MW / Home / Reviews / BAEST: Venenum
BAND/AUTHOR:

BAEST

(DENMARK)

TITLE:
VENENUM
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS
GENRE:
DEATH METAL
""Venenum" offers an intense, violent music, with hectic rhythms and erratic jolts"
THIBAUTK - 13.09.2019 -
In 2018, Baest had created a surprise with a bestial album ("Danse Macabre"), a concentrate of terror that elevated the formation to the rank of great es-death master. The latter once again caused a shower of ashes and fire to fall with "Venenum", an album with music of course... b(a)estiale.

Baest plays a tart, brutal music, made of intense guitars, a voice emerging from nothing and a drum set comparable to the heavy step of a mastodon. Thus "Gula" offers a crushing and stifling tempo born at Obituary or Wombbath. As for the rough vocal lines, they remind us of the torments caused by Nigthrage or Bloodbath. "Styx" unveils clear arpeggios that reinforce the discomfort while "Empty Throne" and "No Guts No Glory" walk along territories on the border of the thrash and "Vitriol Lament" unleashes a river of primitive beats, a scream emerging from the void, the drums thwarting the listener under its blasts while the six strings are brutalized to the extreme.
 
The melody is the central point of the album: when "Nihil" scatters the shreds of mist, it is with disembodied harmonies worthy of Suffocation; when "Vitriol Lament" displays a melodic line, it is strange harmonies that resonate, if "As Above So Below" offers a bare melody, it wraps it in darkness and a pale light. They are also unhealthy tunes that captivate the hearts of shadow worshippers.

"Venenum" offers an intense, violent music, with hectic rhythms and erratic jolts. The grace of the disc shines in every moment, in every second full of life, noise and fury... So even if Baest seems to have lost spontaneity, his music is still as brutal as ever and his b(a)estiales litanies are as many desperate cries of unusual beauty.

More informations on https://www.baestband.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

DEATH, OBITUARY, BLOODBATH, DISSECTION, CARCASS

TRACK LISTING

01. Vitriol Lament - 4:27
02. Gula - 4:26
03. Nihil - 6:28
04. Venenum - 3:52
05. Styx - 1:14
06. Heresy - 6:03
07. As Above So Below - 4:56
08. Sodomize - 3:55
09. Empty Throne - 5:31
10. No Guts, No Glory (Cover Bolt Thrower) - 3:51


LINEUP

Lasse Revsbech: Guitares
Mattias Melchiorsen: Basse
Sebastian Abildsten: Batterie
Simon Olsen: Chant
Svend Karlsson: Guitares


TAGS:
Dark, Technical, Grunt/Growl voice, Yelled sing
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS BAEST
LAST NEWS
BAEST: Details on "Venenum"
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about BAEST
 
RATING
 
3/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS BAEST
 
BAEST_Venenum Venenum (2019)
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS / DEATH METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

BAEST

(DANEMARK)

TITRE:
VENENUM (2019)
LABEL:
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS
GENRE:
DEATH METAL

"“Venenum” est un cri de douleur à la musique brutale et dont les litanies sont autant de cris désespérés à la beauté insolite."
THIBAUTK - 13.09.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
3/5

En 2018, les Danois de Baest avaient créé la surprise avec un album bestial (“Danse Macabre"), un concentré de terreur qui hissait la formation au rang de grand maître es-death. Cette dernière fait à nouveau tomber une pluie de cendres et de feu avec “Venenum”, album à la musique évidemment... b(a)estiale.

Car Baest joue une musique teigneuse, brutale, faite de guitares intenses, d'une voix surgissant du néant et d'une batterie comparable au pas pesant d'un mastodonte. Ainsi ‘Gula’ propose un tempo écrasant et étouffant né chez Obituary ou Wombbath. Quant aux lignes vocales rêches, elles rappellent les tourments suscités par Nigthrage ou Bloodbath. ‘Styx’ dévoile des arpèges limpides qui renforcent le malaise alors que ‘Empty Throne’ et ‘No Guts No Glory’ arpentent des territoires à la limite du thrash et que ‘Vitriol Lament" déverse une rivière de battements primaux, un cri surgissant du néant, la batterie assommant l’auditeur sous ses blasts tandis que la six-cordes est brutalisée jusqu'à l’extrême.
 
La mélodie est le point central de l'album : lorsque ‘Nihil’ éparpille les lambeaux de brume, c'est avec des harmonies désincarnées dignes de Suffocation; quand ‘Vitriol Lament' affiche une ligne mélodique, ce sont des harmonies étranges qui résonnent, si ‘As Above So Below’ offre une mélopée dépouillée, elle l'enveloppe d’obscurité et d’une lumière blafarde. Ce sont aussi des airs malsains qui font chavirer le cœur des adorateurs de l’ombre.

“Venenum” propose une musique intense, violente, aux rythmes trépidants et aux soubresauts erratiques. La grâce du disque brille ainsi sur chaque instant, sur chaque seconde pleine de vie, de bruit et de fureur... Alors même si Baest semble avoir perdu en spontanéité, sa musique est toujours aussi brutale et ses litanies b(a)estiales sont autant de cris désespérés à la beauté insolite.


Plus d'information sur https://www.baestband.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
BLOODBATH, DEATH, CARCASS, OBITUARY, DISSECTION

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Vitriol Lament - 4:27
02. Gula - 4:26
03. Nihil - 6:28
04. Venenum - 3:52
05. Styx - 1:14
06. Heresy - 6:03
07. As Above So Below - 4:56
08. Sodomize - 3:55
09. Empty Throne - 5:31
10. No Guts, No Glory (Cover Bolt Thrower) - 3:51


FORMATION:
Lasse Revsbech: Guitares
Mattias Melchiorsen: Basse
Sebastian Abildsten: Batterie
Simon Olsen: Chant
Svend Karlsson: Guitares


TAGS:
Oppressant, Sombre, Technique, Chant grunt/growl, Chant hurlé
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC BAEST
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
BAEST: Sortie de "Venenum" en septembre
Toutes les actualités sur BAEST
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 3/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
SONATA ARCTICA: Talviyö (2019)
METAL MELODIQUE "Taviyö" avec sa pochette glaçante ne jettera pas un froid entre le groupe et ses fans. Ce nouvel album de Sonata Arctica est d'une finesse d'écriture rarement atteinte.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
BLACKRAIN: Dying Breed (2019)
HARD ROCK Une fois de plus, BlackRain offre un opus rutilant et sans faille qui possède tous les éléments pour rencontrer le succès auprès des amateurs d’un hard-rock mélodique biberonné au hair-metal des années 80.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT BAEST
BAEST_Danse-Macabre
Danse Macabre (2018)
4/5
-/5
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS / DEATH METAL
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020