MW / Home / Reviews / UNRULY CHILD: Big Blue World
BAND/AUTHOR:

UNRULY CHILD

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
BIG BLUE WORLD
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
MELODIC HARD ROCK
"Unruly Child partially managed to maintain its previous performance
"

LYNOTT - 25.09.2019 -
So we didn't have to wait seven years to find Unruly Child with a new album to put on our turntables. The no man's land between the two previous opuses did not therefore affect the rest of the adventures of the band to Marcie Michelle Free. "Big Blue World" is the baptismal name of this seventh baby whose progenitor is now twenty-eight years old. So, will this cherub be as unruly as his parents' name suggests?

Yanks have always worked in the great tradition of melodic hard rock bands with an AOR tendency, sometimes tinged with West Coast impulses. For them, no resolutely powerful sound, therefore, and above all, nothing fundamentally inventive except perhaps the previous album "Can't Go Home" which, moreover, was not far from making the full with his hits.

So we start this new opus with some salivations of expected pleasure. And business starts off rather well with an invigorating introduction and a "Living In Someone Else's Dream" where all the ingredients of the genre answer the call, brilliant melody, excellent arrangements and, necessarily, a chorus to be classified in the "huge" category. And then there's Patatras, the next two tracks, of which we don't remember much, freeze the atmosphere. And the Russian mountains are just beginning....

How can we go from a "Breaking The Chains", his beautiful acoustic guitar and his loans - really close - on the solo to that of "Stairway To Heaven" of whom you know to the classical, even basic, "Are These Words Enough" who boasts Toto with his outdated Hammond and his bluesy claims? All this to then throw us an uppercut with the addictive pearl "Will We Give Up Today" and prolong the shock with "Beneath A Steady Rain", a rainy ballad where the shadows of Dream Theater and Queen twirl and intermingle to the sound of a piano of magnificent sadness?

But then we stay at the Throne Fair and its roller coasters since'The Harder They Will Fall', despite its introduction given to Father Churchill with his speech of June 40 already covered by Maiden on'Aces High' - we tell ourselves that it will pulsate - does not finally make us raise the heart rate. Verdict, a flatline title, nothing happens. Just like his pursuer "Down And Dirty" which gives way to an ending that reminds us of the happiness felt at the beginning of the album with its opening title. The Hard Way' thus completes the album as well as it had begun.

Unruly Child therefore failed to maintain the infernal pace in the tube factory that generated "Can't Go Home". Big Blue World can only necessarily disappoint. However, it contains enough catchy titles to allow your summer, and its ballads elbow to the door, to play overtime.

More informations on http://www.unrulychild.net/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

TOTO, STYX, HAREM SCAREM

TRACK LISTING

01. Living In Someone Else’s Dream
02. All Over The World
03. Dirty Little Girl
04. Breaking The Chains
05. Are These Words Enough
06. Will We Give Up Today
07. Beneath A Steady Rain
08. The Harder They Will Fall
09. Down And Dirty
10. The Hard Way


LINEUP

Bruce Gowdy: Chant / Guitares / Basse / Claviers
Guy Allison: Claviers / Percussions
Jay Schellen: Batterie
Larry Antonino: Basse
Marcie Michelle Free: Chant


TAGS:
80's, Easy Listening / FM
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS UNRULY CHILD
LAST NEWS
UNRULY CHILD: Big Blue World
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about UNRULY CHILD
 
RATING
 
3/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS UNRULY CHILD
 
UNRULY-CHILD_Big-Blue-World Big Blue World (2019)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / MELODIC HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

UNRULY CHILD

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
BIG BLUE WORLD (2019)
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
HARD ROCK MELODIQUE

"Unruly Child réussit partiellement à rester à la hauteur de sa performance précédente."
LYNOTT - 25.09.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
3/5
Nous n'avons donc pas eu à patienter sept ans derechef pour retrouver Unruly Child avec un nouvel album à mettre sur nos platines. Le no man's land entre les deux précédents opus n'a donc pas déteint sur la suite des aventures de la bande menée par Marcie Michelle Free. "Big Blue World" est le nom de baptême de ce septième bébé dont le progéniteur affiche les vingt-huit printemps désormais. Ce chérubin va-t-il être aussi "indiscipliné" - unruly dans la langue de Shakespeare - que le nom de ses parents le laisse entendre ?

