MW / Home / Reviews / THE OLD DEAD TREE: The End
BAND/AUTHOR:

THE OLD DEAD TREE

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
THE END
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
SEASON OF MIST
GENRE:
GOTHIC METAL
"This end is a kind of introspection, an examination of conscience where the band draws from its adventures its most beautiful testimony."
THIBAUTK - 29.11.2019 -
More than twenty years ago, The Old Dead Three was born. First, the band emerged with "The Nameless Desease", then exploded with "Perpetual Motion" and, a few staff changes later, confirmed its potential with "The Water Fields". Since then, this old tree who never died slept at the bottom of a sea of sound waves and dreamed of a return to grace.... And once again, the sap flows into his veins with "The End", a new publication composed of unpublished works, some of which date back to his tender youth.

Screwed onto the seat of a time machine, we relive the grandeur of the forest formation. "Sorry" once again captures the band's very special atmosphere: the piano is the guide to the introduction while the guitar pounds a martial rhythm, but it is essentially the melody that emanates from the mists. Then the tension disappears when simple arpeggios and a voice worthy of Daniel Gildenlöw (Pain Of Salvation Remedy Lane era) resound. From the collision of two universes (Pain Of Salvation and Paradise Lost) emerge melodies imbued with sadness and profane beauty. The End... Again', is in a similar register: melancholic piano in the introduction, then a voice that upsets. Finally The Old Dead Tree is similar to Pink Floyd, when intensity, heavy ambiences and unstoppable melodies come together. This icy beauty also reminds us of Orphanage or Whispering Gallery, which navigated between sweetness and despair.

'Kids', different, rhythmic and full of energy, reminds us of "Scarsick" ('Disco Queen'), or Porcupine Tree, Paradise Lost or The Gathering which pose dancing rhythms and sweet melodies on serious pieces. Manuel's voice is then free to evolve as it pleases when the melody is less melodramatic. Despite everything, the band cannot bring itself to abandon its intensity, because it resurfaces during the chorus. The EP reserves its share of paradoxes or variations that only aim to intensify emotion. Whether rhythmic or heavy, bereaved or cheerful, deadly or full of life, the group arouses intense emotion, as in the case of reunions between dear friends who have long been apart.

"The End" is a patchwork whose dazzling pieces fit together perfectly. This end is a kind of introspection, an examination of conscience where the band draws from its adventures its most beautiful testimony. The Old Dead Tree offers a last gift to its worshippers, its most beautiful memories, eternal melodies and unforgettable compositions.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/theolddeadtree.official/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

PORCUPINE TREE, PAIN OF SALVATION, PARADISE LOST, THE GATHERING

TRACK LISTING

01. Sorry - 5:08
02. Someone Should Know (The Truth) - 4:18
03. Kids - 4:03
04. Raise - 4:27
05. The End... Again - 4:57


LINEUP

Manuel Munoz: Chant / Guitares
Nicolas Chevrollier : Guitares
Raphael Antheaume: Batterie
Brice Guillon: Basse / Invité
Pierre Le Pape: Claviers / Invité


TAGS:
Melancholic, Romantic, Dark, Deep voice, Grunt/Growl voice, Guttural voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS THE OLD DEAD TREE
LAST NEWS
THE OLD DEAD TREE: The End
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about THE OLD DEAD TREE
 
RATING
 
4.5/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS THE OLD DEAD TREE
 
THE-OLD-DEAD-TREE_The-End The End (2019)
SEASON OF MIST / GOTHIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / THE OLD DEAD TREE: The End
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

THE OLD DEAD TREE

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
THE END
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
SEASON OF MIST
GENRE:
METAL GOTHIQUE
""The End" est un chant mélancolique et quasi-parfait dédié aux étoiles filantes, un afflux d'émotions intenses qui confirme le statut cultissime de la formation."
THIBAUTK - 29.11.2019 -
Il y a plus de vingt ans naquit The Old Dead Three, une vieille branche mélancolique qui a rapidement acquis ses lettres de noblesse. Dans un premier temps, le groupe émerge avec “The Nameless Desease”, puis explose avec “Perpetual Motion” et, quelques changements de personnel plus tard, confirme son potentiel avec “The Water Fields”. Depuis cet ancien qui jamais ne mourut dort au fond d’une mer de vagues sonores et rêve d’un retour en grâce... Et voilà qu'à nouveau la sève coule dans ses vaisseaux avec “The End”, une nouvelle publication composée d’inédits dont certains datent de sa tendre jeunesse.

