MW / Home / Reviews / KORN: The Nothing
BAND/AUTHOR:

KORN

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
THE NOTHING
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
NEO/NU METAL
"The passing of time definitely doesn't seem to have any hold on Korn, who offers with "The Nothing" a dark and powerful album."
DARIALYS - 18.09.2019 -
Three years after "The Serenity Of Suffering", the nu metal giant is back with his thirteenth album. This enigmatic title came to the singer Jonathan Davis following one of the worst tragedies that can happen to a man one day: the loss of his wife, following an overdose, on August 17, 2018. Overwhelmed by a feeling of emptiness, Korn's leader then decided to work on a new album that he would call "The Nothing", in reference to the emptiness that seemed to have taken over him following the death of his ex-spouse. The theme of death is indeed omnipresent in this opus that Jonathan Davis himself describes as Korn's most emotionally heavy album.

Despite this loss, on a musical level, the message is clear: Korn is still the same. 'The End Begins' is sufficient on its own to express this stylistic stability from the very first seconds with a bagpipe, like 'Shoots And Ladders' or 'Let's Do This Now' on previous albums. 'Cold', the first single, uses the ingredients that have shaped the unique sound of the American combo: the usual dissonances, a heavy rhythmic, a snoring bass and very present on the verses. The listener will not be disoriented with this very successful piece.

Although immersed in pain, the singer of the quartet is particularly fit and offers a song that is sometimes clear, sometimes guttural, always powerful. We also find his famous painful gimmicks on the end of 'You'll Never Find Me' and 'The Darkness Is Revealing' as it was the case on old titles like the unmissable 'Blind'.

Apart from the previously named tracks, there are some highlights such as "Idiosyncrasy" which presents all the qualities that the listener loves about Korn: very powerful moments, growl to support them, a very well-sounding chorus, almost rapped phrasing and tasty dissonances. 'Finally Free' is also very convincing thanks to a chorus that will remind us of the "Take A Look In The Mirror" period. The mysterious "This Loss" is also one of the highlights of the album. The singer's pain hangs over this track with its super-powerful riff at the beginning, its plaintive verses and its beautiful bridge.

Some may blame the band for being overheated and lacking in originality, while others, on the contrary, may be delighted to see their favourite band remain in their usual style. Anyway, Korn makes Korn and remains faithful to what he has always known how to do, and of course we can't blame them for that.

Despite nearly 30 years of existence, the passing of time definitely doesn't seem to have any hold on Korn, who offers with "The Nothing" a dark and powerful album as the Americans know how to do them so well. While some bands tend to run out of steam over the long term, Californians always seem to be in shape, to the delight of their fans.

More informations on http://modlife.com/korn

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

SLIPKNOT, PRIMARY SLAVE, MARILYN MANSON, LIMP BIZKIT

TRACK LISTING

01. The End Begins
02. Cold
03. You’ll Never Find Me
04. The Darkness Is Revealing
05. Idiosyncrasy
06. The Seduction Of Indulgence
07. Finally Free
08. Can You Hear Me
09. The Ringmaster
10. Gravity Of Discomfort
11. H@rd3r
12. This Loss
13. Surrender To Failure


LINEUP

Brian Welch: Guitares
James "Munky" Shaffer : Guitares
Jonathan Davis: Chant
Ray Luzier: Batterie
Reginald "Fieldy" Arvizu: Basse


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Heavy, Rasping voice, Guttural voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS KORN
LAST NEWS
KORN: New song
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about KORN
 
RATING
 
3/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS KORN
 
KORN_The-Nothing The Nothing (2019)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / NEO/NU METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / KORN: The Nothing
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

KORN

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
THE NOTHING
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
NEO/NU METAL
"Avec un nouvel opus lourd et puissant comme à l'accoutumée, Korn n'a pas pris une ride."
DARIALYS - 18.09.2019 -
Trois ans après "The Serenity Of Suffering", le géant du nu metal est de retour avec son treizième album. Ce titre énigmatique est venu au chanteur Jonathan Davis suite à l’un des pires drames qui puisse arriver un jour à un homme : la perte de sa femme, suite à une overdose, le 17 août 2018. Envahi par une sensation de vide, le leader de Korn décide alors de travailler sur un nouvel album qu’il baptisera "The Nothing", en référence au néant qui semble s’être emparé de lui suite au décès de son ex-conjointe. Le thème de la mort est en effet omniprésent dans cet opus que Jonathan Davis en personne décrit comme l’album le plus émotionnellement lourd de Korn.

