MW / Home / Reviews / HELLIXXIR: The Black Fortress
BAND/AUTHOR:

HELLIXXIR

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
THE BLACK FORTRESS
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
MUSIC RECORDS
GENRE:
THRASH
""The Black Fortress" is a record born in the mud and then adorned with fine melodic illuminations that lighten it with a pale aura."
THIBAUTK - 07.01.2020 -
Hellixxir is a thrash metal formation which, even after upheavals, has never lost its appetite for conquest and power. The band released in 2018 a compilation ("A Dull Light Around") about which Music Waves had regretted the quality of some recordings and its lack of coherence. Today, it releases "The Black Fortress", a dark architecture populated by unhealthy figures.

From the very first moments of 'The Black Fortress', the warmth is intensified by the multiple, cavernous, piercing or snarling voice. The variations are numerous, between acceleration or appeasement, allowing expressive solo guitar interventions. Then the storm softens with gentle arpeggios that flee into the darkness. Energy is the centre of attraction of the work, dark and devouring like a black hole, it swallows down to the last light that surrounds it. 'By The Stars Be Deceived' unfolds the same darkness: dissonant riffs, six-sharp strings and aggressive voices. 'Pure Contingency' is a balance between heaviness, terror and horror, thanks to a voice worthy of modern death or deathcore (Carnifex, Spawn Of Possession).

The groove resounds in this holy cathedral, like when 'Parapraxis' slows down the tempo or when the riffs raise fine volutes of melodies to counterbalance the aggressiveness. There's also a doom-like groove ('Oxymoronic Way Of Life') adorned with strange melodies that pinch the heart and make you sweat cold thanks to corrupted harmonies. This strangeness resides everywhere: stripped chords, arabic melodies ('A Journey To The Ineffable'), hypnotic harmonies ('Tat Tvam Asi - The Cosmic Veil Of Illusion') or solitary interventions on the edge of shred ('Wolf Behind Bars').

"The Black Fortress" is a record born in the mud and then adorned with fine melodic illuminations that lighten it with a pale aura. After a somewhat bland compilation, Hellixxir offers an album that demonstrates its compositional qualities and musical skill.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/hellixxir/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

MEGADETH, KREATOR, OBITUARY, CARCASS, CORONER

TRACK LISTING

01. The Black Fortress
02. By the Stars be Deceived
03. Parapraxis
04. Oxymoronic Way of Life
05. Pure Contingency
06. Venomous Delight
07. A Journey to the Ineffable
08. Tat Tvam Asi – The Cosmic Veil of Illusion
09. Unremembered Thoughts
10. Wold Behind Bars
11. Theodicy


LINEUP

Alexandre Manin: Chant
Arthur Raulin: Guitares
Baptiste Gastaldin: Chant / Basse
Matthieu Laforêt: Guitares
Romain Charbonnier: Batterie


TAGS:
Grunt/Growl voice, Guttural voice, Yelled sing
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS HELLIXXIR
LAST NEWS
HELLIXXIR: The Black Fortress
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about HELLIXXIR
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS HELLIXXIR
 
HELLIXXIR_The-Black-Fortress The Black Fortress (2019)
MUSIC RECORDS / THRASH
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / HELLIXXIR: The Black Fortress
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

HELLIXXIR

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
THE BLACK FORTRESS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
MUSIC RECORDS
GENRE:
THRASH
"Après une compilation fade, Hellixxir propose un album qui met en lumière ses qualités de composition et son habileté musicale."
THIBAUTK - 07.01.2020 -
Hellixxir est une formation issue du thrash qui, même après des bouleversements, n’a jamais perdu son appétit de conquête et de puissance. Le groupe a sorti en 2018 une compilation (‘“A Dull Light Around”) au sujet de laquelle Music Waves avait regretté la qualité de certains enregistrements et son manque de cohérence. Aujourd'hui, il publie “The Black Fortress”, une architecture sombre peuplée de figures malsaines.

Dès les premiers instants de ‘The Black Fortress’, la chaleur est intensifiée par la voix multiple, caverneuse, perçante ou hargneuse. Les variations sont nombreuses, entre accélération ou apaisement, permettant des interventions de guitare solitaire expressives. Puis la tempête s'adoucit avec de doux arpèges qui s’enfuient dans l’obscurité. L’énergie est le centre d'attraction de l’œuvre, sombre et dévorante tel un trou noir, elle avale jusqu'à la dernière lumière qui l’entoure. ‘By The Stars Be Deceived’ déploie cette même noirceur : riffs dissonants, six-cordes tranchantes et voix agressives. ‘Pure Contingency’  est en équilibre entre lourdeur, terreur et horreur, grâce à la voix digne du death moderne ou du deathcore (CarnifexSpawn Of Possession).

Le groove résonne dans cette sainte cathédrale, comme lorsque ‘Parapraxis’ ralentit le tempo ou que les riffs soulèvent de fines volutes de mélodies pour contrebalancer l’agressivité. Surnage aussi un groove proche du doom (‘Oxymoronic Way Of Life’) orné de mélodies étranges qui pincent le cœur et font couler des sueurs froides grâce à des harmonies corrompues. Cette étrangeté réside partout : accords dépouillés, mélodies arabisantes (‘A Journey To The Ineffable’), harmonies hypnotiques (‘Tat Tvam Asi - The Cosmic Veil Of Illusion’) ou interventions solitaires à la limite du shred (‘Wolf Behind Bars’).

“The Black Fortress” est un disque né dans la boue puis paré de fines enluminures mélodiques qui l'éclairent d’une aura blafarde. Après une compilation quelque peu fade, Hellixxir offre un album qui démontre ses qualités de composition et son habileté musicale.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/hellixxir/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
MEGADETH, KREATOR, OBITUARY, CARCASS, CORONER

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. The Black Fortress
02. By the Stars be Deceived
03. Parapraxis
04. Oxymoronic Way of Life
05. Pure Contingency
06. Venomous Delight
07. A Journey to the Ineffable
08. Tat Tvam Asi – The Cosmic Veil of Illusion
09. Unremembered Thoughts
10. Wold Behind Bars
11. Theodicy


FORMATION:
Alexandre Manin: Chant
Arthur Raulin: Guitares
Baptiste Gastaldin: Chant / Basse
Matthieu Laforêt: Guitares
Romain Charbonnier: Batterie


TAGS:
Chant grunt/growl, Chant guttural, Chant hurlé
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC HELLIXXIR
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
HELLIXXIR: Les détails sur 'The Black Fortress'
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant HELLIXXIR
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT HELLIXXIR
 
HELLIXXIR_The-Black-Fortress The Black Fortress (2019)
MUSIC RECORDS / THRASH
HELLIXXIR_A-Dull-Light-Around A Dull Light Around (2018)
MUSIC RECORDS / THRASH
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020