Vissé sur le siège d'une machine à remonter le temps, nous revivons la grandeur de la formation sylvestre. ‘Sorry’ égrène à nouveau l’ambiance si particulière du groupe : le piano est le guide de l’introduction alors que la guitare martèle un rythme martial, mais c’est essentiellement la mélodie qui émane des brumes. Puis la tension disparaît lorsque résonnent des arpèges simples et une voix digne de Daniel Gildenlöw (Pain Of Salvation époque “Remedy Lane”). De la collision de deux univers (Pain Of Salvation et Paradise Lost) émergent des mélodies imprégnées de tristesse avec une beauté profane. ‘The End... Again’, premier titre dévoilé, est dans un registre similaire : piano mélancolique dans l’introduction, puis voix qui bouleverse, car c’est encore sa mélodie qui enlumine la piste. La chanson conte les absences, le groupe, tel Pink Floyd, est à jamais marqué par la disparition... Finalement The Old Dead Tree est similaire aux quatre Anglais Roses, lorsque l’intensité, les ambiances lourdes et les mélodies imparables s’unissent. Cette beauté glaciale rappelle aussi Orphanage ou Whispering Gallery qui naviguaient entre douceur et désespoir, même si c’est l’ombre des Suédois égarés "une heure sur les rives d'un lac de béton" qui plane quand la formation livre ses tripes.

’Kids’, différent, rythmé et plein de fougue, fait penser à “Scarsick” (‘Disco Queen’), à certains hymnes pop rythmés ou encore à Porcupine TreeParadise Lost ou The Gathering qui posent des rythmes dansants et des mélodies sucrées sur des morceaux graves. La voix de Manuel est alors libre d’évoluer à sa guise lorsque la mélodie est moins mélodramatique. Malgré tout, le groupe ne peut se résoudre à délaisser son intensité, car elle resurgit le temps du refrain, même avec une six-cordes dépouillée. L’EP réserve son lot de paradoxes ou de variations qui n’ont pour but que d’intensifier l’émotion. Alors rythmé ou pesant, endeuillé ou guilleret, mortifère ou plein de vie, le groupe suscite une émotion intense, comme lors de retrouvailles entre des amis chers longtemps séparés.

“The End” est un patchwork dont les pièces éblouissantes s'emboîtent à merveille. Cette fin est une sorte d’introspection, un examen de conscience où le groupe tire de ses péripéties son plus beau témoignage, à la beauté éclatante.  The Old Dead Tree fait ainsi un dernier salut aux étoiles filantes qui ont traversé sa vie et offre un dernier présent à ses adorateurs. Il fait le deuil de ses disparus ou peut-être de lui-même... Toutefois même avec ses branches et ses feuilles à terre, même piétiné, le groupe offre ses plus beaux souvenirs, des mélodies éternelles et des compositions inoubliables.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/theolddeadtree.official/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
PORCUPINE TREE, PAIN OF SALVATION, PARADISE LOST, THE GATHERING

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Sorry - 5:08
02. Someone Should Know (The Truth) - 4:18
03. Kids - 4:03
04. Raise - 4:27
05. The End... Again - 4:57


FORMATION:
Manuel Munoz: Chant / Guitares
Nicolas Chevrollier : Guitares
Raphael Antheaume: Batterie
Brice Guillon: Basse / Invité
Pierre Le Pape: Claviers / Invité


TAGS:
Mélancolique, Oppressant, Romantique, Sombre, Chant grave, Chant grunt/growl, Chant guttural
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC THE OLD DEAD TREE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
THE OLD DEAD TREE N'EST TOUJOURS PAS MORT!
INTERVIEW

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant THE OLD DEAD TREE
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Alors que nous n'attendions plus rien de lui, voici que le vieil arbre mort revient d'entre les morts pour un dernier (?) Ep... Manuel Munoz nous en dit plus sur ce retour inespéré!

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant THE OLD DEAD TREE
 
NOTES
 
4.5/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT THE OLD DEAD TREE
 
THE-OLD-DEAD-TREE_The-End The End (2019)
SEASON OF MIST / METAL GOTHIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019