MW / Home / Reviews / BONNIE TYLER: Between The Earth And The Stars
BAND/AUTHOR:

BONNIE TYLER

(UNITED KINGDOM)

TITLE:
BETWEEN THE EARTH AND THE STARS
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
EAR MUSIC
GENRE:
ROCK
"Between the earth and the stars, Bonnie Tyler is once again weightless. If his hoarse voice expresses itself on these 14 tracks with joy, we will regret a few lengths and the absence of an epic hit."
ADRIANSTORK - 10.05.2019 -
In 2013, Bonnie Tyler, the stainless steel performer of "It's A Heartache", "If You Were A Woman (And I Was A Man)" and "Total Eclipse Of The Heart", released an album called "Rocks And Honey", which with its participation in Eurovision promised a big comeback. But sealed by her label, the blond explosive with a languorous look will only make weak sparks. While she was planning to retire and live good music, her former bass player came to ask her to listen to demos of newly written songs. Bonnie Tyler, who was not really convinced of the opportunity of a return, was blown away by the quality of the lyrics and found her first producer to record a new album.

By a happy combination of circumstances, Bonnie managed to surround herself with three legends. While his hoarse voice earned him the nickname of male Rod Stewart, it was unimaginable that the two performers would not sing together one day. The interpreter of 'Baby Jane' finds herself in a duel on a truculent 'Battle Of The Sex' where both of them put forward arguments for their side. Who will win the bet? The song itself is an energetic rock mixed with country music, magnified by the two hoarse voices of the performers, a bastringue guilleret piano and a final guitar solo.

Another duo, "Someone Rockin' Your Heart" performed with Status Quo singer Francis Rossi, proves that we can work while having fun. But because of its repetitive construction where the performers sing in parallel on the verses and despite its guitar riff, the song has little appeal. The nice surprise will come from "Taking Control", a duet with Cliff Richard, the eternal second in Eurovision. Cliff's moving voice added to Bonnie's and a few choirs make this beautiful pop ride shine, undoubtedly the highlight of this album.

Beyond these attractive posters, the rest of the album does not serve as a filling. "Hold On" which opens the ball with the sound of languid guitars, highlights the sweet voice of its performer and will be chosen as a single. The bluesy "Slow Walk" generously welcomes some brass. Gibb's sibling survivor, Barry, wrote him a sparkling custom-made ballad. The profession of faith "Older" allows her to tear her voice bare, supported by an aquatic piano. "Move" is a sound laboratory, sticky blues at the border of psychedelicism and the Beatles' "Come Together". Finally, the poisonous "Bad For Loving You" allows Bonnie to make herself much more lustful and sensual.

Even if it is her trademark, we will regret the overwhelming contribution of the female choirs (especially on 'Hold On', 'Older', 'Let's Go Crazy Tonight') and in the second part of the album, some anecdotal and duplicative tracks with the rest make listening more difficult. 
 
Between the earth and the stars, Bonnie Tyler is once again weightless. If his hoarse voice expresses itself on these 14 tracks with joy and despite the company of prestigious guests, we will regret a few lengths and the absence of a hit as if the Welsh woman had decided not to worry about trade issues.. But Bonnie, who has already recorded additional songs not included on this album, is preparing to follow up soon on this "Between The Earth And The Stars". There is no doubt that in space, we do not hear him shouting his joy of being among us again.

More informations on

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

ROD STEWART

TRACK LISTING

01. Hold On (03:18)
02. Battle Of The Sexes (03:47)
03. Slow Walk (03:13)
04. Seven Waves Away (03:44)
05. Someone's Rockin' Your Heart (03:01)
06. Older (03:41)
07. Taking Control (03:36)
08. Between The Earth And The Stars (03:55)
09. Don't Push Your Luck (03:07)
10. To The Moon And Back (03:41)
11. Bad For Loving You (02:57)
12. Let's Go Crazy Tonight (03:00)
13. Missing You (03:53)
14. Move (03:41)


