MW / Home / Reviews / TUNGS10: The Lost Manuscript
BAND/AUTHOR:

TUNGS10

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
THE LOST MANUSCRIPT
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL
""The Lost Manuscript" is a complex album, intense, technical and endearing."
THIBAUTK - 26.06.2019 -
Tungs10 is a formation born in Morlaix in the summer of 2015. Singer Nathalie is surrounded by fine guitar players, a powerful bass and a jumping drum set. After a promising debut album ("Season One"), "The Lost Manuscript" is a concept inspired by the story of Mary Shelley, a British novelist who created the myth of Fankenstein, adding an icy steampunk aesthetic.

The creature wakes up to the sound of electric arcs from a metal guitar and intense cavalcades ('This Morning Of November'). However, even if the guitar is sharp, the female voice is out of step, because it is nasal like Kate Bush or Cindy Lauper. The powerful solitary six-strings contrasts with this fragility with its technical power worthy of progressive metal.

The band builds a melodic metal with progressive keys, classic of course, but very well performed. A few light passages ('The Lost Manuscript') in contrast to the heaviness of the growl, remind us of the same juxtaposition used by "Orphanage" or "Without Face". The many shred passages are worthy of "Symphony X" ('The Lost Manuscript') or "Vanden Plas" ('Wandering Around The World') and the clear voice sweeps with sensuality and clear beauty ('How Do I Feel'). The band also highlights the emotion, with airy passages that allow you to breathe ('Let Me Leave' or'No Guilt No Regrets'), but strangely it is on these evaporated passages that the song seems to be the least comfortable... 

The multiple variations, the synthetic wrappings well used ('The Machine Behind'), the dark and refreshing lyrical flights ('The Flame Is Fading Away') or a certain darkness bring Evergrey's album closer ('No Guilt No Regrets'). The work ends with a soft track ('The Flame Is Fading Away') that seems to carry a disillusioned hope. Its dark and falsely peaceful atmospheres are reminiscent of "Fear Factory", when the latter lets his emotions overflow out of his metal casing.

The Lost Manuscript' is a disc that will divide the crowds. The immersion in the concept can be daunting with its female vocals, but the male voice also brings a touch of power worthy of "Visions of Atlantis" or "Epica". Nathalie has a charming, moving, sweet and fragile voice. Finally, even if Tungs10 has embarked on a risky gamble with this complex album, he gets away with it all, offering a fluid and engaging music that radiates a warm energy. 

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/tungs10theband/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

EVERGREY, VANDEN PLAS, EPICA

TRACK LISTING

01. This Morning Of November
02. How Do I Feel
03. Wandering Around The World
04. The Lost Manuscript
05. In The Fire
06. Let Me Leave
07. The Machine Behind
08. No Guilt No Regrets
09. Theyre Coming
10. The Awakening
11. The Flame Is Fading Away


LINEUP

Bastos: Batterie
Cédric Andreolli: Chant / Guitares
Nathalie Kowalczyk: Chant
Pierre-yves Jaouen: Guitares
Sebastien Morvan: Basse


TAGS:
Romantic, Technical, Concept-album, Female voice, Deep voice, Grunt/Growl voice, Guttural voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS TUNGS10
LAST NEWS
TUNGS10: The Lost Manuscript
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about TUNGS10
 
RATING
 
3/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS TUNGS10
 
TUNGS10_The-Lost-Manuscript The Lost Manuscript (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

TUNGS10

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
THE LOST MANUSCRIPT (2019)
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
METAL MELODIQUE

""The Lost Manuscript" est un album avec quelques points faibles, mais dont la musique complexe, intense et technique, est attachante."
THIBAUTK - 26.06.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
3/5
Tungs10 est une formation née à Morlaix pendant l’été 2015. La chanteuse Nathalie est entourée de fines lames de la guitare, d’une basse puissante et d’une batterie sautillante. Après un premier album prometteur (“Season One”), “The Lost Manuscript” est un concept qui s’inspire de l'histoire de Mary Shelley, romancière britannique créatrice du mythe de Fankenstein, en lui ajoutant une esthétique steampunk glacée.