Les Américains ont toujours œuvré dans la grande tradition des groupes de hard rock mélodique tendance AOR teinté parfois d’élans west coast. Chez eux, aucun son résolument puissant donc, et surtout rien de fondamentalement inventif mis à part peut-être l'album précédent, "Can't Go Home", qui, par ailleurs, ne fut pas loin de faire le plein question hits.

Nous entamons donc ce nouvel opus avec quelques salivations de plaisir espéré, et les affaires commencent plutôt bien avec une entrée en matière revigorante et un 'Living In Someone Else’s Dream' où tous les ingrédients du genre répondent à l'appel, mélodie brillante, excellence des arrangements et, forcément, un refrain à classer dans la catégorie "énorme". Et puis patatras, les deux morceaux suivants, dont on ne retient pas grand-chose viennent glacer l'ambiance. Et les montagnes russes ne font que débuter...

Comment peut-on passer en effet d'un 'Breaking The Chains', sa belle guitare acoustique et ses emprunts - vraiment proches - sur le solo à celui de 'Stairway To Heaven' de qui vous savez au classique, voire basique 'Are These Words Enough' qui se la pète Toto avec son Hammond désuet et ses prétentions bluesy ? Tout ça pour nous balancer ensuite un uppercut avec la perle addictive 'Will We Give Up Today' et prolonger le choc avec 'Beneath A Steady Rain', ballade pluvieuse où les ombres de Dream Theater et de Queen virevoltent et s'entremêlent au son d'un piano d'une tristesse magnifique. 

Mais nous restons ensuite à la Foire du Trône et ses grands huit puisque 'The Harder They Will Fall', malgré son intro confiée au père Churchill avec son discours de juin 40 déjà repris par Maiden sur 'Aces High' - on se dit du coup que ça va pulser -, ne nous fait finalement pas monter le rythme cardiaque. Verdict, un titre flatline : rien ne se passe. Tout comme son poursuivant 'Down And Dirty' qui laisse la place à un final qui rappelle le bonheur ressenti aux prémisses de l'album avec son titre d'ouverture. 'The Hard Way' achève ainsi l'album aussi bien qu'il avait commencé.

Unruly Child n'a donc pas réussi à maintenir les cadences infernales dans l'usine à tubes qui généra "Can't Go Home". "Big Blue World" ne peut ainsi que forcément décevoir. Toutefois, il contient suffisamment de titres accrocheurs pour permettre à votre été et ses ballades le coude à la portière de jouer les prolongations.

Plus d'information sur http://www.unrulychild.net/



GROUPES PROCHES:
TOTO, STYX, HAREM SCAREM

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Living In Someone Else’s Dream
02. All Over The World
03. Dirty Little Girl
04. Breaking The Chains
05. Are These Words Enough
06. Will We Give Up Today
07. Beneath A Steady Rain
08. The Harder They Will Fall
09. Down And Dirty
10. The Hard Way


FORMATION:
Bruce Gowdy: Chant / Guitares / Basse / Claviers
Guy Allison: Claviers / Percussions
Jay Schellen: Batterie
Larry Antonino: Basse
Marcie Michelle Free: Chant


TAGS:
80's, Accessible / FM
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC UNRULY CHILD
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
UNRULY CHILD: Détails sur "Big Blue World"
Toutes les actualités sur UNRULY CHILD
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 3/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
VACUUM ROAD: Biopsie (2019)
METAL ALTERNATIF Entre metal progressif, screamos, et passages atmosphériques, Vacuum Road confirme avec "Biopsie" leur formidable potentiel créatif et émotionnel. Chaudement recommandé.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
LAST TEMPTATION: Last Temptation (2019)
HARD ROCK Très influencé par le hard & heavy des années 70 et 80, Last Temptation est un nouveau projet qui comblera les fans d’Ozzy Osbourne et de DIO.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT UNRULY CHILD
UNRULY-CHILD_Can-t-Go-Home
Can't Go Home (2017)
4/5
-/5
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
UNRULY-CHILD_Worlds-Collide
Worlds Collide (2010)
3/5
3/5
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020