MW / Home / Reviews / NEAL MORSE: Jesus Christ The Exorcist
BAND/AUTHOR:

NEAL MORSE

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
JESUS CHRIST THE EXORCIST
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
ROCK
"By bringing back to life the rock operas of the 70s, Neal Morse makes an exceptional and exciting album from beginning to end."
CORTO1809 - 01.07.2019 -
Almost everything has already been written about Neal Morse, the worst as well as the best, from his incredible ability to compose seductive melodies to his undeniable talent as a charismatic singer and talented multi-instrumentalist, but also from his pervasive faith in all his albums to a recognizable style that sometimes gives an impression of déjà vu to all his productions. With in the end qualities that far outweigh the defects ! Everything has been write about Neal Morse... until this new album, double as it should be, "Jesus Christ The Exorcist".

Well, with the title, we already know that it is not yet this time that the American will give up sharing his faith by music : "Jesus Christ The Exorcist" is a rock opera recounting the life of Jesus, from his baptism by John the Baptist to his resurrection, and we even wonder how Neal Morse had not thought of it earlier. No, the surprise comes from the music score, Neal Morse resurrecting (that's the word) the rock operas of the 70s, from "Jesus Christ Superstar" who shares the same theme to "Tommy" of the Who (which is also the story of a messiah).

To do this, he gathers a plethora of artists : in addition to the group of musicians (from the Neal Morse Band for the most) there are two brass and string ensembles, many choristers and a dozen singers. The title role is played by Ted Leonard (Enchant, Spock's Beard), Judas is played by Nick D'Virgilio (Spock's Beard, Big Big Train) and Pierre and Caiaphas by the only Jake Livgren (Proto-Kaw) in an amazing performance of personality split. Less known, Rick Florian, singer of the Christian rock group White Heart, is a convincing Satan and Talon David, a young singer woman performing the role of Marie-Madeleine, is one of the revelations of this album, her voice alternately biting and sensual, hoarse and airy, cannot leave you indifferent. Neal Morse sings secondary roles, notably an astonishing Pilate where he is unrecognizable.

Titles are grouped into chapters according to the story. If chapters are separated by a short interruption, the songs of a same chapter are so intertwined that it is very difficult to know when you move from one to the other without looking at the booklet. As in any self-respecting rock opera, the songs are at the service of the narrative and their intensity/violence/softness is directly linked to what the story tells. However, the music is not left out, as evidenced by the very beautiful and spectacular guitar and keyboard solos featuring on the first CD.

Because things are significantly changing between the first and second discs. If Act 1 is rather energetic, oscillating between hard rock, heavy metal and melodic metal, Act 2 is more like a Broadway-style "musical comedy" with fewer solos (5 tracks sung "alone" for CD1, only one on CD2), more choral scores and a softer, even melancholic, and sometimes hymnic tone. The wild drums and electric guitar solos of the first part give way to keyboards, strings and brass covering the compositions with an orchestral hue. It is difficult to bring out one title more than another : "Jesus Christ The Exorcist" tells a story and must be heard as an inseparable whole.

With his rock opera, Neal Morse performs a double miracle. First, he keeps the listener on the edge of his seat for the 110 minutes of the album without ever losing attention, then he manages to make people forget that he is behind this album without losing his extraordinary qualities as a composer. Of course, you can recognize his style from time to time : the introduction of 'Jesus' Temptation' reminiscent of the jousts from "?", a new pastiche of 'Knots' (Gentle Giant) with the voices of the four demons that intertwine on' The Madman of the Gadarenes', the acoustic folk ballad 'Love Has Called My Name' that sounds like those of "Testimony". But these are exceptions drowned in a maelstrom mixing epic rock, metal prog, folk, soft ballad, hard rock, musical comedy, pop, heavy metal, gospel, solar rock or hymn.

By bringing back to life the rock operas of the 70s, Neal Morse makes an exceptional and exciting album from beginning to end. Not only my favorite of the year, but probably of the decade, even the century !

