MW / Home / Reviews / SINNER: Santa Muerte
BAND/AUTHOR:

SINNER

(GERMANY)

TITLE:
SANTA MUERTE
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
AFM RECORDS
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
""A good opus by Sinner - with the appearance of a female singer - but inferior to the previous one"
"

LYNOTT - 20.09.2019 -
For 37 years now, the German bassist Matt Sinner has been offering us albums by his leading group. 18 albums, that's remarkable. "Tequila Sunrise" had left us on our august posterior in 2017. Will the new one "Santa Muerte", again spank our fleshy seats? Will this frantic rhythm of an album every two years, coupled with the releases of opuses from the Mister's other combos and projects (Primal Fear, Kiske/Sommerville, Silent Force, Voodoo Circle), finally dry up the blond fifty-year-old's source of inspiration? To find out, follow the guide.

Those who know Sinner know that the combo's particularity is to offer German heavy rock tracks associated with songs that clearly show its leader's attachment to Thin Lizzy. Thus, it is not with the opening of the album - an Accept riff - that followers will fall from the sky when listening to "Shine On". In fact, they will have to wait precisely 43 seconds for that. A little less than a minute before Giorgia Colleluori came on stage to push the ritornello. The idea of a mixture of discs glides fleetingly over the listener's face, before vanishing. Sinner has realy feminised himself on this "Santa Muerte". In part at least because Matt is supporting the young lady on this track and five others, including 'Last Exit Hell' (what a slap) and'The Wolf' (much less exciting) based on the style of the first track mentioned above.

Thin Lizzy's arrive on the second track, a'Fiesta Y Copas' that puts you in a good mood and where Matt and Ronnie Romero (the new Rainbow singer) battle on the microphone (Giorgia taking over the choirs). Lynott's combo comes back for a little visit on'What Went Wrong', helped by Ricky Warwick's vocals, Black Star Riders' vocalist, Lizzy's descendant combo. This is also the case, thanks to the guitars, of'Lucky 13', to which we will prefer the thrilling and Irish'The Ballad Of Jack' and the attractive - and no less Irish on the break, the intro and the outro -'Stormy Night' where Matt and Giorgia vocalize.

Matt also knows how to handle the microphone on his own and stars "Carving", which would have pleased the regreted Phil Lynott once again, and "Santa Muerte" (the eponymous title), a little melodic nugget. Giorgia also tries her hand at solitary trills on two blues. One restful, a cover of the bluesman Son House, with'Death Letter' (Magnus Karlsson is on guitar) and a more biting one with'Mysty Mountain'. Two titles of this musical style in a Sinner opus leave us in doubt. It is not certain that the variation of pleasures is the leitmotiv of the followers of the German with four strings.

In conclusion, we will remember that Sinner's new album contains a good mix of striking tracks reminiscent of Thin Lizzy and some German heavy rock tracks that will please fans. Adepts of the Lynott's band will find that the former are not present in sufficient numbers and germanic sound lovers will think the same about their preferences. From this to say that "Santa Muerte" doesn't reach the peaks of "Tequila Sunrise", there is only one step that many would be likely to take.
 

More informations on http://www.matsinner.de/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

U.D.O., THIN LIZZY, RUNNING WILD, GRAVE DIGGER, SILENT FORCE, ROSS THE BOSS, PRIVATE ANGEL, ARTHEMIS

TRACK LISTING

01. Shine On
02. Fiesta Y Copas
03. Santa Muerte
04. Last Exit Hell
05. What Went Wrong
06. Lucky 13
07. Death Letter
08. Craving
09. The Wolf
10. Misty Mountain
11. The Ballad Of Jack
12. Stormy Night


LINEUP

Alex Scholpp: Guitares
Giorgia Colleluori: Chant
Magnus Karlsson: Guitares
Markus Kullmann: Batterie
Matt Sinner: Chant / Basse
Ricky Warwick: Chant
Tom Naumann: Guitares
Neil Witchard: Invité / Choeurs
Ronnie Romero: Chant / Invité
Sacha Krebs: Invité / Choeurs


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Female voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS SINNER
LAST NEWS
SINNER: Santa Muerte
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about SINNER
 
RATING
 
3.7/5 (3 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS SINNER
 
SINNER_Santa-Muerte Santa Muerte (2019)
AFM RECORDS / HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

SINNER

(ALLEMAGNE)

TITRE:
SANTA MUERTE (2019)
LABEL:
AFM RECORDS
GENRE:
HARD ROCK

"Un bon opus de Sinner - avec l’apparition d'une chanteuse - mais inférieur au précédent."
LYNOTT - 20.09.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
3/5
Cela fait 37 ans que le germanique bassiste Matt Sinner nous propose des albums de sa formation phare. 18 albums au compteur, voilà qui en impose. "Tequila Suicide" nous avait laissés sur notre auguste postérieur en 2017. Le petit dernier, "Santa Muerte" va-t-il à nouveau malmener nos charnues assises ? Ce rythme effréné d'un album tous les deux ans, couplé avec les sorties des opus issus des autres combos et projets du Monsieur (Primal Fear, Kiske/Sommerville, Silent Force, Voodoo Circle), va-t-il finir par tarir la source d'inspiration du blondinet quinquagénaire ? Pour le savoir, suivez le guide.

