MW / Home / Reviews / DAVID HASSELHOFF: Open Your Eyes
BAND/AUTHOR:

DAVID HASSELHOFF

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
OPEN YOUR EYES
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
CLEOPATRA RECORDS
GENRE:
ROCK
"If "Open Your Eyes" will not go down in history, it remains a respectful and assumed album of an artist who deserves more than the image we are presented with of him."
CALGEPO - 08.11.2019 -
Few men can claim in one lifetime to have saved people from drowning and other maritime disasters in red shorts, to have been the black knight with the first autonomous car nowadays jealous by Google, to have defeated two- or three-headed sharks coming from the sky and to have overcome his addictions (although there is still some doubt about that) while singing in parallel.

And yet, David Hasselhoff is of this species and has had several lives during his career: lifeguard in Malibu, K2000 pilot, shark killer in Sharknado, AOR fan and one of the first singers to perform near the Berlin Wall still smoking from its rubble in 1989 (remember'Looking For Freedom'). It must be said that if the career of the actor-singer has had its ups and downs, it must be acknowledged that he has never given up and has always persevered with more or less happiness, becoming as kitsch as he is cult. So it's with a fourteenth album called "Open Your Eyes" that David comes back to us, an album of covers that wants to be committed! Because this name is not insignificant, David wishing to make his listeners aware of the fact that they must open their eyes to the flood of media coverage that is constantly growing with its share of lies and fake news.

For this, the singer surrounded himself with a great team with not only Adam Hamilton in the production but also James Williamson (The Stooges) on guitar, Tracii Guns (L.A. Guns), Steve Stevens (Billy Idol), Todd Rundgren and Al Jourgensen (Ministry) notably. The bet and the choice of covers can be both easy but also very risky because if the songs are known and have met with success (of esteem or more), it is necessary to bring them a singular proofreading sufficient to arouse an interest.

In the good surprises, 'Open Your Eyes', the original title of The Lords Of The New Church, has the honour of opening the ball of rereading with a version that retains its skeleton in which David brings an almost more lyrical than subversive dimension. David has a powerful voice and interprets the songs with conviction without imitating the original bands. Thus the listener will be able to discover or rediscover dusty tracks like Ted Mulry Gang's "Jump In My Car", or an almost industrial new wave version of "Sweet Caroline" (Neil Diamond) bold (with however some kitschy effects like scratches, no longer used since Benny B at least.).

Nevertheless, the good overall impression is somewhat tempered because the other versions leave them a little disappointed, especially when David covers songs that have already been covered over and over again and on which it is difficult to imbue his personality. This applies to Bowie's 'Heroes' but also to Sinatra's 'That's Life', much too respectful and already heard. There are still some nice moments left like the romantic version of the old-fashioned charm of 'If You Could Read My Mind', very pop synth with the atmosphere of the slows of yesteryear and the banga-carambar-quarter-hour American booms of our childhood (finally for the forty-year-olds).

In the end, this album is located between two waters, some rereadings offer a little something extra that brings them a personalization and a beautiful singularity, others are much too close to the original versions to arouse interest. However, the ensemble, which proves to be pleasant, makes it possible to have no doubt about David Hasselhoff's sincere approach to sharing his musical tastes by reinterpreting them in an involved. If "Open Your Eyes" will not go down in history, it remains a respectful and assumed album of an artist who deserves more than the image we are presented with of him. 

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/davidhasselhoff/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

MINISTRY, DAVID BOWIE, IGGY AND THE STOOGES, L.A. GUNS

TRACK LISTING

01. Open Your Eyes
02. Head On
03. I Melt With You
04. Lips Like Sugar
05. Heroes
06. Here I Go Again
07. Jump In My Car
08. Rhinestone Cowboy
09. If You Could Read My Mind
10. Sugar, Sugar
11. Mit 66 Jahren
12. Sweet Caroline
13. That's Life


LINEUP

David Hasselhoff: Chant
Al Jourgensen: Chant / Invité
Ava Cherry: Chant / Invité
Charlie Daniels: Guitares / Invité
Elliot Easton: Guitares / Invité
James Williamson: Guitares / Invité
Patrick Moraz: Claviers / Invité
Steve Cropper: Guitares / Invité
Steve Stevens: Guitares / Invité
Todd Rundgren: Guitares / Invité
Tracii Guns: Guitares / Invité
Tyler Bates: Guitares / Invité


TAGS:
70's, 80's, Easy Listening / FM, Old School, Romantic
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS DAVID HASSELHOFF
LAST NEWS
DAVID HASSELHOFF: Open Your Eyes
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about DAVID HASSELHOFF
 
RATING
 
3/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS DAVID HASSELHOFF
 
DAVID-HASSELHOFF_Open-Your-Eyes Open Your Eyes (2019)
CLEOPATRA RECORDS / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

DAVID HASSELHOFF

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
OPEN YOUR EYES (2019)
LABEL:
CLEOPATRA RECORDS
GENRE:
ROCK

"Si "Open Your Eyes" ne passera pas à la postérité, il n'en demeure pas moins un album respectueux et assumé d'un artiste qui mérite plus que l'image qu'on nous présente de lui."
CALGEPO - 08.11.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
3/5
Peu d'hommes peuvent se targuer en une vie d'avoir sauvé des gens de la noyade et autres catastrophes maritimes en short rouge, d'avoir été le chevalier noir avec la première voiture autonome de nos jours jalousée par Google, d'avoir vaincu des requins à deux ou trois têtes venant du ciel, d'avoir surmonté ses addictions (quoiqu' il y ait encore un doute là-dessus) tout en chantant en parallèle.

