BAND/AUTHOR:

HAN UIL

(NETHERLANDS)

TITLE:
ESOTERIC EUPHONY (2019)
LABEL:
FREIA
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE ROCK / ALTERNATIVE_ROCK

""Esoteric Euphony" is an eclectic rock album spiced with sweet and strange prog scents."
CORTO1809 - 30.01.2020 - (0) minds from our readers - (3) comment(s)
3/5
Whether solo or in various bands (Tumbletown, Seven Day Hunt,...), Han Uil is no stranger to Music Waves readers. And as the reviews that have been written about his career prove, the man enjoys a rather flattering appreciation. As a proof of this, let's mention "File This Dream" (Seven Day Hunt), "Dark in the Light" (Han Uil) and, more recently, "Never Too Late" (Tumbletown - 2018).

"Esoteric Euphony" is the fourth album released under the name of its creator. The record gathers about ten compositions in a collected format (the longest is 7'15") not really prog, not straight rock either, but halfway between the two. The tracks often outline the verse/chorus/bridge form of a basic rock, but immediately move away from it by multiplying the breaks or by adorning themselves with fuzzy melodies giving the album its strange and attractive character. A number of effects and little surprises give the whole a pleasant flavour, from the lyrical vocals of 'Devil's Night' to the oriental scents of 'The Storyteller' and the dramatic intervention of Theresa May ('We Are United') to name but a few.

If the tracks are often led in a mid-tempo rhythm, Han Uil doesn't disdain to shake the listener from time to time by more peachy compositions like on the incisive 'The Next Door Bully' or the elusive 'Give Me Fire' with its sudden accelerandos. On the other hand, the album also reserves moments of luminous sweetness ('Love and Me' pierced with inspired mini-solos, the instrumental 'Chasing Intentions' with bewitching guitars). It's a pity that the whole suffers from a rather flat production that doesn't sufficiently emphasize the rhythmics, thus attenuating the relief that it could have brought to the tracks and leaving a slight impression of lack of dynamism.

Han Uil resembles singers like Roine Stolt or David Gilmour in this somewhat impersonal, almost neutral way of expressing themselves. His voice isn't one that will give you the shivers or bring tears to your eyes, nor will it ignite the slightest spark of anger. On the other hand, it is ideal for instilling a melancholy that will regularly curl up around your heart. Although he officiates behind the keyboards on this album, his favourite instrument remains the guitar, whose many (but often short) soli come to illuminate each track.

"Esoteric Euphony" is a title that fits perfectly to the music of this album, distilling "pleasant and esoteric sounds" whose charm ends up working despite the lack of relief to be attributed to a timid production.

More informations on http://www.hanuil.com/



SIMILAR BANDS:
SEVEN DAY HUNT, MARK KNOPFLER, DAVID GILMOUR, ROINE STOLT, TUMBLETOWN

TRACK LISTING:
01. Devil's Night (05:13)
02. We are United (04:52)
03. The Next Door Bully (03:38)
04. Runaway (07:06)
05. Love and Me (05:23)
06. The Storyteller (06:31)
07. Give Me Fire (04:35)
08. Failure (04:09)
09. Chasing Intentions (03:25)
10. A Great Experience (07:15)


LINEUP:
Han Uil: Chant / Guitares / Claviers
Aldo Adema: Invité / Basse (3)
Caroline Joy: Invité / Choeurs
Esther Ladiges: Invité / Choeurs
Kate Mitchell: Invité / Choeurs
Maurizio Antonini: Batterie / Invité
Peter H. Boer: Basse / Invité


TAGS:
Melancholic
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(3) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
TORPEDO - 01/02/2020 10:09:42
0
Il était pas répertorié sous le nom de Han Uil mais juste Han. J'ai modifié.
NUNO777 - 31/01/2020 22:34:14
0
Tu as oublié ça ;)
https://www.musicwaves.fr/frmReview.aspx?ID=13674&REF=HAN_Lawless-Local-Heroes
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH HAN UIL
LAST NEWS
HAN UIL: Esoteric Euphony
All news about HAN UIL
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 3/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
MARJANA SEMKINA: Sleepwalking (2020)
ATMOSPHERIC ROCK The contemplative pop-folk with poetic charms of "Sleepwalking" is the perfect setting for Marjana's divine vocal.
 
NEXT REVIEW
LORDI: Killection (2020)
HEAVY METAL A masterstroke that this "Killection" which will undoubtedly make a date in Lordi's career but also in the history of concept-albums.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT HAN UIL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / HAN UIL: Esoteric Euphony
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

HAN UIL

(HOLLANDE)

TITRE:
ESOTERIC EUPHONY
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
FREIA
GENRE:
ROCK PROGRESSIF / ROCK ALTERNATIF
""Esoteric Euphony" est un album de rock éclectique épicé de senteurs prog, doux et étrange."
CORTO1809 - 30.01.2020 -
Que ce soit en solo ou au sein de groupes divers (Tumbletown, Seven Day Hunt,…), Han Uil n'est pas un inconnu pour les lecteurs de Music Waves. Et comme le prouvent les chroniques qui ont émaillé sa carrière, l'homme bénéficie d'une appréciation plutôt flatteuse. J'en veux pour preuve celles de "File This Dream" (Seven Day Hunt), "Dark in the Light" (Han Uil) et, plus récemment, "Never Too Late" (Tumbletown – 2018).

