MW / Home / Reviews / VOYAGER: Colours In The Sun
BAND/AUTHOR:

VOYAGER

(AUSTRALIA)

TITLE:
COLOURS IN THE SUN
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
SEASON OF MIST
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL
"Dominated by Daniel Estrin's enchanting pop voice, "Colours In The Sun" is a concentrate of sunny pop metal tracks with catchy choruses of dreadful effectiveness."
NEWF - 01.11.2019 -
If there is one band that hasn't waited for current fashion to incorporate synthpop elements into metal music, it's Voyager. It's even been the DNA of the Australian combo for fifteen years. Except that where others use the pop sounds of the 80s to highlight atmospheric passages (Tesseract) or as a starting point for a radical aesthetic turn more or less depressive (Leprous), Voyager reminds us how danceable and optimistic the new wave could be. And frankly, it feels good. Especially since, if "Ghost Mile", published two years ago, was already remarkable in every respect, "Colours In The Sun" is a pure jewel.

This new album from the Perth Quintet is the most brilliant follow-up the band could give to its predecessor. By focusing even more than before on the eighties keyboard sounds ('Colours','Brighstar') and by accentuating the groove of his djent rhythms, Voyager finds the perfect balance between nostalgia and modernity, between A-ha and Tesseract, between Duran Duran and Leprous, between Talk Talk and Disperse.

From then on, it quickly becomes impossible to get away from this addictive and enjoyable music. The group shows such know-how and coherence that it immediately takes us into its colourful melodic spiral. Dominated by Daniel Estrin's enchanting pop voice, "Colours In The Sun" is a concentrate of sunny pop metal tracks with catchy choruses of dreadful effectiveness. The album is a series of hits, including 'Runaway' and his jubilant keytar solo or 'Entropy' whose chorus is sung by Einar Solberg of Leprous, and demonstrates how mastery and talent can make much more complex compositions obvious than they seem.

Indeed, although very accessible, Voyager's music does not deny its progressive component. This is particularly the case with the dazzling "Saccharine Dream", which starts off in a staggered way like a smartphone ringing and continues with a rhythmic djent, pop keyboards and a high-pitched solo. Australians have no equal in infusing flamboyant romanticism into compositions that remain firmly rooted in a metal dynamic that they never seek to erase, as evidenced by the enormous rhythmic work of "Reconnected" which responds to the "Disconnected" present on "Ghost Mile", or the heaviness of the murderous riff of "Water Over The Bridge" that Devin Townsend would not deny.

Addictive and enjoyable, with remarkable melodic power and a perfect production, "Colours In The Sun" is the Australian sunshine that will warm up our fall. A remarkable album that will hopefully propel Voyager into the big league for good. By signing with Season Of Mist, the band seems to have finally given itself the means to seek well-deserved international recognition, it's high time!

More informations on https://www.voyagerau.com

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

ANATHEMA, DEVIN TOWNSEND, OPETH, TEARS FOR FEARS, LEPROUS, ORPHANED LAND, DISPERSE, VOLA, CHAOSBAY, DEPECHE MODE

TRACK LISTING

01. Colours
02. Severomance
03. Brightstar
04. Saccharine Dream
05. Entropy (feat. Einar Solberg)
06. Reconnected
07. Now or Never
08. Sign of the Times
09. Water Over the Bridge
10. Runaway


LINEUP

Alex Canion: Chant / Basse
Ashley Doodkorte: Batterie
Daniel Estrin: Chant / Claviers
Scott Kay: Guitares
Simone DOW: Guitares


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Fusion, Groovy, Romantic
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS VOYAGER
LAST NEWS
VOYAGER: Colours In The Sun
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about VOYAGER
 
RATING
 
5/5 (1 view(s))
5/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS VOYAGER
 
VOYAGER_Colours-In-The-Sun Colours In The Sun (2019)
SEASON OF MIST / PROGRESSIVE METAL
VOYAGER_Ghost-Mile Ghost Mile (2017)
AUTRE LABEL / PROGRESSIVE METAL
VOYAGER_V V (2014)
AUTRE LABEL / PROGRESSIVE METAL
VOYAGER_Univers Univers (2007)
DOCKYARD1 / PROGRESSIVE METAL
VOYAGER_Element-V Element V (2004)
DVS / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

VOYAGER

(AUSTRALIE)

TITRE:
COLOURS IN THE SUN (2019)
LABEL:
SEASON OF MIST
GENRE:
METAL PROGRESSIF

"Avec "Colours In The Sun", Voyager ensoleillera votre automne. Indispensable et jouissif !"
NEWF - 01.11.2019 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
5/5
S’il y a un groupe qui n’a pas attendu la mode actuelle pour incorporer des éléments synthpop à la musique metal, c’est bien Voyager. C’est même l’ADN du combo australien depuis quinze ans. Sauf que là où d’autres utilisent les sonorités pop des années 80 pour souligner des passages atmosphériques (Tesseract) ou comme point de départ d’un virage esthétique radical plus ou moins dépressif (Leprous), Voyager nous rappelle à quel point la new wave pouvait être dansante et optimiste. Et franchement, ça fait du bien. D’autant plus que, si "Ghost Mile", paru il y a deux ans, était déjà en tout point remarquable, "Colours In The Sun" est un pur joyau.