Malgré ce deuil, au niveau musical, le message est clair : Korn est toujours le même. ‘The End Begins’ se suffit à lui tout seul pour exprimer cette stabilité stylistique et ce, dès les premières secondes, avec une cornemuse qui débute seule, à l’instar de ‘Shoots And Ladders’ ou de ‘Let’s Do This Now’ sur les albums précédents. ‘Cold’, premier single, utilise les ingrédients qui ont façonné le son unique du combo américain : les dissonances habituelles, une rythmique lourde, une basse ronflante et très présente sur les couplets. L’auditeur ne sera ainsi pas dépaysé avec ce morceau très réussi.

Bien qu’étant plongé dans la douleur, le chanteur du quatuor est particulièrement en forme et propose un chant tantôt clair, tantôt guttural, toujours puissant. On retrouve aussi ses fameux gimmicks douloureux sur la fin de ‘You’ll Never Find Me’ et de ‘The Darkness Is Revealing’ comme c’était le cas sur d’anciens titres comme l’immanquable ‘Blind’.

A part sur les morceaux précédemment nommés, on retrouve quelques highlights à l’instar de ‘Idiosyncrasy’ qui présente toutes les qualités dont l’auditeur raffole chez Korn : des moments très puissants, growl à l’appui, un refrain très bien senti, des phrasés presque rappés et des dissonances savoureuses. ‘Finally Free’ est lui aussi très convaincant grâce à un refrain qui rappellera la période "Take A Look In The Mirror". Le mystérieux ‘This Loss’ fait aussi partie des temps forts du disque. La douleur du chanteur plane sur ce titre avec son riff d’entrée surpuissant, ses couplets plaintifs et son très beau pont.

Certains pourront reprocher au groupe de faire du réchauffé et de manquer d'originalité, tandis que d'autres, bien au contraire, seront ravis de voir leur groupe favori rester dans son style habituel. Qu'importe, Korn fait du Korn et reste fidèle à ce qu'il a toujours su faire, et on ne peut bien évidemment pas les blâmer pour ça.

Malgré près de 30 ans d'existence, le temps qui passe ne semble décidément pas avoir d’emprise sur Korn qui propose avec "The Nothing" un album sombre et puissant comme les Américains savent si bien les faire. Alors que certains groupes ont tendance à s’essouffler sur la durée, les Californiens semblent toujours en pleine bourre, pour le plus grand plaisir de leurs fans.

Plus d'information sur http://modlife.com/korn

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
SLIPKNOT, PRIMARY SLAVE, MARILYN MANSON, LIMP BIZKIT

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. The End Begins
02. Cold
03. You’ll Never Find Me
04. The Darkness Is Revealing
05. Idiosyncrasy
06. The Seduction Of Indulgence
07. Finally Free
08. Can You Hear Me
09. The Ringmaster
10. Gravity Of Discomfort
11. H@rd3r
12. This Loss
13. Surrender To Failure


FORMATION:
Brian Welch: Guitares
James "Munky" Shaffer : Guitares
Jonathan Davis: Chant
Ray Luzier: Batterie
Reginald "Fieldy" Arvizu: Basse


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Lourde, Chant éraillé, Chant guttural
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC KORN
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
KORN : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant KORN
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Jour 3, la fatigue se fait un peu ressentir mais la qualité de l'affiche va vite faire oublier cela.

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant KORN
 
NOTES
 
3/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT KORN
 
KORN_The-Nothing The Nothing (2019)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / NEO/NU METAL
KORN_The-Serenity-Of-Suffering The Serenity Of Suffering (2016)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / NEO/NU METAL
KORN_The-Paradigm-Shift The Paradigm Shift (2013)
AUTRE LABEL / NEO/NU METAL
KORN_Live-At-The-Hollywood-Palladium Live At The Hollywood Palladium (2012)
AFM RECORDS / AUTRES
KORN_The-Path-Of-Totality The Path Of Totality (2011)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / NEO/NU METAL
KORN_Korn-III-Remember-Who-You-Are- Korn III : Remember Who You Are (2010)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / NEO/NU METAL
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020