORVÈGE)

TITRE:
ROAD BACK TO RUIN
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
ROCK
"Propulsé par un organe féminin incandescent, "Road Back To Ruin" constitue la meilleure façon de découvrir Pristine, tout simplement ce que le hard bluesy et vintage nous a offert de plus jouissif depuis très longtemps."
CHILDERIC THOR - 13.06.2019 -
On sait depuis longtemps que le hard rock mâtiné de blues se conjugue parfaitement au féminin. Les plus vieux se souviendront peut-être de l'éphémère Zephyr avec le futur remplaçant de Ritchie Blackmore au sein de Deep Purple, Tommy Bolin, les plus jeunes du méconnu Fuzz Mantra sans oublier les reines Layla Zoe et Beth Hart dans un registre plus blues que hard. On pense aussi à Blue Pills pour lequel Pristine a chauffé les salles en 2016. Nombreux sont alors ceux à avoir découvert ces Norvégiens qui ont carrément volé la vedette à la tête d'affiche suédoise. Flairant la bonne affaire, Nuclear Blast  n'a ensuite pas tardé à les prendre sous son aile.

Le quatuor n'a pourtant pas attendu cette promotion pour faire parler de lui et mettre le feu aux poudres dans sa Norvège natale et depuis 2011, ce n'est pas moins de quatre albums (sans compter le petit dernier et sujet de cette chronique) qui ont coulé sous les ponts. Quatre albums, quatre brûlots dont on comprend mal pourquoi leur succès fut finalement assez limité eu égard au talent insolent de leurs jeunes géniteurs.

Pristine, c'est du (hard) rock et du meilleur, qui convoque aussi bien la fougue de Deep Purple et la puissance épique de Led Zeppelin. Imaginez Black Country Communion qui aurait remplacé Glenn Hugues par une chanteuse du feu de dieu et vous obtiendrez alors une assez bonne image de ce que contient "Road Back To Ruin". Mêlant énergie et émotion, le tout enrobé d'un son chaud et douillet mais authentiquement rock, le successeur de "Ninja" qui, il y a deux ans, avait légèrement déçu, possède de sérieux atouts pour trôner en haut du podium des meilleures galettes de l'année 2019. Riche de onze morceaux, son menu dégage une force aussi furieuse que communicative, qui à la fois donne envie de déplacer des montagnes et libère une agréable chaleur dans le bas ventre.

Orgasmique, l'opus distribue les perles dégorgeant de feeling, qu'elles soient rapides ou plus feutrées voire reptiliennes. Ainsi, aux très efficaces 'Sinnerman' (et son orgue purplelien), 'Landside' ou ce 'Dead End' curieusement placé en bout de course, s'accroche un ensemble de compositions extrêmement variées mais qui ont toutes en commun une même force passionnelle et une douloureuse dramaturgie. 'Road Back To Ruin' est prisonnier d'une pesante gangue mélancolique, 'Blind Spot' frissonne sous les coups de boutoir bouleversants de la chanteuse et 'Cause And Effect' épouse les traits déchirants d'une power ballad bluesy sur laquelle plane le fantôme de Gary Moore. Aux côtés de ces envolées épiques se glissent des respirations plus dépouillées ('Aurora Skies', 'Your Song') ou des saillies plus rampantes, mid-tempo juteux où une guitare nerveuse répond à des claviers humides ('Pioneer'), où les atmosphères soyeuses se fondent dans un substrat terreux ('The Sober').

Ce tour du propriétaire ne serait bien sûr pas complet sans souligner la formidable performance de Heidi Solheim qui allie énergie rageuse et beauté foudroyante avec son timbre chaud qui additionne la dureté du hard, la délicatesse du blues et le moelleux de la soul. Ses partenaires lui dressent un lit dans lequel elle peut s'épanouir, témoin ce 'Bluebird' où elle se prête à des joutes avec l'orgue Hammond sur fond de rythmique zeppelinienne et de chœurs gospel.

Propulsé par un organe féminin incandescent, "Road Back To Ruin" constitue la meilleure façon de découvrir Pristine, tout simplement ce que le hard bluesy et vintage nous a offert de plus jouissif depuis très longtemps.  

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/pristineband/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
DEEP PURPLE, LED ZEPPELIN, GARY MOORE, BLACK COUNTRY COMMUNION, LAYLA ZOE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Sinnerman
02. Road Back To Ruin
03. Bluebird
04. Landslide
05. Aurora Skies
06. Pioneer
07. Blind Spot
08. The Sober
09. Cause And Effect
10. Your Song


FORMATION:
Espen Elverum Jakobsen: Guitares
Gustav Eidsvik: Basse
Heidi Solheim: Chant
Ottar Tøllefsen: Batterie
Racha Rizk: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Bluesy, Chant féminin
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC PRISTINE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
PRISTINE: Les détails sur le nouvel album
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant PRISTINE
 
NOTES
 
4.5/5 (2 avis)
5/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT PRISTINE
 
PRISTINE_Road-Back-To-Ruin Road Back To Ruin (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019