More informations on http://www.nealmorse.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

SPOCK'S BEARD, UNITOPIA, TRANSATLANTIC, ECHOLYN, CHRIS, ROINE STOLT, THE PROG WORLD ORCHESTRA, FLYING COLORS, SUPERNAL ENDGAME, UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY

TRACK LISTING

01. Introduction (02:31)
02. Overture (03:19)
03. Getaway (02:41)
04. Gather the People (05:17)
05. Jesus' Baptism (03:09)
06. Jesus' Temptation (10:18)
07. There's a Highway (04:06)
08. The Woman of Seven Devils (05:42)
09. Free at Last (05:05)
10. The Madman of the Gadarenes (07:07)
11. Love Has Called My Name (04:15)
12. Better Weather (01:42)
13. The Keys to the Kingdom (04:48)
14. Get Behind Me Satan (03:23)
15. He Must Go to the Cross (03:10)
16. Jerusalem (03:56)
17. Hearts Full of Holes (03:40)
18. The Last Supper (03:51)
19. Gethsemane (07:39)
20. Jesus Before the Council and Peter's Denial (03:13)
21. Judas' Death (03:35)
22. Jesus Before Pilate and the Crucifixion (08:17)
23. Mary at the Tomb (02:50) 24. The Greatest Love of All (05:00)
25. Love Has Called My Name (Reprise) (01:30)


LINEUP

Neal Morse: Guitares / Basse / Claviers / Chant ( Pilate, Démon 1, Disciple 1) / Choeurs
Randy George: Basse
Amy Pippin: Choeurs
April Zachary: Choeurs
Bill Hubauer: Claviers
David Cooper: Trombone
Debbie Bressee: Choeurs
Dominique Caster: Trompette
Eric Gillette: Guitares / Batterie
Gabe Klein: Chant (démon 2, Pharisien 4)
Gabriel Collins: Saxophone / Flûte
Gideon Klein: Chant (démon 4) / Violon / Alto / Violoncelle / Contrebasse / Cor / Arrangement De Cordes
Grace Laminack: Alto
Holly Smith: Cor
Jake Livgren: Chant ( Pierre, Caïphe) / Choeurs
Jake Tudor: Violon
Julie Harrison: Chant (servante) / Choeurs
Mark Pogue: Chant (israélite 1, Le Fou Des Gadarenes, Pharisien 2) / Choeurs
Matt Smith : Chant ( Jean Le Baptiste)
Michael Jackson: Choeurs
Nick D'Virgilio: Chant ( Judas)
Paul Bielatowicz: Guitares
Rick Florian: Chant (le Diable)
Steve Patrick: Trompette
Talon David: Chant ( Marie Madeleine)
Ted Leonard: Chant ( Jesus)
Wil Morse: Claviers / Chant (israélite 2, Démon 3, Pharisien 1) / Choeurs


TAGS:
70's, Symphonic
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS NEAL MORSE
LAST NEWS
NEAL MORSE: Jesus Christ The Exorcist
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about NEAL MORSE
 
RATING
 
4.3/5 (3 view(s))
3.5/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS NEAL MORSE
 
NEAL-MORSE_Jesus-Christ-The-Exorcist Jesus Christ The Exorcist (2019)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / ROCK
NEAL-MORSE_THE-GREAT-ADVENTURE The Great Adventure (2019)
RADIANT RECORDS / PROGRESSIVE ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

NEAL MORSE

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
JESUS CHRIST THE EXORCIST (2019)
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
ROCK

"En remettant au goût du jour les opéras rock des années 70, Neal Morse réalise un album exceptionnel et passionnant de bout en bout."
CORTO1809 - 01.07.2019 - (1) Avis des lecteurs - (1) commentaire(s)
5/5
Tout, ou presque, a déjà été écrit sur Neal Morse, le pire comme le meilleur, de son incroyable capacité à composer des mélodies plus séduisantes les unes que les autres à son talent incontestable d'interprète, à la fois chanteur charismatique et multi-instrumentiste doué, mais aussi de sa foi envahissante dont il fait la trame de tous ses albums à un style reconnaissable entre mille qui finit parfois par donner une impression de déjà-entendu à toutes ses productions. Avec au final une balance penchant fortement du côté des qualités, les défauts tenant du péché véniel. On croyait avoir tout écrit sur Neal Morse… jusqu'à ce nouvel album, double comme il se doit, "Jesus Christ The Exorcist".

Bon, rien qu'au titre, on sait déjà que ce n'est pas encore cette fois-ci que l'Américain renoncera à nous faire partager sa foi en musique : "Jesus Christ The Exorcist" est un opéra rock retraçant la vie de Jésus, de son baptême par Jean le Baptiste à sa résurrection, et on se demande même comment Neal Morse n'y avait pas pensé plus tôt. Non, la surprise vient de la partition, Neal Morse ressuscitant (c'est le mot) les opéras rock des années 70, de "Jesus Christ Superstar" qui partage la même thématique à "Tommy" des Who (qui est aussi l'histoire d'un messie !).