LINEUP

Bob Jenkins: Batterie
Bonnie Tyler: Chant
David Mackay: Basse / Claviers / Percussions
Francis Rossi: Guitares
Geoff Whitehorn: Guitares
Leon Cave: Batterie
Richard Cottle: Claviers / Saxophone
Cliff Richards: Chant / Invité
Rod Stewart: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Bluesy, Intimist, Romantic, Ballads, Rasping voice, Female voice, Chorus
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
MARTIX016 - 12/05/2019 09:00:30
une musique très belle et des paroles sensées!
https://www.meilleurs-credits-info.com
14517468
 
LINKS BONNIE TYLER
LAST ARTICLE
As part of the release of her new album 'Between The Earth And The Stars', Music Waves met Bonnie Tyler, the famous Welsh singer who sings hits such as 'It's A Heartache' and 'Total Eclipse Of The Heart'.

Read the article
View all articles about BONNIE TYLER
 
RATING
 
3.2/5 (4 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS BONNIE TYLER
 
BONNIE-TYLER_between-the-earth-and-the-stars Between The Earth And The Stars (2019)
EAR MUSIC / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

BONNIE TYLER

(ROYAUME UNI)

TITRE:
BETWEEN THE EARTH AND THE STARS (2019)
LABEL:
EAR MUSIC
GENRE:
ROCK

"Entre la terre et les étoiles, Bonnie Tyler est à nouveau en apesanteur. Si sa voix rauque s'exprime sur ces 14 titres avec joie et en compagnie d'invités prestigieux, on regrettera quelques longueurs et l'absence d'un tube épique."
ADRIANSTORK - 10.05.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (1) commentaire(s)
3/5
En 2013, Bonnie Tyler, l'inoxydable interprète de 'It's A Heartache', 'If  You Were A Woman (And I Was A Man)' ou encore 'Total Eclipse Of The Heart' sortait un album ''Rocks And Honey'' qui avec sa participation à l'Eurovision promettait un grand retour sur le devant de la scène. Mais plombée par son label, l'explosive blonde au regard langoureux ne fera que de faibles étincelles. Alors qu'elle comptait se retirer et vivre de bonnes œuvres, son ancien bassiste est venu lui demander d'écouter des démos de chansons fraîchement écrites. Bonnie Tyler, qui n'était pas vraiment convaincue de l'opportunité d'un retour, est soufflée par la qualité des textes et retrouve son premier producteur pour enregistrer un nouvel album.

Par un heureux concours de circonstances, Bonnie est parvenue à s'entourer de trois légendes. Alors que sa voix rauque lui a valu le surnom de Rod Stewart masculin, il était inimaginable que les deux interprètes ne chantent pas un jour ensemble. L'interprète de 'Baby Jane' se retrouve en duel sur un truculent 'Battle Of The Sex' où chacun des deux avance des arguments pour son camp. Qui remportera la mise ? La chanson elle-même est un rock énergique mâtiné de country, magnifié par les deux voix rauques des interprètes, un piano bastringue guilleret et un solo de guitare final.

Autre duo, 'Someone Rockin' Your Heart' interprété avec le chanteur de Status Quo, Francis Rossi, prouve qu'on peut travailler en s'amusant. Mais en raison de sa construction répétitive où les interprètes chantent en parallèle sur les couplets et malgré son riff de guitare, le morceau ne dégage que peu d'attrait. La belle surprise viendra de 'Taking Control', duo avec Cliff Richard, l'éternel deuxième de l'Eurovision. La voix émouvante de Cliff additionnée à celle de Bonnie et quelques chœurs fait resplendir cette belle chevauchée pop, sans nul doute le grand moment de cet album.

