MW / Home / Reviews / BIRDEATSBABY: The World Conspires
BAND/AUTHOR:

BIRDEATSBABY

(UNITED KINGDOM)

TITLE:
THE WORLD CONSPIRES
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
DR. MUSIC PROMOTION
GENRE:
ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
""The World Conspires" is an album that will require many listenings to uncover all its mysteries but which nevertheless seduces from the first listening by the bewitching atmosphere that emerges."
CORTO1809 - 11.11.2019 -
Better late than never. That's what we said to each other at Music Waves when we discovered Birdeatsbaby... ten years later. This Brighton-based band was born from the collaboration of Mishkin Fitzgerald and Garry Mitchell who met during their studies in the first decade of the 21st century. A first album, "Here She Comes-a-tumblin" was released in 2009, followed by "Feast of Hammers" (2012), "The Bullet Within" (2014) and "Tanta Furia" (2016). "The World Conspires", which serves as our gateway to their universe, is therefore already their fifth album. And, let's say it right away, this is a beautiful discovery, rich and inventive.

Because if Birdeatsbaby started its career with the dark progressive rock label affixed to her music, a name duly justified when listening to its first three albums, its style takes a more electric and symphonic turn with "Tanta Furia": the compositions are enriched with complex arrangements, the first saturations appear, the music abandons its cabaret side to take a more rock turn with a guitar more present than in the beginning. "The World Conspires" is another highlight of these beautiful dispositions.

The album is long and dense: no less than 15 tracks for a duration of about 70 minutes constitute the hearty menu that awaits the listener. This is, moreover, let us begin with the negative points, one of the criticisms that can be addressed to "The World Conspires". The often changing melodies, sophisticated arrangements, and different musical styles create a complexity that requires several careful listening to tame the object. Not that the disc contains some weak titles! All the compositions are worthy of interest and there is no filling here, the band is just too generous and should have kept some of their songs aside for a future album.

But this is not a big deal. Because how can we not be seduced by the creativity of this group, which mixes with the same happiness gothic rock, alternative rock, pop, steampunk, with a wink at the cabaret of inter-war ('Ropes') and classical music (the elegiac 'Dido's Lament' borrowed from Henry Purcell), by mixing some touches of metal (the aggressive 'Painkiller') and even a touch of death metal (the finale of 'Bad Blood')? In the service of these melodies, an impressive instrumentarium where Garry Mitchell's saturated guitars and the sometimes wild drums of Pablo Paracchino and Anna Mylee rub shoulders with Hana Maria's violin and cello, a saxophone, clarinet, jazzy double bass and even some lace stitches from a harp ('Esmerelda').

As for Mishkin Fitzgerald's vocals, it evokes in turn the melancholy of a Sonja Kraushofer (The Immortal Soul, Persephone), the immoderation of a Matthew Bellamy (Muse) and the mutinous and delirious extravagance of a Kate Bush. Alternately desperate, passionate, hysterical, disturbing, the female singer's voice is transformed at will, as credible in its softness as in its demonstration of strength.

"The World Conspires" is an album that will require many listenings to uncover all its mysteries but which nevertheless seduces from the first listening by the bewitching atmosphere that emerges. Perhaps too generous as it is dense and long, but very contrasted with many changes of rhythms, atmospheres, a very elaborate song and plethora of arrangements, "The World Conspires" unrolls an alternative rock of a great quality.

