MW / Home / Reviews / HAMMERFALL: Dominion
BAND/AUTHOR:

HAMMERFALL

(SWEDEN)

TITLE:
DOMINION
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
NAPALM RECORDS
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL
""Dominion" is an excellent vintage from an invigorated Hammerfall and has everything to delight lovers of melodic power metal."
NOISE - 02.08.2019 -
With "Built To Last", the Swedish band Hammerfall delivered first-class heavy metal. Certainly the success of the early years is no longer there, but knowing that there is a future for him was great news. In fact, the arrival of this eleventh album, "Dominion", is seen with such optimism that we feel Oscar Dronjak's band capable of delighting us. The cover - showing a triumphant and confident Hector - and the title of the disc tend to confirm that Hammerfall has returned to reconquer the world.

The first part of the album confirms this idea, full of unstoppable tracks, both fast and lively. 'Never Forgive, Never Forget' and 'Testify' are potential hits. Joacim is perfect and knows how to make himself powerful. At his side his partners sign solos and fire riffs. The choruses are also neat and catchy. The power of "Dominion" also has its effect. Very warlike the title is a bomb worthy of the formation's beginnings. With its epic Maiden style,'One Against The World' makes you want to raise your fist and should be perfect for the stage. Finally, the single tribute to the heavy scene,'(We Make) Sweden Rock', completes this part  with a huge chorus and an excellent aerial solo.

The second part of the album starts with the usual ballad. 'Second To One' doesn't bring anything new to the genre but allows the band to make the emotion speak. Then follows a nice batch of quality titles: "Chains Of Command" releases a beautiful energy with a direct tone close to Judas Priest. 'Scars Of A Generation' and 'Bloodline' are typical of high-flying power metal with brilliant solos and neat choruses. Finally "And Yet I Smile" completes the disc in beauty, offering an airy and melancholic side through an instrumental part with a beautiful epic force.

"Dominion" is an excellent vintage from an invigorated Hammerfall and has everything to delight lovers of melodic power metal.

More informations on http://www.hammerfall.net/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

IRON MAIDEN, HELLOWEEN, PRETTY MAIDS, STRATOVARIUS, GAMMA RAY, EDGUY, SABATON, DREAM EVIL

TRACK LISTING

01. Never Forgive, Never Forget
02. Dominion
03. Testify
04. One Against The World
05. (We Make) Sweden Rock
06. Second To One
07. Scars Of A Generation
08. Dead By Dawn
09. Battleworn
10. Bloodline
11. Chain Of Command
12. And Yet I Smile


LINEUP

David Wallin: Batterie
Fredrik Larsson : Basse
Joacim Cans: Chant
Oscar Dronjak : Guitares
Pontus Norgren: Guitares


TAGS:
80's, Epic, Old School, Acute voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS HAMMERFALL
LAST NEWS
HAMMERFALL: New video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about HAMMERFALL
 
RATING
 
4/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS HAMMERFALL
 
HAMMERFALL_Dominion Dominion (2019)
NAPALM RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

ARTISTE:

HAMMERFALL

(SUÈDE)
TITRE:

DOMINION

(2019)
LABEL:

NAPALM RECORDS

GENRE:

METAL MELODIQUE

TAGS:
80's, Chant aigu, Epique, Old School
"Hammerfall signe avec "Dominion" un solide album taillé dans le meilleur du heavy metal mélodique et confirme ainsi un joli regain de forme."
NOISE (02.08.2019)  
4/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

Avec "Built To Last", le groupe suédois Hammerfall se montrait sûr de lui et délivrait un heavy metal de première classe. Certes le succès des premières années n’est plus là, mais savoir qu’il existe un avenir pour lui était une excellente nouvelle. De fait l’arrivée de ce onzième album, "Dominion", est vue avec optimisme tant on sent la bande d’Oscar Dronjak capable de nous ravir. La pochette -montrant un Hector triomphant et sûr de lui- et le titre du disque tendent à nous confirmer qu’Hammerfall est reparti de l’avant dans un esprit conquérant.

