MW / Home / Reviews / VOLBEAT: Rewind • Replay • Rebound
BAND/AUTHOR:

VOLBEAT

(DENMARK)

TITLE:
REWIND • REPLAY • REBOUND
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
UNIVERSAL
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL
"Even if it lacks originality or a great evolution, "Rewind-Replay-Rebound" will certainly satisfy the fans of the band and even allow Volbeat to win new ones thanks to its constant accessibility."
CALGEPO - 05.09.2019 -
Over the course of a well-stocked discography, Volbeat has created a sound of its own in which traditional rock blends with hard and pop. Still focused on melodic research, the new album, whose name forms a triptych "Rewind.Replay.Rebound" that calls for nostalgia, will not shake what the band has built over the years.

This rewinding starts off with a "Last Day Under The Sun" with US rock accents that Volbeat has been adding to his work for a long time. The chorus is catchy especially with the irresistible choral spirit at the very end. This mix of genres is embodied in the next title "Pelvis On Fire", a kind of boogie rock supercharged with growth hormones that squash everything in its path. We feel a deep respect of the band for the traditional rock that the quartet tries to get out of mothballs by adding a metal touch in the last third of the track. This powerful rock'n roll base is found on a multitude of tracks on the album ('Sorry Sack Of Bones','Cheapside Sloggers') where the classic but classy riffs make you nostalgic with a very modern energy carried by Michael Poulsen's powerful voice. Having two guitars makes it possible to add weight to the already solid rhythmic while enamelling the songs with short, well-packed solos. 

If the album is cruelly lacking in surprises, one can only bow to Volbeat's science to produce heady tracks that immediately come to mind ('Cloud 9') or even gently folk ballads such as "7:24" which with its few country rock finery lets the imagination wander in the great American spaces. The nostalgia evoked in the title of the album is perfectly embodied in the well named "When We Were Kids" with its simple melody anchored in the 80s, without falling into the disgusting melody.  

Listening to this new album, the listener is rejuvenated. Even if it lacks originality or great evolution, it will certainly satisfy the fans of the band and even allow Volbeat to win new ones thanks to its constant accessibility and its writing quality.

More informations on http://www.volbeat.dk/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

METALLICA, THE NEW BLACK, DANKO JONES, SPITFIRE, NOTE TO AMY

TRACK LISTING

01. Last Day Under The Sun
02. Pelvis On Fire
03. Rewind The Exit
04. Die To Live Featuring Neil Fallon
05. When We Were Kids
06. Sorry Sack Of Bones
07. Cloud 9
08. Cheapside Sloggers
09. Maybe I Believe
10. Parasite
11. Leviathan
12. The Awakening Of Bonnie Parker
13. The Everlasting
14. 7:24


LINEUP

Jon Larsen: Batterie
Kaspar Boye Larsen: Basse
Michael Poulsen: Chant / Guitares
Rob Caggiano: Guitares


TAGS:
80's, Easy Listening / FM, Folk
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS VOLBEAT
LAST NEWS
VOLBEAT: New song
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about VOLBEAT
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS VOLBEAT
 
VOLBEAT_REWIND-•-REPLAY-•-REBOUND Rewind • Replay • Rebound (2019)
UNIVERSAL / HEAVY METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

.
.
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

VOLBEAT

(DANEMARK)

TITRE:
REWIND • REPLAY • REBOUND (2019)
LABEL:
UNIVERSAL
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL

"Même s’il manque d'originalité ou d'une grande évolution, "Rewind-Replay-Rebound" contentera certainement les fans du groupe voire permettra à Volbeat d'en gagner de nouveaux grâce à une accessibilité de tous les instants, à sa qualité d'écriture et à sa démarche surannée à la patine authentique."
CALGEPO - 05.09.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
4/5
Au fil d'une discographie bien fournie, Volbeat a su créer un son qui lui est propre dans lequel le rock traditionnel se mêle au hard et à la pop. Toujours axé sur la recherche mélodique exacerbée, le nouvel album dont le nom forme un triptyque "Rewind.Replay.Rebound" qui appelle à la nostalgie, à l'image de ces petits caïds en noir et blanc figurant sur la belle pochette, ne va pas ébranler ce que le groupe a bâti au fil des ans.

