BAND/AUTHOR:

THE DALI THUNDERING CONCEPT

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
SAVAGES (2019)
LABEL:
APATHIA RECORDS
GENRE:
METALCORE / DJENT

"An impressive concept album which allow the style to regain a salutary new breath."
STRUCK - 16.05.2019 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
4/5
In the family of djent hexagonal formations that are the pride of our country, alongside the Uneven Structure, Kadinja and even Betraying the Martyrs, we had missed the promising The Dali Thundering Concept. Although formed in 2010 and with two EPs "Burden of the Crown" and "When X met Y" respectively released in 2010 and 2012 but also a first album "Eyes Wide Opium" in 2014, the band has totally gone through our radar and this review certainly late aims to try to catch up and make discover this umpteenth representative of the French DJ scene.

Although not original, The Dali Thundering Concept offers us with "Savages" an urgent concept album which exposes its dark vision of our future if we do not change our habits that generate global warming and division of peoples... To illustrate this future turmoil, and unlike its counterparts in the scene djent in its broad sense, the band's purpose is much more "heavy" at the border of deathcore, by not proposing for example almost any clear song. 

On the other hand, and as for any worthy representative of this name, polyrhythms have a major role to play and are in the process of making them dizzy. The influence of the great Meshuggah is obvious ('There's no Calm Before the Storm','Ink' or the hypnotic final riff of 'Flying with the Shepherd'). But unlike some of its peers and the image of its ambitious concept, The Dali Thundering Concept does not just throw us a marked out and unsurprising djent. From the grandiose opening "Ostrich Dynasty", the Francilians set the trademark of their djent tinged with jazz. In the middle of the disenchanted screams and other ultra-low tuned riffs that plumb a particularly chaotic atmosphere, perfectly assumed and integrated jazzy breaks mark this album, giving it the status of djent version 2.0, as if Betraying the Martyrs had been fooled with Animals as Leaders.

In addition to these jazzy parts that aerate the subject, The Dali Thundering Concept pushes the experimentation even further with an electro instrumental that creates a slightly more worrying climate to the concept developed before introducing the sound storm represented by' There's no Calm Before the Storm'. And what about "Demeter" which, after an atmospheric start, turns into a new and refreshing jazz fusion track in the middle of a flood of pachydermic riffs. It is also impossible to ignore the two final titles in the form of an apotheosis, "Utopia" and "We Build the Past", on which a dissonant sax and grandiloquent orchestrations give the djent of the combo an experimental metal aspect like the Ihsahn on the first track or Devin Townsend on the second.

This ambitious approach allows The Dali Thundering Concept to escape the recurrent reproach made to the style to fall into linearity. In the end, we can only advise you too much to rush to this impressive concept album with which allows the style to regain a second saving breath. Like any self-respecting latecomer and with all the bad faith that characterizes it, we are eagerly awaiting the next step, guaranteeing that the group will therefore position itself as a locomotive of a kind that needs it...

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/thedalithunderingconcept/



SIMILAR BANDS:
BETRAYING THE MARTYRS, ANIMALS AS LEADERS, MESHUGGAH, DEVIN TOWNSEND, IHSAHN

TRACK LISTING:
01. Ostrich Dynasty - 5:00
02. The Myth of Happiness - 4:49
03. Blessed With Boredom - 5:49
04. Cassandra - 3:26
05. There Is No Calm Before the Storm - 5:08
06. Ink - 4:20
07. Flying With the Sheperds - 4:09
08. Demeter - 4:39
09. Empty the Void - 4:34
10. Utopia - 5:33
11. We Build the Past - 6:16


LINEUP:
Léo Natale: Guitares
Martin Gronnier: Batterie
Steve Treguier: Basse
Sylvain Conier: Chant


TAGS:
Chaotic, Jazzy, Heavy, Grunt/Growl voice
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH THE DALI THUNDERING CONCEPT
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 4/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
ARCHIVE: Retrospective (2019)
PROGRESSIVE ROCK Whatever its version, this retrospective is the ultimate gift to its fans of a band that has never stopped evolving and enriching its music throughout its 25 years of career.
 
NEXT REVIEW
MOTHER OF MILLIONS: Artifacts (2019)
PROGRESSIVE METAL Always as fine in compositions and skillful in arrangements, Mother Of Millions confirms with this "Artifacts" the enormous flagship potential of a progressive metal tinged with post rock, while retaining and mastering it.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT THE DALI THUNDERING CONCEPT
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

THE DALI THUNDERING CONCEPT

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
SAVAGES (2019)
LABEL:
APATHIA RECORDS
GENRE:
METALCORE / DJENT

"Impressionnant album conceptuel, avec lequel non seulement les Français accèdent à une place de choix dans la scène djent mais qui permet également au style de retrouver un second souffle salvateur."
STRUCK - 16.05.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
4/5
Dans la famille formations djent hexagonales qui font la fierté de notre pays, aux côtés des Uneven Structure, Kadinja voire Betraying the Martyrs, nous avions raté le pourtant prometteur The Dali Thundering Concept. Bien que formé en 2010 et fort de deux EP "Burden of the Crown" et "When X met Y" respectivement sortis en 2010 et 2012 mais aussi d’un premier album "Eyes Wide Opium" en 2014, le groupe est totalement passé au travers de nos radars et cette chronique certes tardive a pour but d’essayer de rattraper le temps perdu et faire découvrir cet énième représentant de la scène djent française.