Au-delà de ces affiches alléchantes, le reste de l'album ne sert pas de remplissage pour autant. 'Hold On' qui ouvre le bal au son de langoureuses guitares met en avant la voix suave de son interprète et sera d'ailleurs choisi comme single. Le bluesy 'Slow Walk' accueille généreusement quelques cuivres. Le rescapé de la fratrie Gibb, Barry, lui a écrit une ballade étincelante sur mesure, à grands renforts de chœurs sur les refrains. La profession de foi 'Older' la laisse se déchirer la voix à nu, soutenue par un piano aquatique. 'Move' est un laboratoire sonore, blues poisseux à la frontière du psychédélisme et du 'Come Together' des Beatles. Le titre éponyme, le plus réussi, est une ballade qui tutoie le firmament. Toutefois, la vénéneuse 'Bad For Loving You' permet à Bonnie de se faire beaucoup plus lascive et sensuelle.

Même si c'est sa marque de fabrique, on regrettera toutefois l'apport un peu trop envahissant des chœurs féminins (en particulier sur 'Hold On', 'Older', 'Let's Go Crazy Tonight') et en deuxième partie de l'album, quelques morceaux anecdotiques et faisant doublon avec le reste alourdissent l'écoute. Même si la qualité est au rendez-vous, on pourra déplorer l'absence d'un tube épique, comme si la Galloise avait décidé de se passer de facilités sans se préoccuper de questions commerciales.
 
Entre la terre et les étoiles, Bonnie Tyler est à nouveau en apesanteur. Si sa voix rauque s'exprime sur ces 14 titres avec joie, et en compagnie d'invités prestigieux, on regrettera quelques longueurs et l'absence d'un tube. Mais Bonnie qui a déjà enregistré des chansons supplémentaires non retenues sur cet album se prépare à donner bientôt suite à ce "Between The Earth And The Stars". Nul doute que dans l'espace, on ne l'entende crier sa joie d'être de nouveau parmi nous.

Plus d'information sur



GROUPES PROCHES:
ROD STEWART

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Hold On (03:18)
02. Battle Of The Sexes (03:47)
03. Slow Walk (03:13)
04. Seven Waves Away (03:44)
05. Someone's Rockin' Your Heart (03:01)
06. Older (03:41)
07. Taking Control (03:36)
08. Between The Earth And The Stars (03:55)
09. Don't Push Your Luck (03:07)
10. To The Moon And Back (03:41)
11. Bad For Loving You (02:57)
12. Let's Go Crazy Tonight (03:00)
13. Missing You (03:53)
14. Move (03:41)


FORMATION:
Bob Jenkins: Batterie
Bonnie Tyler: Chant
David Mackay: Basse / Claviers / Percussions
Francis Rossi: Guitares
Geoff Whitehorn: Guitares
Leon Cave: Batterie
Richard Cottle: Claviers / Saxophone
Cliff Richards: Chant / Invité
Rod Stewart: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Bluesy, Intimiste, Romantique, Ballades, Chant éraillé, Chant féminin, Choeurs
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(1) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
MARTIX016 - 12/05/2019 09:00:30
0
une musique très belle et des paroles sensées!
https://www.meilleurs-credits-info.com
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC BONNIE TYLER
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
MUSIC WAVES S'ECLIPSE TOTALEMENT DEVANT BONNIE TYLER!
Toutes les actualités sur BONNIE TYLER
DERNIER ARTICLE
BONNIE TYLER + LANNY LANNER - L'OLYMPIA - 20 MAI 2019
Intemporel Tous les articles sur BONNIE TYLER
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
Dans le cadre de la sortie de son nouvel album 'Between The Earth And The Stars', Music Waves a rencontré Bonnie Tyler, la célèbre chanteuse galloise interprète des tubes 'It's A Heartache' ou encore 'Total Eclipse Of The Heart'.

NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 3.2/5 (4 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
DESTRAGE: The Chosen One (2019)
DEATH METAL A défaut d’être l’élu dans une discographie désormais riche de cinq albums, "The Chosen One" s’inscrit dans la lignée des albums bourrés de talent de Destrage
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
NOSTROMO: Narrenschiff (2019)
HARDCORE Jamais peut-être, avec "Narrenschiff", Nostromo n'a paru aussi radical dans sa noirceur dévorante.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT BONNIE TYLER
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020