More informations on https://www.birdeatsbaby.co.uk/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

LACRIMOSA, MUSE, MERCURY REV, L'ÂME IMMORTELLE, PERSEPHONE, KATE BUSH, THE CURE

TRACK LISTING

01. Hold Your Breath (02:01)
02. Painkiller (05:04)
03. ZeroFortyThree (06:19)
04. The World Conspires (07:12)
05. Lady Grey (05:18)
06. How Do I (03:50)
07. Box Of Razorblade (06:50)
08. Esmerelda (05:18)
09. Hurricane (02:18)
10. Whisper (03:00)
11. Ropes (05:27)
12. Dido‘s Lament (03:02)
13. Kill No One (04:01)
14. Bad Blood (04:50)
15. Look Away (03:20)


LINEUP

Anna Mylee: Batterie
Garry Mitchell: Guitares / Basse / Contrebasse / Orgue / Chant (4) / Choeurs
Hana Maria: Violon / Violoncelle / Harpe / Hurdy-gurdy / Choeurs
Mishkin Fitzgerald: Chant / Piano / Synthétiseurs / Accordéon
Pablo Paracchino: Batterie / Percussions / Flûte / Saxophone
Christoph Klemke: Invité / Violoncelle (2)
Feline Lang: Invité / Chant (12)
Gemma Uphill: Invité / Clarinette (13)
Gordon Vader: Invité / Phonofiddle (15)
Simon Field: Invité / Choeurs (8)


TAGS:
Fusion, Melancholic, Dark, Symphonic
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS BIRDEATSBABY
LAST NEWS
BIRDEATSBABY: The World Conspires
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about BIRDEATSBABY
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS BIRDEATSBABY
 
BIRDEATSBABY_The-World-Conspires The World Conspires (2019)
DR. MUSIC PROMOTION / ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

BIRDEATSBABY

(ROYAUME UNI)

TITRE:
THE WORLD CONSPIRES (2019)
LABEL:
DR. MUSIC PROMOTION
GENRE:
ROCK ALTERNATIF

""The World Conspires" est un album qui nécessitera de nombreuses écoutes pour débusquer tous ses mystères mais qui séduit cependant dès la première écoute par l'atmosphère envoûtante qui s'en dégage."
CORTO1809 - 11.11.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
4/5
Mieux vaut tard que jamais. C'est un peu ce que nous nous sommes dit chez Music Waves en découvrant Birdeatsbaby… avec dix ans de retard. Ce groupe originaire de Brighton est né de la collaboration de la rousse Mishkin Fitzgerald et de Garry Mitchell qui se sont rencontrés durant leurs études dans la première décennie du XXIème siècle. Un premier album, "Here She Comes-a-tumblin" paraît en 2009, suivi de "Feast of Hammers" (2012), "The Bullet Within" (2014) et "Tanta Furia" (2016). "The World Conspires" qui nous sert de porte d'entrée à l'univers des Anglais est donc déjà leur cinquième opus. Et, autant le dire tout de suite, il s'agit là d'une belle découverte tant celui-ci s'avère riche et inventif.

Car si Birdeatsbaby a débuté sa carrière avec l'étiquette dark progressive rock apposée sur sa musique, une appellation dûment justifiée à l'écoute de ses trois premiers albums, son style prend un virage plus électrique et symphonique avec "Tanta Furia" : les compositions s'étoffent d'arrangements complexes, les premières saturations se font jour, la musique délaisse son côté cabaret pour prendre une tournure plus rock avec une guitare plus présente qu'aux débuts. "The World Conspires" enfonce encore le clou de ces belles dispositions.

L'album est long et dense : pas moins de 15 titres pour une durée avoisinant les 70 minutes constituent le copieux menu qui attend l'auditeur. C'est d'ailleurs, commençons par les points négatifs, l'un des reproches qui peut être adressé à "The World Conspires". Les mélodies souvent changeantes, les arrangements sophistiqués, les différents styles musicaux abordés créent une complexité qui nécessite plusieurs écoutes attentives pour apprivoiser l'objet, et le trop-plein de titres peut confiner à un certain écœurement. Non pas que le disque contienne quelques titres faibles, même pas ! Toutes les compositions sont dignes d'intérêt et il n'y a pas ici de remplissage, le groupe est juste trop généreux et aurait dû garder sous le coude certaines de ses chansons pour un futur album.