"Esoteric Euphony" est le quatrième album paraissant sous le nom de son créateur. Le disque regroupe une dizaine de compositions au format ramassé (la plus longue plafonne à 7'15") pas vraiment prog, pas non plus straight rock mais à mi-chemin des deux. Ainsi les titres ébauchent souvent la forme couplet/refrain/pont d'un rock basique mais s'en éloignent aussitôt en multipliant les cassures ou en se parant de mélodies floues donnant son caractère étrange et attirant à l'album. Nombre d'effets et de petites surprises achèvent de donner une agréable saveur à l'ensemble, du chant lyrique de 'Devil's Night' aux senteurs orientales de 'The Storyteller', en passant par l'intervention dramatique de Theresa May ('We Are United') pour n'en citer que quelques-uns.

Si les morceaux sont souvent menés à un rythme mid-tempo, Han Uil ne dédaigne pas secouer l'auditeur de temps à autres par des compositions plus pêchues comme sur l'incisif 'The Next Door Bully' ou l'insaisissable 'Give Me Fire' aux subits accelerandos. A l'opposé, l'album réserve aussi des moments de douceur lumineuse ('Love and Me' transpercé de mini-solos inspirés, l'instrumental 'Chasing Intentions' aux guitares envoûtantes). Dommage que l'ensemble souffre d'une production un peu plate ne mettant pas suffisamment en valeur la rythmique, atténuant ainsi le relief que celle-ci aurait pu apporter aux titres et laissant une légère impression de manque de dynamisme.

Han Uil s'apparente à des chanteurs comme Roine Stolt ou David Gilmour dans cette façon un peu impersonnelle, presque neutre, de s'exprimer. Sa voix n'est pas de celles qui vous donnera le frisson ou vous fera monter les larmes aux yeux, elle n'allumera pas non plus la moindre étincelle de colère. En revanche, elle est idéale pour instiller une mélancolie sournoise qui viendra régulièrement se lover autour de votre cœur. S'il officie derrière les claviers sur cet album, son instrument de prédilection reste la guitare dont de nombreux (mais souvent courts) solos viennent enluminer/illuminer chaque morceau.

"Esoteric Euphony" est un titre qui va comme un gant à la musique de cet album, distillant des "sons agréables et ésotériques" dont le charme finit par opérer malgré le manque de relief à attribuer à une production timorée.

Plus d'information sur http://www.hanuil.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
MARK KNOPFLER, DAVID GILMOUR, ROINE STOLT, TUMBLETOWN, SEVEN DAY HUNT

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Devil's Night (05:13)
02. We are United (04:52)
03. The Next Door Bully (03:38)
04. Runaway (07:06)
05. Love and Me (05:23)
06. The Storyteller (06:31)
07. Give Me Fire (04:35)
08. Failure (04:09)
09. Chasing Intentions (03:25)
10. A Great Experience (07:15)


FORMATION:
Han Uil: Chant / Guitares / Claviers
Aldo Adema: Invité / Basse (3)
Caroline Joy: Invité / Choeurs
Esther Ladiges: Invité / Choeurs
Kate Mitchell: Invité / Choeurs
Maurizio Antonini: Batterie / Invité
Peter H. Boer: Basse / Invité


TAGS:
Mélancolique
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 01/02/2020 10:09:42
Il était pas répertorié sous le nom de Han Uil mais juste Han. J'ai modifié.
2530
 com_answer_user_id

  CORTO1809   - 01/02/2020 10:14:02
Merci. J’allais le faire également. Ah, ces chanteurs qui changent sans arrêt de nom, ils ne se rendent pas compte qu’ils brouillent inutilement les pistes de ceux qui s’intéressent à leur carrière !
NUNO777 - 31/01/2020 22:34:14
Tu as oublié ça ;)
https://www.musicwaves.fr/frmReview.aspx?ID=13674&REF=HAN_Lawless-Local-Heroes
1405529
 
EN RELATION AVEC HAN UIL
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
HAN UIL: Les détails sur le nouvel album
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant HAN UIL
 
NOTES
 
3/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT HAN UIL
 
HAN-UIL_Esoteric-Euphony Esoteric Euphony (2019)
FREIA / ROCK PROGRESSIF
HAN-UIL_Lawless-Local-Heroes Lawless Local Heroes (2015)
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK
HAN-UIL_Dark-In-Light Dark In Light (2010)
AUTOPRODUCTION / ROCK PROGRESSIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020