La première partie de l’album confirme cette idée, regorgeant de titres imparables, à la fois rapides et entrainants. ‘Never Forgive, Never Forget’ et ‘Testify’ sont des hits en puissance. Joacim est parfait et sait se faire puissant, à ses côtés ses partenaires signent des soli et des riffs de feu. Les refrains sont de plus soignés et entraînants. La puissance d’un ‘Dominion’ fait aussi son effet, très guerrier le titre est une bombe digne des débuts de la formation. Avec son côté épique à la Maiden, ‘One Against The World’ donne envie de lever le poing et a tout d’un hymne scénique. Enfin le single hommage à la scène heavy, ‘(We Make) Sweden Rock’, achève cette partie en beauté. Très fédérateur, on l’imagine bien faire chanter les foules avec un refrain énorme et ravir avec un excellent solo aérien.

La deuxième partie de l'album débute avec la ballade habituelle : ‘Second To One’ n’apporte rien de neuf au genre mais permet au groupe de faire parler l’émotion. Suit un joli lot de titres de qualité : ‘Chains Of Command’ dégage une belle énergie avec un ton direct proche d’un Judas Priest. ‘Scars Of A Generation’ et ‘Bloodline’ sont typiques d’un power metal de haute volée et ravissent eux aussi avec des soli brillants et des refrains soignés. Enfin ‘And Yet I Smile’ achève le disque en beauté, présentant un côté aérien et mélancolique au travers d’une partie instrumentale soignée avec une belle force épique.

"Dominion" est un excellent cru de la part d’un Hammerfall revigoré et en pleine forme. Ce disque a tout pour ravir les amateurs de power mélodique. Il confirme que le genre à la peau dure et qu’il n’a pas envie de déposer les armes.


Plus d'information sur http://www.hammerfall.net/



GROUPES PROCHES:
DREAM EVIL, HELLOWEEN, SABATON, EDGUY, IRON MAIDEN, STRATOVARIUS, GAMMA RAY, PRETTY MAIDS

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Never Forgive, Never Forget
02. Dominion
03. Testify
04. One Against The World
05. (We Make) Sweden Rock
06. Second To One
07. Scars Of A Generation
08. Dead By Dawn
09. Battleworn
10. Bloodline
11. Chain Of Command
12. And Yet I Smile

FORMATION:
David Wallin: Batterie
Fredrik Larsson : Basse
Joacim Cans: Chant
Oscar Dronjak : Guitares
Pontus Norgren: Guitares
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
-/5 (0 avis)
STAFF:
4/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
HAMMERFALL: Nouvel album live en ocobre
 
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
HAMMERFALL (24 MAI 2019)
Pour son 25e anniversaire, Hammerfall revient avec son onzième album "Dominion" qui confirme le retour du groupe au meilleur de sa forme... Music Waves fait le point avec son frontman Joacim Cans....

 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
THE ELECTRIK RENDEZVOUS: Warrior (2019)
JAZZ - Une tentative assez vaine de remettre au goût du jour le jazz fusion des années soixante-dix.
DARKTHRONE: Old Star (2019)
BLACK METAL - Avec "The Underground Resistance" et "Arctic Thunder", "Old Stars" paraît former un triptyque dont la sève heavy doom qui le nourrit ne l'exonère pas de cette atmosphère froide et nocturne propre au black metal.
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT HAMMERFALL
HAMMERFALL_Built-To-Last
Built To Last (2016)
4/5
4/5
NAPALM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
HAMMERFALL_rEvolution
(r)evolution (2014)
3/5
-/5
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL MELODIQUE
HAMMERFALL_Infected
Infected (2011)
4/5
3/5
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL MELODIQUE
HAMMERFALL_No-Sacrifice-No-Victory
No Sacrifice, No Victory (2009)
4/5
3/5
NUCLEAR BLAST / HEAVY METAL
HAMMERFALL_Masterpieces
Masterpieces (2008)
3/5
-/5
NUCLEAR BLAST / HEAVY METAL
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020