Ce rembobinage démarre sur les chapeaux de roues avec un 'Last Day Under The Sun' aux accents rock US dont Volbeat émaille son œuvre depuis longtemps. Le refrain est accrocheur surtout avec l'esprit choral irrésistible à la toute fin. Ce mélange des genres se trouve incarné dans le titre suivant 'Pelvis On Fire', sorte de boogie rock survitaminé aux hormones de croissance qui renverse tout sur son passage. On sent un profond respect du groupe pour le rock traditionnel que le quatuor essaye un peu de sortir de la naphtaline en y apportant une touche metal dans le dernier tiers du morceau. Cette base rock'n roll teintée de puissance se retrouve sur une multitude de titres de l'album ('Sorry Sack Of Bones', 'Cheapside Sloggers') où les riffs certes classiques mais de grande classe rendent nostalgiques avec une énergie très moderne portée par la voix puissante de Michael Poulsen. Le fait d'avoir deux guitares permet d’alourdir la rythmique déjà solide tout en émaillant les chansons de courts soli bien troussés.

Si l'album manque cruellement de surprises, on ne peut que s'incliner devant la science de Volbeat pour pondre des titres entêtants qui rentrent immédiatement en mémoire ('Cloud 9') voire des ballades gentiment folk tel que la clôture '7:24' qui avec ses quelques atours country rock laisse l'imagination vagabonder dans les grands espaces américains. La nostalgie évoquée dans le titre de l'album s'incarne parfaitement dans le bien nommé 'When We Were Kids' à la mélodie simple ancrée dans les années 80, sans pour autant tomber dans le mélo écœurant. 

A l'écoute de ce nouvel album de jouvence, l'auditeur rajeunit. Même s’il manque d'originalité ou d'une grande évolution, il contentera certainement les fans du groupe voire permettra à Volbeat d'en gagner de nouveaux grâce à une accessibilité de tous les instants, à sa qualité d'écriture et à sa démarche surannée à la patine authentique.

Plus d'information sur http://www.volbeat.dk/



GROUPES PROCHES:
NOTE TO AMY, SPITFIRE, THE NEW BLACK, DANKO JONES, METALLICA

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Last Day Under The Sun
02. Pelvis On Fire
03. Rewind The Exit
04. Die To Live Featuring Neil Fallon
05. When We Were Kids
06. Sorry Sack Of Bones
07. Cloud 9
08. Cheapside Sloggers
09. Maybe I Believe
10. Parasite
11. Leviathan
12. The Awakening Of Bonnie Parker
13. The Everlasting
14. 7:24


FORMATION:
Jon Larsen: Batterie
Kaspar Boye Larsen: Basse
Michael Poulsen: Chant / Guitares
Rob Caggiano: Guitares


TAGS:
80's, Accessible / FM, Folk
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC VOLBEAT
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
VOLBEAT : Nouvelle vidéo
Toutes les actualités sur VOLBEAT
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
A l'occasion de la sortie du nouveau Volbeat "Seal The Deal & Let's Boogie", Music Waves a rencontré son nouveau guitariste/ producteur l'ex-Anthrax Rob Caggiano...

NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 4/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
ISILDURS BANE & PETER HAMMILL: In Amazonia (2019)
ROCK PROGRESSIF Isildurs Bane et Peter Hammill unissent leurs efforts pour livrer un album à la hauteur de leurs talents.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
THE DAMNED THINGS: High Crimes (2019)
HEAVY METAL Ce nouvel album de The Damned Things est un bel OVNI. A la fois barré et accessible, il vous fera voyager sur des montagnes russes avec une belle variété de genres, du progressif au hard en passant par la pop.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT VOLBEAT
VOLBEAT_Seal-The-Deal--Let-s-Boogie
Seal The Deal & Let's Boogie (2016)
4/5
4/5
AUTRE LABEL / HEAVY METAL
VOLBEAT_Outlaw-Gentlemen--Shady-Ladies
Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies (2013)
4/5
3/5
UNIVERSAL / HEAVY METAL
VOLBEAT_Beyond-Hell-Above-Heaven
Beyond Hell Above Heaven (2011)
4/5
-/5
VERTIGO / HEAVY METAL
 
.
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020