MW / Home / Reviews / AGE OF REFLECTION: A New Dawn
BAND/AUTHOR:

AGE OF REFLECTION

(SWEDEN)

TITLE:
A NEW DAWN
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
AOR HEAVEN
GENRE:
MELODIC HARD ROCK
"Friends of the muscular AOR, hurry up on to listen to this album !"
LYNOTT - 14.11.2019 -
Two years ago, after twenty years of gestation (!!!) the Swedish combo Age Of Reflection released its first album "In The Heat Of The Night", in a gleaming AOR style, an abbreviation of its name.  Two of the members of the quintet were from the indus metal movement. Sometimes musical intentions take time to mature. Given the large musical gap, the reflection period can be explained here.... There are now six of them at work, having recruited a keyboard specialist, relieving guitarist Carl Berglund of this work, and welcoming a new drummer. 

The original AOR has grown stronger. We are here in melodic hard rock field now, the tonalities are just as majestic, but they are more muscular. Thus, Lars Nygren's warm and aggressive vocals and Carl Berglund's guitar riffs have obviously grown in importance. Erik Martensson (Eclipse, W.E.T.) is involved in mixing and production. Count on this man, endowed with the gift of ubiquity so much he uses his know-how in many projects, to sniff out the good plans. 

The tone is often festive and the six-strings are omnipresent, whether in the overtures of pieces or thanks to Jonas Nordqvist's solos that arrive without warning throughout the compositions. The pair of guitarists should be particularly congratulated on the quality of their interventions. Whether they are sharp on the riffs or chiselled on the solitary demonstrations, they jump to their ears and leave their mark. 

The tracks are shorter than on the previous opus, reinforcing the melodic impact of the content, which goes directly to the essential, sublimated by choirs well felt. In terms of inspiration, we can see references to Dreamtide on "What If I Break" and "Can't Let Go", to Eclipse on the eponymous track, to W.E.T. on "Go", to Journey on "Here I Stand", to Shy on "Stay With Me" and to Cutting Crue on "I Just Died", which is quite normal since it is a recovery of their hit (!).

Sweden has struck again with this second offering of Age Of Reflection. Friends of the muscular AOR, hurry up on to listen to this album !

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/ageofreflection/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

JOURNEY, W.E.T., ECLIPSE, SHY, DREAMTIDE

TRACK LISTING

01. Aurora
02. A New Dawn
03. Stay With Me
04. Here I Stand
05. Until Death Do Us Part
06. What If I Break
07. Go
08. Never Alone Again
09. Write It On The Wall
10. Can’t Let Go


LINEUP

Carl Berglund: Guitares / Backing Vocals
Jan Skärmin: Basse / Backing Vocals
Jens Rüttgeroth: Claviers
Jonas Nordqvist: Guitares / Backing Vocals
Lars Nygren: Chant
Peppe Vikman: Backing Vocals


TAGS:
80's, Easy Listening / FM
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS AGE OF REFLECTION
 
RATING
 
4/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS AGE OF REFLECTION
 
AGE-OF-REFLECTION_A-New-Dawn A New Dawn (2019)
AOR HEAVEN / MELODIC HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

.
.
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

AGE OF REFLECTION

(SUÈDE)

TITRE:
A NEW DAWN (2019)
LABEL:
AOR HEAVEN
GENRE:
HARD ROCK MELODIQUE

"Age Of Reflection a mis un tigre dans son moteur !"
LYNOTT - 14.11.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
4/5
Il y a deux ans, après vingt ans de gestation (!!) le combo suédois Age Of Reflection sortait son premier album "In The Heat Of The Night", dans un rutilant style AOR, abréviation de son nom, lui-même choisi en toute conscience visiblement.  Deux des membres du quintet étaient issus de la mouvance du metal indus. Parfois les intentions musicales mettent du temps à mûrir. Vu le grand écart musical, le délai de réflexion peut ici s’expliquer…

Il n'aura heureusement pas fallu attendre aussi longtemps pour voir apparaître les onze nouveaux bourgeons de la deuxième fleur mélodique du combo. Ces titres éclosent sous la bannière d'un "A New Dawn", récente offrande des Suédois. Ils sont désormais six à la manœuvre ayant recruté un spécialiste des claviers, déchargeant ainsi de ces travaux le guitariste Carl Berglund, et ont accueilli un nouveau batteur.