A défaut d’être original, The Dali Thundering Concept nous propose avec "Savages" un album concept urgent qui à son tour nous expose sa vision sombre de notre avenir si nous ne changeons pas nos habitudes qui génèrent réchauffement climatique et division des peuples… Pour illustrer ce futur trouble, et contrairement à ses homologues de la scène djent dans son sens large, le propos du groupe est nettement plus "lourd" à la frontière du deathcore, en ne proposant par exemple quasiment aucun chant clair.

A l’inverse et comme pour tout digne représentant djent de ce nom, les polyrythmies ont la part belle et s’enchaînent à en donner le tournis. A cet égard, l’influence du grand Meshuggah est bien évidemment palpable (‘There’s no Calm Before the Storm’, ‘Ink’ ou encore le riff final hypnotique de ‘Flying with the Shepherd’). Mais contrairement à certains de ses semblables et à l’image de son concept ambitieux, The Dali Thundering Concept ne se contente pas de nous balancer un djent balisé et sans surprise. Dès la grandiose ouverture ‘Ostrich Dynasty’, les Franciliens posent la marque de fabrique de leur djent teinté de jazz du plus bel effet. Au milieu des hurlements désenchantés et autres riffs accordés ultra-grave qui plombent une atmosphère particulièrement chaotique, de lumineux breaks jazzy parfaitement assumés et intégrés jalonnent cet album lui conférant le statut de djent version 2.0, comme si Betraying the Martyrs avait fauté avec Animals as Leaders.

Outre ces parties jazzy qui aèrent le propos, The Dali Thundering Concept pousse l’expérimentation plus avant encore avec un instrumental electro qui instaure un climat un peu plus inquiétant au concept développé avant d’introduire la tempête sonore représentée par ‘There’s no Calm Before the Storm’. Et que dire de ‘Demeter’ qui après une entame atmosphérique se mute en titre jazz fusion inédit et rafraîchissant au milieu de cette déferlante de riffs pachydermiques accordés plus bas que terre. Impossible également de passer sous silence les deux titres finaux en forme d'apothéose que sont 'Utopia' et 'We Build the Past', sur lesquels un sax dissonant et des orchestrations grandiloquentes confèrent au djent du combo un aspect metal expérimental à la Ihsahn sur le premier titre ou Devin Townsend sur le second.

Cette approche ambitieuse permet à The Dali Thundering Concept d’échapper ainsi au reproche récurrent fait au style dont le propos tombe souvent dans la linéarité. Mais si ce genre de parti-pris est à saluer, à trop vouloir se démarquer, le risque d’être hors sujet est grand. Ce n’est clairement pas le cas de "Savages" où toutes les influences sont complètement assimilées et chaque break innovant s’intègre parfaitement dans le déluge ambiant de notes polyrythmiques.

Au final, nous ne saurons que trop vous conseiller de vous ruer sur cet impressionnant album conceptuel avec lequel non seulement les Français accèdent à une place de choix dans la scène djent mais qui permet également au style de retrouver un second souffle salvateur. Comme tout retardataire qui se respecte et avec toute la mauvaise foi qui le caractérise, nous attendons la suite avec impatience en gageant que le groupe se positionnera dès lors en locomotive d’un genre qui en a besoin…

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/thedalithunderingconcept/



GROUPES PROCHES:
ANIMALS AS LEADERS, MESHUGGAH, IHSAHN, BETRAYING THE MARTYRS, DEVIN TOWNSEND

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Ostrich Dynasty - 5:00
02. The Myth of Happiness - 4:49
03. Blessed With Boredom - 5:49
04. Cassandra - 3:26
05. There Is No Calm Before the Storm - 5:08
06. Ink - 4:20
07. Flying With the Sheperds - 4:09
08. Demeter - 4:39
09. Empty the Void - 4:34
10. Utopia - 5:33
11. We Build the Past - 6:16


FORMATION:
Léo Natale: Guitares
Martin Gronnier: Batterie
Steve Treguier: Basse
Sylvain Conier: Chant


TAGS:
Chaotique, Jazzy, Lourde, Chant grunt/growl
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC THE DALI THUNDERING CONCEPT
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 4/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
ARCHIVE: Retrospective (2019)
ROCK PROGRESSIF Quelle que soit sa version, cette rétrospective est le cadeau ultime à ses fans d'un groupe qui n'a eu de cesse de faire évoluer sa musique et de l'enrichir tout au long de ses 25 ans de carrière.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
MOTHER OF MILLIONS: Artifacts (2019)
METAL PROGRESSIF Toujours aussi fin dans les compositions et habile dans les arrangements, Mother Of Millions confirme avec cet “Artifacts” l’énorme potentiel de groupe phare d'un metal progressif teinté de post rock, tout en retenue et en maîtrise.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT THE DALI THUNDERING CONCEPT
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020