Pour ce faire, il s'entoure d'un effectif pléthorique : outre le groupe de musiciens où se retrouve une partie du Neal Morse Band (Eric Gillette se substituant derrière les fûts à Mike Portnoy qui n'est pas de l'aventure), se côtoient deux ensembles de cuivres et de cordes, de nombreux choristes et une douzaine de chanteurs. Le rôle-titre est tenu par Ted Leonard (Enchant, Spock's Beard), celui de Judas par Nick D'Virgilio (Spock's Beard, Big Big Train) et ceux de Pierre et de Caïphe par le seul Jake Livgren (Proto-Kaw) dans un étonnant numéro de dédoublement. Moins connus, Rick Florian, chanteur du groupe de rock chrétien White Heart, est un Satan des plus convaincants et Talon David, jeune chanteuse interprétant le rôle de Marie-Madeleine, est l'une des révélations de cet album, sa voix tour à tour mordante et sensuelle, rauque et aérienne, ne pouvant vous laisser indifférents. Neal Morse chante des rôles secondaires, s'illustrant notamment dans un étonnant Ponce Pilate où il est méconnaissable.

Les titres sont regroupés en chapitres en fonction de l'histoire. Si les chapitres sont séparés entre eux d'une courte interruption, les morceaux d'un même chapitre sont enchaînés à tel point qu'il est bien difficile de savoir quand on passe de l'un à l'autre sans avoir le livret sous les yeux. Comme dans tout opéra rock qui se respecte, les chansons sont au service de la narration et leur intensité/violence/douceur est directement liée à ce que l'histoire raconte. La musique ne sert cependant pas de faire-valoir, la preuve : les très beaux et spectaculaires solos de guitare et de claviers qui émaillent notamment le premier CD.

Car le ton change sensiblement entre le premier et le deuxième disques. Si l'Acte 1 est plutôt énergique, oscillant entre hard rock, heavy metal et metal mélodique, l'Acte 2 tient plus de la "comédie musicale" façon Broadway avec moins de solos (5 titres chantés "seul" pour le CD1, un seul sur le CD2), plus de partitions chorales et une tonalité plus douce, voire mélancolique, et parfois hymnique. La batterie déchaînée et les saillies de guitares électriques de la première partie laissent place aux claviers, cordes et cuivres nappant les compositions d'une teinte orchestrale. Difficile de faire ressortir un titre plus qu'un autre : "Jesus Christ The Exorcist" raconte une histoire et doit s'écouter comme un tout indissociable.

Avec son opéra rock, Neal Morse réalise un double miracle. D'abord, il tient l'auditeur en haleine durant les 110 minutes que dure l'album sans que jamais l'attention ne faiblisse, ensuite il réussit à faire oublier qu'il est derrière cet album sans perdre pour autant ses extraordinaires qualités de compositeur. Certes, on le reconnait parfois au détour d'une envolée (l'intro de 'Jesus' Temptation' rappelant les joutes enlevées de "?", un nouveau pastiche de 'Knots' (Gentle Giant) avec les voix des quatre démons qui s'entremêlent sur 'The Madman of the Gadarenes', la ballade folk acoustique 'Love Has Called My Name' ressemblant beaucoup à celles de "Testimony"). Mais il s'agit là d'exceptions noyées dans un maelström mêlant rock épique, metal prog, folk, douce ballade, hard rock, comédie musicale, pop, heavy metal, gospel, rock solaire ou hymnique.

En remettant au goût du jour les opéras rock des années 70, Neal Morse réalise un album exceptionnel et passionnant de bout en bout. Non seulement mon coup de cœur de l'année, mais probablement de la décennie, voire du siècle !

Plus d'information sur http://www.nealmorse.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
ROINE STOLT, UNITED PROGRESSIVE FRATERNITY, ECHOLYN, CHRIS, SPOCK'S BEARD, FLYING COLORS, TRANSATLANTIC, UNITOPIA, CHICAGO, THE PROG WORLD ORCHESTRA

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Introduction (02:31)
02. Overture (03:19)
03. Getaway (02:41)
04. Gather the People (05:17)
05. Jesus' Baptism (03:09)
06. Jesus' Temptation (10:18)
07. There's a Highway (04:06)
08. The Woman of Seven Devils (05:42)
09. Free at Last (05:05)
10. The Madman of the Gadarenes (07:07)
11. Love Has Called My Name (04:15)
12. Better Weather (01:42)
13. The Keys to the Kingdom (04:48)
14. Get Behind Me Satan (03:23)
15. He Must Go to the Cross (03:10)
16. Jerusalem (03:56)
17. Hearts Full of Holes (03:40)
18. The Last Supper (03:51)
19. Gethsemane (07:39)
20. Jesus Before the Council and Peter's Denial (03:13)
21. Judas' Death (03:35)
22. Jesus Before Pilate and the Crucifixion (08:17)
23. Mary at the Tomb (02:50) 24. The Greatest Love of All (05:00)
25. Love Has Called My Name (Reprise) (01:30)