Mais il s'agit là, admettons-le, d'un "problème de petite fille riche". Car comment ne pas être séduit par la créativité de ce groupe qui mélange avec le même bonheur rock gothique, rock alternatif, pop, steampunk, en faisant un clin d'œil au cabaret d'entre-deux-guerres ('Ropes') et à la musique classique (l'élégiaque 'Dido's Lament' emprunté à Henry Purcell), en y mélangeant quelques touches de metal (l'agressif 'Painkiller') et même un soupçon de death metal (le final de 'Bad Blood') ? Au service de ces mélodies, un instrumentarium impressionnant où les guitares saturées de Garry Mitchell et les batteries parfois déchaînées de Pablo Paracchino et Anna Mylee côtoient le violon et le violoncelle d'Hana Maria, un saxophone, une clarinette, une contrebasse jazzy et même quelques points de dentelle d'une harpe ('Esmerelda').

Quant au chant de Mishkin Fitzgerald, il évoque tour à tour la mélancolie d'une Sonja Kraushofer (L'Ame Immortelle, Persephone), la démesure d'un Matthew Bellamy (Muse) et l'extravagance mutine et délurée d'une Kate Bush. Tour à tour désespérée, passionnée, hystérique, inquiétante, la voix de la chanteuse se transforme à volonté, aussi crédible dans la douceur que dans la démonstration de force.

"The World Conspires" est un album qui nécessitera de nombreuses écoutes pour débusquer tous ses mystères mais qui séduit cependant dès la première écoute par l'atmosphère envoûtante qui s'en dégage. Peut-être trop généreux tant il est dense et long, mais très contrasté avec de nombreux changements de rythmes, d'atmosphères, un chant très travaillé et pléthore d'arrangements, "The World Conspires" déroule un rock alternatif d'une grande qualité.

Plus d'information sur https://www.birdeatsbaby.co.uk/



GROUPES PROCHES:
KATE BUSH, LACRIMOSA, L'ÂME IMMORTELLE, PERSEPHONE, MUSE, THE CURE, MERCURY REV

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Hold Your Breath (02:01)
02. Painkiller (05:04)
03. ZeroFortyThree (06:19)
04. The World Conspires (07:12)
05. Lady Grey (05:18)
06. How Do I (03:50)
07. Box Of Razorblade (06:50)
08. Esmerelda (05:18)
09. Hurricane (02:18)
10. Whisper (03:00)
11. Ropes (05:27)
12. Dido‘s Lament (03:02)
13. Kill No One (04:01)
14. Bad Blood (04:50)
15. Look Away (03:20)


FORMATION:
Anna Mylee: Batterie
Garry Mitchell: Guitares / Basse / Contrebasse / Orgue / Chant (4) / Choeurs
Hana Maria: Violon / Violoncelle / Harpe / Hurdy-gurdy / Choeurs
Mishkin Fitzgerald: Chant / Piano / Synthétiseurs / Accordéon
Pablo Paracchino: Batterie / Percussions / Flûte / Saxophone
Christoph Klemke: Invité / Violoncelle (2)
Feline Lang: Invité / Chant (12)
Gemma Uphill: Invité / Clarinette (13)
Gordon Vader: Invité / Phonofiddle (15)
Simon Field: Invité / Choeurs (8)


TAGS:
Fusion, Mélancolique, Oppressant, Sombre, Symphonique
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC BIRDEATSBABY
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
BIRDEATSBABY: Nouvelle vidéo
Toutes les actualités sur BIRDEATSBABY
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 4/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
THE TOY DOLLS: Episode Xiii (2019)
ROCK Pour fêter ses 40 années d'existence, The Toy Dolls nous propose un treizième épisode qui ravira les fans de ce groupe de punk pas comme les autres.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
BABYMETAL: Metal Galaxy (2019)
HEAVY METAL À défaut de s'attaquer à toute la galaxie, Babymetal part à la conquête du monde musical avec ce "Metal Galaxy", extrêmement varié et ambitieux. Difficile de tout aimer mais impossible de tout détester.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT BIRDEATSBABY
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020