La créature se réveille au son d'arcs électriques issus d'une guitare metal et de cavalcades intenses (‘This Morning Of November’). Toutefois même si la guitare est tranchante, la voix féminine est en décalage, car elle est nasillarde à la manière de Kate Bush ou Cindy Lauper. La six-cordes solitaire puissante s'oppose à cette fragilité avec sa puissance technique digne du metal progressif.

Le groupe construit un metal mélodique agrémenté de touches progressives, classique certes, mais très bien exécuté. Quelques passages légers (‘The Lost Manuscript’) en opposition avec la lourdeur du growl, rappellent cette même juxtaposition utilisée par Orphanage ou Without Face. Les nombreux passages shred sont dignes de Symphony X (‘The Lost Manuscript’) ou Vanden Plas (‘Wandering Around The World’) et la voix claire transpire de sensualité et de beauté limpide (‘How Do I Feel’). Le groupe met aussi en avant l’émotion, avec des passages aérés qui permettent de souffler (‘Let Me Leave’ ou ‘No Guilt No Regrets’), mais bizarrement c’est sur ces passages évaporés que le chant semble être le moins à son aise...

Les variations multiples, les habillages synthétiques parsemés avec à propos et savoir-faire (‘The Machine Behind’), les envolées lyriques sombres et rafraîchissantes (‘The Flame Is Fading Away’) ou une certaine noirceur rapprochent l'album d'Evergrey (‘No Guilt No Regrets’). L'œuvre se termine par une piste douce (‘The Flame Is Fading Away’) qui semble porter un espoir désabusé. Ses ambiances sombres faussement paisibles renvoient a Fear Factory, lorsque ce dernier laisse déborder ses émotions hors de son habillage metal.

‘The Lost Manuscript’ est un disque qui va diviser les foules. La plongée dans le concept peut être rebutante par son chant féminin, mais par ailleurs la voix masculine apporte une touche de puissance digne de Visions of Atlantis ou Epica. Même si tous les éléments sont réunis pour une belle surprise, la mise en lumière du chant impose quelques réserves... Pourtant il a les qualités essentielles pour être l'identité forte de la formation : Nathalie a un grain de voix charmant, émouvant, doux et fragile. Finalement, même si Tungs10 s’est lancé dans un pari risqué avec cet album complexe, il s’en tire avec les honneurs, offrant une musique fluide et prenante qui diffuse une chaude énergie.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/tungs10theband/



GROUPES PROCHES:
VANDEN PLAS, EPICA, EVERGREY

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. This Morning Of November
02. How Do I Feel
03. Wandering Around The World
04. The Lost Manuscript
05. In The Fire
06. Let Me Leave
07. The Machine Behind
08. No Guilt No Regrets
09. Theyre Coming
10. The Awakening
11. The Flame Is Fading Away


FORMATION:
Bastos: Batterie
Cédric Andreolli: Chant / Guitares
Nathalie Kowalczyk: Chant
Pierre-yves Jaouen: Guitares
Sebastien Morvan: Basse


TAGS:
Romantique, Technique, Concept-album, Chant féminin, Chant grave, Chant grunt/growl, Chant guttural
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC TUNGS10
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
TUNGS10 : Nouvelle vidéo
Toutes les actualités sur TUNGS10
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
Nous avions rendez-vous avec la tête pensante du projet Tungs10, quasi-nouveau venu sur la scène metal mélodique hexagonale...

NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 3/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
ANY GIVEN DAY: Overpower (2019)
METAL ALTERNATIF Any Given Day nous revient avec une livraison de 11 titres taillés dans un alliage qui devrait à coup sûr figurer en haut de la liste des sorties metal de l’année !
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
RESCUE RANGERS: Divisive (2019)
HEAVY METAL Encore plus que le précédent, cet album divisera par le choix d'une variété assumée mais qui dans le même temps ose des expérimentations tout en affirmant encore plus la personnalité d'un groupe qui s'émancipe quelque peu de ses influences.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT TUNGS10
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020