FORMATION:
Neal Morse: Guitares / Basse / Claviers / Chant ( Pilate, Démon 1, Disciple 1) / Choeurs
Randy George: Basse
Amy Pippin: Choeurs
April Zachary: Choeurs
Bill Hubauer: Claviers
David Cooper: Trombone
Debbie Bressee: Choeurs
Dominique Caster: Trompette
Eric Gillette: Guitares / Batterie
Gabe Klein: Chant (démon 2, Pharisien 4)
Gabriel Collins: Saxophone / Flûte
Gideon Klein: Chant (démon 4) / Violon / Alto / Violoncelle / Contrebasse / Cor / Arrangement De Cordes
Grace Laminack: Alto
Holly Smith: Cor
Jake Livgren: Chant ( Pierre, Caïphe) / Choeurs
Jake Tudor: Violon
Julie Harrison: Chant (servante) / Choeurs
Mark Pogue: Chant (israélite 1, Le Fou Des Gadarenes, Pharisien 2) / Choeurs
Matt Smith : Chant ( Jean Le Baptiste)
Michael Jackson: Choeurs
Nick D'Virgilio: Chant ( Judas)
Paul Bielatowicz: Guitares
Rick Florian: Chant (le Diable)
Steve Patrick: Trompette
Talon David: Chant ( Marie Madeleine)
Ted Leonard: Chant ( Jesus)
Wil Morse: Claviers / Chant (israélite 2, Démon 3, Pharisien 1) / Choeurs


TAGS:
70's, Symphonique, Opera Rock
 
 
(1) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
LOLO_THE_BEST59 - 11/10/2019 -
0 0
5/5
Mais comment cet homme fait-il? Touché par la grâce il est, c'est sûr !
Haut de page
(1) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
PICSO - 01/06/2020 22:01:29
0
Un modèle ! Un Chef d'oeuvre sans pareil ! Neal Morse est tout simplement inspiré, transcendant... Les superlatifs me manquent pour qualifier cet album, maîtrisé de bout en bout... A écouter en boucle.
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC NEAL MORSE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
NEAL MORSE: Sortie du nouvel album en septembre
Toutes les actualités sur NEAL MORSE
DERNIER ARTICLE
NEAL MORSE BAND - LE DIVAN DU MONDE (PARIS) - 05 AVRIL 2017
La tournée du Neal Morse Band faisait escale à Paris, au Divan Du Monde, dans le cadre de la tournée "A Road Called Home" afin de donner vie au dernier album en date du groupe, l'excellent "The Similitude Of A Dream". Music Waves a écouté la bonne parole. Tous les articles sur NEAL MORSE
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
Neal Morse nous a donné rendez vous juste avant le concert au Divan du Monde pour aborder son dernier album, son groupe et nous faire partager sa spiritualité.

NOTES
4.2/5 (4 avis) 4.3/5 (3 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
FORTUNE: Ii (2019)
A.O.R. Un album d'AOR qui rappelle de vieux souvenirs.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
KOSM: Cosmonaut (2018)
METAL PROGRESSIF "Cosmonaut" est un album en demi-teinte : ses compositions sont balisées et prévisibles alors que sa musique est belle, efficace et simple.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT NEAL MORSE
NEAL-MORSE_THE-GREAT-ADVENTURE
The Great Adventure (2019)
4/5
4.3/5
RADIANT RECORDS / ROCK PROGRESSIF
NEAL-MORSE_Life--Times
Life & Times (2018)
4/5
5/5
RADIANT RECORDS / POP
NEAL-MORSE_The-Similitude-of-a-Dream
The Similitude Of A Dream (2016)
5/5
4.4/5
RADIANT RECORDS / ROCK PROGRESSIF
NEAL-MORSE_The-Grand-Experiment
The Grand Experiment (2015)
5/5
4.2/5
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / ROCK PROGRESSIF
NEAL-MORSE_Songs-From-November
Songs From November (2014)
3/5
3/5
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / ROCK PROGRESSIF
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020