L'AOR des origines a pris du poil de la bête. Nous sommes ici en terrain hard rock mélodique désormais, les tonalités sont tout autant majestueuses, mais elles sont plus musclées. Ainsi, les vocalises de Lars Nygren, chaleureuses et agressives à la fois, et les riffs de guitare de Carl Berglund ont avec évidence pris de l'ampleur. Erik Martensson (Eclipse, W.E.T.) est de la partie au mixage et à la production. Comptez sur cet homme, doté du don d'ubiquité tant il emploie son savoir-faire dans de nombreux projets, pour flairer les bons plans.

Le ton est souvent festif et la six-cordes est omniprésente, que ce soit dans les ouvertures de morceaux ou grâce aux soli de Jonas Nordqvist qui débarquent sans crier gare tout au long des compositions. La paire de guitaristes doit être particulièrement félicitée sur la qualité de ses interventions. Qu'elles soient tranchantes sur les riffs ou ciselées sur les démonstrations solitaires, elles sautent aux oreilles et y laissent leur empreinte.

Les titres sont plus courts que sur le précédent opus, renforçant l'impact mélodique des propos qui vont ainsi directement à l'essentiel, sublimés par des chœurs bien sentis sur les refrains. Question inspirations, on perçoit notamment des références à Dreamtide sur 'What If I Break' et 'Can't Let Go', à Eclipse sur le titre éponyme, à W.E.T. sur 'Go', à Journey sur 'Here I Stand', à Shy sur 'Stay With Me' et à Cutting Crue sur 'I Just Died', ce qui est on ne peut plus normal puisqu'il s'agit d'une reprise enlevée de leur hit (!). On fait moins salivant comme influences.

La Suède a encore frappé - voilà qui va finir par tendre à l'hégémonie - avec cette seconde offrande de Age Of Reflection. Amis de l'AOR musclé, tendez vos esgourdes vers les bons sons de cette petite galette qui aurait pu passer entre les mailles de votre filet sans votre site préféré. Vous y reviendrez, pour sûr !  

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/ageofreflection/



GROUPES PROCHES:
DREAMTIDE, JOURNEY, ECLIPSE, W.E.T., SHY

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Aurora
02. A New Dawn
03. Stay With Me
04. Here I Stand
05. Until Death Do Us Part
06. What If I Break
07. Go
08. Never Alone Again
09. Write It On The Wall
10. Can’t Let Go


FORMATION:
Carl Berglund: Guitares / Backing Vocals
Jan Skärmin: Basse / Backing Vocals
Jens Rüttgeroth: Claviers
Jonas Nordqvist: Guitares / Backing Vocals
Lars Nygren: Chant
Peppe Vikman: Backing Vocals


TAGS:
80's, Accessible / FM
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC AGE OF REFLECTION
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
AGE OF REFLECTION: In The Heat Of The Night
Toutes les actualités sur AGE OF REFLECTION
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 4/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
RAGARAJA: Egosphère (2019)
HARDCORE “Egosphère” est un album varié, habité par une colère salvatrice, feu d’artifice stylistique qui déstabilise mais possède les qualités nécessaires pour charmer.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
INSOMNIUM: Heart Like A Grave (2019)
DEATH METAL "Heart Like A Grave" est un excellent album, mélodique, puissant et technique. Insomnium semble revenir à ses premières amours, tout en voulant s’en éloigner.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT AGE OF REFLECTION
AGE-OF-REFLECTION_In-The-Heat-Of-The-Night
In The Heat Of The Night (2017)
4/5
-/5
AOR HEAVEN / A.O.R.
 
.
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020