BAND/AUTHOR:

AVATARIUM

(SWEDEN)

TITLE:
THE FIRE I LONG FOR (2019)
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
DOOM

""The Fire I Long For" is a bewitching alloy between the elegance of a female vocal and the volcanic power of guitars, the whole covered with progressive emanations escaped from the seventies."
CHILDERIC THOR - 29.01.2020 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
4/5
Initially presented as one of Leif Edling's side-projects, Avatarium gradually tends to cut the cord with Candlemass, in order to exist by itself. Each new offering sees the legendary bassist's claw fade away to the point where his role is very reduced. 

Even though he is officially no longer part of the band, his influence is still significant, not so much for the increasingly rare compositions that he still signs, but for his style, recognizable among a thousand others. All the difficulty resides today in the capacity to make evolve, without distorting it, this very particular identity that Eidling has fixed, that is to say this bewitching alloy between the elegance of a female vocal and the volcanic power of guitars, the whole covered with progressive emanations escaped from the seventies. 

Listening to "The Fire I Long For" testifies that the patriarch of the Swedish doom chapel was right to step back and let Avatarium fly on its own wings because it allowed the latter to assert itself in its collective dimension and not only as the fruit of the association between the bassist and the guitarist Marcus Jidell (Evergrey, Royal Hunt...). 

This fourth opus sees the Swedish palette being enriched with more psychedelic colours, like the tender 'Lay Me Down' or even stranger and more noisy (the last bars of 'Shake That Demon'). Against all odds, the band may never have sounded so doom, carried by a huge guitar, as illustrated by the overwhelming 'Voices'. But still, soft features, conveyed by the colourful keyboards and crystalline vocals, soften the hardness of these anvils stuck in the magma ('Porcelain Skull'). 

Emotion is not spurned in an ensemble where Marcus Jidell's soli ('Great Beyond') compete in majesty with the powerfully dramatic voice of Jennie-Ann Smith ('Stars They Above', a skeletal conclusion as beautiful as a sleeping cat). Writing and arrangements are of a very high quality, which is admirably symbolised by the misty 'Epitaph Of Heroes', a long progressive and undeniable G-spot of the album. Meeting between the Rainbow of the Dio era and a female vocal as solemn as inhabited, the band's identity is magnified by these seven minutes heavy and bewitching, dark and tragic. 

With "The Fire I Long For", Avatarium asserts itself as a band in its own right, freed from the tutelary presence of Leif Edling, while at the same time being one of the major figures of a doom combining the impetuosity of hard rock with the silky flamboyance of progressive.

More informations on http://avatariumofficial.com



SIMILAR BANDS:
BLACK SABBATH, CANDLEMASS, RAINBOW

TRACK LISTING:
01. Voices
02. Rubicon
03. Lay Me Down
04. Porcelain Skull
05. Shake That Demon
06. Great Beyond
07. The Fire I Long For
08. Epitaph Of Heroes
09. Stars They Move


LINEUP:
Jennie-ann Smith: Chant
Lars Sköld: Batterie
Marcus Jidell: Guitares
Mats Rydström: Basse
Rickard Nilsson: Claviers


TAGS:
Heavy, Melancholic, Dark, Technical, Female voice
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH AVATARIUM
LAST NEWS
AVATARIUM: The Fire I Long For
All news about AVATARIUM
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 4/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
DESPISED ICON: Purgatory (2019)
DEATH METAL Deathcore fans should love this "Purgatory" which sees Despised Icon confirm its good shape with a rather impressive strike force.
 
NEXT REVIEW
ORION: Virtual Human (2019)
PROGRESSIVE ROCK On a current theme, "Virtual Human" offers a progressive music based on a successful balance between assimilable pleasure and listening effort.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT AVATARIUM
AVATARIUM_Hurricanes-And-Halos
Hurricanes And Halos (2017)
4/5
-/5
NUCLEAR BLAST / DOOM
AVATARIUM_THE-GIRL-WITH-THE-RAVEN-MASK
The Girl With The Raven Mask (2015)
4/5
-/5
NUCLEAR BLAST / DOOM
AVATARIUM_Avatarium
Avatarium (2013)
4/5
3/5
NUCLEAR BLAST / HEAVY METAL
 
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / AVATARIUM: The Fire I Long For
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

AVATARIUM

(SUÈDE)

TITRE:
THE FIRE I LONG FOR
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
DOOM
""The Fire I Long For" est un alliage envoûtant entre l'élégance d'une voix féminine et la puissance volcanique des guitares, le tout recouvert d'émanations progressives échappées des années soixante-dix."
CHILDERIC THOR - 29.01.2020 -
Tout d'abord présenté comme l'un des side-projects de Leif Edling, Avatarium tend peu à peu à couper le cordon avec la tête pensante de Candlemass, afin d'exister par lui-même. Chaque nouvelle offrande voit ainsi la griffe du légendaire bassiste s'effacer au point de voir son rôle désormais réduit à un simple patronage.

