MW / Home / Reviews / IMPERIA: Flames Of Eternity
BAND/AUTHOR:

IMPERIA

(NETHERLANDS)

TITLE:
FLAMES OF ETERNITY
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
MASSACRE RECORDS
GENRE:
GOTHIC METAL
""Flames Of Eternity" will not leave much of a mark on people's minds, only addressing fans of Imperia and this gothic metal from another age."
CHILDERIC THOR - 10.07.2019 -
We can't help but feel tenderness for Helena Iren Michaelsen, singer with Trail Of Tears with whom she engraved "Disclosure In Red" then "Profoundemonium" at the dawn of the 2000s before joining, for the duration of a single demo ("Cry For The Moon"), Epica when the band was not yet called as such but Sahara Dust.

Since then, between Imperia and Angel, her two projects, let us acknowledge that her career interests only a handful of irreducible people who have not forgotten her. That she hadn't recorded anything in four years and the little memorable "Tears of Silence" only confirmed the decline of a singer who finally missed a talented band to serve as a showcase. The musicians who accompany her are certainly not beginners like drummer Steve Wolz (Deinonychus) and guitarist Jan 'Örkki' Yrlund (ex Ancient Rites) but the sympho gothic metal only inspires them a warmed-up art that falls into all the pompous panels of the genre. 

And it is not this "Flames Of Eternity" that will correct the situation. Its title of a confusing banality testifies to the platitude of its content. For an hour that seems never to end, Imperia slips into the skin of an Epica-like that it will always remain, minus the meaning of Mark Jansen's writing and arrangements. This fourth effort is not bad but it is simply dated and has no personality even if the Dutch succeed a first half of the disc that is not without quality. "The Scarred Soul", "Fear Is An Illusion" and especially "Blinded" vibrate with a dark symphonic emphasis. But mannered ballads where the emotion is fallow ('Beauty Within') and melodies heard a thousand times elsewhere end up on a record that arrives too late. There remain the vocal lines supported by the beautiful Helena and the compositions that are finally listened to without displeasure. 

"Flames Of Eternity" will not leave much of a mark on people's minds, only addressing fans of Imperia and this gothic metal from another age.

More informations on http://www.helena-michaelsen.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

EPICA

TRACK LISTING

01. The Scarred Soul - 05:31
02. Fear Is An Illusion - 04:57
03. Unspoken Words - 04:12
04. Book Of Love - 04:47
05. Blinded - 03:39
06. Invisible Tears - 07:40
07. Otherside - 05:16
08. Beauty Within - 04:11
09. My Guardian Angel - 05:20
10. The Ocean - 05:57
11. A Crying Heart - 04:21


LINEUP

Gerry Verstreken : Basse
Helena Iren Michaelsen: Chant
Jan Yrlund: Guitares
Steve Wolz: Batterie


TAGS:
Symphonic, Female voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS IMPERIA
 
RATING
 
3/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS IMPERIA
 
IMPERIA_FLAMES-OF-ETERNITY Flames Of Eternity (2019)
MASSACRE RECORDS / GOTHIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

IMPERIA

(HOLLANDE)

TITRE:
FLAMES OF ETERNITY (2019)
LABEL:
MASSACRE RECORDS
GENRE:
METAL GOTHIQUE

""Flames Of Eternity" ne marquera guère les esprits, ne s'adressant qu'aux fans d'Imperia et de ce gothic metal d'un autre âge."
CHILDERIC THOR - 10.07.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
2/5
On ne peut s'empêcher de ressentir de la tendresse pour Helena Iren Michaelsen, chanteuse à la beauté plantureuse un peu vulgaire et aux vocalises idoines, d'abord cantatrice chez Trail Of Tears avec lequel elle a gravé à l'aube des années 2000 "Disclosure In Red" puis "Profoundemonium" avant de rejoindre, le temps d'une unique démo ("Cry For The Moon"), Epica quand le groupe ne s'appelait pas encore ainsi mais Sahara Dust.

Depuis lors, entre Imperia et Angel, ses deux projets, reconnaissons que sa carrière n'intéresse guère qu'une poignée d'irréductibles qui ne l'ont pas oubliée. Qu'elle n'ait rien enregistré depuis quatre ans et le peu mémorable "Tears of Silence" n'a fait que confirmer le déclin d'une chanteuse à laquelle il aura finalement manqué une formation talentueuse pour lui servir d'écrin. Les musiciens qui l'accompagnent ne sont certes pas des débutants à l'image du batteur Steve Wolz (Deinonychus) et du guitariste Jan 'Örkki' Yrlund (ex Ancient Rites) mais le sympho gothic metal ne leur inspire qu'un art réchauffé qui tombe dans tous les panneaux pompeux du genre.

Et ce n'est pas ce "Flames Of Eternity" qui va corriger le tir. Son titre d'une banalité confondante témoigne malgré lui de la platitude de son contenu. Pendant une heure qui semble ne jamais vouloir s'achever, Imperia se glisse dans la peau du sous-Epica qu'il demeurera toujours, le sens de l'écriture et des arrangements de Mark Jansen en moins. Ce quatrième effort n'est pas mauvais en soi mais il est simplement daté et vierge de personnalité. Les Hollandais font pourtant illusion lors d'une première moitié qui n'est pas sans qualité. 'The Scarred Soul', 'Fear Is An illusion' et surtout 'Blinded' vibrent ainsi d'une emphase sombrement symphonique dans un style toujours fortement ampoulé. Mais de mièvres ballades où l'émotion est en jachère ('Beauty Within') et des mélodies entendues mille fois ailleurs finissent par grever un disque qui arrive trop tard. Restent les lignes vocales appuyées de la belle Helena et des compos qui s'écoutent au final sans déplaisir.

Force est néanmoins d'admettre que "Flames Of Eternity" ne marquera guère les esprits, ne s'adressant qu'aux fans d'Imperia et de ce gothic metal d'un autre âge.

Plus d'information sur http://www.helena-michaelsen.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
EPICA

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. The Scarred Soul - 05:31
02. Fear Is An Illusion - 04:57
03. Unspoken Words - 04:12
04. Book Of Love - 04:47
05. Blinded - 03:39
06. Invisible Tears - 07:40
07. Otherside - 05:16
08. Beauty Within - 04:11
09. My Guardian Angel - 05:20
10. The Ocean - 05:57
11. A Crying Heart - 04:21


FORMATION:
Gerry Verstreken : Basse
Helena Iren Michaelsen: Chant
Jan Yrlund: Guitares
Steve Wolz: Batterie


TAGS:
Symphonique, Chant féminin
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC IMPERIA
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
IMPERIA : Nouvelle lyric vidéo
Toutes les actualités sur IMPERIA
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 3/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
HOLLIS BROWN: Ozone Park (2019)
POP Hollis Brown signe un album de pop américaine sans prétention mais qui s’écoute agréablement.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
KINETIC ELEMENT: The Face Of Life (2019)
ROCK PROGRESSIF "The Face of Life" est un album à découvrir et qui nécessitera quelques écoutes pour intégrer tous ses éléments qui, une fois assemblés, procureront de bons moments musicaux à l'auditeur attentif.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT IMPERIA
IMPERIA_Secret-Passion
Secret Passion (2011)
3/5
-/5
MASSACRE RECORDS / METAL GOTHIQUE
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020