Et pourtant, David Hasselhoff est de cette espèce et a eu au cours de sa carrière plusieurs vies : maître-nageur sauveteur à Malibu, pilote de K2000, tueur de requin dans Sharknado, amateur d'AOR et l'un des premiers chanteurs à s'être produit près du mur de Berlin encore fumant de ses décombres en 1989 (souvenez-vous de 'Looking For Freedom'). Il faut dire que si la carrière de l'acteur-chanteur a connu des hauts et des bas, il convient de bien lui reconnaître qu'il n'a jamais abandonné et toujours persévéré avec plus ou moins de bonheur, devenant aussi kitsch que culte. C'est donc avec un quatorzième album nommé "Open Your Eyes" que David nous revient, album de reprises qui se veut engagé ! Car ce nom n'est pas anodin, David souhaitant faire prendre conscience à ses auditeurs d'ouvrir leurs yeux face à la déferlante médiatique qui ne cesse de grandir avec son lot de mensonges et de fake news.

Pour cela, le chanteur s'est entouré d'une sacrée équipe sur le papier avec non seulement Adam Hamilton à la production mais aussi en invités James Williamson (The Stooges) à la guitare, Tracii Guns (L.A. Guns), Steve Stevens (Billy Idol), Todd Rundgren et Al Jourgensen (Ministry) notamment. Le pari et le choix de reprises peut être à la fois aisé mais aussi très risqué car si les chansons sont connues et ont rencontré un succès (d'estime ou plus), il faut leur apporter une relecture singulière suffisante pour susciter un intérêt.

Au premier rang des bonnes surprises, 'Open Your Eyes' titre original de The Lords Of The New Church a l'honneur d'ouvrir le bal des relectures avec une version qui conserve son ossature dans laquelle David apporte une dimension presque plus lyrique que subversive. David possède une voix puissante et interprète les chansons avec conviction sans pour autant imiter les groupes originaux. Ainsi l'auditeur pourra découvrir ou redécouvrir des titres dépoussiérés comme 'Jump In My Car' de Ted Mulry Gang, ou une version presque new wave indus de 'Sweet Caroline' (Neil Diamond) audacieuse (avec toutefois quelques effets un peu kitschissimes comme les scratchs, plus utilisés depuis Benny B au moins.).

Malgré tout, la bonne impression d'ensemble est quelque peu tempérée car les autres versions laissent un peu sur leur faim, surtout lorsque David reprend des morceaux déjà repris maintes et maintes fois et sur lesquelles il est difficile d’imprégner sa personnalité. Cela vaut pour 'Heroes' de Bowie mais aussi pour 'That's Life' de Sinatra, beaucoup trop respectueuses et déjà entendues pour susciter un quelconque intérêt supplémentaire outre le fait d'être interprété par David Hasselhoff. Il reste quelques jolis moments comme la version romantique au charme suranné de 'If You Could Read My Mind' très synth pop à l'ambiance des slows d’antan et des boums banga-carambar-quart-d'heure-américain de notre enfance (enfin pour les quadragénaires).

Au final, cet album se situe entre deux eaux, certaines relectures proposent un petit plus qui leur apporte une personnalisation et une belle singularité, d'autres sont beaucoup trop proches des versions originales pour susciter un intérêt. Toutefois, l'ensemble qui se révèle agréable permet de ne pas douter de la sincère démarche de David Hasselhoff pour partager ses goûts musicaux en les réinterprétant de manière impliquée avec une pléiade d'invités de marque qui le sont tout autant. Si "Open Your Eyes" ne passera pas à la postérité, il n'en demeure pas moins un album respectueux et assumé d'un artiste qui mérite plus que l'image qu'on nous présente de lui.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/davidhasselhoff/



GROUPES PROCHES:
DAVID BOWIE, IGGY AND THE STOOGES, MINISTRY, L.A. GUNS

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Open Your Eyes
02. Head On
03. I Melt With You
04. Lips Like Sugar
05. Heroes
06. Here I Go Again
07. Jump In My Car
08. Rhinestone Cowboy
09. If You Could Read My Mind
10. Sugar, Sugar
11. Mit 66 Jahren
12. Sweet Caroline
13. That's Life


FORMATION:
David Hasselhoff: Chant
Al Jourgensen: Chant / Invité
Ava Cherry: Chant / Invité
Charlie Daniels: Guitares / Invité
Elliot Easton: Guitares / Invité
James Williamson: Guitares / Invité
Patrick Moraz: Claviers / Invité
Steve Cropper: Guitares / Invité
Steve Stevens: Guitares / Invité
Todd Rundgren: Guitares / Invité
Tracii Guns: Guitares / Invité
Tyler Bates: Guitares / Invité


TAGS:
70's, 80's, Accessible / FM, Old School, Romantique
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC DAVID HASSELHOFF
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
DAVID HASSELHOFF: Sortie d'un album avec Tracii Guns, Al Jourgensen,... en invités!
Toutes les actualités sur DAVID HASSELHOFF
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 3/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
CULT OF LUNA: A Dawn To Fear (2019)
HARDCORE Immersif et crépusculaire, "A Dawn To Fear" s'impose comme un très grand disque de Cult Of Luna, à la fois différent de ses plus récents prédécesseurs mais fidèle à une identité organique et bouillonnante.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
THE TOY DOLLS: Episode Xiii (2019)
ROCK Pour fêter ses 40 années d'existence, The Toy Dolls nous propose un treizième épisode qui ravira les fans de ce groupe de punk pas comme les autres.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT DAVID HASSELHOFF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020