BAND/AUTHOR:

THE DARK ELEMENT

(FINLAND)

TITLE:
SONGS THE NIGHT SINGS (2019)
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL

"This "Songs The Night Sings" is perfectly calibrated for fans of Within Temptation and Delain."
LYNOTT - 22.11.2019 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
5/5
Two years after his first album, The Dark Element sets the scene again with this "Songs The Night Sings". Annette Olzon, a lyrical singer and a former Nightwish singer, and Jani Liimatainen, a Finnish and professional guitarist who has worked for Sonata Arctica and Stratovarius, are once again the thinking heads. Two years ago, the eponymous opus had captivated the hearts of fans of melodic-symphonic metal with a pop tendency. Will it be the same for this record ?

The sound walls of the building are still as imposing as ever and its compositions are once again of a formidable symphonic tone. Pop trends have not abandoned the architectural style of construction either, nor have the melodic qualities of the compositions deserted its foundations. This second test is therefore once again perfectly calibrated for fans of Within Temptation and Delain.

In this game of comparisons, it is nevertheless necessary to specify that if the telluric riffs characteristic of these formations are well present heret, the pop tendencies are here more systematic and the mid-tempi more numerous ('If I Have A Heart','You Will Learn'). Some tracks are even dancing on some passages ('Silence Between The Words' and the eponymous track in particular). Moreover, on the videos available from the band, Annette is often filmed in dance mode. 

Particular attention is paid to the introductions to the most metal tracks, instantly attracting the listener in the symphonic wake of the score ('Not Your Monster','The Pallbearer Walks Alone','Pills On My Pillow','When It All Comes Down' and the eponymous track). There are also two moments of pure joy in "Songs The Night Sings", two calm and poignant compositions. 'To Whatever End' and 'I Have To Go', a ballads of twilight melancholy that takes you to the edge of the precipice and tears, will long pursue you as these tracks exude a palpable emotion. 

The Dark Element has just offered us a successful successor to their first opus. Of a less metallic nature, this "Songs The Night Sings" is however just as melodious and that is a real performance considering the heights reached by the previous record.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/thedarkelement



SIMILAR BANDS:
NIGHTWISH, DELAIN, WITHIN TEMPTATION

TRACK LISTING:
01. Not Your Monster
02. Songs The Night Sings
03. When It All Comes Down
04. Silence Between The Words
05. Pills On My Pillow
06. To Whatever End
07. The Pallbearer Walks Alone
08. Get Out Of My Head
09. If I Had A Heart
10. You Will Learn
11. I Have To Go


LINEUP:
Anette Olzon: Chant
Jani “hurtsi” Hurula: Batterie
Jani Liimatainen: Guitares
Jonas Kuhlberg: Basse


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Melancholic, Female voice
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH THE DARK ELEMENT
LAST NEWS
THE DARK ELEMENT: New video
All news about THE DARK ELEMENT
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 4.5/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
LIAM GALLAGHER: Why Me? Why Not (2019)
ROCK "Why Me? Why Not" proves that he does not usurp the title of excellent songwriter that gives pop all its meaning, that of delicate pleasure when listening to bewitching and suggestive melodies.
 
NEXT REVIEW
LONE SURVIVORS: Ground Zero (2019)
PROGRESSIVE METAL "Ground Zero" is an impressive first album of mastery that already propels Lone Survivors to the forefront of modern metal.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT THE DARK ELEMENT
THE-DARK-ELEMENT_The-Dark-Element
The Dark Element (2017)
5/5
-/5
FRONTIERS RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
 
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / THE DARK ELEMENT: Songs The Night Sings
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

THE DARK ELEMENT

(FINLANDE)

TITRE:
SONGS THE NIGHT SINGS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
METAL MELODIQUE
"Ce "Songs The Night Sings" est parfaitement calibré pour les amateurs de Within Temptation et de Delain."
LYNOTT - 22.11.2019 -
Deux ans après son premier album, The Dark Element remet le couvert avec ce "Songs The Night Sings". Annette Olzon, chanteuse lyrique de son état et subséquemment ex-chanteuse de Nightwish, et Jani Liimatainen, finlandais et guitariste de profession ayant traîné ses suitcases chez Sonata Arctica et Stratovarius, mènent une fois de plus le bal ici. Il y a deux ans, l’éponyme opus suscité avait fait chavirer les cœurs des amateurs de metal mélodico-symphonique à tendance pop. Cette seconde offrande mérite-t-elle également leur attention soutenue et celle de ceux qui sont passés à côté de la performance initiale ? La réponse en quelques paragraphes ci-après.

Déflorons sans ménagement le mystère, le groupe n’a pas trébuché sur cette seconde marche. Les plans du premier essai ne sont pas restés oubliés au fond d’un tiroir. Les murs de sons de la bâtisse sont toujours aussi imposants et ses charpentes encore une fois d’une tonitruance symphonique redoutable. Les tendances pop n’ont pas non plus abandonné le style architectural de la construction, pas plus que les qualités mélodiques des compositions n’ont déserté ses fondations. Ce second essai est donc une fois de plus parfaitement calibré pour les amateurs, notamment, de Within Temptation et de Delain.

A ce jeu des comparaisons, il convient tout de même de préciser que si les riffs telluriques caractéristiques de ces formations sont bien présents chez The Dark Element, les poussées pop sont ici plus systématiques et les mid-tempi plus nombreux ('If I Have A Heart', 'You Will Learn' par exemple) que celles et ceux pratiqués au sein de la bande à Sharon et de celle à Charlotte. Quelques titres sont même dansants sur certains passages ('Silence Between The Words' et le titre éponyme notamment). D’ailleurs, sur les vidéos disponibles du groupe, Annette est souvent filmée en mode dance.

Un soin particulier est spécialement apporté aux entrées en matière des titres les plus metal, attirant instantanément l’auditeur dans le sillage symphonique de la partition ('Not Your Monster', 'The Pallbearer Walks Alone', 'Pills On My Pillow', 'When It All Comes Down' et le morceau éponyme). On trouve également deux moments d’allégresse pure dans "Songs The Night Sings", deux partitions calmes et poignantes. 'To Whatever End' et 'I Have To Go', ballade d’une mélancolie crépusculaire qui entraîne au bord du précipice et des larmes, vous poursuivront longtemps tant ces titres exhalent une émotion palpable.

The Dark Element vient de nous offrir un successeur réussi à son premier opus. D’un naturel moins métallique, ce "Songs The Night Sings" est toutefois tout aussi mélodieux et ça, c’est une sacrée performance au vu des hauteurs atteintes en la matière par le précédent volet.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/thedarkelement

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
WITHIN TEMPTATION, NIGHTWISH, DELAIN

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Not Your Monster
02. Songs The Night Sings
03. When It All Comes Down
04. Silence Between The Words
05. Pills On My Pillow
06. To Whatever End
07. The Pallbearer Walks Alone
08. Get Out Of My Head
09. If I Had A Heart
10. You Will Learn
11. I Have To Go


FORMATION:
Anette Olzon: Chant
Jani “hurtsi” Hurula: Batterie
Jani Liimatainen: Guitares
Jonas Kuhlberg: Basse


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Mélancolique, Chant féminin
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC THE DARK ELEMENT
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
THE DARK ELEMENT : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant THE DARK ELEMENT
 
NOTES
 
4.5/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT THE DARK ELEMENT
 
THE-DARK-ELEMENT_Songs-The-Night-Sings Songs The Night Sings (2019)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
THE-DARK-ELEMENT_The-Dark-Element The Dark Element (2017)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019