Ceux qui connaissent Sinner savent que la particularité du combo est de proposer des titres de heavy rock allemand associés à des morceaux qui montrent avec évidence l'attachement de son leader à Thin Lizzy. Aussi ce n'est pas avec l'entrée en matière de l'album - un riff à la Accept - que les adeptes tomberont des nues à l'écoute de 'Shine On'. En fait, ils devront attendre précisément 43 secondes pour cela. Un peu moins d'une minute avant que Giorgia Colleluori n'entre en scène pour pousser la ritournelle. L'idée d'un mélange de disque plane fugacement sur la mine circonspecte de l'auditeur, avant de s'évanouir. Sinner s'est bien féminisé sur ce "Santa Muerte". En partie en tous cas puisque Matt épaule la demoiselle sur ce titre et sur cinq autres, dont 'Last Exit Hell' (belle baffe ma foi) et 'The Wolf' (bien moins emballant) calqués sur le style du premier titre susmentionné.

De Thin Lizzy il est question dés le second morceau, un 'Fiesta Y Copas' qui met de bonne humeur et où Matt et Ronnie Romero (le nouveau chanteur de Rainbow) s'asticotent au micro (Giorgia assurant les chœurs). Le combo de Lynott revient nous rendre une petite visite sur 'What Went Wrong', aidé en cela par l'organe vocal de Ricky Warwick, le chanteur de Black Star Riders, le combo descendant de Lizzy. C'est le cas également, grâce aux guitares, de 'Lucky 13' auquel on préférera le trépignant et fort irlandais 'The Ballad Of Jack' et l'accrocheur - et non moins irlandais sur le break, l'intro et l'outro - 'Stormy Night' où Matt et Giorgia vocalisent.

Matt sait également se débrouiller seul au micro et met ainsi en vedette 'Carving' - qui aurait fort plu une fois de plus au regretté Phil Lynott - et 'Santa Muerte' (le titre éponyme), petite pépite mélodique. Giorgia s'essaye également aux trilles solitaires sur deux blues. L'un reposant, une reprise du bluesman Son House, avec 'Death Letter' (Magnus Karlsson est à la guitare), et un plus mordant avec 'Mysty Mountain'. Deux titres de cette obédience musicale dans un opus de Sinner laissent finalement dubitatif : il n'est pas certain que la variation des plaisirs soit le leitmotiv des suiveurs de l'Allemand à la quatre cordes.

En conclusion nous retiendrons de ce nouvel album de Sinner qu'il contient une bonne brassée de morceaux marquants rappelant Thin Lizzy et quelques titres de heavy rock allemand qui pourront plaire aux amateurs. Les fans de la bande de Lynott trouveront que les premiers ne sont pas présents en assez grand nombre et les adorateurs des sons germaniques n'en penseront pas moins sur leurs préférences. De là à dire que "Santa Muerte" n'arrive pas à atteindre les sommets de "Tequila Suicide", il n'y a qu'un pas que bon nombre seraient susceptibles de franchir.

Plus d'information sur http://www.matsinner.de/



GROUPES PROCHES:
U.D.O., ARTHEMIS, ROSS THE BOSS, THIN LIZZY, PRIVATE ANGEL, GRAVE DIGGER, SILENT FORCE, RUNNING WILD

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Shine On
02. Fiesta Y Copas
03. Santa Muerte
04. Last Exit Hell
05. What Went Wrong
06. Lucky 13
07. Death Letter
08. Craving
09. The Wolf
10. Misty Mountain
11. The Ballad Of Jack
12. Stormy Night


FORMATION:
Alex Scholpp: Guitares
Giorgia Colleluori: Chant
Magnus Karlsson: Guitares
Markus Kullmann: Batterie
Matt Sinner: Chant / Basse
Ricky Warwick: Chant
Tom Naumann: Guitares
Neil Witchard: Invité / Choeurs
Ronnie Romero: Chant / Invité
Sacha Krebs: Invité / Choeurs


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Chant féminin
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC SINNER
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
SINNER: Nouvel album en septembre
Toutes les actualités sur SINNER
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 3.7/5 (3 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
TIDES FROM NEBULA: From Voodoo To Zen (2019)
POST ROCK Jamais ennuyeux, "From Voodoo To Zen" conserve les codes du genre et en crée de nouveaux. Un renouvellement permanent et une des surprises majeures de cette rentrée.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
NEW ORDER: ∑(no,12k,lg,17mif) (2019)
POP En plus d'une heure et demie, New Order revisite en les modernisant les perles rares de son répertoire, sans oublier de surprendre.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT SINNER
SINNER_Tequila-Suicide
Tequila Suicide (2017)
5/5
-/5
AFM RECORDS / HARD ROCK
SINNER_Touch-Of-Sin-2
Touch Of Sin 2 (2013)
4/5
-/5
AFM RECORDS / HEAVY METAL
SINNER_One-Bullet-Left
One Bullet Left (2011)
4/5
2/5
AFM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
SINNER_Crash-And-Burn
Crash And Burn (2008)
4/5
-/5
AFM RECORDS / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
SINNER_Mask-Of-Sanity
Mask Of Sanity (2007)
3/5
-/5
MTM / HEAVY METAL
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020