Ce nouvel album du quintette de Perth est la suite la plus brillante que le groupe pouvait donner à son prédécesseur. En misant encore plus qu’auparavant sur les sonorités de clavier eighties (‘Colours’, ‘Brighstar’) et en accentuant le groove de ses rythmiques djent, Voyager trouve l’équilibre parfait entre nostalgie et modernité, entre A-ha et Tesseract, entre Duran Duran et Leprous, entre Talk Talk et Disperse.

Dès lors, il devient très vite impossible de se détacher de cette musique addictive et jouissive. Le groupe fait preuve d’un tel savoir-faire et d’une telle cohérence qu’il nous embarque immédiatement dans sa spirale mélodique haute en couleurs. Dominé par la voix pop ensorcelante de Daniel Estrin, "Colours In The Sun" est un concentré de titres pop metal ensoleillés aux refrains accrocheurs d’une redoutable efficacité. L’album enchaîne les tubes, notamment ‘Runaway’ et son solo de keytar jubilatoire ou ‘Entropy’ dont le refrain est chanté par Einar Solberg de Leprous, et démontre à quel point maîtrise et talent peuvent rendre évidentes des compositions bien plus complexes qu’il n’y paraît.

En effet, bien que très accessible, la musique de Voyager ne renie pas pour autant sa composante progressive. C’est notamment le cas de l’éblouissant ‘Saccharine Dream’ qui débute de façon décalée comme une sonnerie de smartphone et enchaîne rythmique djent, claviers pop et solo planant. Les Australiens n’ont pas leur pareil pour insuffler un romantisme flamboyant à des compositions qui restent bien ancrées dans une dynamique metal qu’ils ne cherchent en aucun cas à gommer, comme en témoignent l’énorme travail rythmique de ‘Reconnected’ qui répond au ‘Disconnected’ présent sur "Ghost Mile", ou la lourdeur du riff assassin de ‘Water Over The Bridge’ que ne renierait pas Devin Townsend.

Addictif et jouissif, d’une puissance mélodique remarquable et doté d’une production tirée au cordeau, "Colours In The Sun" est le rayon de soleil australien qui réchauffera notre automne. Un album remarquable qui, espérons-le, propulsera définitivement Voyager dans la cour des grands. En signant chez Season Of Mist, le groupe semble s’être donné enfin les moyens de briguer une reconnaissance internationale bien méritée, il est grand temps !

Plus d'information sur https://www.voyagerau.com



GROUPES PROCHES:
CHAOSBAY, DISPERSE, VOLA, ORPHANED LAND, DEVIN TOWNSEND, TEARS FOR FEARS, ANATHEMA, LEPROUS, OPETH, DEPECHE MODE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Colours
02. Severomance
03. Brightstar
04. Saccharine Dream
05. Entropy (feat. Einar Solberg)
06. Reconnected
07. Now or Never
08. Sign of the Times
09. Water Over the Bridge
10. Runaway


FORMATION:
Alex Canion: Chant / Basse
Ashley Doodkorte: Batterie
Daniel Estrin: Chant / Claviers
Scott Kay: Guitares
Simone DOW: Guitares


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Fusion, Groovy, Romantique
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC VOYAGER
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
VOYAGER: Nouvelle vidéo
Toutes les actualités sur VOYAGER
NOTES
5/5 (1 avis) 5/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
NOVEMBERS DOOM: Nephilim Grove (2019)
DEATH METAL Avec "Nephilim Grove", Novembers Doom ne se réinvente pas mais permet au groupe de se placer comme chef de file d'un genre délaissé par les maîtres du genre...
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
HOLDING ABSENCE: Holding Absence (2019)
POST METAL Basé sur un post metal moderne aux accents post rock, "Holding Absence" s'appuie sur la maitrise vocale de son chanteur qui navigue en permanence entre douceur mélancolique et hurlements rageurs.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT VOYAGER
VOYAGER_Ghost-Mile
Ghost Mile (2017)
5/5
4.3/5
AUTRE LABEL / METAL PROGRESSIF
VOYAGER_V
V (2014)
4/5
-/5
AUTRE LABEL / METAL PROGRESSIF
VOYAGER_Univers
Univers (2007)
4/5
4.7/5
DOCKYARD1 / METAL PROGRESSIF
VOYAGER_Element-V
Element V (2004)
3/5
-/5
DVS / METAL MELODIQUE
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020