Bien qu'il ne fasse officiellement plus vraiment partie du groupe, son influence n'en reste pourtant pas moins prégnante, moins pour les compositions - de plus en plus rares - qu'il signe encore que par son style reconnaissable entre mille dont se réclament les autres musiciens. Toute la difficulté pour ces derniers réside aujourd'hui dans leur capacité à faire évoluer, sans pour autant la dénaturer, cette identité très particulière que Eidling a fixée, à savoir cet alliage ensorcelant entre l'élégance d'un chant féminin et la puissance volcanique de guitares coulées dans le plomb, le tout nappé d'effluves progressives échappées des années 70.

L'écoute de "The Fire I Long For" témoigne que le patriarche de la chapelle doom suédoise a eu raison de se mettre en retrait afin de laisser Avatarium voler de ses propres ailes car cela a permis à ce dernier de s'affirmer dans sa dimension collective et plus seulement comme le fruit de l'association entre le bassiste et le guitariste Marcus Jidell (Evergrey, Royal Hunt...).

Ce quatrième opus voit la palette des Suédois s'enrichir de couleurs à la fois plus psychédéliques, à l'image du tendre 'Lay Me Down' ou plus étranges voire bruitistes (les dernières mesures de 'Shake That Demon'). Contre toute attente, le groupe n'a pourtant peut-être jamais sonné aussi doom, porté par une guitare grosse comme une poutre, ce qu'illustre d'emblée le terrassant 'Voices'. Mais toujours, des traits moelleux, que véhiculent claviers chamarrés et vocalises cristallines, viennent adoucir la dureté de ces enclumes engluées dans le magma ('Porcelain Skull').

L'émotion n'est pas éconduite d'un ensemble où les soli de Marcus Jidell ('Great Beyond') rivalisent de majesté avec la voix puissamment dramatique de Jennie-Ann Smith ('Stars They Above', conclusion squelettique belle comme un chat qui dort). Ecriture et arrangements sont d'une très grande qualité, ce que symbolise admirablement le brumeux 'Epitaph Of Heroes', longue pièce progressive et incontestable point G de l'album. Rencontre entre le Rainbow de l'ère Dio et un chant féminin aussi solennel qu'habité, l'identité du groupe se voit magnifiée par ces sept minutes heavy et envoûtantes, sombres et tragiques.

Avec "The Fire I Long For", Avatarium s'affirme à la fois comme un groupe à part entière, affranchi de la présence tutélaire de Leif Edling, tout en s'inscrivant sur la durée comme une des figures majeures d'un doom alliant l'impétuosité du hard rock à la flamboyance soyeuse du progressif.

Plus d'information sur http://avatariumofficial.com

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
BLACK SABBATH, RAINBOW, CANDLEMASS

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Voices
02. Rubicon
03. Lay Me Down
04. Porcelain Skull
05. Shake That Demon
06. Great Beyond
07. The Fire I Long For
08. Epitaph Of Heroes
09. Stars They Move


FORMATION:
Jennie-ann Smith: Chant
Lars Sköld: Batterie
Marcus Jidell: Guitares
Mats Rydström: Basse
Rickard Nilsson: Claviers


TAGS:
Lourde, Mélancolique, Sombre, Technique, Chant féminin
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC AVATARIUM
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
AVATARIUM: Nouvel album en novembre
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant AVATARIUM
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT AVATARIUM
 
AVATARIUM_THE-FIRE-I-LONG-FOR The Fire I Long For (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / DOOM
AVATARIUM_Hurricanes-And-Halos Hurricanes And Halos (2017)
NUCLEAR BLAST / DOOM
AVATARIUM_THE-GIRL-WITH-THE-RAVEN-MASK The Girl With The Raven Mask (2015)
NUCLEAR BLAST / DOOM
AVATARIUM_Avatarium Avatarium (2013)
NUCLEAR BLAST / HEAVY METAL
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020